Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Unforgettable Beach Cliff Home With Panoramic Ocean Views

Bedrooms 4
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom House / Detached Bunk Bedroom / 4 Baths (Sleeps 11)

“Casa Los Riscos” is a home retreat located in an amazing and unforgettable setting, in the middle of El Salvador’s West Coast--the country’s most popular tourist destination. Nestled inside the secure, gated community of “Xanadu”, “Casa Los Riscos” is perched high atop a cliff with breathtaking views! Here the ocean and sky become one spectacular panorama with birds playfully soaring at eye level. Against this dramatic backdrop, a stunning Polynesian-styled wood deck reaches out to the sky. Beside this deck, a pool, jacuzzi, hammocks and lounge chairs all await your pleasure. Complementing this lovely setting is a lush terraced garden and a greenbelt of mature native trees. Imagine yourself sitting on this beautiful deck enjoying an 'Al Fresco' meal of freshly caught seafood…...a refreshing breeze blows in as the sights and sounds of the Pacific Ocean serenade all your senses! No wonder the Mayans called this part of El Salvador “Cuscatlan”, “The Land of Precious Things”.

Our home has been renovated to provide guests a spacious, gracious retreat. The colorful, sophisticated décor blends architectural design with elements of El Salvador’s Mayan culture. The main house features a large master bedroom with a private bathroom, plus two other bedrooms and a second bathroom. There is a well-appointed indoor living & dining room space, a fully equipped kitchen, laundry / maid quarters, and an outdoor covered porch overlooking the pool and gardens. A detached ocean-view bedroom with two bunk beds and a private bathroom is located below the pool deck. To top it off, this private community offers members and guests a secluded pearl-sand swimming beach, a large swimming pool and an adjacent community picnic area, all within a 5-minute walk or 2-minute drive.

“Casa Los Riscos” is centrally located and we encourage our guests to venture out to explore the many points of interest nearby, some just minutes from the property, none more than a few hours away. Several dining options are just outside the community. Enjoy taking a variety of day trips: to the mountain coffee towns of Apaneca, Ataco & Juayua (Ruta de las Flores); to the modern city of San Salvador (about one hour away) for shopping and entertainment; or to the local fisherman’s wharf in the port of La Libertad. Additional adventures include a national parks system with majestic volcanoes and forests to tour, as well as many other scenic sights and cultural events. Finally, let's not forget the surfing El Salvador is known for! “Casa Los Riscos” is next door to some of the best Surf Central America has to offer. In places like El Tunco, El Sunzal, Punta Roca and El Zonte, the epic surf waves at any of these popular locations will make for some awesome entertainment. So, whether you are a surfer looking for action, a family looking for a magical cultural experience or just wanting to get a away and relax in the sun and ocean, this retreat can offer you a vacation filled with memories that will last a life time!!!

More Details

Sara Renderos
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese, italian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2018


La Libertad Department House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master bedroom bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Storage Service Area
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Detached bunk bedroom bathroom
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , with it's own private bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed , Detached Bedroom (below Pool Deck)
  • Bedrooms 2 & 3 share a common bathroom. All bedrooms have individual AC units.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
This property is located in a private gated community with 24/7 security. It's close proximity to some of the best surf spots and many of the other top tourist destinations in El Salvador; makes this an ideal home base to fan out from. In fact, the house is only around 4 miles from the popular surf & entertainment spot of Punta Roca; about 15 minutes drive to the port town of La Libertad; 1/2 mile from playa El Zunsal and about 3 miles East from the surf village of El Zonte. The “Comalapa International Airport” is only 45 minutes away. In terms of it's natural appeal, the entire community is surrounded by many tropical gardens, a winter creek and a number of small trails. The uncrowded pearl sand beach at the bottom of the cliff is a true jewel!!! Finally, there are several excellent restaurants (with seafood, international, and typical Salvadorian menus offered) immediately outside Xanadu - none more than a few minutes away - with several of these dining places offer food catering.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
22% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Unforgettable Beach Cliff Home With Panoramic Ocean Views
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews

Unforgettable family time at Casa Los Riscos

  • 5 of 5

It is my second time at Casa Los Riscos and we always have a fantastic vacation time there. The personnel is very friendly and is very well located. Breathtaking views and very secure.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Without saying much, in a few words I will describe this beautiful experience in a LOVELY PARADISE:

PHENOMENAL, SUPERB, EXCELLENT OPTION, BEAUTIFUL PLACE, and the best the best property we have visited taking into account several places in different parts of the world that we visit every year.

Thanks to the owners for having in mind every detail so that the guests have an experience of this category,

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Exotic and breathtaking views beach villa

  • 4 of 5

Since I contacted the owner i experienced a fantastic costumer service. We arrive to the house and meet Blanquita and Lupita the two persons in charge of cleaning the house and prepare the brakefast, very nice ladies.

We found the house exotic, the forniture and all the decoration is with mayan textiles and you can find a lot of local details. Full kitchen and they provide drinking water and all you need for cook. You can find a small refrigerator and stove for your convinience.

The pool is fantastic, the jacuzzi also and we got in love with the Deck, exotic decoration and the breeze was just perfect accompanied by the view. You can rest, chat, sleep, play your favorite music or just relax in one of the several "hamacas" or living rooms.

If you want to go to the beach you can go by car or by foot it is not far away.

Close to the house there are several restaurantes with delicious and local food and a "pupuseria" close to the bridge in Sunzal Beach.

I would like to come back in a near future, salvadorans are the best and most kind persons ever.

And a very important detail, the house is very secure, During our stay we stayed with open doors, there are security guards in all the property, this is priceless.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

You need to be aware of somethings

  • 3 of 5

The house itself we would describe as average. The property however was beautiful. I think it is important you know the following about the home: (1) The house itself is not 3000 sq feet like the listing states. This estimate includes the outdoor living space. (2) There is no hot water in the house and we were not informed of this in advance. As we walked around the community we noticed black storage tanks for hot water at other homes so it is available at other properties. (3) The bbq grill was rusted to the point the bottom fell out when we moved it to try and use it. (4) We woke up our very first morning to a woman standing in the kitchen. It was extremely unnerving and because we spoke very little Spanish and she spoke no English, it made it difficult to try and determine why she was there. We found out she was the housekeeper and that she could cook for us as well for an additional cost. (5) The outdoor living quarters smelled of sewer/sulfur. The homeowner was advised of this after we left. (6) The air conditioning did not work in one of the rooms. We told the housekeeper who we believed communicated this to the homeowner. When we followed up a few days later, he was unaware. As a result, it did not give fixed while we were there. There was no other bed to sleep in as the outdoor living quarters were unusable. (7) The internet was very inconsistent and did not always work. Although the homeowner would not necessarily have control over this, it is something you should be aware of if you require internet access. (8) We were informed that there was no rental agreement to sign but rather we were to just follow the ‘house rules’ located at the property. The homeowner insisted they were in English and Spanish but there were no English rules listed (this was after we got in trouble for leaving the pool pump on). (9) When it came time to return our damage deposit, he short changed us because he said he had to pay a processing feel to Paypal. This is completely against Paypal’s user agreement as it explicitly states “you agree that you will not impose a surcharge or any other fee for accepting PayPal as a payment method." I reminded the homeowner of this and threatened to file a complaint with both Paypal and VRBO if we didn’t receive the entire amount back. He complied. (10) Responses from the homeowner sometimes would take over a week. Overall, our group would not recommend this property for the price we paid.

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We will certainly take note of some of the issues you mentioned, such as the condition of the BBQ grill and the house instructions not being available in English. However, we also need to add our perspective and our strong disagreement with a number of your points. We will let your description of the house as "average" stand as your own personal opinion of the place. On the other hand, we simply wish to compare your perspective with 14 other reviews over the past few years that testify to the contrary! With respect to the hot water, this is a tropical environment (most often exceeding 90f temperatures) where hot water is not necessary. Moreover, we have endevoured to provide a through listing of the home's features in our ad -and hot water is not one of them. The black storage tanks you saw around the community are "storage tanks" not 'hot" water tanks. Your rental included daily cleaning. So, the maid was there on the 1st day to do her work. If you did not want her there you could have said so. Instead you asked us if she could make meals for you. In the spirit of good will we added this extra service at no cost to you. So, which is it? We attended to the air conditioning problem when you first informed us, but we had to get additional parts, so the fix took two visits. We are all at the mercy of the telephone company with respect to the Internet. So, understanding this is a necessary part of a traveler's expectations. The best way I can describe the PayPal problems is that it was a fiasco. First of all, the deposit was suppose to be sent to us in the form of a fully refundable personal check. Because you failed to do this timely, as we had requested, we had to do this through PayPal. Now, why should we absorb the fee payment for something you had failed to do to begin with? To avoid arguing we refunded you the entire amount. To summarize, we have always endevoured to provide the best level of service possible. But while we know we did just this for your group, your review and your warning to others are a sad confirmation that we could never please everyone 100% of the time. We have run our property successfully for the past 4 years with great reviews to counter yours. We know that our guest reviews are the lifeblood of our business. But every once in a while; we need to be prepared for reviews such as yours - for despite our best efforts; we are not sure we could have ever met your expectations no matter what we did!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5

Casa Los Riscos was the perfect place to introduce my in laws to El Salvador , we had such a great time that 3 days was not enough , everything was just as described on the website and more! As we where having breakfast some amazing birds were just outside the beautiful Polynesian Deck . The main house it's beautifully decorated, the green areas, the pool everything was just perfect! My sister loves to entertain in the kitchen and commented that everything you need, you will find it there!! I can not forget Maritza!! and the service she provided. We will go back for sure, but for a longer stay!

Thank you for sharing such beautiful place

L Martinez & Company

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA

Absolutely Stunning In Every Way!

  • 5 of 5

Myself and a few of my long time friends recently took a trip to El Salvador. We contemplated staying at a resort or choosing a luxury home for our vacation week. Once we found this amazing home online we knew that his was the house we wanted to rent. Our only hope was if it could live up to the pictures on the listing. Boy did it ever! The house provided the perfect accommodations for 4 adults but definitely has the capacity to service larger groups with ease. Once we stepped out of the house an into the lush and private backyard we were blown away. The pictures had not let us down. It was even more breathtaking in person. Perfect place to relax in the pool and jacuzzi; which we did many days and nights, and the huge covered deck overlooking the pacific was something straight out of a movie. At the end of a short walk down the winding concrete path you will find an unbelievable salt water pool that you can relax in and listen to the waves crash on the rocks while enjoying a cocktail. You must experience this if you rent this home!

The location couldn't be any better. The gated community is only a short 4 minute drive to the town of El Tunco and many great shops and restaurants. We are surfers and were able to access all the world class surf breaks in 10 minutes or less and then retreat to our own paradise for relaxation without being directly in the mix of things. I would strongly recommend that anyone thinking of vacationing to this area consider this one of your top choices to stay!

  • Submitted: May 11, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Comalapa International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
0.02 Kilometres
La Ola Beto's
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
El Sunzal & El Tunco
Car: recommended

Rental of this property Includes access to a community picnic area which has several covered porches (w/ tables & benches), clothing changing areas, bathrooms and a large swimming pool with views of the ocean. These fun community amenities are located immediately adjacent to the club's own secluded volcanic sand beach. This beautiful flat swimming beach is without a doubt one of the best things about our property. With the water temperature perennially around 71 to 74 F and a sparsely populated setting; there aren't too many places left where a traveler can enjoy warm water, amazing natural beauty and peace and quiet, all at the same time!!! As you make your way back to the house; after an early morning swim, you are met by the lush gardens and green lawn areas. Here you can rest your bones a bit after your swim, or, simply dry up under the warm sun rays. In short, the entire community is surrounded by many tropical gardens and a number of small trails. Most of the owners in this community only come during the weekends. This means that during the week, not only do you have the place mostly to yourself, but the peace and quiet of the place is very relaxing. However, just in case you are interested in more action, do not worry, there are plenty restaurants just outside Xanadu. One of these, Beto's, is actually just two blocks away from the community's main entrance. So you can even walk there if you prefer.

A really fun place, close to the House is the beach community of El Tunco. Here you can find bars, hostels, surfshops & other fun retail stores, as well as a small mix of fun & exciting nightclubs. In El Tunco you can enjoy a really exciting 'beach Community' experience throughout the day - Specially at night, when it comes alive with a joyous mix of a Beach Party in a tropical atmosphere.

A bit further out, but still less than a 20 minute car drive away, is the Port town of 'La Libertad'. Here you may restock on supplies at one of the two 'Supermercados Selectos' with a full line of products, from personal hygiene and drinks to all you need to cook a great meal, including fresh fruits and vegetables. If you are a more adventurous cook, you may want to take a look at the main fisherman's pier for a full assortment of fresh seafood. This is also the location where most of the international Surf competitions held in El Salvador take place. Check-out the outdoor amphitheater for a any upcoming surf tournaments, festivals, or music concerts. A longer trip, but still only about 1 hour away from the house is the Capital City of San Salvador. Coming from the direction of the house you will first see a group of large modern shopping malls ('Galerias' and 'La Gran Via') as you enter the city. These are good places to watch a movie, do some upscale shopping, or even visit a number of good restaurants. Also here, a recently opened Starbucks at la Gran Via. Also, if you have a need, the US embassy is around this area of the city. As you venture further into the city you will see a number of other points of interest, just keep in mind that traffic will start to get much heavier at this point. A good travel book guide is recommended as you look for additional tourist and sightseeing options.

The Western part of El Salvador, the side of the country where 'Casa Los Riscos' is located, boosts many other great tourist destinations. From many small Coffee Mountain Towns in the Departamentos de 'Sonzonate y Ahuachapan', to the great Neo-gothic cathedral in the City of Santa Ana. Additionally, national parks such as 'El Cerro Verde',' Parque El Impossible' and 'Parque El Trifinio (Parque de la Democracia)' are all on this side of the country and not very far away. Nonetheless, it is worth mentioning that, since El Salvador is such a small compact county, its roads and infrastructure so well developed, traveling to the Eastern, or, the Northern parts of the country, are very convenient tourist propositions. So, if you really want to get to know more of the country, places like La Palma, Berlin, San Miguel, or other cities, or, if you have an interest in the Pre-columbian Maya-Pipil culture, we encourage you to strike out from your spectacular Home base. The are also some very impressive Mayas / Pipil ruins not too far away. San Andres, El Tazumal and Joyas De Ceren (a world heritage site and the Central American version of Pompei) are great easy to get to day tours. Finally it is also worth noting that the house has a convenient transportation connection with the very popular destination of Antigua, Guatemala. Surf buses travel daily between the City of La Antigua and El Zonte (Xanadu - via a previous arrangement) and El Tunco. this small buses do a good job shuttling tourist back and forth between these locations and the trip only takes 4-1/2 to 5 hours. So, if you want to travel to, or, from Antigua, we can put you in touch w/ an operator and even help you get a full tour package together!!!!!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Daily cleaning charge: For weekend rentals: add a $50 charge. For rentals of one (1) week, or longer: Add $25.00 per day. This extra charge is negotiable for small groups.
A $500.00 security deposit in the form of a personal check is required for all rentals - following departure and acceptance of the house in good condition (by the property manager) the check will be returned by mail.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties