Carlton Cottage Keswick - a cottage that sleeps 2 guests in 1 bedroom

Photo gallery for Carlton Cottage Keswick - a cottage that sleeps 2 guests in 1 bedroom

A row of terraced houses with green doors and white walls, a paved street, and parked cars.
A small courtyard with a white door, a wooden fence, a table with chairs, and potted plants.
A living room with a fireplace, a television, a bookshelf, and a red armchair.
A bedroom with a bed, two bedside tables, a radiator, a wall-mounted plant, and a window with curtains.
A compact kitchen with wooden cabinets, a built-in oven, a microwave, and a toaster.

Reviews

8.4 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Derwentwater

Popular amenities

  • Dog-friendly
  • Refrigerator
  • Dryer
  • Onsite parking available
  • Fireplace
  • Garden

Explore the area

View in a map
Keswick, Cumbria
  • Place, Theatre By The Lake
    ‪9 min walk‬
  • Place, Derwentwater
    ‪10 min walk‬
  • Place, Derwent Pencil Museum
    ‪11 min walk‬

Rooms & beds

1 bedroom (sleeps 2)

Bedroom #1

1 King Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom #1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Kitchen
Garden

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Keswick

Located in Keswick, this cottage is in the mountains. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Lodore Falls and Ullswater. Keswick Leisure Pool & Fitness Centre and Womenrock are also worth visiting.
Map
Keswick, Cumbria

What's nearby

  • Hope Park - 4 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Keswick Museum and Art Gallery - 6 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Theatre By The Lake - 9 min walk - 0.8 km
  • Derwentwater - 10 min walk - 0.9 km
  • Derwent Pencil Museum - 11 min walk - 0.9 km

Getting around

  • Penrith Station - 21 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Chief Justice Of The Common Pleas (Wetherspoon) - ‬5 min walk
  • ‪The Wainwright Pub - ‬2 min walk
  • ‪The Royal Oak - ‬2 min walk
  • ‪Lake Road Brunch - ‬3 min walk
  • ‪Cafe Hope - ‬4 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Carlton Cottage Keswick - a cottage that sleeps 2 guests in 1 bedroom pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 1 total) with a maximum weight of up to 25 kg per pet.

How much is parking at Carlton Cottage Keswick - a cottage that sleeps 2 guests in 1 bedroom?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Carlton Cottage Keswick - a cottage that sleeps 2 guests in 1 bedroom?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Carlton Cottage Keswick - a cottage that sleeps 2 guests in 1 bedroom?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Carlton Cottage Keswick - a cottage that sleeps 2 guests in 1 bedroom located?

Situated in the mountains, this cottage is steps away from Walla Crag and Moot Hall. Hope Park and The Puzzling Place are also within 10 minutes.

Reviews

8.4

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 5 out of 11 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 11 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 3 out of 11 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 11 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 11 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

6.0/10

Check-in

8.0/10

Communication

10/10

Location

9.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Fabulous

We had a lovely few days at Carlton Cottage. It was clean, tidy and well presented with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The location is fab - just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants. The lovely Fitz park is on the doorstep which was perfect for our early morning dog walk. The weather was great and we enjoyed sitting in the nice little yard (which gets the sun all afternoon and evening) after a busy day with a glass of wine. We were sad to leave but will certainly be back.
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Jul, 2026
Thank you for a lovely review of your stay at Carlton Cottage, it certainly is centrally located with everything on your doorstep yet peaceful enough to enjoy a relaxing evening in the yard.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Great little place!

This place is ideally situated in the centre of Keswick, but just far enough away that it’s still incredibly peaceful (even in the middle of the World Cup!). On site, free parking is a bonus & dogs are well catered for too with blankets to protect the furniture, plenty of space in the living room for the dog bed & plenty of dog bowls provided. The only quirk is that the bathroom is right at the back of the property, and the bedroom is right at the front. A bit of a trek for the middle of the night & the dog wondered why we were walking through the living room at midnight. It wouldn’t put us off staying here again though.
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Jul, 2026
Thank you for a lovely review of your stay at Carlton Cottage, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it peaceful even during the football, all we need now is for England to 'bring it home'! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Keswick

Excellent location for a visit to Keswick and the lake District. Very well presented accommodation with parking. Easy walk to Derwent water and town facilities
Response from VrboOwner on 24 May, 2025
Thank you for a lovely review of Carlton Cottage, the location is perfect for exploring Keswick on foot. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Nice cottage with free parking essential in Keswick. Toilet flush not working but I worked around it and guess it will be fixed by now.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2026
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Carlton Cottage

The cottage was ideal for my purposes as a single traveller to Keswick. Clean and comfortable; lovely bed - I especially liked the colour scheme throughout! Comfortable seats, occasional tables, clean well-equipped kitchen - trays - something rarely found - good quality crockery and cutlery. Also with the lovely weather, it was wonderful to have a choice of 3 areas to sit outside - I'm a bit of a sun worshipper. The only little drawback was the shower over the bath which I had difficulty in placing so that it did not soak the bathroom floor. It seemed to have a mind of its own. I have some mobility issues, so thought maybe a grab handle could be useful - but this is more personal. The location is excellent - there is a fantastic ice cream shop just round the corner on the way into town, and a convenience store and the bus stop to Penrith, for train travellers as I was, are really close. I did appreciate that there is a parking space provided for those who drive. I came for the convention and the Methodist church where all main sessions were relayed is also about 100 yards away. Walking to the Pencil Factory, which I personally preferred only took 15 minutes. All in all thankyou for a wonderful place to stay for a wonderful week.
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Aug, 2026
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Carlton Cottage. The cottage has new owners and they are currently undergoing replacing the kitchen and bathroom between bookings to provide guests with a lovely central base in Keswick. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.to see the improvements.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Great Location

Only a two minute walk to center of Keswick. Has free permit parking in the church car park at the rear of the property. Combi boiler so heating and hot water when you want it and also has an electric shower. There is a rear courtyard but the back door was unusable as it was falling to bits so didn't use it. The cottage could do with some TLC but this is reflected in the price. My 2nd stay here and will stop again once the back door has been replaced.
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Oct, 2025
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay again at Carlton Cottage. The owners had ordered a new back door a few days prior to you making your booking, they did not expect to receive a last minute booking for arrival the same day. The back door is now ready and being replaced today, our apologies it was not in place for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Carlton Cottage.
From a partner site

6/10 Okay

Basic

This apartment is in a brilliant location and has got a lot of potential but not for us it needs a lot of T L C and a good deep clean they did send a cleaner but it should have been done before we arrived the washing machine is very noisy when on spin and the central heating boiler kept kneading topped up I'm not going to say to much as the owner was lovely it's a budget apartment and I would gladly go back if it was upgraded and I would be willing to pay a lot more
Response from VrboOwner on 13 Sept, 2025
Thank you for your review. We have already apologised for the cleanliness and we did send the cleaner back to address the issues, however you refused to allow her access. We were not aware the boiler was an ongoing issue, they can from time to time lose pressure and a quick top up does usually resolve this, the owners do have a contract with British Gas and we could have arranged for an engineer to attend and resolve the issue as it should not need to be topped up on a regular basis. We hope we can welcome you back to one of our cottages again in the future.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

A real 'home from home'.

I was delighted by the cottage, it was very comfortable and had everything that I needed. One comment however relates to your email about leaving the cottage. I may be unusual but I do not have a smart phone and I did not take my lap-top, I have only seen that message this evening on my return home. I hope that I managed to fulfil your wishes. I did not put the rubbish out because I could not open the back door, I did however, leave it bagged up by the door.
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Jul, 2025
Thank you for your lovely review. Our caretaker has said the house was left perfect thank you. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Great location

This downstairs apartment is in a great location for central Keswick being about a 2 minute walk for the centre. There is on street parking on a first come first served basis but is not needed as there is a car permit for one car in the church car park behind the apartment which can be accessed easily from the backdoor. The apartment is a little dated but I feel this is reflected in the price. There is also a small gated courtyard at the rear which the dog can't escape from. This has a small table and chairs and gets full sun from early afternoon until sunset. Kitchen is well equipped and has the basics already there like salt, pepper, dish washing materials, etc. The bathroom has bath and electric shower so have choice of either. Overall, I would stop here again and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Jul, 2025
Thank you for your review of Carlton Cottage, we have to agree the location is perfect for exploring Keswick on foot. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
From a partner site

6/10 Okay

Ground floor flat in an excellent location

The flat is in an excellent location in Keswick with a very convenient car parking space available to use on the Methodist Church car park. The keys were easy to access from the key box next to the front door. We were able to reverse our car up to the back gate to unload and load our car on leaving which was helpful. All kitchen appliances in working order and easy to work shower. Limited headroom in the shower for my 6' 3 husband. Hand soap, washing up liquid and condiments provided. Bedding and towels provided. The bed was comfortable. The flat is in need of urgent external repairs, clearing of gutters, repairs to the back door, the rear gate and painting. The front garden is overgrown. The flat requires a thorough deep clean, which would have greatly enhance our stay. If people are looking for budget accommodation in central Keswick and are happy to put up with the limitations then I would recommend.
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Jul, 2025
Thank you for your review of Carlton Cottage, we are sorry you were not completely happy with your accommodation. Had you made us aware of the cleaning issues we could have sent the caretaker back to address these for you. We have also passed your comments on to the owner regarding the maintenance issues and he will address these as soon as there is a gap in the bookings. We hope we can welcome you back to one of our cottages again in the future.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in

Great location, lacks information to make stay easy and enjoyable

This is the first time I’ve given less than five stars to a host. This property could be great if the host would only send a pre-arrival text describing the tricks to opening the three locks to get into the lodging and then have a welcome packet identifying the Wi-Fi information and describing how to work the quirkier aspects of the property. This would avoid the necessity of contacting the owner every time a new difficulty arose. For us, that meant 3 or 4 text exchanges. The owner did respond in a timely manner to our questions and eventually offered to come over and show us how everything worked. By that time, we were so frustrated with spending time, figuring out the house instead of hiking that we just got on with our holiday as best we could. We did learn how to work the shower but if, when, and for how long hot water will come out of the taps remains of mystery to us.If our problems are something that wouldn’t bother you, the location of the lodgings makes up for a lot. There is easy access to town, walking trails, museums, restaurants and grocery stores. The firm beds are very comfortable, the kitchen is reasonably stocked for cooking utensils and cookware, and the heat works well. Be aware that you should bring your own oil, spices, coffee and laundry detergent. Not a problem for UK residents but tough on international travelers.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 12 May, 2025
We are sorry you were not entirely happy with your accommodation but as you say all of your emails requesting information were responded to immediately along with an offer to come and show you how everything worked which you ignored. We have checked with the guest who left the day of your arrival and with our caretaker and both have said there is no issue with the hot water, so we are unsure as to what the problem was you were experiencing. Had you acknowledged our offer to come over we could have resolved any issues which would have added to your holiday enjoyment.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback