check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Mountaintop Mansion 8 Bedroom/17 Beds 10min to Downtown. Best views in Austin!!

Sleeps23
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms5
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
23
Bedrooms
7
Bathrooms
5
Half Baths
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

***For residential use only***

Location Highlights:

The property is located only 10 minutes away from the heart of Downtown Austin and 5 minutes away from The Arboretum as well as The Domain - the best shopping in Austin. For golf, ACC is 4 minutes away and Barton Creek is 10 minutes away. You can see ACC golf course from every floor in the house. For boating, there is an access ramp to Lake Austin 2 minutes away at Pennybacker Bridge. You can see it from the top floor of the house. Lake Travis is 15 minutes away. Bull Creek is just below the house - a great place for the kids on a hot day! The Bull Creek Greenbelt runs along the creek providing miles of the best hiking in Austin.

Property Highlights:

• As you view the home, don’t miss the 270 degree panoramic views seen from almost every room. Fireworks displays during holidays, rainstorms and spectacular sunsets are show-stopping. Three wrap-around decks, one 2000sq ft deck & three covered decks provide wonderful seating and flow for entertaining. The two-story entry with grand staircase, the warmth of the wood and the buff wall colorings are quite impressive and most welcoming.

• This 6000sq ft Spanish Colonial mansion features 8 bedrooms, five full & two half baths, 3 kitchens, and 3 living rooms on a private acre lot. There are 6 Kings, 2 Queens, and 9 Twins in the house (17 total beds) plus 1 baby crib. The master kitchen features granite counters and state-of-the-art appliances. There is also a sitting room with views and a bar/entertainment room giving access to the exterior ten person outdoor jacuzzi. The top level consists of the Master bedroom, another bedroom, and the children's playroom or 7th bedroom. The children's playroom comes furnished w tons of toys and sleeping options for newborns up. There is also a crib and changing table in the second bedroom next to the playroom. There is also a stroller in the garage.

• Two separate apartments are downstairs off either side of the 7-car garage each with a bedroom, full bathroom and kitchen. There is a six person poker table w chips in the living room on the larger of the two apartments.

• The layout of the home is grand, flowing and conducive to socializing.

• The garage area, with dual motorized doors, is an incredibly flexible space which can be used for parking cars, abundant storage, workout space or crafts.

All this and only a 10 minute drive to downtown Austin door-to-door.

** For residential purposes only **

More Details

Owner
Ryan Nacol, RRN Industries LLC
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2017

Why Ryan Nacol, RRN Industries LLC chose Austin

This property is so close to downtown and next to the best golfing and shopping in Austin. The views are jaw dropping and the location is peaceful. You'll see deer and rabbits around just at dusk/dawn daily.

What makes this house unique

Top of North Cat Mountain and some of the most breath taking views in Texas. It the 1980's this house was the highest elevated (900 ft above sea level) in all of Austin. It only takes 10 minutes to get to downtown Austin. Easy.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

Mountaintop Mansion 8 Bedroom/17 Beds 10min to Downtown. Best views in Austin!!
average rating of 4.8679247 based on 53 reviews
5

Great house, location, view, service!

  • 5 of 5

I chose this house because I wanted a space large enough to accommodate my entire family, while also being close to downtown Austin. I was not disappointed! The house is awesome. High ceilings, great furnishings, Jacuzzi, ping pong, etc. It really feels like a home away from home. The kids way more space to play than they do at our house. The adults really enjoyed the absurd views and multiple lounge / entertaining areas. Ryan was super easy to work with and made the whole stay smooth and inviting. I really can't think of a single thing wrong with our stay or this house. In fact, this was definitely the best VRBO experience I've ever had. 10/10!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Ok. But I expected much better.

  • 2 of 5

Every year I rent a different house to spend holidays with my family.

The positive thing about this house is that it is quite spacious.

The negative was:

- On arrival we noticed very little cleaning in the house (the towels had hair, the sheets were not clean, they had stains)

- the house was messy (in the kitchen the utensils were messy and it was difficult to find something to cook with. The stove did not work properly).

- We struggled with the heating because it was turned off and several members of the family were cold at night ...

- The house has rooms for 18 people to sleep in but the kitchen and dining rooms have no where near enough space for all. 8 people can sit down to eat at most in either room.

The worst part of the experience was when, in the middle of breakfast, several strangers just walked into the house, they didn't ring the doorbell or knock, they just barged in to "fix the air conditioning". This was a total violation of our privacy. These repairs should have been made before our arrival.

A positive thing was that Ryan Nacol (the person in charge of the house) was very friendly.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Carlos, Well it would have been great if you communicated all this with me! I realize that we had a massive language barrier issue throughout the stay so I'll reply specifically to each one of your complaints: 1) The house was messy? It would have been great if you told me that but you didnt say a thing! Not a word! I would have asked the cleaners to come back immediately if that was the case. The cleaner sends me pictures of every room before check in and the house looked spotless to me. Further, I've never once in 5 years booking this property had that complaint about the cleaners - and I've been using the same cleaning lady for years - its not a 'pot luck' cleaner - it's Laura every time. 2) The heating was an issue for your family bc you all were changing the temperature every 5 minutes (I know bc I was getting the email alerts every time one of your family members changed the temp). You had the AC on 55 (too cold and froze the system) in one area and the heater on 80 in the next, and the third system had the auto function set to AC 62 and heater 74!!! That is reversed and user error which caused the system to freeze up in the first place. I tried to explain this to you but I think the language barrier was to high to communicate effectively. 3) The AC company did not barge in unannounced. I called you and told you that they were coming and asked if it was okay for them to enter if you all left for the day. You said sure. They rang the doorbell and nobody answered so they called me and I unlocked the doors for them remotely. This is where the language barrier issue was an issue again. Sorry for the confusion but you clearly did not understand what I was saying to you on the phone. 4) I don't know of any table that seats 18 people inside a house. It wouldn't fit anywhere! Which is why I have two dining tables that seat 16-18 people. All the photos are 100% accurate on the site so if this was such an issue then you shouldn't have booked it or asked me to bring on extra tables .. but there was zero communication from you on this. I cannot help you if I do not know about it! I'm sorry you only think the house was worth two stars but really if you don't communicate the issues to me I can't help you. I hope the readers take a look at the +50 5-star reviews vs this 2-star review. The language barrier was obviously a big part of the problem ex the messy house claims which I just dont buy and have never had a complaint about before.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Edmond, Oklahoma
5

Perfect Property for a Large Group!

  • 5 of 5

Our daughter had a small wedding on Austin. We rented this property so family and friends could all stay together, doubling as family reunion. There were some serious ping pong tourneys over our stay! The VIEW(S) are gorgeous with amazing balconies on TWO levels. Just Stunning. There is no seating on first level balcony so if you are driving throw in a few camp chairs. Kitchen was well stocked as far as "cooking" parphernalia etc.. No oils, spices, pam - basic cooking stuff. We had a large gathering on 10/26 for pre-wedding ....it was wonderful. Special thanks to Ryan, the host, for making sure everything went smoothly. M. Traynor

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Houston, TX
5

Great House, Better Views!

  • 5 of 5

There's not much more to say than what hasn't already been said before. The house is great and the views are even better. Plenty of towels and beds for the group. We had a blast playing on the ping pong table and enjoying the area around. It's great coming home from a round of golf in this Texas heat and relaxing in the jacuzzi while watching the sunset!

Ryan was great with a very helpful email at the start and we knew he would be able to help us if we needed anything (thankfully we did not!). We highly recommend this place especially for large groups!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great views and great space for 16 people!

  • 5 of 5

Incredible views!! Lots of rooms and beds, plenty of space for people if they want to get away. Two apartments on the bottom next to the garage makes it great for multi families.

Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New Jersey
5

Amazing House with Great Views

  • 5 of 5

I recently stayed here for a family vacation and was blown away by the house and the spectacular views. My family and I had such an enjoyable stay here and it all started with Ryan being such a great host. The proximity of the house to restaurants and shopping was great. But we definitely made sure to enjoy all the house had to offer....from playing ping pong to taking in sunsets on the balconies.

We will certainly be contacting Ryan again for a future visit.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Boating on Lake Austin: An added bonus is the dock at Pennybacker bridge is only 3minutes away (.5 miles) from the house. You can pick everyone up at the bridge docking station (there is parking there too).

Photos

Rates & Availability

North Cat Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$795
From
$1,795
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $375 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 15.0%

*** All major holidays/events are $1795 per night for the week the holiday/event falls under***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North Cat Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 28 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , In the sunroom/playroom
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , In the main living room
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 23
  • 2nd floor bedroom - 1 king
    1st floor larger apartment - 1 king , 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed has a trundle bed too = 3 Twins
    3rd floor playroom or 7th bedroom - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    2nd floor bedroom - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    1st floor smaller apartment - 1 king , 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed + trundle bed (3 twins) Washer, dryer, full kitchen
    3rd floor bedroom - 1 king , 1 baby crib , Also changing table for babies
    3rd floor master bedroom - 1 king , 1 queen
  • There are 6 Kings, 2 Queen, 9 Twins, and 1 Crib. Sheets/Pillows etc included
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
* Private Chef available upon request. All this and only a 10 minute drive to downtown Austin door-to-door

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties