Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Dana Point Spanish Revival

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Step back in time in this charming one bedroom Spanish Revival home.

Central Air Recently added!! Step back in time in this charming one bedroom Spanish Revival. Situated on the third floor, this historical property boasts four cozy balconies. Enjoy beautiful ocean views during the day, and coastline city lights at night. It is located just blocks away from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Explore the area by foot or pedal around town on beach cruisers. Spend some lazy days on the sand or exploring tide pools by the Ocean Institute. Looking for more adventure? Book a whale watching tour, a fishing expedition, a day trip to Catalina, or rent watercraft all right in the Harbor. At nighttime enjoy the convenience of shopping and eating at one of the many restaurants right in Lantern Village. This property comfortably sleeps two and has all the conveniences of home! Dana Point Permit number 14-0220 DANA POINT TROLLY NOW RUNNING ALL SUMMER!!


Property Manager
John Hitchcock
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 27, 2017

What makes this house unique

Now has Central Air Conditioning!!

Guestbook comments from the manager

We didn’t get a chance to leave comments about how great the property was last week. We really enjoyed the visit. My daughter and her husband loved it! They live in China in a small apartment, so getting the chance to stay in a charming house such as yours was a real treat. My wife and I were actually at the Ritz Carlton, so after my daily business we’d walk on over to the condo to relax with them for the evening before returning to the resort. If we ever need to again stay in the neighborhood, we now know who to call!
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Lantern Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Central Air Conditioning recently added.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
29% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Dana Point Spanish Revival
average rating of 4.580645 based on 35 reviews
5

Perfect get-away!

  • 5 of 5

Loved staying in one of the last Spanish Revival homes in OC. Walking distance from restaurants, grocery store and marina. Easy access to other Beach Cities. Quiet neighborhood, ocean view. We're avid readers and I also enjoy knitting. We brought two booklights because the true-to-era decor suggested that lighting might not be what we're used to. That was a good call and an easy fix.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Great location and cozy place

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Brooklyn
5

WOW!

  • 5 of 5

This was by far the most amazing rental I've ever had on either HomeAway, Airbnb or VRBO, and I have used all three sites all over the world. The area is great and you can actually walk to quite a few things in the neighborhood. I love Dana Point because it's super laid back and more residential, and a perfect base for exploring the many beautiful beaches in the area.

The house is absolutely gorgeous - beautiful Spanish revival themed décor everywhere, soaring high ceilings with exposed wooden beams, large comfy bed with a private wraparound balcony for a breezy afternoon nap, 4 balconies to enjoy SoCal weather on - WOW!!! Really cozy and spacious! I know lots of people were upset about the lack of AC, but when you are this close to the ocean, you just need to open all the windows and get the fans going, and it's really pleasant with the cooling sea air. I definitely want to rent this property again and BBQ on the balcony off the kitchen and enjoy those marble countertops!

The kitchen was large and beautiful with a balcony off the side, and the bathroom was also similarly well appointed with loads of towels, TP and soap. Everything was very clean as well and the owner was incredibly responsive and sent me proactive emails beforehand to make sure I was comfortable with the checkin process. We spent an entire weekend sitting out on the main balcony, which juts out over the intersection of two streets. This house is truly the Grande Dame of the neighborhood!

I read reviews with people complaining about the noise of cars/people but I didn't notice any noise at all! If people sleep that lightly, and go somewhere fun like Dana Point, maybe they should be prepared and bring ear plugs rather than blaming it on the property! I slept like a log in this property with no problems. If you are checking in late, make sure to have the flashlight on your phone ready because the stairs get very dark.

The fireplace was also not working when we were there so they probably should get that repaired before it gets chillier in the fall.

Rent this place, you will not regret it!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Enjoyable from initial contact thru visit

  • 4 of 5

Great location central and within walking distance, to Dana Point and harbor. Very nice house setup for two people with complete kitchen, BBQ, tastefully decorated and good views with privacy.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Not what we expected

  • 3 of 5

We loved the history and beauty of this unit, but were disappointed at the same time. The balcony with the fountain and table and chairs was nice to sit and drink coffee in the mornings and a glass of wine in the evenings. It was rather warm weather during our stay and we were uncomfortable without any air conditioning. There was not much of a breeze, even with every screenless window open. If there had been some fans to move the air, we would have been more comfortable. This unit is in a residential neighborhood and you get a lot of traffic and people noise with the windows open. We were awakened several nights from loud motorcycles and vehicles as well as people talking loudly. The location was nice, however, for walking or biking to close by attractions in town. We enjoyed the beach chairs as well. After reading the owners expectations of his guests, we were surprised that there was not one coaster to be found to be used to set drinks on the furniture. The kitchen was small, but nice and pretty well equipped, except for the need for more large drinking glasses. We were disappointed that the huge TV in the bedroom was only good to play DVD's on, and did not get any TV stations. We could not get any of the CD players to work, after bringing several to listen to. The bed was very comfortable, but the sleeper sofa was not. It needs a new mattress. The lighting was very dim. Added lamps would help. We had plenty of towels and wash cloths, which was nice. While the beauty, history and location of this unit were a 5 star, and is what attracted us to it, the accommodations and comfort were far below our expectations.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Although most of the time our climate does not necessitate A/C, from time to time we do get warmer than usual weather, and the unit can be warm. It does state on the listing that there is no air-conditioning due to the era of construction, and our goal to maintain the integrity of this historical home.There is one standing fan, but we will make a point to add another. We will also get some extra lamps in there. The CD changer has been fixed. Additional glasses have been purchased. We appreciate your feedback and again are very sorry that your stay did not meet expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Tulare, CA
5

The Great Weekend Escape

  • 5 of 5

We spent a great weekend in the condo. It is well kept and has a very unique ambiance. We really enjoyed the main patio and fireplace. I would definitely like to return for a future visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Romantic Classical Spanish Revival built by Hollywood land Developer Sidney Woodruff in 1929. Now has Central Air Conditioning... Coastline views from three of the four decks. This legendary landmark is within walking distance to the Dana Point Harbor and downtown Dana Point with many restaurants, water sport rentals, boutiques and coffeehouses. We are a less than 5 minutes by car to Strands and Salt Creek beaches! Perfect for honeymooners, and the couple who needs a quick getaway.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lantern Village House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,575
$6,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
$5,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties