Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Affordable Luxury with Spacious Beaches

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,280 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms (3 beds) + Convertible Bed(s), 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)

Enjoy the incredible beauty of daily sunrises and sunsets from our huge, expanded beaches at this little slice of Heaven! With over 1,200 square feet of luxury, a spacious den, dining area, two large bedrooms, and three private balconies, this unit has it all. Comfy over sized furniture with sleeper sofa, three flat screen tvs, and a dining table that can comfortably seat 6. The breakfast bar is also a great place to chat while cooking and visiting with friends and there is free wireless internet access.

The upscale master bedroom is located on the second floor with a king size bed, 32' flat screen tv, private bath and private balcony. The guest bedroom has two queen beds and is also located on the second floor with private bath, 24' flat screen tv and a beautiful private balcony as well. The updated kitchen is fully stocked for a chef! The unit runs east/west with wonderful vistas of Little Lagoon and the Gulf of Mexico from every room.

Summerhouse West offers a small beach area on the lagoon with a large fishing pier, which is wonderful for families with small children, a boat launch, and a gazebo for grilling and just watching the sunsets over the water. Our large swimming pool is always the perfect temperature for a dip and the Gulf of Mexico is only steps away on our deeded beach access across the street.

This property truly has the best of both worlds - the amazing white sands and crystal waters of the Gulf of Mexico, scenic Little Lagoon, a fishing pier and boat launch for fishing and water activities - come experience Summerhouse West!

More Details

Owner
Joe Chiarella
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

Amenities

Gulf Shores Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1280 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Affordable Luxury with Spacious Beaches
average rating of 4.580645 based on 31 reviews
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Listing description was accurate. Nice owners/mgrs to deal with. NICE, clean place. Beautiful views. Nice little extras, like outdoor pulley to lift luggage and heavy items up to unit instead of carrying them. (1st floor is on stilts and includes locked storage area and wash off sand area; 2nd floor is living area and entrance to unit; 3rd floor is bedrooms and private balconies). Beds are comfortable and closets have great space. Beautifully decorated. Great pool. Can walk to lagoon with nice fishing pier or walk across the street to private boardwalk to gulf. Very quiet area. Mostly rental homes and vacant lots around it. Private balconies for both bedrooms. Would highly recommend staying at the Summerhouse West....going back ourselves!

The only drawbacks we encountered were that the bathrooms are small, but they make the most of the storage area available.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Amy! Let us know when you'd like to come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
5

Just as advertised

  • 5 of 5

The pictures and description of this property are very accurate. The furniture is clean and comfortable and so are the beds. The kitchen is well stocked. The owner is very prompt responding to emails. The location is in a quieter part of Gulf Shores, but still a quick drive to town. Just be prepared to climb the stairs.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great time, great beach

  • 5 of 5

Nicely appointed, clean and well maintained. Listing description is very accurate. Property is across the street from the beach on the lagoon side, but the walk is short and was never a problem. This appears to be a more secluded part of the beach here - we didn't see any "official" public access points or public trash cans like they had on the other side of the channel. We enjoyed having access to the kitchen and cooking our own meals, especially fresh seafood from the seafood markets nearby. Kids loved the go-kart tracks in town. The pulley is right outside the door and makes it a little easier to hoist luggage up the three flights of stairs (also, the novelty of the pulley kept the kids interested enough to actually help). Would recommend this property for families with no more than 2 or 3 kids.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Well maintained and beautifully decorated!

  • 4 of 5

Great place! Short walk to the beach and the bay. Nice dock on the bay. Clean pool and property. Didn't really care for the three flights of stairs ten times a day, but I guess that's just part of being old.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alabama
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

If you want to get the best of both worlds in Gulf Shores, this is a great condo. it is located on the slender part of the island, so even though you are across the street from the beach, it is still only a short walk to the Gulf, and the complex backs directly up to Little Lagoon. We rented a kayak and a paddleboard to use in the lagoon and it was great. The condo itself is very comfortable and cozy with nice views, a well-stocked kitchen and comfortable beds. Plenty of room for six, which is how many we had. This area of West Beach is not as crowded as Orange Beach or the area near the "T" when you come into town but still had enough population for good people watching. Near the pass at Lee Callaway Bridge there is a small public beach that would be great for smaller kids and this is less than a mile from Summer House West (there are public restrooms there, too). The Chiarellas are very responsive and easy to work with. Overall, a great stay, and I hope to be back at Summer House West soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hope to have you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marietta, GA
4

Condo was top notch!

  • 4 of 5

We were very pleased with this condo. I am very particular about a place being clean, comfortable and live up to what is advertised. This condo was the best I have experienced and we rent every summer at various locations. Not only was it nicely cleaned, but also very nicely decorated and up to date. I fixed breakfast and lunch everyday and had all that I needed in the well stocked kitchen. I had to contact the owner when we got there and he was quick to respond. There were some other owners in the condos around us and they were very nice and helpful. We loved having the best of both beach on one side and the lagoon on the other side. We rented kayaks and paddle board from Coyotes (who delivered them @ no charge) and spent a day on the lagoon enjoying the calm waters. On other days the kids liked riding the waves on boogie boards at the beach. The pool was also very nice and clean. We were just wishing it was a diving pool but we still enjoyed it. There are many places to eat close by. The owner gave us good suggestions. We ate at The Beach House more than once. We also like Tacky Jacks. One thing to be aware of is the stairs. It is quite a hike up 2 flights of stairs when you are carrying things back and forth. We are still young and strong enough to handle but I would not recommend for those that are challenged by climbing stairs in the heat. Another thing to be aware is the wifi does not work very well...so if you need or enjoy having a good wifi available this will be a problem. Overall, we really enjoyed this clean and lovely condo at Gulf Shores.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jennifer. Please come back and visit any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gulf Shores Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
SUMMER
May 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,250
$4,000
 
 
HANGOUT FEST
May 19 2017 - May 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
$750
Flat fee
 
 
MEMORIAL DAY
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
4 night minimum stay
$750
Flat fee
 
 
FOURTH OF JULY
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$750
Flat fee
 
 
LABOR DAY
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$700
Flat fee
 
 
FALL
Sep 5 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$155
$750
$1,000
 
 
WINTER
Jan 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
2 night minimum stay
$155
$800
$1,200
 
 
SPRING
Mar 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$175
$900
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $125
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable