Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Pool & Tiki Bar- Best House on the Beach

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 11)

Call your friends and don't miss out on this private home that looks more like a private island paradise! The wonderful landscaping and privacy it affords around the pool and tiki bar makes this a very sought after property.

What a great place to hang out in your own Oasis at the beach and private pool with over 20 palm trees around this exceptional home. If you're a Jimmy Buffet fan, this is YOUR kind of house! Tastefully decorated and a true island paradise!

This one of a kind house is strictly non-smoking and no pets! Above & Beyond is luxuriously-appointed beach home with a private pool and has breathtaking views with only a short walk to the white sand beaches of beautiful Cape San Blas peninsula. Features include: landscaping with 40+ beautiful palm trees around a Gulf-side pool and property, THREE spacious MASTER SUITES (one king downstairs and a king and queen upstairs), a kids' bedroom, a bahamian style tiki bar lined in 100 year old cypress harvested from a river bottom in Florida specifically for this house, WONDERFUL outdoor hot/cold private shower, direct beach access via private crush-shelled 20yd walkway onto the beach, and a large family room with large TV and DVD player. Also Free Domestic Long Distance & Internet Access!!

This home is beautiful and has not EVER been damaged by weather! Cape San Blas, located on the beautiful, pristine ST JOE PENINSULA, which has been named America's number one ranked beach in the USA. Your beach, right beyond the private pool, has beautiful white sand and emerald-green water, and you can have a campfire on the beach or fish right in front of Above and Beyond! The Park offers nature trails, scalloping, fishing, wildlife viewing, canoeing, horseback riding, kayaking, snorkeling, biking, boating, and many other activities. A new bike trail was completed that starts at this house and takes you to the state park. Relax and enjoy the tranquility of 'The Forgotten Coast', truly one of the last unspoiled areas of Florida's Panhandle. Cape San Blas has relatively little development...no high-rise development, no congestion and no fighting for position on the beach, as the beaches are sparsely populated even during peak season.

Visit nearby historic Apalachicola and Port Saint Joe for fine seafood & dining, antiques, market shopping, boutiques, quaint shops, home tours, fishing charters and other activities. Golf is a few minutes away in Port St. Joe. If it's nightlife you want, Mexico Beach is only 20 minutes away, and a day trip to Panama City is only 45 minutes away! Kids love exploring the beach that is over 12 miles long!

For several families vacationing together, other adjacent homes are available for rental as well. Sorry, no pets or smoking allowed. All 3 master bedrooms have no adjoining walls to other suites to maintain maximum privacy, all have private full baths, and all have private covered verandas overlooking the beach and pool (no others have this on the whole cape!). The 4th bedroom is set up for kids, and has a trundle bed under the bunks so there is plenty of room for 3 kids.

Here's our one piece of advice (even if you don't get this house this year because it rents every week every Summer). Don't wait and get stuck in a home that is less than advertised. Above and Beyond is one of the most sought after houses on the cape because of the location and layout, and owners limit the number rentals each year. This house is certifiably beautiful but there are others out there that have old photos and the house is not well kept. This year the house was outfitted with brand new air conditioning systems, new carpets, and other appliances, along with new upgrades in the pool area. The owners have built a true oasis for a family vacation.

If you are looking for a truly beautiful home we would suggest moving quickly because it will rent quickly for Spring and Summer. It sits right in the middle of America's #1 Beach!

Let us answer two questions that are asked A LOT! YES, this house is on the beach side with NO ROAD between you and the sand. To get to the beach, you walk out of the pool gate and across the backyard and over the beach dune (30 second commute). Next, YES, you really can lay in bed and see the beach and dolphin in the ocean, and hear the waves all night. NO, this is NOT a crowded Panama City Beach experience, it is privately owned homes and very pristine and natural - voted #1 Beach In America a few years back. It is a very special house, in a very special place, on a barrier island that you'll want to visit many more times.

Keywords: Beach, house, cape, sand, san, blast, blas, Florida, gulf, panhandle, pool, vacation, view, private, heated, pool, kids, spring, summer, water, FL, beautiful, large, clean

More Details

Owner
Justin Gerlach
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About Justin Gerlach

The owners of Above & Beyond live in Georgia and when they're not at the beach they're waiting to come back to it!

Justin Gerlach purchased this house in 2017

Why Justin Gerlach chose Port St. Joe

One walk down the beach and you'll understand the Cape. It's quiet, beautiful, and unspoiled like so many beaches that have become tourist traps. The few people you do see will say hello if you address them, or allow you your private walk. It's an ideal place to relax, get some sun, and connect with people who are lucky enough to come with you.

What makes this house unique

The beach was named the #1 beach in the country a few years ago, and has since undergone a beach restoration that makes it even more spectacular. There are dolphin pods with as many as 200 moving down the shore at a time, sea turtles hatch on the beach (you'll see their nests), the fishing is great, and the water is emerald green because of the sugar white sand.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This house is very well maintained and has everything our family needed ;-) The kids room is a set of bunks and a pull out underneath and a little tight but the master bedrooms are great and each having a private bathroom was a real plus. Pool area is really cute with the grass roof tiki bar, so we spent time at beach and pool equally. The walk to the beach has a walkover, but all the houses do to protect the dunes. We will be back in 2017 to this house.
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Port St. Joe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Cancellation Insurance: our management company offers Travel Insurance which will cover a number of reasons for cancellations. Please inquire.
  • Refunds: a Cancellation Fee of $100 will be charged in the event of the property rebooking for the same dates/rates.
  • Rebooking: if the property rebooks for the same dates/rates a full refund will be issued less the cancellation fee.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Large Upstairs Master 1 Upstairs - 1 king , with full private bath and private deck
    Large Master 2 Upstairs - 1 queen , with private full bath and private deck
    Large Master 3 Downstairs - 1 king , With private bath and adjoining deck
    Living room - 1 queen , sofa bed in linving room
    Kids bedroom 4 interior - 1 bunk bed , 1 murphy bed , bunk beds and a trundle / sleeps 3 kids
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1) and trundle, and sofa bed in living room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private Gulf-side Pool, Dune Walkover for Direct Access to Beach, 3 ofthe 4 bedrooms are consider masters with their own balcony and bathroom. Screened Patio Area, Cable TV's (4), CD/DVD Player, Non-Smoking Environment, Professionally Managed by Area's Largest and Most Respected Management Companies (complete with maintenance and housekeeping staff), Pool has outside shower and adjacent screened room with patio table and chairs, Screened room has Gulf view, with two sliding screen doors opening directly to pool deck area

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
25% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Private Pool & Tiki Bar- Best House on the Beach
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 25 reviews
4

Wonderful Vacation

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Above and Beyond. Short walk to beach and pool was great. The house was plenty big for all 11 of us and everything was clean and in order. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hampton, GA
4

Beautiful views

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay in the property. We loved the beautiful views from the decks and relaxed in the pool everyday. The home could use a few upgrades, such as the refrigerator. The locals were pleasant and helpful in directing us to restaurants and recreational activities.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Overall Experience

  • 5 of 5

I have been going to Port St. Joe for many years this time of year to get in some trout fishing. This year, my wife, and 2 other couple friends decided to find a home on the Cape. Although the weather this time of year is unpredictable, we lucked out, and it was nice our entire stay. Above and Beyond is located in the middle of the Cape, making it convenient for quick trips to the 2 general stores, and the ice cream shop. The two master suites on the upper level have a very nice beach view, with average views on the main deck, blocked some by the oceanfront homes, but the sunset was in view between the structures the entire week. The kitchen was well equipped and there is a bar and dining table for meals. The home was clean, and well equipped with towels and clean linens. We enjoyed the patio level a few nights enjoying cocktails and grilling. Although we didn't get in the pool, the ladies enjoyed the pool deck daily getting some late winter sun. Owners were courteous, and responded to our initial inquiry promptly with easy directions and home details. Walk to the beach is direct and short. Would recommend for a great family destination.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing trip at Above & Beyond in Cape San Blad

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Above & Beyond and enjoyed Cape San Blas. The owner was easy to work with and responsive. The house was clean, despite some of my concerns based on earlier reviews. Loved the fact that 3 of the 4 bedrooms had their own bathroom, balcony and view!

We particularly enjoyed the flexibility to go from beach to poolside, especially with the fun Tiki Bar and outdoor shower.

We also enjoyed the easy walk to the uncrowded beach where we played volleyball and had a fire one night. I highly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The rooms were nice, clean, and had a wonderful view.

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay at Above & Beyond and enjoyed Cape San Blas. The owner was veasy to work with and responsive. The house was very clean, despite some of my concerns based on earlier reviews, so we were pleased. Loved the fact that 3 of the 4 bedrooms had their own bathroom, balcony and view!

We particularly enjoyed the flexibility to go from beach to poolside, especially with the fun Tiki Bar and outdoor shower.

We also enjoyed the convienent walk to the uncrowded beach where we played volleyball and had a fire one night.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

We wanted to love it but...

  • 1 of 5

The house was in pretty bad shape. The location and the pool area are pretty cool but that's where the good qualities end. The carpet upstairs smells strongly of mold, the kitchen was disgusting. My mother went to make coffee and there was an old filter filled with mold. The bed sheets had stains. I have pictures of what appear to be blood stains on one of the pillows. There bathrooms were gross. One of them didn't have working lights. My family and I had been looking forward to this trip for a long time. After a lot of planning & saving, we made our way to CSB and unfortunately the day we were scheduled to arrive, Hurricane Hermine decided to hit so we lost a day. Prior to us arriving, the owner was pretty good about communicating with us. After we left he was silent. I reached out to him asking if we could work something out for the day that we missed and he didn't have the courtesy to at least respond. Never again.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To potential renters: Please refer to all reviews before the one below that was upset because they flew from NY to Orlando and delayed their arrival and were upset because we did not grant them a refund for the unused day. To Renter: I spoke to you on the phone no less than 10 times in the 48 hours prior to your arrival with weather updates while you were in NY and flying to Orlando to drive into the Cape...more than anyone in 12 years I’ve rented. You were perfectly pleasant and happy throughout and only become upset a month after your stay when you asked for a refund for the day you delayed your arrival. It was unreasonable given that the day you delayed your arrival it was PERFECT WEATHER and it was 80 degrees and sunny at Cape San Blas! As for the insults regarding the home, unwarranted. The house is pristine, the carpets new in 2016, all mechanicals in perfect condition, and a top notch cleaning crew that always responds with any small issues that come up. As for the rest, I'll rely on the reviews posted by others. We meet and receive phone calls from so many families that love our home. We'll focus on those and be happy we help create good memories for them....
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Up the Creek Raw Bar
"A MUST!!!!!"
Toucan's Restaurant
"No Place like Toucans in MB....great burgers "
Port St. Joe
"15 minutes from our door, this is a great town!"
Dockside Seafood & Raw Bar
"Awesome seafood right on the water"
Apalachicola Riverwalk Cafe -- CLOSED
"Breakfast run to the cola!"
Peppers
"Awesome food right in town!"
Mango Marley's
"I loved this place....local flavor"
Hungry Howie's Pizza
Hungry Howie's Pizza
"Been there forever"
Scallop Cove
"We call this place "the mall"...they have everything!!!"
Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Panama City, FL
Nearest Barpub
Tiki Bar in backyard by the pool
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Cape San Blas, Florida

Boating, Canoeing, Building sand castles with your kids, sunbathing by the pool or beach, dolphin watching, new bike trail right by home and continues to St Joe Park or Salinas Park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Waiver $45
Reservation Fee $70 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $325 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Reservation Fee is discounted if paid by check. All rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund