Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

HUGE BEACHFRONT PENTHOUSE-3BD/2BTH, INDOOR/OUTDOOR POOLS,TENNIS,FITNESS,

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8) King, Queen & 2 fulls

This spectacular, HUGE, BEACHFRONT PENTHOUSE, has approximately 1700 square feet (400 SQUARE FEET LARGER THAN THE NORMAL SUMMER HOUSE CONDO), 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, nine+ foot ceilings, and a FIREPLACE. The south wall is entirely glass and has an awesome view of the Gulf.

Professionally decorated with exceptional furnishings, but fine for kids too! Designer tile throughout living areas and under-the-counter ice maker at breakfast bar, granite in the kitchen. Dining table seats eight to ten comfortably. FULL SIZE washer and dryer, four TV's all with DVD players, 5 CD-stereo, board games & library. The beds include a King, queen, and two fulls. FREE HIGH-SPEED INTERNET.

THIS IS A WONDERFUL VACATION HOME! All you need to bring is a bathing-suit!! UP-TO-DATE RENTAL CALENDAR!!!

Our complex has two brand new outdoor pools, one indoor heated pool, huge hot tub, tennis courts, weight room, sauna, playground, basketball court, shuffle board, meeting rooms, and boat/jet-ski lot. Guarded gate! Walk to ice cream, shops, restaurants, grocery, and amusement park!!!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 11, 2017

About The Owner

Our family loves to vacation! Our favorite places to vacation are Orange Beach and Park City, Utah (see other listings). We live in Birmingham and it is less than a 4 hour drive to the beautiful white sands of Orange Beach.

The Owner purchased this condo in 1997

Why The Owner chose Alabama

Summer House is a great complex with one of the nicest pools and a lot of beach frontage. In addition, we have an indoor heated pool, 20 person hot-tub, sauna, fitness center, tennis courts, basketball court, playground & putting green.

What makes this condo unique

This is a penthouse unit which is about 400 square feet larger than the typical condos at Summerhouse. We also have taller ceilings a log burning fireplace. This condo comfortable lives 8 people with ample living space for all.

We are an easy walk from restaurants, ice-cream, beignets, grocery stores, souvenier shops and an arcade. If you desire, you don't ever have to get in the car once you get here!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

I was concerned when I read a recent review that the condo was not clean. We found it to be very clean and spacious. Our group had ample space to play games, watch tv, etc without being cramped. The kitchen was well appointed, the beds were comfortable and the views and beach were AWESOME!! We will definitely be back!! Thanks for the great stay!!!
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Orange Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), 2 full beds (2) Sofa group with chaise, no hide-a-bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

67% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
HUGE BEACHFRONT PENTHOUSE-3BD/2BTH, INDOOR/OUTDOOR POOLS,TENNIS,FITNESS,
average rating of 4.372093 based on 45 reviews
2

Poor customer service

  • 2 of 5

I booked my family's Fourth of July vacation months in advance. I was extremely disappointed in the treatment by the owner. We arrived at check in time of 3pm and the room was disgusting, had not been cleaned. No linens, filthy toilets, etc... I contacted the owner and she said the maids would be there in 20 minutes .. I sent my family down to the beach because I didn't want to leAve our valuables and belongings. May I add I have a leg that is broken in three places and I'm unable to do much for myself. The maids didn't show up and I tried to contact the owner for 3 hours ... I even had to open s complaint with the vrbo site because I was about to have to go buy my own linens .. they were not happy with the disappearance of the owner either. The maids finally showed up at 530 and finished cleaning at 6:30pm which is when the owner finally contacted me to see if they had arrived... I couldn't even use the toilets in the condo while waiting in the maids. I explained to the owner the absolute horrible start to the vacation and she agreed to pay 100 back , I asked for the first night to be refunded due to the poor treatment and she told me I could leave but to please be out by 930 pm. I of course told her 100 would be fine because it was the Fourth of July the next day and where would an injured person and her husband and kids find on such short notice ?

The sofa is stained and dirty, the master sweet has "pocket doors " that do not lock that separate it from the main family room... the light on the oven is always on, the mirrored closets are broken and look terrible. Believe me, the pictures do the place a much better justice than it is .. the lights in the bedrooms didn't work either... for the price the charge for the "penthouse" and the horrible customer service , you can find a much more appropriate place to spend with your family... I am very customer service oriented and I do not like leaving poor reviews, but there truly is no other review to leave....

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry for this customer's broken leg and her difficulty. This customer could not be satisfied. She tried to cancel the reservation due to her broken leg and her family asked her not to, I believe she wasn't happy to be there from the beginning. She is correct, my maid service somehow missed that they were to clean. After speaking with the customer, I immediately spoke with my maid service and they told me they would be there in 20 minutes. I immediately contacted the customer and apologized for the delayed cleaning and let her know they should be there in 20 minutes, we spoke 3 more times between then and 3 hours later. So I was definitely available. Unfortunately, the maids didn't get there for 2 hours. Because of this 2 1/2 hour delay, I reimbursed the customer $100 even though her family was using the facilities the entire 2 1/2 hours while she sat with her broken leg watching the gulf. She was not satisfied with this and wanted a full day refund on a 3 night stay. I explained that was not reasonable and that I would completely refund their entire stay if they decided to go home that night. She apologized to me and admitted that she was frustrated that she was not going to be able to go to the beach during their stay. I have communicated with my maid service and they have assured me they won't miss another cleaning.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent accomodations!

  • 5 of 5

My family thoroughly enjoyed our week in the this fantastic condo at this amazing beach. It was very clean and comfortable and the location was excellent. I didn't want to leave!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a nice time! :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bessemer, AL
5

Clean, very convenient location and very nice place!

  • 5 of 5

Great place, my brothers and my family stayed there and it was great. I personally love the way the condo is decorated, I think some of the ocean and beach themed decor looks silly and ridiculous, this place was nice and comfy. Plenty of room, very clean, great location, great price!!!!

We will be repeat guests.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a nice stay! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great views - large unit!!

  • 3 of 5

We were only there for a long weekend, meeting up w/ family. Summer House is perfectly located and property well maintained This particular unit is perfect as it is large and layout well done. There is no balcony since unit is on the top floor, but large windows w/ awesome views! Didn't mind not having balcony as weather was really hot and several little ones w/us that we didn't want going in and out on a balcony. That being said this unit does have numerous maintenance issues. We were in touch w/ owner on several of them (and did get quick response to text). The worst issue being a constantly running toilet that wouldn't flush.as tank could not fill up. She did say maintenance was notified, but unfortunately they were off that weekend and by the time the offer was made to contact a different maintenance service on Monday we were already checked out. The other "issues" were mentioned and she said she would have maintenance take care of those as well.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen, Glad you had a nice stay. We were at the condo right after you and all of the maintenance issues have been taking care of. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Needs updating and cleaning. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, in spite of some issues.

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived, the condo had not been cleaned, on July 13th. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but there are a few things that, if I were the Owner, I would want to know. Below are just some of the things issues that we encountered.

• The newly installed tile in the kitchen and living space is very nice! Great job on that update!

• However, the tile is NOT clean…..could not walk barefoot because our feet were BLACK from dirt still on the floor.

• The carpet in the bedrooms is so dirty that we would not even walk around barefoot in there either.

• Overall, the condo is NOT clean.

• The icemaker in the refrigerator made hardly any ice at all. We had to buy ice to have enough for tea.

• The big icemaker made almost NO ice…..it would drop 2-3 cubes after making a horrible noise in churning to try to produce ice. It was very annoying.

• The bottom strip of the mirror trim in the hall bathroom was barely attached when we arrived. It was so bad that we placed it in the queen bedroom closet.

• Pots and pans are in such a horrible disarray that we could hardly find lids to go with cookware, blender, etc.

• With the inside of the kitchen cabinets being painted black, it makes it VERY dark when you search for cookware.

• We had to replace light bulbs to have even enough light to see with the lamps and some of the overhead lights. There are some fixtures / lamps still with no light bulbs.

• Lights above the vanity in the master bathroom does not work. Very dark in there.

• Knobs on most of the light fixture controls are missing. Had to use tools to turn the knob to adjust what lighting there was.

• Overhead fan in Queen bedroom runs only on LOW speed.

• Overhead Light in full bedroom does not work at all.

• Closet in Queen bedroom is so full of “stuff” that we couldn’t get anything in the bottom of the closet. Therefore, all our bags and suitcase had to be lined up all around the room.

• Information on VRBO should tell people there is no balcony.

• Pictures on VRBO site are very misleading as to the living space.

• Advertising should let people know the tennis / basketball courts are across the street.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Elaine, Thanks for staying. I agree there were some maintenance issues. By the end of the summer with back-to-back bookings, this occurs. We just left there and had deep cleaning done, carpets and furniture cleaned, and all this other maintenance done.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good Space, great view. Wiring issues.

  • 3 of 5

When we first entered the condo there were lights out in the master bathroom and guest rooms. There was also sand all over the couch. We were missing the hotel keys also. I did contact the owner and she had maintenance come the next day to replace the bulbs and she told us to use the codes and not worry about the keys, so that was fixed quickly. The light switches and ceiling fan controls in the condo are insane. All the knobs for the fans are missing and some of the light switches control the power for the entire room. The water to the entire condo shut off on us about 3 times during our stay lasting a couple hours each. The view and the space are the biggest positives of the unit. The beach was nice, amenities were great for our 1 year old. I think with some maintenance and updating this could be a really nice condo, but I doubt we would stay in this particular condo again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jennifer, Thanks for your review. The keys are no longer needed as we have a keypad on the door. We apologize for bulbs and light dimmer knobs being gone, glad we got it taken care of the next day. We have had back to back bookings all summer and this results in some wear and tear. We are here now making all the needed improvements. :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Publix Super Market
Adventure Island
Walmart Neighborhood Market
The Amphitheater At the Wharf
Winn Dixie
Orange Beach Marina
Alvin's Island Tropical Department Stores
The Gulf Restaurant & Bar @ The Pass
Adventure Island
Cafe Beignets of Alabama

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties