Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Grand Mediterranean w/Ocean and Mountain Views

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

Warmly Decorated with Ocean Views and Sunset Patio

Beautiful home sits atop Santa Barbara's popular Mesa on the ocean side of town. Convenient (3 minutes) to downtown or the beach, this lovely home is easily accessible to fine and casual dining, shopping, walking or laying on the beach.

Walk to the Mesa Village Center for quaint dining, grocery or drug store shopping: Foster's Freeze, Starbucks, Manhattan Bagel, Lazy Acres (natural foods), Deano's Pizzeria, Smoothy Shop, Drug Store, Grocery Store, Chinese Restaurant, Mexican Restaurant, Mesa Cafe, and Mira Bella Salon (manicure, hair, and make-up), all within walking distance (12-15 minutes).


- Bedroom #1, king, plus twin foam sleeper (can be moved to another room). Ocean and mountain views, TV, DVD, private bath, large tub, separate shower

- Bedroom #2, queen and 2 twins (trundle), mountain views, piano, step to bath

- Bedroom #3, queen shared bath with bed #4

- Bedroom #4, queen memory foam, shared bath with bed #2

The living room provides seating for 10, and has DVD, flat screen TV, fireplace, stereo (with CD, tape, and radio), and exceptional mountain views. Adjacent to the living room and kitchen sits the dining room with seating for eight. The kitchen offers seating for two at the breakfast nook and provides a partial ocean view.

Just outside the kitchen door, step to the outdoor patio and lawn complete with partial ocean views. Patio dining could not be better with warm sun, gentle breezes and sunsets. Two glass tables, complete with umbrella, are provided with seating for up to ten. Famous Santa Maria style charcoal BBQ has adjustable-height grill and large surface area for perfectly cooked meals for larger groups.

Ping Pong is available for would-be table tennis stars.

The hot tub seats four and is nestled privately away in a cool shaded part of the yard.

Sorry, no smoking or pets.

Two parks are nearby. A five minute walk gets you to Hilda Ray Park. Perfect for kids 6 and under. Escondido Park, complete with play structure, swings, and basketball court is a 12 minute walk and good for kids of all ages. A public bus stop is also available, one block from home and which takes you downtown.

Keywords: Home, vacation rental, furnished rental, Santa Barbara vacation home.

More Details

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 27, 2017

About Lynn

The Robinsons welcome you! The Robinson family goes back to the early days of Santa Barbara when Alfredo Robinson married Anita De La Guerra (same name as the street) and the tradition of providing excellent customer service and warm accommodations continues today.

We offer three properties, two located next door to each other, perfect for large gatherings of 10 or more).

Our goal is to provide a warm and stress free stay in a quiet neighborhood location close to Santa Barbara's amazing attractions, nature and shopping.

We're looking forward to providing your home-away-from home.

Lynn and Scott

Lynn purchased this house in 1995

Why Lynn chose Santa Barbara

We chose this property because of its amazing views, quiet neighborhood and close proximity (one mile) to downtown Santa Barbara, State Street and the beaches.

Guestbook comments from the owner

From the Guest Book: "Great views, comfortable furnishings, love the layout, kids enjoyed ping pong and parents the hot tub. Relaxing trip, great accomodations, fond memories. Thanks for providing a wonderful home-away-from home."
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 2


Alta Mesa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1) One conventional bed, Twin or Single Beds (2) Day bed with two twin trundles in room with queen bed , Child Beds (1) 76 inches, floor variety, twin-sized foam bed. Good for teenager or small adult., Baby Cribs (1) pack n' play crib, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Twin foam floor mattress
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Ping pong table (please request), basketball hoop, fire pit, sunsets, outdoor seating for 10.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Grand Mediterranean w/Ocean and Mountain Views
average rating of 4.75 based on 10 reviews

Lovely, clean, kids friedly

  • 5 of 5

We spent one of our long weekend in this house last January. House size was perfect for a 4-family-group. House was very kids friendly with high chair and toys. We also enjoyed hot tub. Since whether was chilly we did not spend time in the back yard, but it looks nice with a nice view. House is only 10 min driving to downtown or to mission and few dining places in walking distance.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Sanem and Family, Thank you for staying at Grand Mediterranean w/Ocean views. We hope to host you and your family again in the near future. We appreciate the wonderful job you did at check-out - our maid staff was very impressed - and also the time you took to post this review. We know you are busy and your thoughts are wonderful to receive. ;-) We look forward to hosting you all again in the near future. Blessings for a wonderful Spring. Lynn and Staff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My family rented the Grand Mediterranean for a weekend in late January. It was the perfect place for us. Plenty of

communal space in the living room, dining room, and on the veranda. Nice ocean view from the back and awesome

mountain view in the front. The kitchen was very well equipped and easy to work in. Of course, the hot tub and

outdoor fireplace were wonderful plusses. We hope to stay in this place again in the future. The Mesa area is

close to both downtown and the harbor, so it's an ideal location. I wish it were mine!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Shirley and family, Thanks very much for choosing Grand Mediterranean w/Ocean Views for your stay. We know you have many choices and appreciate that you chose one of our properties. I enjoyed meeting you and your family. You all are a hoot! Sure hope we have the opportunity to host you all again. Thanks also for posting a review. Your time is valuable and we want you to know we appreciate the time you took. Blessings for a wonderful Spring. Lynn and the SB Mesa Rentals Staff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bay Area

Wonderful Home, great location

  • 5 of 5

What a great house! We had such a fun time in the hot tub, playing ping pong, and enjoying the view from the patio. Beautiful views of the mountains and oceans, loved it! Will be back :)

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house but some issues

  • 3 of 5

The house and location is great! It has a beautiful view of the ocean, which was great to watch sunsets. The photos do not do the place justice. We enjoyed our time together with friends, but unfortunately, there were some issues that made our vacation less than perfect.

(We have stayed in many other VRBOs, so we are comparing to our stays in those.)

The property was clean, however, the laundry bags from the previous tenants stayed on our door step the entire time of our stay. The trash bins were full when we got there and no one came to put it out like stated. Each bathroom had one roll of toilet paper and we had to provide the rest during our stay. This would have been good to know before hand. Also, the main reason we rented this house was for the hot tub, but when we arrived it was not heating up. When I called the supervisor because the owner was on vacation, she told me the previous tenants also complain of this issue, but no one was sent to check it out. I finally contacted the owner and was told someone would come fix it, but no one did during our stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah, we're so sorry the hot tub could not be fixed during your visit. Because of New Year's Eve/New Year's Day, the need for a part and your short stay it was not possible to repair the hot tub. Since your visit we've hired a new spa company that we believe will be more responsive. Our rates are lower than many homes in Santa Barbara because we don't provided unlimited paper products - one extra in addition to that on the roll. I'm so sorry that policy reduced your comfort in the home. Our goal is to create joy and wonderful memories and clearly these issues took away from that for your group. We hope to host you another time and wish you a happy and healthy year ahead.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Grand Rapids

Well Placed

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed here during my wedding at the Fess Parker's Doubletree Hotel. It was seven minutes to the hotel and the house provided a nice place for our small reception dinner the night before. The house was clean and laid

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Views and Comfort

  • 5 of 5

This was a really nice place. The beds were comfortable and the layout worked well for our group of kids and adults. The house has enough parking for three or four cars (had a problem with that on a previous visit) and is about three minutes to downtown - easy trip. We went downtown several times, did Farmer's Market on Tuesday, Sea Center, shoppping, Courthouse (beautiful when you go up in the clock tower) and ate out - favorite restaurant was Palazzio (tons of food).

The house has a great back patio with dining table, benches and fire pit...we watched the sunset a couple nights...amazing.

If I had to give one suggestion it would be to change the full size bed in the one bedroom to a queen.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
SBA (Santa Barbara Airport)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Mesa Cafe, Cliff Room
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US 101
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Rose Cafe, Tapas Bar, Mesa Cafe, more
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Thousand Steps, Arroyo Burro, Hendry's, Mesa Lane
Nearest Point of Interest
Santa Barbara City College
Nearest Point of Interest
Downtown Santa Barbara - State Street
Nearest Point of Interest
Shoreline Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Stearn's Wharf
Nearest Point of Interest
Mesa Village
Nearest Point of Interest
Chase Palm Park and Merry Go Round
Nearest Point of Interest
The Zoo
Nearest Point of Interest
Santa Barbara Mission

This property is three - four minutes from a host of wonderful activities in Santa Barbara including the Urban Wine train in the Funk Zone, Santa Barbara City College, Santa Barbara Zoo, Leadbetter and West Beach, Shoreline Park, Elings Park, Downtown Santa Barbara, Marina and Stearn's Wharf. Ample, off-street parking is provided for up to four cars (three if large).


Rates & Availability

Alta Mesa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
30 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Cleaning Fee $275

holidays, ucsb graduation and shorter stays are higher than posted rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties