Located in Freeport, this holiday home is near a water park and on the beach. Port of Freeport and Freeport Municipal Golf Course are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Quintana Xeriscape Nature Reserve and Follets Island Beach. Discover the area's water adventures with nearby fishing, or enjoy the great outdoors with cycling.
Is Cape Allswell - Life is Good, Sun, Sand & Surf! pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Cape Allswell - Life is Good, Sun, Sand & Surf!?
As of 27 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Cape Allswell - Life is Good, Sun, Sand & Surf! on 8 Dec 2026 start from £513, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Cape Allswell - Life is Good, Sun, Sand & Surf!?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Cape Allswell - Life is Good, Sun, Sand & Surf!?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Cape Allswell - Life is Good, Sun, Sand & Surf!?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Cape Allswell - Life is Good, Sun, Sand & Surf! located?
Nestled on the beach, this Freeport holiday home is within 3 mi (5 km) of Follets Island Beach, Surfside Beach and Swan Lake. Follets Island and Surfside Jetty Park are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
The home was clean and beautiful. The view from the porch was absolutely amazing. There was a nice welcome basket with a sweet note at the front door that included shampoo, conditioner, body wash plus a doggie treat and poop bags for our pet The house was situated close to a road for easy access to the beach. You only had to walk past one house to get to it and then down to the beach! The linens were wonderful as well. I can't say enough good things about the house and the communication we received when renting and during our stay. We were there four nights and enjoyed every day there.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2026
Response from Management on 20 Oct 2026
Clean and beautiful, that is what we aim for! Thank you for the 5-stars and kind words. We’re so glad you enjoyed the amazing porch views, our 979 signature welcome basket, and the easy beach access. It’s wonderful to hear the linens and communication helped make your four-night stay so memorable. Our 979 Crew would be delighted to host you again!
The water was the worst. It smelled. I think something could be done. I’ve had well water all my life. I don’t live on the coast but chlorine would help. The dishwasher was gross. From mineral buildup. The mosquitoes were awful. That was not your fault but a board walk to the ocean would make it better. The house was nice.
Great little house right on the beach! Most everything one would need is right there in the house. A couple suggestions is a walkover to the beach or mow a path all the way over and an outdoor shower. Wish there was some way to treat that well water! But it was ok for showers. Would stay there again.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Sept 2026
We agree this is such a cute home on the beach, thank you for noting! Unfortunately, the owner cannot cut a path through the dunes per the GLO for habitat reasons. However, the good news is that there is a main beach access just 1 home over - very easy walk. We would love to have you back again!
The house has an amazing view and sits on a beautiful beach. The interior is clean and comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped, and the hosts supplied plenty of household essentials for our week stay. Do consider bringing your own drinking/cooking water as the tap and filter water has a strong taste.
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Apr 2026
It really does, thank you for noting and love the photo memories captured from this special spot! We're delighted you found the home clean, comfortable, and well-equipped for your stay! Even though this home has an RO system on the kitchen sink, we always recommend bringing extra drinking water for your enjoyment at the coast. Thank you again for allowing us to host your stay, Emily and group!
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Lisa S.
3 Aug 2026
Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
We used bottled water for everything except washing clothes and showering (couldnt figure out how to use bottled water for these). Sadly all of our skin turned ORANGE our clothes are ORANGE and ruined.Toilets barely work due to RUSTshower door wont close in master and hits you when you are using the toilet.Grill needs to be trashedI could go on and on but not wasting my time. Worst vacation we've been on in over 35 years.
The host was welcoming, we got a wonderful gift basket...loved the cottage feel of the house, and the fact that it was on one floor..the view was amazing!
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Nov 2025
Why thank you, Darrel, it was a pleasure hosting you and love the photos from your stay! We hope to host you again!
Beautiful Views and Clean Property. The Walk out access to the beach was under a Foot or Two of Water and not usable at all even though it didn't rain during the time of our visit at all. We were not able to use the underneath of the property, yard, or walk out to beach at all. We were little disappointed by that. The standing water did add to the amount of mosquitos and bugs in and around the property. Other than that, it was a nice stay, clean house with good views.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Jun 2026
Thank you for allowing us to host you and highlighting the beautiful views and cleanliness of the home!
Mother Nature certainly put on a show before your arrival. With the combination of unusually high tides and heavy rainfall, our beachfront yard temporarily turned into its own little waterfront feature. While we wish we had the ability to control the Gulf's mood swings, unfortunately that's one amenity not included with the rental!
We're sorry the standing water limited access to the yard and beach walkover during your stay and invited a few extra mosquito "guests" to the party. They were not welcomed. The good news is that these conditions are typically short-lived and the water recedes as the tides and weather return to normal.
We're glad you still enjoyed the home, the views, and your overall stay, and we hope to welcome you back for a visit with a little less water in the yard and a few less uninvited buggers in attendance.
Cape Allswell is very clean and equipped with everything we needed. The view of the beach is breathtaking. A quick minute walk to the beach. Great location. Stayed here last year for our sister weekend at the beach and hope to be back next year. Easy to book and great communiction with the Host.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Oct 2025
Thank you for the 10 out of 10 and compliments, Nancy! We appreciate you allowing us to host your island stay and would love to have you back again!
Everything was perfect from the house to the beach. We want to come back for sure!
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 12 Dec 2024
Wonderful news and we're so glad you experienced a great vacation, Katie! Thank you for the compliments and being such a great group to host. We do hope you plan that return trip!
This home was adorable, perfectly located, and offered an absolutely breathtaking ocean view! We were immediately impressed when we opened the front door. The lights were on, the TV and music were playing, and they had even left a special treat for our pup such a thoughtful touch and wonderful customer service..The location was fantastic. A quick walk over the sand dune takes you right to the ocean, and if you’re not feeling quite that adventurous, the beach access is just one house down. As noted in the listing, the home uses well water. We did notice a strong odor when we arrived, but management responded quickly and explained that the system had recently been serviced. They recommended running the water throughout the house for a while. It would have been preferable for this to have been done before our arrival, but the odor dissipated after we ran the water.. Filtered water is also available at the kitchen sink..The home had nearly everything we needed, although the silverware, knives, and skillets could use replacing. A couple of the ocean facing bedroom windows also need attention, as they did not close completely and allowed wind, heat, and humidity inside. The screen in the main bedroom could use replacing as well. For rinsing off after the beach, we found a hose on the left side of the house that worked perfectly. Adding a hose to the deck spigot would be a helpful improvement, too. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, loved the home, beautiful view and we come back.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Sept 2026
Thank you so much for such a thoughtful and detailed review! We’re thrilled you loved the home, the views, the location, and those little arrival touches for both you and your pup.
We also truly appreciate your understanding regarding the well water. We did want to clarify that the home's owner and our 979 Crew had actually gone to considerable lengths before your arrival to have the well-water system serviced and new filters installed in preparation for your stay. With well water, particularly in a coastal environment, an odor can occasionally linger or become noticeable when the system has been sitting unused between guests. We’re glad that, after running the water as recommended, the odor dissipated and that you were able to use the filtered drinking water at the kitchen sink.
We’ve also noted your comments regarding the kitchen items, windows, and screen. Those are helpful observations for us and will be passed along for review. We’re always looking for ways to keep these coastal homes comfortable and well cared for, even when the Gulf breeze has other plans!
Most importantly, we’re so happy you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back for another dose of those beautiful ocean views. Thank you again for choosing us and for taking such great care of the home, Sonja!
House was very nice. Great views , directly on the beach. Bed rooms were roomy and comfortable. Kitchen well stocked with any utensil needed. Showers were the best we have ever had at a beach house in Surfside. We had a great 4 days ! Trent Bonow
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Apr 2025
We're thrilled to hear you getaway was a successful beachside one, Trent! Thank you for the compliments, helpful tips for future guests, and being such a great group to host. The 979 Crew would love to host you again!
Overwhelming mildew smell in the guest bath off the kitchen. Would have been nice to have an outdoor hose to rinse off from the beach.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Jul 2025
Thanks so much for your kind words, Angelyn, about the house and deck! We’re really sorry to hear about the mildew smell in the guest bath (maybe the humidity did it's thing)—that’s definitely not what we want for our guests.
As for the outdoor hose, there actually is one on the left side of the house behind the garage—perfect for rinsing off after a beach day. Sorry if it wasn’t easy to spot!
We appreciate you staying with us and hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon in the future for a fresh, relaxing stay!
Perfect place to spend some very relaxing time with friends or family! The view of the ocean is beautiful! Only a very short walk to the beach.The house has everything you need for your stay! My
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Oct 2024
We're delighted to hear the Sisters' Getaway was a beachside success! Thank you for allowing the 979 Crew to host your stay. We hope to have you back again!
This is a clean little 3 bedroom house overlooking the Gulf. The neighborhood is quiet, and you're in position to access Lake Jackson and Galveston for activities. One thing you may not be ready for if you're not from Texas is that people can camp just outside the house on the beach, though they didn’t cause an issue and I'd consider staying there again.Overall a very pleasant place to stay!
Stayed 8 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 12 Dec 2024
We're glad you found everything clean, comfortable, and convenient, Elizabeth! Yes, all of the Texas coast is subject to the Texas Open Beaches Act, the enjoyment does not seem to be impacted - Allswell. 😀. We hope to host you again.
We're delighted your experience at Cape Allswell was nothing short of a 5-star one! Thank you for being such a great guest for 979 to host! We hope to have you back again!
Cape Allswell property was absolutely amazing! the booking process was easy, and I received constant communications leading up to check in day and throughout the stay, making it a seamless process and knowing I would be able to communicate with the property company at any time.The house was exactly as described, even better actually, very clean, everything is new and updates, the beds and linen were incredible, comfortable beds are a huge point, and they were super comfortable with luxury linens - the decor was beautiful. The house has all the amenities you could want, and the kitchen was very well stocked. The fireplace was a lovely touch and made the arrival night, big storm, feel very cozy. Sitting out on the deck was perfect - right on the ocean and watching sunrise to the moon coming up was a wonderful experience and made our stay really relaxing. It was lovely to just walk to the beach - a few steps away and then relax on the balcony. A huge comfort level was the deck was only accessible from inside the house, therefore making us feel very safe and secure during our stay. Easily accessible to Surfside if you needed any supplies. We all absolutely loved it and definitely want to book it again.Thank you