Entire home

Glistening Sands | Oceanfront | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Nags Head

Photo gallery for Glistening Sands | Oceanfront | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Nags Head

A beachfront property with a large pool, multiple balconies, and a wooden deck.
A beachfront property with a swimming pool, beach access, and a large house with multiple levels.
A spacious living room with a fireplace, patterned sofas, a coffee table, and large windows offering a view of the sea.
A spacious living room with patterned sofas, a coffee table, ceiling fans, and a view to the outside.
A living room with a fireplace, patterned sofas, a coffee table, and a view of the outside.

Reviews

8.0 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • On the beach
    A rare beachfront property in the area - enjoy direct access to the beach and sea.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Nags Head Beach

Popular amenities

  • On beach
  • Balcony
  • Hot tub on site
  • Private pool
  • Barbecue grill
  • Arcade/game room

Explore the area

View in a map
Nags Head, NC
  • Place, Nags Head Beach
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Place, Outer Banks Fishing Pier
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Jennette's Pier
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Airport, Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional)
    ‪15 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

8 bedrooms (sleeps 20)

Ground-Level Bedroom with 2 Bunk Beds

1 Single Bed and 2 Single Bunk Beds

Ground-Level Bedroom with Pyramid Bunk

1 Single Bed and 1 Double Bed

Mid-Level Bedroom with 2 Bunk Beds

2 Single Bunk Beds

Mid-Level Double Bedroom

1 Double Bed

Mid-Level King Master Bedroom

1 King Bed

Mid-Level Queen Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Mid-Level Queen Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Top-Level King Master Bedroom

1 King Bed

5 bathrooms

Ground-Level Hall Full Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Mid-Level Hall Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Mid-Level Jack and Jill Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Mid-Level King Master Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Top-Level King Master Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Nags Head

Located on the beach, this holiday home is in South Nags Head, a neighbourhood in Nags Head. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Outer Banks Beaches and Cape Hatteras National Seashore. Travelling with kids? Consider Mutiny Bay Adventure Golf, or check out an event or a game at Full Throttle Speedway. With fishing and swimming nearby, you'll find plenty of adventures in the water.
Map
Nags Head, NC

What's nearby

  • Nags Head Beach - 6 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Outer Banks Fishing Pier - 2 min drive - 1.7 km
  • Jennette's Pier - 2 min drive - 2.4 km
  • Whalebone Junction Information Center - 3 min drive - 3.0 km
  • Whalebone Junction - 3 min drive - 3.0 km

Getting around

  • Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional) - 13 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Miller's Waterfront Restaurant - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Fish Heads Bar & Grill - ‬17 min walk
  • ‪Sonic Drive-In - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪KFC - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Tale of the Whale - ‬4 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Glistening Sands | Oceanfront | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Nags Head pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Glistening Sands | Oceanfront | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Nags Head?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Glistening Sands | Oceanfront | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Nags Head?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Glistening Sands | Oceanfront | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Nags Head?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Glistening Sands | Oceanfront | Private Pool, Hot Tub | Nags Head located?

Nestled on the beach, this South Nags Head holiday home is 0.6 mi (1 km) from Nags Head Beach and 2.9 mi (4.6 km) from Outer Banks Beaches. Outer Banks Fishing Pier and Whalebone Junction are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Reviews

8.0

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 6 out of 21 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 10 out of 21 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 4 out of 21 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 21 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 21 reviews

8.0/10

Cleanliness

9.6/10

Check-in

8.6/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

8.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Although we had a hiccup with the pool pump and air conditioning on the 2nd level, it was quickly resolved. The view from the top deck is wonderful for catching a sunrise. Our family enjoyed our time here and will return in thr future.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 17 Jul 2026
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at "Glistening Sands" and we hope you do return again as promised!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great House for the Entire Family

Very clean house with an accurate listing that was enjoyable for the whole family.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Jul 2020
We are glad you had an enjoyable time at Glistening Sands. We hope you choose to stay with Outer Banks Blue again next year!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
Size of the home is great, location is great home is very dated and needs updates.
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Dec 2025
Thank you for your comments. We take action on each item we are advised of on a guest stay and your comments have been passed on directly to the owner. Updates are coming as a result of your observations and we thank you for that. Please come back again soon!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Family vacation

This was a beautiful house it had plenty of space for everyone to have a room. I didn’t realize that the pool was not open until May 1. We had the beach at our fingertips. Would definitely stay again
Stayed 6 nights in Apr 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 3 May 2025
Kit, Thanks for your comments. You are correct that it is simply too cold to have pools open in early April but we are glad you had a great time. Let us know what we can do to earn 5-Stars next time you stay with us!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Overall very good but the mattresses were horrible
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Nov 2025
Thank you for your 4-Star review and important feedback about the mattresses. Based on your feedback we were able to address this with the property owner who has ordered new mattresses so future guests will rest more comfortably. We appreciate you helping make this property the best it can be for future guests! Please come back soon.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Family Vacation

Over all a very nice week at the beach with our family. Only complaint was waiting two days for a repair man to repair the loose deck just to find out the repair ticket was never originally placed.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Sept 2020
We are happy you had a nice week at Glistening Sands. Thank you for choosing to stay with Outer Banks Blue. We hope to have you stay with us again next year!
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness

No Frills but a good view

The property was very warn looking The upstairs hall bathroom smelled of urine, the carpet stained and they were 3 pillows short for the beds The beds were very hard and squeaky but the next door neighbors were very loud and partied every night until 2 am Overall, the view from the deck was beautiful but I was disappointed in the house I doubt we will rent it again
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Oct 2023
Lindy, Sorry to hear you did not have a 5-Star experience at this oceanfront house. We've since cleaned the carpets, and taken care of the pillow shortage. The owner has been made aware of your comments
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great

We enjoyed our stay and loved the location.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 13 Jun 2023
Sara, This is great for us to read and we thank you for such a good review. We look forward to serving you again soon at Outer Banks Blue!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice but......

The first night we arrived the 1st and 2nd floor didn't have air condition so we called and was asked did we really need it or could it wait until the next day. No we can not wait, its hot in this house and only 1 bdrm on the top floor so no one else will be sleeping. They did send someone who brought window ac units which cooled some of the bedrooms enough. We were told the AC people would come the next day to which they did according to 1 of the children but they didn't speak to anyone and when I texted the number provided that a.m. for any issues I was told they didn't have any updates...And thats the way it stayed the rest of our week. Window ac units. Upon arriving the master bathroom had blood splatter all over including the light switch which we touched not knowing it was there until we had light to see. GROSS!!!!!! There were other cleaning issues but none as nasty as someone elses blood. Both master king room beds were absolutely NOT COMFORTABLE none of the adults slept the 1st night. 1 room we used 2 twin mattresses from bunkbeds that weren't being used and it was ok but not great, the other master room used extra pillows under the sheet to try and add alittle comfort. The stairs are a workout for sure so make sure you are in shape or well enough health to be able to walk them multiple times a day. Overall I have stayed at worse places and would consider staying here again if the beds were fixed and the ac of course.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Sept 2023
Rebecca, We apologize for the angst during your stay. As you stated we did provide window a/c units to keep you cool during your stay, and the outside contractor who fixed the a/c system was not communicative. The company claims they fixed the issue the same day they went to the property. We apologize for the cleaning miss you mentioned. Please be sure to tell us next time so we can correct it right away. If we don't know about it we can't make it right.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

19 person Family Vacation

This was our 3rd Annual Family Vacation and this house did not disappoint. There were 19 of us with ages ranging from 4 years old to 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 years old to the twenties and then older adults and there was plenty of space for everyone to have their, “own” place as well as enough space to congregate all together when needed. Only suggestions would be a fridge that stayed colder upstairs. Many memories made. Thank You! Would definitely recommend for a large party.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Oct 2023
Chris, Thanks for your review!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Listing accuracy

Just okay

Our first trip to Nags Head and the area is great. However this property did not impress. The house should not be listed as “oceanfront” as there are very large sand dunes between home and beach. The ocean is visible from the top floor balcony but property is more like a 2nd—3rd row location. There is only a single narrow path up and over the dune to access the beach. Kitchen appliances and mattresses are VERY outdated and should be replaced immediately.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Oct 2023
Cathy, Thanks for your review.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Spacious but limited glassware/utensils

Very nice location and view. Lots of space for a large group, but if close to maximum capacity you might need to bring cups/coffee cups/utensils. Definitely will need to bring your own reading materials - very few books.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Nov 2021
Thank you, John, for taking the time to write us a review. We apologize that the dishware and utensils seemed sparse, we have reported this issue to the proper department. We are glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay and the location of the property, Glistening Sands has a beautiful view! Thank you for choosing Blue, we hope to see you again soon.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Over Rated

House is seems much older outside and inside then it actually is. Stained interior carpets. Laminate coming off of cabinets. Musty smelling comforters. Should not have to pay extra for arriving 1 or 2 hours early. Especially if house is ready to occupy. Will think twice next time regarding using Vrbo.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Nov 2021
Hi Susan, we're sorry if some things at Glistening Sands disappointed you. Minor stains at a beach house aren't uncommon where families are welcomed, especially when they're child-friendly. We do our best to make sure it is clean and in good shape. Sounds like it could use a carpet and upholstery clean which we've let the own know about. If we had heard about this during your stay we would have tried to get it taken care of you. We do know that the property met our high standards of cleanliness, but we understand that to some and spill that left of stain can be unsightly. We're also sorry you disagree with paying extra to have extra time at the property. We do this because it's not an issue of whether or not the cleaning is complete, but also whether or not all maintenance issues have been resolved. We keep that time free for them to jump between all the properties to get it done in the time allotted, but if someone pays extra then we'll make a property a priority for it to be taken care of first, which is an inconvenience and breaks the pattern that is most efficient. This is how we ensure all of our guests get the best service. If someone wants special attention and more than what was agreed to we're willing to do so, but we ask a small fee.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Almost Perfect

Pros: Spacious House, hot tub and pool were clean, one mile walk to the pier, beach was not overcrowded, lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Cons: mid-level room with two bunk beds had a TV but no cable box/hookup. One of the bunks did not have supplied bedsheets. Bottom floor got really, really cold at night! Area could use some groundwork/weeding/mowing. Extra caution: if you are taking toddlers or infants, know that you will want to take your own safety gates, outlet plugs, door locks, etc. There are loose cords on the floor where the lamps are and the fire place is not screened in (so the babies kept trying to steal the rocks inside). It seems like the cons outweigh the pros in this list, but I really did enjoy our time at this house. We spent long hours at the beach so the issues indoors weren't really that bad.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 25 May 2022
Kayla, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and apologize for the inconveniences you faced. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay regardless. Thank you for choosing Blue, please come back soon!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness

Just ok

We rented this house for a party of 15 people. We had plenty of room for sure and beautiful ocean views. We did have trouble with the pool. It was murky the whole time. They did put in a new pump at the end of the week, but it never did clear. We were very disappointed because we paid to have the pool heated because of the weather. We only used it some. Some of our guests complained the beds were very uncomfortable and old. One of the fireplaces did not work. When we checked in the flies were terrible. We had to go buy fly swatters and were constantly battling flies. The listing says a fully stocked kitchen, but the stove was not working well and the oven took a while to heat up, the cookware was hodge-podge and not very good. The coffee pots were horrible and not very clean. Some of the blinds were broke and the sliding doors did not latch well. We realize that with different people staying at a property, you cannot tell who will be good renters and who will not, so it's hard to keep things without them getting damaged. We just expected a little more for the money we paid for 7 days. We personally would not rent this property again.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Oct 2023
Mandy, Thanks for your review.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place on the OBX

Great large property with a ton of amenities. Very close to all the attractions and shopping. Has plenty of kitchen supplies to cook and serve with, washer/dryer works great! Cooked and served Thanksgiving dinner here and it went amazingly. Only thing I would say is it’s a little dated.. the carpets are pretty bad and there’s patch works everywhere you look. It didn’t deter from the fun, but she’s about due for some upgrades.
Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Oct 2023
Tim, So glad you had a 5-Star stay at Glistening Sands. Thanks for your comments.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location

July 4

Nice property. Beach was not easily accessible due to beach restoration. Left a pressure cooker and awaiting its arrival
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Jul 2020
Hi Joseph, I'm hoping you see this and can help us. We're not aware of any beach restoration occurring in the area of Glistening Sands (or in South Nags Head at all) so we're a little baffled by that comment. The pressure cooker has not been found, but we're going to attempt to locate it again on turn day to make sure it wasn't overlooked.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Stay at Nags Head

We really enjoyed this house and all it had to offer our group! Access to the beach was nice, amenities were just as described, and the location was convienient.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Jul 2020
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Glistening Sands. We hope you choose to stay with Outer Banks Blue for your next family vacation!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Jan 2026
Thank you for your 4-Star review. Please let us know next time what we can do to improve your experience so we can earn that 5th star on your rating. Please come back again soon.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Dec 2025
Thank you for your review. Please let us know what we can do next time to earn that 5th star on your review of your experience with us. Please come back again soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Aug 2024
Thank you Kimberly
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback