check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

🌴 CSB Beach House W/Private Pool & Tiki Bar 🌴

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
11
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 11)

It's that time, Spring & Summer is on at the Cape and Above & Beyond just released the 2017 Dates for availability! Email the owner and you should get a quick response! Hurry...this house is one of the most sought after homes and fills up within weeks of when the owners release the seasonal dates.

Call your friends and don't miss out on this private home that looks more like a private island paradise! The wonderful landscaping and privacy it affords around the pool and tiki bar makes this a very sought after property.

The owner of Above & Beyond just is now accepting reservations for 2017....starting Dec 18. What a great place to hang out in your own Oasis at the beach and private pool with over 30 palm trees around this exceptional home. If you're a Jimmy Buffet fan, this is YOUR kind of house! Tastefully decorated and a true island paradise!

This one of a kind house is strictly non-smoking and no pets! Above & Beyond is luxuriously-appointed beach home has breathtaking views and is the closest house to the white sand private beach with a pool on the whole peninsula. Features include: professionally decorated interior, professionally manicured landscaping with 40+ beautiful palm trees around Gulf-side pool and property, THREE spacious MASTER SUITES (one king downstairs and a king and queen upstairs), a kids' bedroom, a bahamian style tiki bar lined in 100 year old cypress harvested from a river bottom in Florida specifically for this house, WONDERFUL outdoor hot/cold private shower, direct beach access via private crush-shelled 20yd walkway onto the beach, and a large family room with large TV and DVD player. Also Free Domestic Long Distance & Internet Access!!

This home is beautiful and has not EVER been damaged by weather! Cape San Blas, located on the beautiful, pristine ST JOE PENINSULA, which has been named America's number one ranked beach in the USA. Your beach, right beyond the private pool, has beautiful white sand and emerald-green water, and you can have a campfire on the beach or fish right in front of Above and Beyond! The Park offers nature trails, scalloping, fishing, wildlife viewing, canoeing, horseback riding, kayaking, snorkeling, biking, boating, and many other activities. A new bike trail was completed that starts at this house and takes you to the state park. Relax and enjoy the tranquility of 'The Forgotten Coast', truly one of the last unspoiled areas of Florida's Panhandle. Cape San Blas has relatively little development...no high-rise development, no congestion and no fighting for position on the beach, as the beaches are sparsely populated even during peak season.

Visit nearby historic Apalachicola and Port Saint Joe for fine seafood & dining, antiques, market shopping, boutiques, quaint shops, home tours, fishing charters and other activities. Golf is a few minutes away in Port St. Joe. If it's nightlife you want, Mexico Beach is only 20 minutes away, and a day trip to Panama City is only 45 minutes away! Kids love exploring the beach that is over 12 miles long!

For several families vacationing together, other adjacent homes are available for rental as well. Sorry, no pets or smoking allowed. All 3 master bedrooms have no adjoining walls to other suites to maintain maximum privacy, all have private full baths, and all have private covered verandas overlooking the beach and pool (no others have this on the whole cape!). The 4th bedroom is set up for kids, and has a trundle bed under the bunks so there is plenty of room for 3 kids.

Here's our one piece of advice (even if you don't get this house this year because it rents every week every Summer). Don't wait and get stuck in a home that is less than advertised. Above and Beyond is one of the most sought after houses on the cape because of the location and layout, and owners limit the number rentals each year. This house is certifiably beautiful but there are others out there that have old photos and the house is not well kept. This year the house was outfitted with brand new air conditioning systems, new carpets, and other appliances, along with new upgrades in the pool area. The owners have built a true oasis for a family vacation.

If you are looking for a truly beautiful home we would suggest moving quickly because it will rent quickly for Spring and Summer. It sits right in the middle of America's #1 Beach!

Let us answer two questions that are asked A LOT! YES, this house is on the beach side with NO ROAD between you and the sand. To get to the beach, you walk out of the pool gate and across the backyard and over the beach dune (30 second commute). Next, YES, you really can lay in bed and see the beach and dolphin in the ocean, and hear the waves all night. NO, this is NOT a crowded Panama City Beach experience, it is privately owned homes and very pristine and natural - voted #1 Beach In America a few years back. It is a very special house, in a very special place, on a barrier island that you'll want to visit many more times.

Keywords: Beach, house, cape, sand, san, blast, blas, Florida, gulf, panhandle, pool, vacation, view, private, heated, pool, kids, spring, summer, water, FL, beautiful, large, clean

More Details

Owner
jim guffin
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response rate:
0%
Calendar last updated:
December 31, 2016

About jim guffin

The owners of Above & Beyond live in Atlanta and when they're not at the beach they enjoy time on Lake Lanier

jim guffin purchased this house in 2006

Why jim guffin chose Florida Main North West

One walk down the beach and you'll understand the Cape. It's quiet, beautiful, and unspoiled like so many beaches that have become tourist traps. The few people you do see will say hello if you address them, or allow you your private walk. It's an ideal place to relax, get some sun, and connect with people who are lucky enough to come with you.

What makes this house unique

The beach was named the #1 beach in the country a few years ago, and has since undergone a beach restoration that makes it even more spectacular. There are dolphin pods with as many as 200 moving down the shore at a time, sea turtles hatch on the beach (you'll see their nests), the fishing is great, and the water is emerald green because of the sugar white sand.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This house is very well maintained and has everything our family needed ;-) The kids room is a set of bunks and a pull out underneath and a little tight but the master bedrooms are great and each having a private bathroom was a real plus. Pool area is really cute with the grass roof tiki bar, so we spent time at beach and pool equally. The walk to the beach has a walkover, but all the houses do to protect the dunes. We will be back in 2017 to this house.
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

🌴 CSB Beach House W/Private Pool & Tiki Bar 🌴
average rating of 4.263158 based on 20 reviews
1

We wanted to love it but...

  • 1 of 5

The house was in pretty bad shape. The location and the pool area are pretty cool but that's where the good qualities end. The carpet upstairs smells strongly of mold, the kitchen was disgusting. My mother went to make coffee and there was an old filter filled with mold. The bed sheets had stains. I have pictures of what appear to be blood stains on one of the pillows. There bathrooms were gross. One of them didn't have working lights. My family and I had been looking forward to this trip for a long time. After a lot of planning & saving, we made our way to CSB and unfortunately the day we were scheduled to arrive, Hurricane Hermine decided to hit so we lost a day. Prior to us arriving, the owner was pretty good about communicating with us. After we left he was silent. I reached out to him asking if we could work something out for the day that we missed and he didn't have the courtesy to at least respond. Never again.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you for your feedback and it’s unfortunate the hurricane came right before your visit. Regarding communication, yes I think I may have talked to you prior to your visit more than any renter in the 12 years I’ve rented the hour and did my best to give you guidance on the house and the hurricane. Afterwards there was really no need to communicate and we didn’t feel it was our responsibility to do a day refund given you decided to stay in Orlando the first night. I think the bad start may have tainted your perspective, but I will grant it was the last week of a long rental season, so things may have not been in shape we expect. We will be doing a thorough deep clean and review these items with the cleaning company and replace any questionable linens. We will also do more regular checkups throughout the rental season next year to ensure the level of quality and cleanliness stays up to par with what we, and our customers, expect.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Well maintained

  • 3 of 5

We had 8 adults and 1 child in our group. The pool was great did see 3 snakes down there along with rats which we know is part of the natural environment. We had two grills upon arrival but one was put in owners closet the other one was difficult to work with big hole in back cooking grate couldn't be adjusted . Each room had only two bath towels 1 washcloth and hand towel constantly having to wash in order to have a towel, no sheets for sleeper sofa, tv's in bedrooms didn't work, went out and bought pans for use, silverware looked as if somebody put it back in drawer dirty. Further away from beach than anticipated thank goodness for the pool

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Woodstock
5

Rest - Relax - Enjoy ABOVE AND BEYOND

  • 5 of 5

Above and Beyond is one of the best vacations homes I have ever experienced. The furnishings are bright, comfortable and exceeded our expectations. The kitchen appliances were updated with a new stove and microwave. We enjoyed cooking and using the outdoor grill. Swimming in the outdoor pool was especially refreshing and we all took advantage of the outdoor shower which was a big hit with our group! In the evening the large open Tiki Bar was great for visiting and could accommodate a ton of people!! The 4 bedroom 3.5 baths made it convenient for everyone's privacy. The short walk to the beach was less than a block & we enjoyed the seagulls and our beach walks. If you are looking for peace and tranquility, consider your next vacation at Above and Beyond. We gave this home 5*! You will too!

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbia, SC
5

Good Times

  • 5 of 5

A group of my friends from USC and myself stayed at this house over our spring break. Some of the pictures are misleading as to how close the ocean is but that is my only complaint. The house is perfect and we had a great time on Cape San Blas. This area is very isolated so be sure to stock up on essentials and plan on eating most of your meals at the house. The water was still pretty chilly as we went in the middle of March but the weather was perfect, about 70 and sunny most days. I would definitely recommend this property to others and I hope I will get to return soon.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Buckhead (Atlanta)
5

Had a blast on cape san blas

  • 5 of 5

This place is 5-star. Owner was easy to work with, Clare (staff) is really nice, and the place was immaculate. Weather is a little iffy in November but we had a great time at the Tiki Bar and enjoyed some long rides (were cyclists) to Apalachacola and to Mexico Beach. Oh, the house even has it's own RAW BAR - a table to clean fish outside. Yep, we saw dolphin while we had coffee on the deck and they were even about 100 feet from shore when we took a morning walk. We'll be back. Thanks Jim!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

great vacation but there were partial negatives

  • 4 of 5

Great location all around. The view is half of what it was as there are 3 new constructions up on the beach side. What we did have was beautiful. Yes, you can see dolphins as dark spots out on the ocean. You will need binoculars to see them from the house. Views are way better on the beach. The beach was as perfect as it could be. The negatives for us... Kids bedroom is not 4 beds; it's a trundle bunk that means 3 beds. If you pull out trundle, you can't use the ladder to get up top. The room is small and bunk fits wall to wall and you have to watch out for ceiling fan if it's running or you can bonk your head climbing up. We had 4 teens and 2 volunteered to sleep in living room. Yes, each master has it's own bathroom, but their is an issue. One master downstairs with the hall bath (no shower). Two masters upstairs with the kids room. I gave up my master bath to the kids because they weren't going to run up and down stairs (especially at night) and needed the shower and since we had 2 kids in the living room, the hall bath was busy. I showered outside the whole time which was great in it's own way. Perfect weather made the use of the outdoor shower great. Pots and pans are very worn so spray pam and aluminum foil are a must when cooking. No sharp knives at all so bring your own if you cook. 2 blenders are also in need of replacement as blades are shot and one leaked. Tiki bar is very cool and we enjoyed it. At night you must use back door with light. The front lights are out for the turtles, it's very dark and you will trip on the stairs. I hope they may use glow tape or stair lights in the future.

I do recommend checking out kitchen before going to town for groceries as some staples were left by previous guests. The two local convenience stores are well stocked for your needs. The kids will find all the soda, candy and foods that they will want.

The Indian Pass (trading co) Raw Bar is a must stop! Very casual and friendly. Grab a drink and a table, then fill out your food form & drink form with your table number (the table number is actually written on table). Let them know this is your first time there. Go to counter to get forms if none at table or ask waitress. If they are very crowded or busy, you may have to take your food order to waitress at register. Do not expect them to hover over you. Give them a moment and if they didn't see you come in, you just have to ask for assistance. This was a 4 star vacation.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Panama City, FL
Nearest Barpub
Tiki Bar in backyard by the pool
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Cape San Blas, Florida

Boating, Canoeing, Building sand castles with your kids, sunbathing by the pool or beach, dolphin watching, new bike trail begins right by home and continues to St Joe Park.(rentals available at BP station) etc

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port Saint Joe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Spring
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Spring Break
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,950
 
 
Spring
Apr 8 2017 - May 19 2017
4 night minimum stay
$490
$3,400
 
 
Summer
May 20 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,450
 
 
Fall
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Late Fall
Sep 6 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
 
 
Winter 2016
Nov 1 2017 - Jan 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
$335
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$310
From
$375
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $175
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Port Saint Joe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Large Upstairs Master 1 Upstairs - 1 king , with full private bath and private deck
    Large Master 2 Upstairs - 1 queen , with private full bath and private deck
    Large Master 3 Downstairs - 1 king , With private bath and adjoining deck
    Living room - 1 queen , sofa bed in linving room
    Kids bedroom 4 interior - 1 bunk bed , 1 murphy bed , bunk beds and a murphy or trundle / sleeps 3 or 4 kids
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1) and trundle, and queen sofa bed in living room
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private Gulf-side Pool, Dune Walkover for Direct Access to Beach, 3 ofthe 4 bedrooms are consider masters with their own balcony and bathroom. Screened Patio Area, Cable TV's (4), CD/DVD Player, Non-Smoking Environment, Professionally Managed by Area's Largest and Most Respected Management Companies (complete with maintenance and housekeeping staff), Pool has outside shower and adjacent screened room with patio table and chairs, Screened room has Gulf view, with two sliding screen doors opening directly to pool deck area

Partner Offers