Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Escape and Relax in Cowichan Bay!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8)

Cowichan Bay was formed by the long standing presence of First Nations people, followed by an immigrant heritage that developed our cultural beginnings in forestry, fishing and farming industries.

Our community is a “slow food” community, painting and preserving glimmers of our cultural history. Today, we strive to protect the beauty and ecological integrity of these gifts of precious natural resources. Our community believes in the utilizing appropriate tools and practices for the protection of our land, air and water.

Cowichan Bay is a place for families, businesses, the young and old. Our commercial areas host a mix of businesses including consulting and design firms, medical offices, galleries, boat works, food processing facilities, cafes, ice cream shops all linked by off road trails and within close proximity to each other.

OUR HOUSE is in the hub of all the action within the Bay. We have a busy event calendar going on and urge you to come and experience the fun.


Christmas Sail Past

Art By the Sea

Boat Building Workshops

Prawn Festival

Fishing, boating, hiking, visiting the vineyards, beach combing, kayaking or simply sipping coffee by the sea...

There are walking paths meandering through neighborhood areas linking to lunchtime bistros, grocery stores, parks, schools and the waterfront.

Keywords: Walk to village, Hilary's cheese shop, the True Grain bakery, gym and other amenities.

More Details

Danica Rice
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 6, 2017

About Danica Rice

We are a family with three children who live nearby.

Danica Rice purchased this house in 2009

Why Danica Rice chose Cowichan Bay

We both attended the University of Victoria, and after working abroad in Zimbabwe and Colorado for many years, we decided that we missed the island and all it has to offer. Cowichan Bay is unique in that it allows us to walk or ride our bikes to all local amenities. We love the views from our house and the coziness of the community.

What makes this house unique

The sunsets are to die for..A glass of wine on the deck in the summer months and you will not want to leave..You can leave your car keys and your cell phone in your bag and not take them out for the duration of your stay...or you can do the opposite and efficiently run business affairs, away from the stresses of the city. Cowichan Bay is rural and by the sea, however it is still close enough to enjoy the fruits of Victoria, Duncan and Nanaimo..


Cowichan Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , custom shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 child bed , child sleeping area potential in loft
    Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , sleeps 2, one in loft and one in lower bed
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

37% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Escape and Relax in Cowichan Bay!
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews

Perfect, quiet, spacious and amazing view

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 loved this vacation rental. We spent a week and a half here. Lots of room with a breathe taking view. The area is so quiet and relaxing. Danica was incredibly informative on activities close by that our family could enjoy and she was available when we had questions.

Highly recommend this vacation rental!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Jodie for choosing to stay with us. I'm so pleased that you could take advantage of all the fun things to do in Cowichan Bay. It was our pleasure to host you and your family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Mackenzie, British Columbia

Gorgeous view, relaxing atmosphere!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I rented this house for 4 days with our 2 children and their significant others. The view was spectacular from the deck, the place was clean and the location was ideal. Was a great start to our vacation, relaxing and comfortable. Would stay here again

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying with us. We enjoyed meeting you and your family.:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great view and location, great for family of 4 plus grandma.

  • 4 of 5

This house was great as a home base for Island explorations. Danica gave some excellent recommendations for local shopping, activities, etc.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Erin and Trevor. We're so glad you had a nice stay and that our place worked for your Cowichan Bay family get together. All the best!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Burnaby BC Canada

great view in comfy setting

  • 4 of 5

Really lovely place, comfortable and lots of room. great location, close to marina.

Danica and Cameron were always available.

Would recommend this to anyone wishing to experience the area!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Renter's Beware

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I (and our dog) spent two months here. When I made first contact, it was for a 4 bedroom home. When she emailed me back, the listing and photo's had changed to a 2 bedroom home yet the price did not change. (This should have been our first clue.)

When we arrived to the home, the temperature inside was 68 degrees, it took 4 days for the inside temperature to reach 70 as the only source of heat is in floor heating. Every room had a rough concrete floor with no carpet.

One of the first things we noticed was that the high end, stainless steel stove and dishwasher depicted in the photo's had been switched out to lower grade appliances and the large stainless steel BBQ was gone. I called the landlord to have her bring more plates, bowls, mugs as there were only a few. She also had to bring hand towels as there were none and other utensils. Later we realized there was no dish clothes. None of the furniture that appeared in the photo's was in the house, it had all been changed. We had to store our clothes in drawers in the kitchen as there was no where in the bedroom to put them. This two bedroom home had only one bed so we asked her to bring an additional bed for when we had a guest coming to stay, Two weeks later, a single bed with bedding was delivered. A smaller BBQ was delivered our first week but we had to wait two weeks for the propane tank and BTW, there were no BBQ cooking utensils.

The coffee maker consisted of a french press which is fine if you only want one cup of coffee each, The toaster did not work and neither did the exhaust fan above the stove. The landlord was aware of these issues.

The door lock was a key pad system which worked for half the time. When we inquired about what to do, the landlord said "I never lock my door".

The rental does not include television, I negotiated this in advance for our two month stay.

After we departed, we were informed that we were being charged a hefty cleaning fee which was not listed in the agreement. The landlord indicated that she had to do major cleaning to her floors and stove due to dirt and dog hair. We swept every day but was hard to keep the rough concrete floors spotless due to the dirt driveway, no walk off mat nor was there a vacuum cleaner. The stove was dirty due to the constant leak from the overhead exhaust fan that brought debris from outside.

We feel deceived, especially since we paid a handsome price for this rental.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than you expected. I wish that you had said something at the time instead of harbouring a list of issues until now. We visited the property several times a week and would have been happy to accommodate your needs had you requested anything. We responded to your needs when you did ask and provided you with a new television, (I had no idea that the cable wasn't working as I had ordered it for you), personal mail delivery, custom access ramp, and three nights free accommodation at the end without hesitation to name a few things. My family was very ill when you asked for the BBQ. I believe you are disgruntled about the damage deposit, but I had to scrub the walls, repaint, sweep 3x, wash the floor twice and wash all of the linens twice to remove all of the dog hair. $150.00 for cleaning was the minimum I could charge. I had hoped you would understand and texted you about it, but your response has come forward in this review. I'm sorry we let you down and wish you the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 4
Dallas, TX

Comfortable Home, great location!

  • 4 of 5

My cousin and I stayed here 4 nights over the Labor day holiday. We were able to do a lot because everything was so close or an easy drive away.

The house is as represented with a few changes to the furniture. Both bedrooms are equally roomy, each with it's own queen size bed, which were extremly comforable. Plenty of closet space for extended stays....and loads of hangers! There is patio furniture in both the backyard, front porch and also the upper balcony deck. The kitchen is equiped for light cooking, nothing too gourmet. Loved having the full size washer & dryer.

The owner, Danica, who lives just 2 doors down stopped by the first day with a sampling of fresh vegetables from her garden! She was happy to advise on nearby sites and activities, very friendly.

The house is just one block away from the marina so it's an easy walk down to the nearby restaurants which makes parking a breeze. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch deck for coffe and most evening meals.We were surpised how quiet the neighborhood was, even with the windows open to enjoy the cool weather!

We visited the Saturday morning Farmer's Market in nearby Duncan and purchased wonderful fresh vegetables which we prepared at the house. Duncan also has loads of totem poles scattered around the downtown, near the Farmer's Market,easy to do your own walking tour. We visted numerous wineries that were within a 30 minute or less drive and offer a variety of nice wines.

Our favorite excursion was the Whale Watching tour w/ Ocean Ecoventures which is located right in Cowichan Bay in the marina area, again just one block away. We took the 4:30 p.m. tour so were were still out on the water for a gorgeous sunset .......the whales put on an awesome "show"! The company provides insulated jumpsuits which keep you warm even when you are flying across the water.

I think this house is very comfortable and offers a good value. The location can't be beat!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Cowichan Bay Pub
Nearest Ferry
15 Kilometres
Mill Bay
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Arbutus Ridge Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Trans Canada
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Masthead Restaurant
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Car: recommended

Cowichan Bay Maritime Center. Arbutus Ridge or Cowichan Golf Course, BC Forestry Museum, Cherry Point Beach, Estuary Trail, Village Shops


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15.68
Cleaning fee $47.03
Refundable damage deposit $156.76

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties