Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Chalet @ Fawn Trail Junction - WINTER SPECIAL-Nov-April - Inquire

Bedrooms 2
Space 720 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

LODGING RATES; 2 night minimum

$145/Nt Nov thru April 30th Except Holidays

$175/nt Standard Year Round Rate

$175/nt X-Mas Holiday Dec 18th - Jan 4th 3nt min

$175/nt Thx Giv Holiday Nov 20th - Nov 26th 3nt min

WINTER SPECIAL Reserve 2 nights or more and get an additional NIGHT FREE Nov 1st - April 30th (Except Holidays) Inquire

Pet Friendly Dogs Only Pet Fee $35 -

Pet Policy - Inquire before booking

All Spring & Summer Holidays 3 Night Minimum.

Single night stays available Jan 5th thru April 30 add $30 to nightly rate

WINTER DRIVING CONSIDERATIONS; Oct 15th thru May 15th. All Wheel/4 Wheel Drive vehicle required in Rocky Mountains during Snow Storm Conditions. Contact us to discuss before you Book On-Line

The Secluded Chalet @ Fawn Trail Junction is the perfect 2 bedroom Secluded Vacation Home for your Colorado Getaway. Free WiFi. This impeccably maintained Old World Rocky Mountain Hacienda was originally used as a Summer and Fall getaway just after WW11 by adventurers to the Rocky Mountains, who hunted big game by skiing and snow shoeing the 14000 Ft+ Peaks & Valleys, Creeks & Lakes of the Mount Evans Wilderness Area, and The Arapaho National Forest. We have owned this beautiful historical Evergreen Colorado property since 1983 and have upgraded every detail for your comfort expectations. With an 8 mile, 15 minute drive to Downtown Evergreen and an easy 55 min drive to Downtown Denver The 'Secluded Chalet @ Fawn Trail Junction' is the perfect choice for Contemporary Adventure Seekers to Base Camp while planning an Itinerary of Hiking,, Bird Watching, River Rafting, Snow Shoeing & Back Country Skiing in our Evergreen Colorado Outdoor Playground We look forward to your Visit. Call or E mail any time if you have questions while you research your Lodging Options in Beautiful Evergreen Colorado

The Secluded Chalet is Pet Friendly. Please Request Pet Policy

- Sincerely Michael - Your Evergreen Colorado Lodging Host

Contact us any time

Please Note; Traditional Chalet Designed Homes have steeper than normal Stairways. The Secluded Chalet is no exception. If the Dogs(s) or guests in your party have any restrictive conditions that would make it difficult to negotiate a steeper than normal stairway you might want inquire about confirming a reservation at another of our 9 VRBO and Home-Away listed Evergreen Colorado Vacation Homes that will better serve the needs of your guest list.

Note; the traditional Chalet design upper level 2 bedroom sleeping area is divided by the stairwell wall for privacy but has no door between the 2 sleeping areas. If this is problematic for your guest list see any of 5 of our other Evergreen Colorado Homeaway Listed Vacation Cabins that have standard fully separate sleeping bedrooms.

More Details

Property Manager
Michael Carter
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

About Michael Carter

We have lived and worked in this magical place called 'Brook Forest' just 8 miles from Downtown Evergreen since 1975. We built our 9 Vacation homes over the last 40 years. We now maintain and actively manage our Vacation Homes year round as all seasons in the Colorado Rockies present unique Getaway opportunities. We purchased the 'Secluded Chalet @ Fawn Trail Junction' in 1983.

In 2008 we completed total Remodel to bring this Wonderful Secluded Wilderness Home up to your standards for a short term Evergreen Colorado Vacation Residence. Having been a home builder, remodeling, contractor, real estate broker and expedition outfitter we have become well suited at this stage in life to offer our Vacation homes to our guests who come from around the World to enjoy Evergreen Colorado and all the Magical wonders of our very beautiful State of Colorado. We are very active in our community and enjoy providing our guests with the opportunity to share our knowledge and experience of our region and all there is to offer.

Please Call any time to discuss your interest in a Wilderness Lodging Experience in Evergreen Colorado


Your Evergreen Colorado Lodging Host


Michael Carter purchased this cabin in 1983

Why Michael Carter chose Evergreen

Our Vacation Home business just evolved over many years of building, remodeling, owning, and managing private residential homes in the Evergreen Colorado Community

What makes this cabin unique

Quiet secluded location for peaceful convenient stand alone Lodging experience in the Colorado Rocky Mountains high above the urban environment of the Denver Metro Area


Evergreen Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 720 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • The Bathroom has a very nice tiled shower, and the floors are fully tiled for absolute cleanliness. The toilet is new this year. You will fild this Bathroom very Pleasent with everything nessesary for your personal requiremnts including a Hair Dryer, Med Cab & Mirror and plenty of cabinet and shelf space for towels, and grooming items along with clothing hooks for robes etc.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
You will need to bring your own Cell phone for Telephone AT&T and Verizon work well. Sprint and T-Mobile are Spotty in our Mountain Community


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
19% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
Secluded Chalet @ Fawn Trail Junction - WINTER SPECIAL-Nov-April - Inquire
average rating of 4.5319147 based on 47 reviews

Loved the Chalet

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the Secluded Chalet. It was just as described and perfect for our anniversary weekend! We loved the easy access to the many hiking trails and spending time in the small communities in the mountains.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kyle thank you for your time to write & submit this review. We are always please when our guests find the experience they are expecting. If you are a prospective traveler searching fo a quiet Secluded Lodging location close to Evergreen and Denver Colorado the "Secluded Chalet" will be a perfect choice. Sincerely Michael Owner- host
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very beautiful property and drive

  • 2 of 5

I booked this cabin thinking it is 2 bedroom and it is definitely not 2 bedroom it’s a loft with 2 beds. I decided not to bring my dog after reading all the policies and what would happen if my dog got out of the cage (she would be taken to animal shelter) which I did not want to rick at all I also decided not to bring her, also she’s a very hairy dog and sheds a lot and if there was hair left behind (which would be likely since she’s so hairy) I could be charged extra on top of not receiving my refund. Once I got there I got really bad anxiety after reading all the things I had to clean/maintain in order receive my deposit, when I left not only did I make sure to complete everything listed I also felt obligated to clean messes that I didn’t even make. For example under the cutting board there was marijuana stems and peices of leaves that I cleaned up. I booked this cabin while my little brother was visiting so that he wouldn’t have to sleep on the couch and we just ended up leaving early and just going back home to Denver as my brother said he’d be more comfortable just sleeping on our couch.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest received our reservation confirmation package on 1/11/18 and had plenty of time to review the information. I addition she knew everything she complained about when she checked the box "Agree with Owners Policies" before she confirmed the Reservation On-line thru Home Away On the morning after her check in date I received a text saying she was considering leaving because her brother was sick and because her vehicle's 4 wheel drive feature was not working and she was fearful of making the drive up and down the mountain with out 4 wheel drive. Note the roads were clear and had no snow on them and 4 wheel drive was not needed on Presidents day weekend. Note that neither of these reasons we used in her complaint. She did not notify us that she was checking out early until 2PM, 4 hours after the published chk out time. Specific responses 1. The listing clearly describes the bedroom sleeping arrangements so we find it curious that it was alleged that her brother had to sleep on the couch as there actually is no couch, it is a Love seat, and is nowhere near the size to accommodate an adult sleeping. Curiously both bed were used. We believe this is totally disingenuous as we were told the Brother was sick and needed to return to Denver 2. This guest received the Pet Policy in 2 separate documents on the day of reservation confirmation and had plenty of time to cancel the reservation if she found the pet policy unacceptable. We happily returned her pet fee when she notified us 1 day before check in that she was not bringing her dog. 3. This guest received the "100% refundable Housekeeping Deposit Policy" on 1/11/18 in her reservation confirmation documents, and had plenty of time to cancel her reservation if our Policy did not work for her. Again for her to complain about the totally optional guest "Housekeeping Deposit Return Policy" shows a complete lack of integrity. To the contrary she did a Perfect A+ job of "Leaving the residence the way she found it at Check at Check-in and we werechappy to return her refundable housekeeping deposit. 4. About the marijuana "Stems and pieces". I personally cleared and wiped clean all Kitchen and Bath surfaces the morning of chk in. We apologize if we missed something. If you are a prospective guest please contact us if you have questions about any of these topics and please see our long list of reviews about The "Secluded Chalet" Sincerely Michael Your "Off the Beaten Path" Evergreen Colorado Lodging Host
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy Cabin for the family

  • 5 of 5

We had a very relaxing time playing games, reading books and enjoying each other's company for a few nights. The cabin is furnished very comfortably and was very clean upon our arrival. There were caretakers nearby ready to help with any issue that arose (the kid forgot extra flour for a recipe but we were helped!). Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything you need and such a peaceful spot.

  • 4 of 5

My family (3 kids, 1 wife, 1 dog) stayed here fpr two nights and loved it. Evergreen is a 20 min beautiful drive and has anything you could need, without the city you don't. Cabin is practical and sturdy with a cozy comfortable feel. Roads a bit steep and muddy when wet. Just adds to the adventure. Will be back when we have to get away from the real world for sure.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Very cozy cabin on the mountain. The town of Evergreen is small and cute with trails all over to enjoy. The cabin was well kept, the gas fire place kept it toasty during the chilly nights (just remember to turn it off before going to bed). The tv only gets 5 channels but has a built in DVD player which was nice to use. Overall stay was great, colorado has so much to offer. We will be returning next year!!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jenny thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Secluded Chalet. If you are looking for a private stand alone "Off the Beaten Path" Vacation Location please consider the Secluded Chalet. Sincerely Michael Owner-Host
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Traveling with dogs

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at the cabin for 5 nights with our two dogs. This was our first time traveling with pets and we enjoyed our stay a great deal. We took the dogs for walks at nearby parks and also traveled to Mt. Evans. There are other cabins and houses near this cabin but the area is very quiet and the deck is a lovely place to sit. The trees give a great deal of privacy. We had a very nice stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


We are located in the Mountain Community of Evergreen/Conifer Colorado on the western side of the Denver Metro Area. The ' Mountain Fort @ Fawn Trail Junction' is a short 8 mile, or 15 minute drive from Downtown Evergreen and an easy 55 minute drive to the Heart of Downtown Denver. It is an easy journey From Denver Int Airport on Interstate 70, about a 1 hour and 15 minute drive to your vacation residence. From Evergreen Colorado you can easily access the 7 Front Range Ski Areas, Rocky Mountain National Park, or Pikes Peak in the Colorado Springs area, Each of these popular destinations are in a days round trip drive from your Vacation residence. Evergreen Colorado has all the services you could require during your visit including a full selection of Grocery Stores, Restaurants, and Urgent Care. For specific information about your personal activity interests please call us.

Sincerely Michel


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35
Refundable Housekeeping $100
Tax Rate 6.55%

100% Refundable $100 Housekeeping Deposit is Credited back to guest Credit Card on Check-out day When the home is left the way guest found the home at Check-in Pet fee - One time $35 pet fee Dogs only 2 dogs Max add to quote. Pet Policy Inquire- Cancellation Policy 50% of Deposited funds refunded prior to 30 days before chk in. After 30 days prior to chk in NO REFUNDS. Travel Insurance Advised
Single night stays may be available if we have 1 night available between confirmed guest reservations. Add $30 to the published nightly rate for your single night stay

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties