Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076


Bedrooms 3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8) King, Queen & 2 fulls

This spectacular, HUGE, BEACHFRONT PENTHOUSE, has approximately 1700 square feet (400 SQUARE FEET LARGER THAN THE NORMAL SUMMER HOUSE CONDO), 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, nine+ foot ceilings, and a FIREPLACE. The south wall is entirely glass and has an awesome view of the Gulf.

Professionally decorated with exceptional furnishings, but fine for kids too! Designer tile throughout living areas and under-the-counter ice maker at breakfast bar, granite in the kitchen. Dining table seats eight to ten comfortably. FULL SIZE washer and dryer, four TV's all with DVD players, 5 CD-stereo, board games & library. The beds include a King, queen, and two fulls. FREE HIGH-SPEED INTERNET.

THIS IS A WONDERFUL VACATION HOME! All you need to bring is a bathing-suit!! UP-TO-DATE RENTAL CALENDAR!!!

Our complex has two brand new outdoor pools, one indoor heated pool, huge hot tub, tennis courts, weight room, sauna, playground, basketball court, shuffle board, meeting rooms, and boat/jet-ski lot. Guarded gate! Walk to ice cream, shops, restaurants, grocery, and amusement park!!!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018

About The Owner

Our family loves to vacation! Our favorite places to vacation are Orange Beach and Park City, Utah (see other listings). We live in Birmingham and it is less than a 4 hour drive to the beautiful white sands of Orange Beach.

The Owner purchased this condo in 1997

Why The Owner chose Orange Beach

Summer House is a great complex with one of the nicest pools and a lot of beach frontage. In addition, we have an indoor heated pool, 20 person hot-tub, sauna, fitness center, tennis courts, basketball court, playground & putting green.

What makes this condo unique

This is a penthouse unit which is about 400 square feet larger than the typical condos at Summerhouse. We also have taller ceilings a log burning fireplace. This condo comfortable lives 8 people with ample living space for all.

We are an easy walk from restaurants, ice-cream, beignets, grocery stores, souvenier shops and an arcade. If you desire, you don't ever have to get in the car once you get here!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

I was concerned when I read a recent review that the condo was not clean. We found it to be very clean and spacious. Our group had ample space to play games, watch tv, etc without being cramped. The kitchen was well appointed, the beds were comfortable and the views and beach were AWESOME!! We will definitely be back!! Thanks for the great stay!!!
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 2


Orange Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), 2 full beds (2) Sofa group with chaise, no hide-a-bed
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.3863635 based on 46 reviews

Great beach vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed at this condo twice now and have loved it! The owner is so great to work with. We love that it is right on the beach and so spacious.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a nice time, thanks for your nice review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Poor customer service

  • 2 of 5

I booked my family's Fourth of July vacation months in advance. I was extremely disappointed in the treatment by the owner. We arrived at check in time of 3pm and the room was disgusting, had not been cleaned. No linens, filthy toilets, etc... I contacted the owner and she said the maids would be there in 20 minutes .. I sent my family down to the beach because I didn't want to leAve our valuables and belongings. May I add I have a leg that is broken in three places and I'm unable to do much for myself. The maids didn't show up and I tried to contact the owner for 3 hours ... I even had to open s complaint with the vrbo site because I was about to have to go buy my own linens .. they were not happy with the disappearance of the owner either. The maids finally showed up at 530 and finished cleaning at 6:30pm which is when the owner finally contacted me to see if they had arrived... I couldn't even use the toilets in the condo while waiting in the maids. I explained to the owner the absolute horrible start to the vacation and she agreed to pay 100 back , I asked for the first night to be refunded due to the poor treatment and she told me I could leave but to please be out by 930 pm. I of course told her 100 would be fine because it was the Fourth of July the next day and where would an injured person and her husband and kids find on such short notice ?

The sofa is stained and dirty, the master sweet has "pocket doors " that do not lock that separate it from the main family room... the light on the oven is always on, the mirrored closets are broken and look terrible. Believe me, the pictures do the place a much better justice than it is .. the lights in the bedrooms didn't work either... for the price the charge for the "penthouse" and the horrible customer service , you can find a much more appropriate place to spend with your family... I am very customer service oriented and I do not like leaving poor reviews, but there truly is no other review to leave....

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry for this customer's broken leg and her difficulty. This customer could not be satisfied. She tried to cancel the reservation due to her broken leg and her family asked her not to, I believe she wasn't happy to be there from the beginning. She is correct, my maid service somehow missed that they were to clean. After speaking with the customer, I immediately spoke with my maid service and they told me they would be there in 20 minutes. I immediately contacted the customer and apologized for the delayed cleaning and let her know they should be there in 20 minutes, we spoke 3 more times between then and 3 hours later. So I was definitely available. Unfortunately, the maids didn't get there for 2 hours. Because of this 2 1/2 hour delay, I reimbursed the customer $100 even though her family was using the facilities the entire 2 1/2 hours while she sat with her broken leg watching the gulf. She was not satisfied with this and wanted a full day refund on a 3 night stay. I explained that was not reasonable and that I would completely refund their entire stay if they decided to go home that night. She apologized to me and admitted that she was frustrated that she was not going to be able to go to the beach during their stay. I have communicated with my maid service and they have assured me they won't miss another cleaning.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent accomodations!

  • 5 of 5

My family thoroughly enjoyed our week in the this fantastic condo at this amazing beach. It was very clean and comfortable and the location was excellent. I didn't want to leave!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a nice time! :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bessemer, AL

Clean, very convenient location and very nice place!

  • 5 of 5

Great place, my brothers and my family stayed there and it was great. I personally love the way the condo is decorated, I think some of the ocean and beach themed decor looks silly and ridiculous, this place was nice and comfy. Plenty of room, very clean, great location, great price!!!!

We will be repeat guests.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a nice stay! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great views - large unit!!

  • 3 of 5

We were only there for a long weekend, meeting up w/ family. Summer House is perfectly located and property well maintained This particular unit is perfect as it is large and layout well done. There is no balcony since unit is on the top floor, but large windows w/ awesome views! Didn't mind not having balcony as weather was really hot and several little ones w/us that we didn't want going in and out on a balcony. That being said this unit does have numerous maintenance issues. We were in touch w/ owner on several of them (and did get quick response to text). The worst issue being a constantly running toilet that wouldn't tank could not fill up. She did say maintenance was notified, but unfortunately they were off that weekend and by the time the offer was made to contact a different maintenance service on Monday we were already checked out. The other "issues" were mentioned and she said she would have maintenance take care of those as well.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen, Glad you had a nice stay. We were at the condo right after you and all of the maintenance issues have been taking care of. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs updating and cleaning. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, in spite of some issues.

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived, the condo had not been cleaned, on July 13th. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but there are a few things that, if I were the Owner, I would want to know. Below are just some of the things issues that we encountered.

• The newly installed tile in the kitchen and living space is very nice! Great job on that update!

• However, the tile is NOT clean…..could not walk barefoot because our feet were BLACK from dirt still on the floor.

• The carpet in the bedrooms is so dirty that we would not even walk around barefoot in there either.

• Overall, the condo is NOT clean.

• The icemaker in the refrigerator made hardly any ice at all. We had to buy ice to have enough for tea.

• The big icemaker made almost NO ice… would drop 2-3 cubes after making a horrible noise in churning to try to produce ice. It was very annoying.

• The bottom strip of the mirror trim in the hall bathroom was barely attached when we arrived. It was so bad that we placed it in the queen bedroom closet.

• Pots and pans are in such a horrible disarray that we could hardly find lids to go with cookware, blender, etc.

• With the inside of the kitchen cabinets being painted black, it makes it VERY dark when you search for cookware.

• We had to replace light bulbs to have even enough light to see with the lamps and some of the overhead lights. There are some fixtures / lamps still with no light bulbs.

• Lights above the vanity in the master bathroom does not work. Very dark in there.

• Knobs on most of the light fixture controls are missing. Had to use tools to turn the knob to adjust what lighting there was.

• Overhead fan in Queen bedroom runs only on LOW speed.

• Overhead Light in full bedroom does not work at all.

• Closet in Queen bedroom is so full of “stuff” that we couldn’t get anything in the bottom of the closet. Therefore, all our bags and suitcase had to be lined up all around the room.

• Information on VRBO should tell people there is no balcony.

• Pictures on VRBO site are very misleading as to the living space.

• Advertising should let people know the tennis / basketball courts are across the street.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Elaine, Thanks for staying. I agree there were some maintenance issues. By the end of the summer with back-to-back bookings, this occurs. We just left there and had deep cleaning done, carpets and furniture cleaned, and all this other maintenance done.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Franco's Italian Restaurant
Italian Restaurant
Little New Orleans
Cajun Restaurant
Hazel's Family Seafood Restaurant & Catering
Seafood Restaurant
Buns in the Sun
Sandwich Shop
Bubba's Seafood House
Seafood Restaurant
Mama Lottie's Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Mexico Lindo Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
China Dragon
Chinese Restaurant
Adventure Island
Moe's Original Bar B Que
Barbecue Restaurant
DQ Grill & Chill Restaurant
Fast Food Restaurant
Liquid Life Cafe
Espresso Bar
Rotolo's Pizzeria
Pizza Restaurant
Chronic Tacos
Taco Restaurant
Live Bait Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Flipdaddy's Brilliant Burgers & Craft Beer Bar
Hamburger Restaurant
The Ruby Slipper Cafe
Brunch Restaurant
Wintzell's Oyster House
Cotton's Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Orange Beach Welcome Center
Change of Pace at Turquoise Place
Orange Beach Sportsplex
The Flying Harpoon 2
Bar & Grill
The Undertow
Bar & Grill
Hogfish Grille
Seafood Restaurant
Brick & Spoon
Southern Restaurant (US)
Big Mike's Steakhouse
Steak House
Shrimp Basket Orange Beach
Seafood Restaurant
Wolf Bay Lodge
Seafood Restaurant
Duck's Diner
Southern Restaurant (US)
China King
Chinese Restaurant
El Potro Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Big Fish Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Cosmo's Restaurant & Bar
American Restaurant
Luna's Eat & Drink
Seafood Restaurant
Orange Beach Golf Center
Hot Rod's Diner
Cactus Cantina
Mexican Restaurant
Bravo Tacos
Latin American Restaurant
Lartigue's Seafood Market
Seafood Restaurant
Doc's Seafood Shack & Oyster Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Latitude 30
Hugh S. Branyon Backcountry Trail - Rosemary Dunes Trailhead
Orange Beach Art Center
The Southern Grind at INDIGO
Coffee Shop
The Southern Grind Coffee House
Cafe Grazie
Seafood Restaurant
Louisiana Lagniappe
Seafood Restaurant


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.