Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Total Creekside Luxury and Privacy on 5 Acres - Near Lake

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,650 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

This is a luxury log home (nearly 2700 square feet), not just a typical cabin rental. This home has 2 master suites, each with their own giant tub and a hot tub on the huge side porch under the stars.

The home sits on 5 acres and has over 600' of trout creek frontage so there is plenty to do with a lot of privacy.

For families with small children, the home is kid friendly too. It has a play ground outside and inside, we have provided much needed baby equipment. This includes: a highchair and baby gates.

Washer and dryer for your convenience.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About The Owner

We built this home ourselves and love it. We have three children and this is their favorite place to go. We are full-time realtors in the Woodstock, GA/Cherokee County area. We both grew up in the Atlanta area. We also enjoy investing in real estate, buying and renovating homes for resale and also accumulating our own portfolio of rental properties.

We enjoy visiting this property and the beach. We love spending time with our kids (13, 16, and 18 years old) and love College and NFL football.

Kurt and Sheila Johnson

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2006

Why The Owner chose Northwest High Country

It is difficult to find a home on this much acreage with this privacy. Also, it is unique because it has such a big flat yard for hanging out by the creek, playing horseshoes or football etc.

It hosts a big crowd of 12 guests without feeling crowded at all.

What makes this cabin unique

We built this home ourselves in 2006 with vacation renters in mind. We think that the two master suites and the large capacity make it a great choice for two families to vacation together or for family gatherings.

Map

Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Atlanta
Car: necessary

Amenities

Morganton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Suite #2 Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Master Suite #1 Bathoom - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Hall Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master bedroom #1 - 1 king
    Master bedroom #2 - 2 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Loft + Den - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (2) Each of the 2 master suites has a King bed and its own full bath with 2 person jetted tub., Queen size Beds (3) 3rd Queen is in the loft area, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon in the rec room upstairs
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Fishing in Wilscott Creek...

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Total Creekside Luxury and Privacy on 5 Acres - Near Lake
average rating of 4.7021275 based on 47 reviews
5

This home is very well maintained with 1st Class amenities. Remote & private.

  • 5 of 5

Our group had a total of 12 adults and everyone slept very comfortably. Everything was in great working order and well maintained. Plenty of room to hang out in the kitchen/living room area, go out on the back deck, or pull up a chair to the fire pit at night. The back den area was perfect for some of the gang to watch their college football Saturday, while the rest of us played Texas Hold-'em at the huge kitchen table. Pool table was in good, playable condition as was the hot tub. We all enjoyed the surround sound system that easily worked by USB with all of our smart phones. We cooked all 4 nights and found the kitchen well equipped with everything we needed. Thank you again to The Johnson's for sharing their wonderful cabin with us. Best Regards, Vernon

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Creekside Bliss!

  • 5 of 5

We were a bit turned around trying to find it but it was worth the hunt !

Once we had arrived and got settled we were already discussing a possible return.

For a good amount of time....

It was good and relaxing @ Creekside and we hope to return soon with the family again for that quality time we had.

Thank You to the owners !

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Secluded Indoor Retreat

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay as the Cabin comfortably fit 8 adults and 3 children. The 2 master suites had King beds and large bathrooms. The 2 bedrooms had queen size beds and a hallway bathroom to share. I would like to have had a Mirror in the 2 regular bedrooms, perhaps the owner can add a door mirror and change out the very squeaky bed in the left bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped. Previous renters left behind dry goods that we did not use and moved them to upper shelves to make room for our things. The dining room fit all of us comfortably. We did not use the indoor fireplace or the hot tub. The surround sound system was nice, we had music throughout the main living areas. The creek water was low and inaccesible. The playground was a nice feature for the small children and the adults enjoyed the outdoor firepit. Getting to the cabin in my opinion requires a truck, suv, jeep etc as the unpaved portion of the road leading to cabin is very bumpy and should not be attempted at night, there are no lights on road. There is an upper loft area with a bed, also pool table and futon. We had a field mouse inside the house which added for much excitement. We enjoyed our stay and will perhaps visit once again.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great cabin for families with kids

  • 4 of 5

Very nice cabin secluded in the woods. The kids enjoyed the outside play set, fishing in the creek and making s'mores over the fire pit. We enjoyed the weekend!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Owner never got back to us and property had many issues!

  • 2 of 5

The property owner knew there were issues and told us before we checked in they would come out to fix them before we checked in. We contacted her Tuesday morning to let her know there were other issues, such as mold, leaky windows (water) and the plumbing was having issues. We called again Thursday morning and left Sunday without ever hearing from them or having our issues resolved. Below is a list of issues:

-windows were leaking water on floors

-mold in the four seasons room

-hot tub leaking and cannot use

-plumbing on and off, water not working sometimes

-direct tv not working 90% of the time and some rooms not at all

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Heather I'm really sorry that you had a bad experience, however, I never heard from you at all during your stay about any problems. We are reachable by email and cell phone and never got any messages from you at all. I reached out to you prior to your stay to let you know that someone would be dropping by on Tuesday to look at the hot tub to be sure that it was in good order, but would not bother you. That did happen and the hot tub was found to be fine and has been working fine since. If we had been contacted about any issues, we would have immediately addressed them. We have had guests since your stay and they have not experienced any of the problems that you have referenced in your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

I loved it!

  • 4 of 5

Although there were a few flaws with the property, the overall stay was fantastic. We all had a great time. Everyone slept comfortably. It's was great for my group of 12 friends and family that needed to get away for the weekend. The only issues we had was the hot tub took too long to get hot. And the wifi, was a little slow. Also the hot water for showers and baths didn't last very long and took a while for it to come back. A couple of things were out of place but again, this property's positives definitely outwayed the negatives! I would go back again for sure!! The home was fully stocked with appliances and dishes. All you need was your basic groceries and essientials.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. We do inform guests to turn up the hot tub from 80 degees as soon as they arrive so it will be hot within about 4 hours. We don't want to leave the tub at 100 degrees all week while the home is vacant as this is a waste of power. Unfortunately, in the mountains, the only option for WIFI is the local phone company and believe it or not, that has only been available for the last few years. Although slower than what we are all used to, it works when needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $110 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Cancellation within 30 days of the arrival date will forfeit the full rental fee on most bookings. For Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years bookings, cancellation within 60 days of the arrival date will forfeit the full rental fee. We will make the dates available and will try to re-rent them; if we are able to re-rent them, we are happy to refund your full fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.