Entire home

Moeraki Cottage overlooking the ocean in the Moeraki Village

Photo gallery for Moeraki Cottage overlooking the ocean in the Moeraki Village

A view from a window overlooking a lush garden with a variety of trees and shrubs, a fence, and a distant landscape.
A modern kitchen with a built-in oven, microwave, and gas stove. There is a window with a view of greenery outside.
A house with a wooden deck, a chimney, and a view of the ocean.
A window with a view of a lush green landscape and trees.
A cozy room with a fireplace, a kitchen area, and a comfortable seating area.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Dog-friendly
  • Barbecue grill
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View in a map
Moeraki, OTA
  • Place, Moeraki Boulders
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Place, Hampden Beach
    ‪7 min drive‬
  • Place, Moeraki Lighthouse
    ‪9 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

1 bedroom (sleeps 2)

Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Moeraki

Moeraki is home to this holiday home. Totara Estate and Whitestone City are cultural highlights, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Oamaru Harbour and NZ Malt Whisky Company. Totara Estate and Whitestone Cheese Factory are also worth visiting.
Map
Moeraki, OTA

What's nearby

  • Moeraki Boulders - 4 min drive - 4.0 km
  • Hampden Beach - 7 min drive - 7.6 km
  • Moeraki Lighthouse - 9 min drive - 5.4 km
  • Steampunk HQ - 29 min drive - 51.2 km
  • Oamaru Harbour - 30 min drive - 50.8 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Lockies Takeaways - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Moeraki Boulders Restaurant - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Hampden Takeaways - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Hampden Tavern - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪The Fishwife - ‬19 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Moeraki Cottage overlooking the ocean in the Moeraki Village pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 1 total).

How much is parking at Moeraki Cottage overlooking the ocean in the Moeraki Village?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Moeraki Cottage overlooking the ocean in the Moeraki Village?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Moeraki Cottage overlooking the ocean in the Moeraki Village?

Checkout is at 12:00 PM.

Where is Moeraki Cottage overlooking the ocean in the Moeraki Village located?

Situated in Moeraki, this holiday home is 0.9 mi (1.5 km) from Hampden Beach and within 3 miles (5 km) of Moeraki Boulders and Moeraki Lighthouse. Shag Point Scenic Reserve and Te Hakapureirei Beach are also within 12 miles (20 km).

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 7 out of 10 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 10 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 10 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 10 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 10 reviews

8.2/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

9.2/10

Communication

9.2/10

Location

8.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A lovely stay

I loved the log fire and just how quiet it was. thank you
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Relaxing time away with my husband

Really nice to get away from the usual ratrace at home with work etc. The fact there was no internet or tv was an added bonus.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Very cosy

Nice tidy spot. Farly private and very relaxing. Great fencing for a wee dog. Thanks
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Moeraki

Excellent bach, warm with the fire at nights. Great kitchen, lots of seating outside if sunny. Older place, but roomy for 2 and comfortable. Great value for money. Awesome views from up high.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Tranquility

Lovely old building, beautifully modernised and redecorated, but retains its character. Nicely situated with surrounding native Bush. Tiny glimpse of the sea in the distance, and very peaceful. Obviously a work in progress, and what has been done is of a high standard but we would love to come back again and see how it developes. Everything you could want for a quiet stay. TV although not essential, would be a bonus. Leigh and Kay.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wee gem

Great place with awesome views. Fire was on when we arrived, communication with owners before was great. Would highly recommend
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Peaceful place

Very nice beach cottage, close to the beach. Really enjoyed our time there Thanks
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Something Missing

Overall we enjoyed the stay. Obviously the cottage is a work in progress. Lovely bathroom! Peaceful setting and nice views. What was missing? A working TV. Not having a TV is not the end of the world, but a little mention in the listing would suffice. Thanks
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2020
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Communication

Moeraki

Simple basic beach cottage. Nicely presented unfortunately last guest had left some rubbish. Lovely village.
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Mar 2020
Apologies for the previous guest. We have to trust people will take care and clean up after their stay. Sorry this has affected your time in Moeraki. Kind regards Kaz
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness

Some things missing

Could not find matches to light fire Was more work than expected Long walk into village was nice Was cold Thought overpriced Spotlessly clean Having to take trash away was a pain Would have liked sleep in it expec tations of leaving took couple of hour
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Mar 2020
Apologies if you found it cold. There are fire starters and 2 firefighters for your use. Because you refused to take away your own rubbish we received a low review from the following guests. Please make sure you understand the property rules prior to using Bookabach and you will find you have a better stay. Good luck
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback