Entire home

1009 W Bay | Quaint Cottage Steps to Sand

Photo gallery for 1009 W Bay | Quaint Cottage Steps to Sand

A spacious living room with a fireplace, a green sofa with patterned cushions, and a white coffee table.
A two-story house with a white staircase, a patio with outdoor furniture, and a white picket fence.
A patio with wicker furniture, potted plants, and a concrete floor.
A two-story residential building with a white exterior, a balcony, and a staircase leading to the upper floor.
A front porch with a wooden bench, potted plants, a white door, and a staircase.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Balboa Pier

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Barbecue grill
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine
  • Garage parking available
  • Internet

Explore the area

View in a map
Newport Beach, CA
  • Place, Balboa Beach
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Balboa Peninsula Beaches
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Balboa Pier
    ‪18 min walk‬
  • Airport, Orange County, CA (SNA-John Wayne)
    ‪16 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 4)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

2 Single Beds

1 bathroom, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet

Bathroom 2

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Office
Balcony

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Newport Beach

Located in Balboa Peninsula, a neighbourhood in Newport Beach, this holiday home is near theme parks and near the beach. Fashion Island and Irvine Spectrum Center are worth checking out if shopping is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Crystal Cove State Park and Crystal Cove State Park. Orange County Fair and Events Center and Segerstrom Center for the Arts are not to be missed. Take the opportunity to explore the area for water adventures such as fishing.
Map
Newport Beach, CA

What's nearby

  • Balboa Beach - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Balboa Peninsula Beaches - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Mother’s Beach - 7 min walk - 0.6 km
  • Balboa Pier - 18 min walk - 1.6 km
  • Newport Beach Pier - 2 min drive - 1.9 km

Getting around

  • Orange Station - 21 min drive
  • Orange County, CA (SNA-John Wayne) - 22 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Baja Sharkeez - ‬18 min walk
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪T K Burgers - ‬20 min walk
  • ‪7-Eleven - ‬16 min walk
  • ‪Newport Coffee Company - ‬18 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is 1009 W Bay | Quaint Cottage Steps to Sand pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at 1009 W Bay | Quaint Cottage Steps to Sand?

As of 29 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at 1009 W Bay | Quaint Cottage Steps to Sand on 3 May 2027 start from £1,044, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at 1009 W Bay | Quaint Cottage Steps to Sand?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at 1009 W Bay | Quaint Cottage Steps to Sand?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at 1009 W Bay | Quaint Cottage Steps to Sand?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is 1009 W Bay | Quaint Cottage Steps to Sand located?

Located in Balboa Peninsula, this holiday home is within 1 mi (2 km) of Balboa Beach and Newport Beach Pier. Balboa Peninsula Beaches and Mother’s Beach are also within 10 minutes.

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 57 out of 79 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 16 out of 79 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 79 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 79 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 79 reviews

8.6/10

Cleanliness

9.0/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
loved it
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Jul 2026
Thank you for the great review, Wendy! So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we'd love to have you back. Thanks for staying with Newport Beach Vacation Properties.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Great location, pretty quite neighborhood, except for the loud bird next door that liked to wake us in the morning. At the 10 PM quiet time everything did not quite in the hood. The property is very cluttered and needs to be minimalized quite a bit, but we enjoyed our beds very much, they are all very comfortable. Each of us raved about that. But no other place was very nice to relax, the chairs and couch just need to be taken our and trashed and get new. The home only is allowed to have 4 people there, but there are at least 40 wine glasses of all shapes and sized, it would have been nicer to have 4 clean wine glasses that were more modern and space to put our food in the cupboard. It kinda felt like being at grandmas house.
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Sept 2026
Thank you for the feedback! We’re so glad to hear everyone loved the beds and that you enjoyed the location. We really appreciate your comments about the furniture, décor, and kitchen setup as well. We’ll be passing those along to the homeowner, as it’s always helpful to hear what would make the home more comfortable and functional for our guests. As for the noisy bird next door, that’s one neighbor we unfortunately don’t have much control over! 😊 Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope you were still able to enjoy your time in Newport Beach!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Sandwiched conveniently between the
Stayed 19 nights in Feb 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The apartment was comfortable with a well appointed kitchen. The area is great with restaurants and a lot of opportunity for outdoor fun.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Aug 2025
Thank you for the review, Lawrence! We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to host you again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beach Getaway

Lovely little spot close to the beach and the bay!
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Loved it!

A great location near the water! The beach was close and the neighborhood quiet and friendly!
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2019
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Retirement

It was perfect for our needs
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2023
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Well equipped nice location!

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was clean. I was very happy with the location. I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Very Good! Third year in a row.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Balboa

It was a good stay…just miscommunication with return of owners. In convenience.
Stayed 19 nights in Apr 2024
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Newport Hideaway

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: What a great location. We stayed here for three weeks, and the home was perfect for us. Nothing fancy, just perfect. Simple, clean well laid out, and close to everything you would want in Newport.
Stayed 23 nights in Feb 2023
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Perfect Relaxing Weekend

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: This place was perfect for my husband and I and our dog for a long weekend. Peaceful, clean and quiet, and a great location, walkable to the Bay and the beach and a long but great walk to Balboa Village. We left a laptop at the property and the people at Burr White were WONDERFUL in helping us track it down. Will be back to this property!
Response from VrboOwner on 23 May 2022
Hey Kelly, Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Newport Beach. We're happy you were able to get your laptop back in a timely manner. Hope to see you again soon -Burr White Realty
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication

60th Birthday Getaway

Celebrated my wife's birthday over the labor day weekend. The house was very comfortable and clean. It was very close to the beach and only a couple houses from the marina beach. we walked to all our meal locations. We took our dogs and but confirm with the realty company, because there was a misunderstanding and I was called on my last day there, like I had tried to sneak them in. but my vacation was an excellent time.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Sept 2020
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us Stephen! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Please let us know when you bring a pet. You are correct , this home pet friendly however we just need to include that in the contract and there is a pet fee. Best regards, Burr White Management
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Christmas

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Very nice, smaller than we expected. Trundle bed underneath matress was uncomfortable. Kitchen nicely stocked with cookware and serving dishes, glasses, etc. close to everything. Small garage space.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication

Recent stay

House was as advertised in a nice area steps to the Bay and Ocean. Upon arrival, however, house was very dirty...floors were dirty and sticky, bathroom toilet was not cleaned and Kitchen looked like it had not been cleaned in a few weeks. Kitchen was well stocked, but the Microwave looked like it was from 1971. Still managed to have a nice time, but property manager needs to get a new cleaning service for what they charge per night to rent this place.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2024
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Pleased overall. But you have to put on your own bedding.

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Overall it was lovely. Clean, quiet, comfortable, charming, great location. Burr White Realty did a great job getting our questions answered. A few things that we feel needed improvement were...1. We had to put our bedding on our beds. After traveling to get there, that's the last thing we wanted to do. As well as being required to remove bedding after our stay.2. There was a strong natural gas scent coming from the old kitchen stove/oven. We weren't overly concerned but it wasn't pleasant.3. The front step was terribly slippery after the dew/rain. I can't imagine someone not getting hurt on that.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 31 Mar 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We have notified our maintenace department to inspect the stove and front step immediately. Additionally, our management staff has been made aware of your feedback about making the beds for review in future policy changes. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Newport Beach!
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
We flew across the country to stay in Newport Beach. Our plane landed at 12 pm. We arrived at house at 1 pm. Check-in was at 4 pm. We requested early check-in. We had to wait outside the door with suitcases for nearly 2 hours before they would give us the entry code. The house was ready the entire time. This was unacceptable and uncalled for. General maintenance for the house appeared to be neglected for many years. Parts of the window blinds literally broke and fell to the floor upon touching them. We had to frequently rig and fix them. The washer and dryer were unusable until about day 2 or 3 due to hoses not being properly hooked up. The coffee pot was not cleaned, full of old coffee grounds, and mold was growing inside. From that, we hypothesized this house is not frequently rented. It takes a while for mold to grow. Also, black mold was growing in the shower.The listing says will sleep 4. That is ridiculous. The house sleeps 3. The 2nd bedroom had a 1-person day bed and a futon. Our friends had to bring a queen size blow-up mattress. We rearranged furniture to make it temporarily livable for 2 couples. The house was kinda cool and had the "old feel" to it, which appeared to be the general theme of the area, but general maintenance was not performed for many years. The living room TV had to be at least 10-15 years old. The TV stand was rigged to fit the TV, making it look ridiculous. The bedrooms had no TVs.We made the best of it.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Oct 2025
Edward, we sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and want to address your concerns. Our records show you requested early check-in by phone at 1:14 PM on your arrival day. Our reservationist made the request but explained that same-day requests can’t be guaranteed due to cleaning and inspection schedules across multiple properties. We always recommend guests make early check-in requests the morning of arrival so we can better accommodate them. We also apologize for the blinds and possible mold and will look into both immediately. Regarding the sleeping arrangements, our listing photos accurately show the bed types and note that TVs are not in the bedrooms. We hadn’t heard from you after your early check-in request, but would have gladly addressed any issues during your stay. We hope you still enjoyed your time in Newport and would welcome the chance to host you again for a smoother experience.
From a partner site

2/10 Terrible

Great Location, Terrible Experience

Rating Details: The property manager was very unhelpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: I will never rent from Burr White again. This location was great, the house ok, but Burr White's customer service was dismal. Upon arrival the toilet wouldn't flush and the shower curtain fell every time someone touched it. Upon calling BW, we were expected to wait for the maintenance person AND the plumber the next day. Also, the BW customer service agent actually blamed US for the toilet..twice! To say I was upset is an understatement. To immediately blame the client is totally unacceptable. To make matters worse, we drove almost 10 hours to get there and had to struggle to make the tight window to pick up the keys (ever hear of a lockbox?!), and then to find I had to make up all the beds as the sheets were left on top of them, was frustrating..I was tired and on vacation and didn't want to make up my own beds in a rental. Small thing, but really below standards for Newport Beach. Again, will never rent with Burr White again..too many things made what was supposed to be a relaxing vacation, stressful...all unnecessarily.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

The house was clean and in a great location.

The home was in a great location. Clean and small and organized.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2023
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Christmas

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Very nice, smaller than we expected. Trundle bed underneath matress was uncomfortable. Kitchen nicely stocked with cookware and serving dishes, glasses, etc. close to everything. Small garage space.
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Mar 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We have documented your comments and they have been forwarded to our management and maintenance teams for review. We look forward to seeing you on your next Newport Beach vacation!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great beachy stay!

My dad and I had a great stay here. Awesome location on the peninsula. Thank you!
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2022
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location, lots of quirks

Loved the location of this house and the proximity to the beach. Very clean property. There have been a few minor changes to the property since the listing photos were taken. It's not a very intuitive space and it took time to figure out the pull out bed and the lights. Minivans be warned that the garage is TIGHT. I scraped the side of my van pulling into the garage. Driving from out of state and dealing with California traffic I found the one hour window to pick up the keys at the realty office a hard deadline to make. A keyless entry option would have been nice.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful location

The property was exactly as shown in photos and described. In fact, there were lots more kitchen and beach supplies than we could ever use. The neighborhood was convenient to everything. The management company was so easy to work with and made our stay seamless. We will stay there again
Stayed 10 nights in Sep 2022
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Nice getaway!

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Always relaxing and a break from hot weather inland.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Annual Newport Vacation

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: This is the 3rd year in a row we have rented this unit. Great location next to the Beach & the bay beach is the main reason we love to stay here. Owner is very nice & we now know the neighbors.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Beach House Vacation 2022

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Fantastic! Loved the location so close to the bay and beach. The house was clean and had everything we needed.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback