Located in Laurel Hill, this holiday home is in a rural area and near theme parks. Sasquatch Zoo and Emerald Coast Zoo are local attractions and those in the mood for shopping can visit Redstone Plaza and Crestview Commons. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with hunting and ecotours nearby.
Blackwater River State Forest - 26 min drive - 33.8 km
Blackstone Golf course - 29 min drive - 38.4 km
Lake Defuniak - 39 min drive - 51.2 km
Restaurants
Dunkin - 9 min drive
Laurel Hill Grill - 10 min drive
Monterrey’s - 18 min drive
Subway - 11 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Sand and Spur Horse Farm Stay pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Sand and Spur Horse Farm Stay?
As of 27 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Sand and Spur Horse Farm Stay on 29 Oct 2026 start from £392, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Sand and Spur Horse Farm Stay?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Sand and Spur Horse Farm Stay?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Sand and Spur Horse Farm Stay?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Sand and Spur Horse Farm Stay located?
Situated in a rural location, this holiday home is 6.9 mi (11.1 km) from Timber Creek Distillery and within 16 miles (25 km) of Sasquatch Zoo and Emerald Coast Zoo. Blackwater River State Forest and Kings Lake are also within 20 miles (32 km).
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
One of the nicest places we have stayed at. As someone who grew up on a farm, I LOVED the horses in the back yard! Everything was very clean and owner was very quick to respond to messages. Would 1000% stay here again!
Electric was out the whole time due to the hurricane and no water would have been nice if host checked on us
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 12 Oct 2026
Hi Alvice: this is a surprising review as my husband and I both spoke to the guests in the house throughout your stay. I was assured that you all were from down south in the Tampa/Orlando area and you were all fine and had a place to go that had power. I was told that you all were really enjoying the property. I must admit, after a major hurricane, I was quite preoccupied with trees down, animals and homes without water, and buildings that sustained damages in the area so you may have felt neglected. Very sorry for your one star review as we really liked your family and appreciated your stay.
Great home away from home while we attended a wedding up there. The house was spotless, with a beautiful view of all the horses. Check in was a breeze and the host was a great communicator. WiFi did all it needed to do for us! Thanks for a great stay.
We loved this house, it was secluded and had everything we needed.
This property was close enough to the beach but far enough way to have a country feel. The house had everything we needed. They were able to roast marshmallows at the fire pit while I grilled. The kids loved waking up and seeing the horses out the windows.
My husband and I live on the water which we love but we really enjoyed the change in scenery looking out over the deck to the beautiful horses grazing in the fields. The house was great and we are looking forward to returning in January.
Not much to say beyond the totally 100% accurate VRBO listing information. Super clean and well appointed home. 35 minutes from Altus Shooting Solutions Training Facility and 25 minutes from Crestview. Covered BBQ grill, Fire pit, loaded kitchen and fenced backyard make it perfect for families who want to cook or be kind to the budget. Due to Sand and Spurs close proximity to Crestview, it made a guys trip to the shooting range located in the middle of nowhere with no camping/cooking needed ; )! Bamboo Sushi is one of the best sushi, hibachi, ramen places I have ever been. We had most of our meals there OR they do a great job with their take out. There are many other choices, but Bamboo takes the win for us. Awesome property! Thanks for having us. We will be back the next time.
This home is situated out in the country. It is peaceful, quiet and good for the soul. The stars shine bright at night. The gentle breeze allows a wonderful outdoors dining experience on the back deck. The home is thoughtfully appointed and everything you need is right there. The beds are are comfortable with plenty of room for the whole family. If peace, quiet and Lovely surroundings is what you are looking for, this is where you need to be. well done Jean!
We come from Tennessee and have the country in our back yard, it was nice to see this side of Florida as well. Horses are literally in your back yard. There were neighborhood dogs we loved seeing we named them cupcake and princess(probably not their proper names). This place was very family friendly our kids range from 11-15 and the 21 year old child came as well(this was a spur of the moment). The 21 year old has had a rough couple of months with recent events and ended up in a bed with beagle sheets. She actually owns beagles so it really was nice for her to see these sheets and the owners didnt even realize it. This place was a perfect get away for her. It does take a while to get to the beach but we knew that heading in to this place. Will definitely look at staying again!!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2019
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Kellie S.
22 May 2019
Beautiful home!
The home was beautiful and very clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Gaylier M.
1 May 2019
Pleasant and enjoyable time with extended family
We rented both Beach House Blue and Sand and Spur. Both were clean and well furnished. I will mention that at Sand and Spur, where all seven met to eat, the outside grill would not work. The three sisters staying there say some light bulbs were also out. This is just for infor. for we plan to stay there again next April.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 31 Mar 2020
Well darn it! We aim to have the best, cleanest houses on the market and hearing about such simple fixes on a review breaks my heart. As soon as I saw this review today, I had my handyman knock on the door to the current renter. They said there were no burned out bulbs and when they checked the gas grill, the grill is fully functional, you just have to turn the propane tank on. It was full! Had we been given a chance, these problems would have been fixed. On your next visit, please let me know if you have an issue! We aim to please!!!
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Judith D.
13 Apr 2019
Beautiful, peaceful property. Wonderful owners.
We loved our experience at this property. We relaxed and totally enjoyed the home and it’s surrounding grounds. The horses were so beautiful and the staff was always pleasant. We are definitely returning
Stayed 30 nights in Mar 2019
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Verified traveller
6 Nov 2018
Quiet and Beautiful
We were there for a wedding in Laurel Hill, love the area as I grew up in small town like this. Beautiful beaches within an hour and I liked returning to Laurel Hill to the slower pace.
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2018
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Nancy S.
28 Oct 2018
OMG! Awesome stay!
We could not have asked for anything better. Beautiful home and surroundings. We definitely stay again.....hopefully for longer next time.
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2018
Verified review
8/10 Good
Gaylier M.
4 May 2018
clean, neat, comfortable
My three elderly sisters-in-law stayed here while others in the family stayed in a near y home for our annual get together. They all liked the house, but suggested that several light bulbs were either missing or burned out. Also, the rug in the living room being so thin, presented a safety hazard for walking. However, they all still want to rent it again next year.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2018
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Jackie J.
26 Feb 2018
On our own and loved it!
This lovely home is off a county road with a huge front yard and enclosed back yard that our dogs just loved. Some blooming daffodils (or narcissus?) magnolia tree, and others in the yard were lovely! House, kitchen utensils and the like, we’re CLEAN, not just wiped off—like someone really cared. It might seem trivial and you may laugh, but I hate/fear/scream and cry at spiders and it was a fear coming deep south from the “stories” I’d heard. We didn’t see a single one. Phew!! TV channel choice could be better, but with the Emerald Coast an hour away, that’s minor. Jean and her team answered and solved our minor questions extremely quickly. Aside from being available, we were left peacefully alone...a good thing. You’ll love the solitude and having all the Crestview or Destin amenities not far away.
Stayed 14 nights in Feb 2018
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Thomas F.
7 Dec 2017
Wedding weekend
My son and groomsmen stayed for 3 nights for his wedding in Laurel Hill. Very convenient, very clean, and so very relaxing. Everything we needed was there. Relaxed outside with a fire. Played with the horses next door. I can't say enough how quiet and relaxing it was. If you're having a wedding in Laurel Hill, you should stay here and just relax. 5 Miles to the venue....
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2017
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Betty G.
25 Nov 2017
Peaceful & relaxing
Absolutely loved our stay. House was great! Very clean and comfortable. Loved sitting on the back porch of a morning with a cup of coffee the first few days and watching the horses. Jean was very accommodating and on top of any question we had. Would definitely recommend this home to anyone staying in this area wanting a nice, quiet, peaceful home away from home. Will definitely stay again next time we are in this area. Thanks Jean.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2017
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Joseph C.
19 Oct 2017
Beautiful property
Nice modern style home with some beach/ decor. Nice views around with all the horses. It's a nice getaway.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2017
Archival
2/10 Terrible
Joel C.
23 Jun 2017
Very disappointed
A very nice home, beautiful grounds, but as one who is allergic to bees, I was very scared when I walked in the back yard by the out building and much to my surprise I was chased by bees. I had no choice but to leave the leave the propert immediately. When reaching out to the owner, I offered to forfeit 25% thinking that was fair ad I didn't so much as bring my bags in. Much to my amazement, the owner refused and is only returning the cleaning fee of a property that was never used....shameful
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 31 Mar 2020
This renter never contacted me about a problem. Via email, his secretary told me he was swarmed by bees when he arrived. As soon as I saw this email I sent our handyman and I happened to have our pest control person on the property and he went to the house as well. We were on the spot within two hours of this email and as soon as I saw it. There were no bees to be found in the house or in the surrounding areas but he sprayed anyway as a precaution at the house, in the back yard and in the surrounding areas. I personally had been at the house the two prior days cleaning and working in the yard. I never saw a bee and had no indication that we had any issues with pests. At the time of the first email, the renters secretary did not tell us that he had booked another property. I found out on Monday, via email again, that he had booked somewhere else which gave us no opportunity to rent to another party. When staying in a home, there can be problems that are unforeseen by guests and owners. Giving the owner a phone call and a chance to correct any problem is a necessary protocol. We have a strict cancellation policy and in this case, we stuck to it because this renter did not give us a chance to remedy nor did he release the property to rent to another party. We pride ourselves on clean, very well maintained homes as well as caring about our tenants. As soon as we were notified, we were on the spot and handled this in the best way we could. In an emergency, don't you think it is necessary to make a phone call? Give an owner a chance to responde? We were not told that he booked somewhere else until the following Monday. We did refund his security deposit and cleaning fee but he paid for a stay he chose to stay somewhere else. We hate that his review did not reveal the whole truth.
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Shara W.
4 Aug 2016
Beautiful, quiet, comfortable!
We had a great time staying at Sand and Spur! It was a great setup for our family. They had all the amenities we could need (central air, satellite TV, washer and dryer, dishwasher, carport). The yard was good for running around with my kiddos. And who doesn't love watching beautiful horses!