Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Dar Arkati Holiday Home

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms4
Space 0 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Bedrooms 3, Bathrooms 4, Sleeps 6

"A renovated farmhouse situated in the village of Munxar enjoying open country and Citadel fortress views.It consists of a large sitting room on entrance, a double bedroom with an en-suite shower, a main bathroom and a combined kitchen/dining overlooking the swimming pool and deck area.

A traditional stone staircase leads to the two bedrooms at first floor level both having an en-suite shower and spacious back and front terraces, making this a wonderful holiday home.

Area description; The village is one of the smallest on the island. Situated in the south of the island between Xlendi valley and the village of Sannat. The silent village square is halted by the tolls of the church bells and the chatting of housewives completing their daily groceries. At sunrise farmers gather in fields to earn their living.

Xlendi bay is only 2.5km away from the property. The bay is encompassed within a sprawling countryside. Along the beach one can indulge in exquisite local cuisine. Should you fancy a day at the beach Ramla Bay with its unique honey-red sand is the largest and most popular beach on the island and can be reached by car in 10 minutes.

The feast of Munxar is celebrated on the last Sunday of the month of May and is dedicated to the beloved patron Saint Paul, at this time of year you will see the village decorated and see spectacular firework displays, where village succumbs to a wonderful vibrancy.

*Closest restaurants at Xlendi Gozo is situated 1.9km away from property

*Nearest beach Xlendi is 1.9km away from property*Nearest bus stop is 210metres away from property. Bus No. 306"

Bedroom Layout

Double bedrooms x 2Single bedrooms x 1

A fully refundable security deposit of Euro 200 is required at check in, from a valid credit card (Visa or Master Card only).

More Details

Property Manager
Donald Said
Speaks: english, italian
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

y wife and I stayed in this villa for three nights. We chose it mainly because the pool is secluded. The villa was in excellent condition, with plenty of rooms, a spacious lounge and kitchen, a bbq (half gas, half charcoal) and of course the pool. For families travelling, there is also a baby cot and baby chair!



The management did everything the could to make our stay enjoyable, including sorting out car rental, travel from the airport, a boat trip, buying groceries (including Halal meat!), and giving helpful suggestions on where to visit.



We would definitely recommend this villa!
May 2015
  • 1 of 2

Map

Other Activities:

San Blas Bay

The village is one of the smallest on the island. Situated in the south of the island between Xlendi valley and the village of Sannat. The silent village square is halted by the tolls of the church bells and the chatting of housewives completing their daily groceries. At sunrise farmers gather in fields to earn their living. Xlendi bay is only 2.5km away from the property. The bay is encompassed within a sprawling countryside. Along the beach one can indulge in exquisite local cuisine.

Should you fancy a day at the beach Ramla Bay with its unique honey-red sand is the largest and most popular beach on the island and can be reached by car in 10 minutes.

The feast of Munxar is celebrated on the last Sunday of the month of May and is dedicated to the beloved patron Saint Paul, at this time of year you will see the village decorated and see spectacular firework displays, where village succumbs to a wonderful vibrancy.

Amenities in Munxar, range from;

• Bus Services

�� Supermarket

Amenities

Munxar Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Hand towels are provided in bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedrooms are equipped with bed linen Maid Service in our properties is available as per below: For clients staying 7 Nights - Semi service after 3 nights For clients staying 8 to 11 Nights - Full service in mid-week according to nights (eg. 8 or 9 nights – Full Service after 4 nights, 10 or 11 nights Full Service after 5 nights) For clients staying 12 to 14 Nights - Semi service after 3 nights, Full service after 7 nights and Semi service again after 10 nights Semi Service includes: 1. Changing of towels 2. Cleaning of all bathrooms 3. Redo beds Full Service includes: 1. Cleaning house completely 2. Change of all towels and bed linen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
Notes:
During your stay with us we can provide a wide range of services at the comfort of your property. These include: * Chef Services - breakfast, lunch and dinner * Massage by our masseuse and/or masseur * Photo sessions * Baby Sitting * Hairdressing * Yoga sessions For more information contact our rentals representative as booking in advance will avoid disappointment, especially during the high and mid-season. You can discover the beauty of the unspoiled island of Gozo by choosing one or more of our exterior services. Our aim is to help you experience the Gozitan way of life, including traditional tours away from the busy tourist places at peak times, to ensure maximum independence and hectic free experiences. These include: * Wine Walking Tours * Nature Walking Tours * Gozo Highlights Tour * Boat Trips around Gozo & the Blue Lagoon * Fishing Trips * Try diving (accompanied or unaccompanied dives and certified Diving Courses) * Private Tours to Malta (mainland)

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
Dar Arkati Holiday Home
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 5 reviews
2

Lovely character but major issues

  • 2 of 5

The property was as lovely as the photographs but we had major issues were as follows;

* reported ants & dead cockroachs in the property on Sunday.

(Pest control was promised on Monday)

* found a live cockroach on Monday evening.

Pest control was promised on Tuesday and there would be no more cockroaches.

* Wed found new dead cockroach (being eaten by ants) - this was cleaned up that day (along with the original cockroachs reported on Sunday)

* wed the cable TV box broke & it took 2 days for them to fix.

* A new dead cockroach found on Saturday morning.

* From inside the property you could hear everything happening outside from cars passing to people shouting (there was very little sound proofing)

* The pool was always cold due to only getting the sun for a few hours (although I'm sure shallow end did)

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear John, We are sorry to hear of your disappointment when using our service and as per our email correspondence to you we would have appreciated if you had mentioned how we tackled the situation and the money compensation given to you. Please understand the 3 dead insects were found as a result of the pest control service we regularly use. We understand that this is not ideal however this is the only way to control this issue. As you know we have taken all the necessary precaution as soon as problem has been reported. During the rest of the week 3 dead insects where found as a result of the pest control measures we took again on the 2nd day, every time each dead insect was reported by you, our maintenance personnel where at the accommodation in less than an hour to clear it out. The TV cable box malfunctioned on the 3rd day of your stay, as you know we have reported this to the Cable TV provider right away in order to replace it. We have noted your comments about the sound proofing of the house and will follow this up. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the sun hours at the property, some properties get the sun early morning and some late in the afternoon. Please allow us to remark that we were very surprised by your continuous emails before your arrival accusing us of withdrawing the payment of the accomodation 30 days before your arrival without your consent when it was clearly stated when you were booking the property. We experienced the same behavior at checkin when you were prompted to leave the fully refundable security deposit of € 200 as per our normal terms and conditions which were clearly provided to you at booking stage, and included again in the booking confirmation email. While we apologize again for the dead insects found and the cable TV box , we would have appreciated if you had taken the time to read carefully our terms at booking stage in order to avoid confrontations when booking a holiday. After all our mission here at Baron Holiday Homes remains that of being fully committed to offer the best possible service to our guests in order to enjoy our properties and our little island of Gozo. Sincerely, Donald Said Reservations manager at Baron Holiday Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing Stay

  • 4 of 5

The property was clean and spacious, plenty of room for 4 adults and a small child. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool, but be careful as the tiles outside can be slippery! Donald helped arrange a car in advance, and it was great using it for day trips in Gozo.

I give the property 4 stars because some of the appliances and maintenance in the house was a bit old or run down. Everything worked fine, but could use a bit of updating. And because the location of the property is a bit misleading. Xlendi is nearby and we even walked there, but you must walk on the road to get there and there are not a lot of street lights at night. Would recommend driving.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would love to come back and try out more of the properties from the Baron Group.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Delightful stay in Munxar

  • 5 of 5

It is with sadness that we prepare to leave this delightful farmhouse in the centre of Munxar. We have had a truly comfortable stay, the rooms are large, clean and well equipted. The owners, who clean the house and look after the pool have been very welcoming, as has Kevin, from Baron Group, who has organised trips, recommended places to visit and organised taxis.

The pool is is fairly small, so no swimming of lengths, but great for a splash and cool off, after basking in the relentless Gozo sun!

The village has a great little supermarket that's open til 7 in the evenings and til 12 on a Sunday and has pretty much everything you need.

The food store below Arkadia is also fab, great selection at their deli and butcher counters.

Xlendi, just a kilometre down the road (and really a drive, as the road is a very steep hill, with no pavement, lights or shade) is set in a lovely bay, with a good range of bars, restaurants, crepes and ice cream. Our favourite restuarnt there by far, is Ta' Karolina, tucked away in the corner, at the end of the marina, the food and service have been second to none. The tagliatelle with beef and port is the best pasta any of have ever had, as is the pork with prunes! It gets very busy, so recommend you book!

Would also recommend Port Veccio in Mgarr, the afternoon boat trip including the BBQ at sunset from Malsaforn and the gastro tour, all very worthwhile.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • Included in price:

    Utilities (Electricity, water, gas,)
    Wi-Fi
    Towels x 2
    Bed Linen
    Pool Maintenance
    Final cleaning
    24 hour assistance number
    Children under the age of 2 at check in are entitled to stay for free. Please let us know if you require a cot and high chair

You might like these similar properties