Entire home

Sixpenny Cottage - Spectacular views near Bourton-on-the-Water

Photo gallery for Sixpenny Cottage - Spectacular views near Bourton-on-the-Water

A spacious living room with a high ceiling and exposed beams, a fireplace, and a view to a dining area.
A room with a green cabinet, a dining area, and a view through a doorway.
A dining area with a round table set for six, surrounded by chairs, with a view of greenery outside.
A spacious kitchen with wooden flooring, a central island, and built-in cabinetry.
A stone house with a sloped roof, surrounded by lush greenery and a view of rolling hills in the distance.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • Barbecue grill
    A rare find - perfect for a relaxed, outdoor grilling experience.
  • Unmatched views, unforgettable moments
    Guests like the location for the scenic views.

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Kitchenette
  • Barbecue grill
  • Refrigerator
  • Dryer
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View in a map
Clapton-on-the-Hill, Gloucestershire
  • Place, The Model Village
    ‪10 min drive‬
  • Place, Cotswold Motoring Museum
    ‪10 min drive‬
  • Place, Birdland Park and Gardens
    ‪10 min drive‬
  • Airport, Oxford (OXF)
    ‪54 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

Bedroom #1

1 Double Bed

Bedroom #2

1 King Bed

Bedroom #3

1 King Bed

Bedroom #4

2 Single Beds

Bedroom #5

1 Double Bed

4 bathrooms

Bathroom #1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Bathroom #2

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom #3

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom #4

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Kitchenette
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Cheltenham

Located in Cheltenham, this cottage is in a rural area. Naunton Downs Golf Club and Witney Lakes Golf Course are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore River Thames and Broadway Tower Country Park. Travelling with kids? Consider The Model Village and Birdland Park and Gardens.
Map
Clapton-on-the-Hill, Gloucestershire

What's nearby

  • River Windrush - 5 min drive - 2.7 km
  • The Model Village - 10 min drive - 5.3 km
  • Cotswold Motoring Museum - 10 min drive - 5.3 km
  • Birdland Park and Gardens - 10 min drive - 5.3 km
  • Bourton Model Railway Exhibition - 10 min drive - 5.3 km

Getting around

  • Cheltenham Spa Station - 29 min drive
  • Oxford (OXF) - 55 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Old New Inn - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪The Porch House - ‬14 min drive
  • ‪The Mousetrap Inn - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪The Willow - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪New England Coffee House - ‬14 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Sixpenny Cottage - Spectacular views near Bourton-on-the-Water pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Sixpenny Cottage - Spectacular views near Bourton-on-the-Water?

As of 30 Oct, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Sixpenny Cottage - Spectacular views near Bourton-on-the-Water on 28 Feb, 2027 start from S$3,088, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Sixpenny Cottage - Spectacular views near Bourton-on-the-Water?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Sixpenny Cottage - Spectacular views near Bourton-on-the-Water?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Sixpenny Cottage - Spectacular views near Bourton-on-the-Water?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Sixpenny Cottage - Spectacular views near Bourton-on-the-Water located?

This family-friendly Cheltenham cottage is located in a rural location, within 2 mi (3 km) of The Model Village, Birdland Park and Gardens and Dragonfly Maze. Bourton Leisure Centre and Cotswold Motoring Museum are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 11 out of 18 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 6 out of 18 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 18 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 18 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 18 reviews

9.8/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

From a partner site

8/10 Good

Lovely Stay

Beautiful cottage that we had a fantastic stay in. Really appreciate how well stocked it was with items like toilet rolls, dustbin bags, tea towels, kitchen roll - this really makes a difference. The sofa in the living room are a bit uncomfortable and could de with re-stuffing or replacing - it's really the only area we can comment on. The rest was clean (some bits dusty) but beds were comfortable, lots of hot water and the house feels welcoming and homely. We had an incredible time and would recommend staying here.
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Oct, 2026
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re so pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay and found the cottage welcoming and homely. It’s lovely to hear that the little touches, such as having plenty of essentials provided, made a difference to your stay. We also appreciate you highlighting the sofas and areas of dust. We’re sorry these weren’t up to the standard you expected, and we’ve passed your feedback on to the property owner to ensure these points are addressed. We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds again soon!
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Short break

Sixpenny cottage was the ideal place for a break with family . We loved the open plan kitchen, diner and lounge and were blessed with fabulous weather in September so were able to take advantage of the lovely outside area and views and have a bbq on the one provided. All very comfortable and the welcome cake, milk, bread & milk was really appreciated.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The house is actually better than the pictures show. We were so delighted when we arrived and were there for 8 days so got to know the place pretty well. The setting is so charming and the views out the back are so beautiful- classic English countryside with a few huge stone homes scattered about. We were just two couples but the way it’s set up you could easily have 8 people or more. All the rooms are surprisingly large and decorated very nicely. Everything worked flawlessly and we would definitely book it again.
Stayed 8 nights in Sep 2026
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

If your budget allows...

Don't hesitate to book Sixpenny Cottage. Everything about it is magnificent. Rosie, the housekeeper, does a thorough job in maintaining it. Great quiet location with awesome views out the big windows. Nice deck too!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
super warm, really lovely house
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2026
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Beautiful! Relaxing break.

We enjoyed a lovely family get together at Sixpenny Cottage - it was such a relaxing location with wonderful views.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Fantastic time away with friends

Everything was fantastic! 8 of us stayed here for 4 nights and had the best of times! Fantastic property with amazing views in a great location for visiting different parts of the Cotswolds. Would highly recommend!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Absolutely Stunning Property

Situated in an idyllic hamlet, the property was outstanding. Everything you needed in the property was provided. Very rustic place beautifully decorated and views stunning. Ample parking for at least least three cars albeit quite a tight fit. The only negative comment is the garden, it could be tidied up as it looked unkempt and better garden furniture provided if upu are planning to stop in summer. Had a marvellous stay for my 50th wedding anniversary
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Mar, 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on your recent stay at Sixpenny Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the owner and property manager who have taken these points on board and are looking into them. They've also let us know that a gardener is being arranged to visit as soon as possible. We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds again soon.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Festive weekend at Sixpenny Cottage.

Me and my guest had a festive weekend at Sixpenny Cottage. It was absolutely gorgeous; the house itself looked even better in person than the photos on the website. The kitchen was amazing, nice and big and equipped with every utensil you could possibly need. The house decor is a mixture of French antique farmhouse with the bright vibrant colours made if feel warm and cosy. This paired with the stunning fireplace with wood burner made the chilled evenings a pleasure to sit around with a glass of wine. The location and the views of the Cotswold's are simply stunning. Bedrooms were equally as attractive as the rest of the house. Beds were super comfortable; we stayed in bedroom one which was amazing and highly recommend if you get the option to choose. Rosie the housekeeper was amazing and very attentive with any help or local information you may need. This gets a straight 10/10 well done Bolthole Retreats, we'll definitely be booking with you again!
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Amazing!

We booked this cottage to attend my brother's wedding and it did not disapoint. The picture's are exactly as shown and you instantly feel at home,relaxed and welcomed. My children loved it,fantastic hide and seek house and my mother and friend loved chatting by the fire with a glass of wine. We will be back. Talk to the neighbours and you'll find any parking issues can be sorted by asking for extra spaces if needed.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Beautiful house

Gorgeous location, amazing views. Only one negative...Beware the parking is for one car only, 2 small ones at a push and other parking is a good 5 minute walk away . It was made very clear to us by a villager that we should not park in villagers 'spaces'. The house itself was immaculately clean. It was well stocked and plenty of space. The view was amazing and we enjoyed watching the Kite flying about. The beds were comfy and the outside area perfectly adequate for sitting and taking in the view. We had a great visit to this house.
Response from VrboOwner on 8 May, 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Sixpenny Cottage. We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time there. Regarding your comments on parking, we do include a map showing the additional parking areas in the welcome guide, which is available in the guest portal after booking, as well as a printed copy in the cottage itself. We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds again soon.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Very nice cottage in a lovely village

The village is delightful, as is the cottage. The beds were extremely comfortable, the linens were clean and pleasing, and there were more than enough towels. Everything was great. We loved it, and so did our children. The terrace was a lovely feature and the lawn was small as described. There was a bit of dust in the cottage and we noticed quite a few spiders, but we understand that this is all part of village life:) Overall, we highly recommend it.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Friends weekend Away

Fabulous weekend at this beautiful cottage, in a beautifully quiet location with the most fantastic view. The cottage is very well equipped, to the point that you don't really need to leave it, apart from to discover the beautiful surroundings. It's very comfortable, and the house is immaculate. The housekeeper is fantastic and obviously works very hard to keep it like that. Also, Rosie the housekeeper was very helpful with an out of hours technical query with the TV! Superb service. If we are lucky enough, we will definitely visit again. So pleased we have found it.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Idyllic stay for our multi-generational family holiday.

Six Penny Cottage is a charming and thoughtfully outfitted casual country home, perfect for a family or a group of friends. With a beautifully renovated kitchen, our foodie-family of six sautéed, simmered and barbecued lavish dinners after a good day of local walks into Bourton-on-the-Water for a pint (and a plate of lamb's kidneys at the Old New Inn), or travelling a bit further afield to discover Stow-on-the-Wold, the Slaughters, Cheltenham, or Oxford, just to name a few of the towns close by. Situated in picturesque little hamlet, we loved the birds waking us up outside the beautifully crafted wooden windows in this charmingly renovated old home. With a number of very private bedrooms, great bathrooms and scented bath-salty soaker tubs, it was the perfect spot for everyone to relax and enjoy one of the best locations in the Cotswolds. We highly recommend it!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2024
From a partner site

6/10 Okay

Lovely house but housekeeping lets it down

Sadly the double beds requested were not made, two very thin, rubbish pillows and not a very positive reaction from the cleaner when queried. Lots of cobwebs and dead flies too. Stains on the chairs.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Very pretty and well-equipped cottage with great living space and views

Sixpenny cottage is located in a quiet little village towards the end of a lane. It is a pretty traditional Cotswold cottage that has been cleverly extended to provide a large living/dining/kitchen space and large master suite. 2 other bedrooms also have ensuites and the remaining 2 share a family bathroom. All rooms are a decent size. The view from the rear is down the valley and far-reaching, and had it been warm enough the rear terrace would have been great to use - but at least we can confidently state that the cottage is warm and cosy in the cold months and the heating works well! It is furnished in cottage style and looks very nicely done and well kept. We will definitely come back if in the area again.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Beautiful Property but Inadequate Parking

We were an extended family group of nine, with three young children, and the property has a fantastic living space. Very comfortable beds, nice bed linen and towels and the showers all worked well. Spectacular views at the back. The property’s housekeeper was extremely helpful and responsive before and during our trip. Bedroom 1's daybed can be turned into a double on request but this is only really suitable for two children sharing or a couple who don’t mind drawing the short straw as one person needs to sleep by the wall! The parking is not as listed and completely inadequate for a property sleeping 10. The “steep driveway" no longer exists as the front of the property has been terraced and landscaped. The only option we had was to park two cars in front of the house but end-to-end, so leaving and returning to the property was inconvenient. It also meant we had no access to the bin store and that we had to park one of the cars directly adjacent to the retaining wall so it wasn't on the road. Every time I got out of my car I either had to step onto and walk across the wall (which was precarious) or climb over the front seats of the car. Adding small children into the mix was not easy. A real shame as the rest of the property is really lovely.
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 12 Mar, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Sixpenny Cottage. We are very glad to hear that you liked the cottage and that the housekeeper was very helpful. We are sorry that the improvements made were not listed on our listing and this has now been amended.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Not quite the full sixpennyworth

Very good in many ways and I feel mean to knock it over small details, but enough small negatives can weigh heavily in a short, 5-night stay. The property is spacious and has most of the facilities one could reasonably expect. The kitchen is large and extremely well equipped. The eating area is good for 8-10 people and there is plenty of seating for all purposes. The decorative style (18th Century French pastoral?) is quirky and theatrical. The beds are comfortable. The view over the Windrush valley is lovely and we watched muntjac deer in an adjacent field. On the whole, we liked the house (and the area), but attention to detail could be improved. We were unfortunate to arrive in the dark and in heavy rain. By the time I'd stumbled around and knocked on neighbouring doors to ask for directions, I was very wet and muddy. The house is hard to find. You have to use Just 3 Words, which I've only downloaded subsequently. The postcode is of no use and the house has no name displayed. The parking is inadequate for a large party - even for a small one! We encountered numerous small issues, none of which is in itself too worrying, but they add up: a blocked toilet, blocked before we arrived; unstable wifi/internet; operation of heating and hot water not made clear; no tea towels or bin bags; cupboard door falling off; one bedroom light not working; one shower extractor fan not working, etc.
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Nov, 2023
Dear Ron, We are pleased you enjoyed the property but disappointed with some of the comments. With respect to finding the house, you were provided with a map pinpointing the property precisely in the property welcome guide and on the property listing. You were also advised to use Just 3 Words which unfortunately you say you did not use. The name of the property is prominently displayed outside – perhaps you did not see it in the dark and heavy rain. Parking is limited at the property, there is space for two cars with additional on street parking and you were made aware of it specifically in the welcome guide of the property and the property listing itself. The operation of heating and hot water is described clearly in the property welcome guide. The Internet is latest generation mesh solution which allows heavy duty streaming and downloading on multiple devices simultaneously throughout the property and we are very surprised that you found it unstable. We were disappointed to learn that any issues weren’t reported to the property manager as these would have been answered and/or rectified right away where necessary, we have since followed up on all matters and pleased to report these have been fully resolved. Best wishes,
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback