Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

70 Private Acres-private inground pool-wifi

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

200 year old farmhouse with upgrades and decorated with a rustic flair

A farm from yesterday. Tree lined open fields, trails and mountain views in a place where it's 'almost heaven'. Please consider reading the positive 'reviews' about our other vacation rentals listed with vrbo. and know that we strive for same quality at each of our homes. They are # 300732, # 459630, 592223, 879232, 875106,599054,571641. CLOSE TO THE SKI CENTERS, AS WELL...........................................................


Owner
Owner/Manager Glenda Duell
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2017

About Owner/Manager Glenda Duell

My husband, Kent, and I have raised our four children here and now we're really excited about sharing this beautiful place with others. It doesn't get any better than this!

Owner/Manager Glenda Duell purchased this farmhouse in 1987

Why Owner/Manager Glenda Duell chose Athol

This property has it all. It's private and one can stay here all day and enjoy the surrounding nature or within minutes be in the middle of all the attractions. Please check out the great reviews of our 2 other properties at vrbo # 300732 and # 459630. We promise to take the same care for our guests here, too. Glenda

What makes this farmhouse unique

We just installed a new inground swimming pool as the finishing touch to this already perfect getaway!

Amenities

Athol Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 18
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 full bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double
  • 6 bedrooms. 3 Queen, 2 full, 2 twin over double bunkbeds, 2 sets twin bunkbeds and fold out couch.
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
barn converted to MANCAVE. VERY POPULAR

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
70 Private Acres-private inground pool-wifi
average rating of 4.4117646 based on 17 reviews
5

Great place for a family reunion.

  • 5 of 5

This was the second time we used the house for a family reunion with 12 people, including 4 young children who enjoyed the pool and spacious yard. We also had another adult and two children during the days. All is very cleaned and well cared for. Our family loved it.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear that family memories were created here during your stay. Welcome back soon. Thank you for the nice review! Glenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic !!

  • 5 of 5

I would definitely recommend this house to my friends. It's very spacious and was secluded . I had the most perfect birthday weekend with my nine other friends . Would definitely come back and rent from them again .

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Whatta HAPPY BIRTHDAY! We so appreciate feedback such as this. Would love to have you visit again in the future. Thanks so much. Glenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing hospitality

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 3 days. It was an amazing experience. The owner Glenda is an awesome host. The house was decent and pretty clean. We were 15 people, had enough space for all of us. There was enough supplies in the kitchen, rooms and in all the bathrooms. The attraction places are not very far from the house. The wild water river rafting is only 10 minutes away. Hence, a lot of traveling time was saved. Overall it was an extraordinary stay. I would definitely recommend this to my friends and family.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Ashesh, for touching on important places to visit with short travel time. You're so correct on that. Please consider revisiting soon! Glenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing!

  • 2 of 5

The house was nice from the outside but really dark and cluttered inside, full of “antique” but useless furniture. It is also far from most Lake George attractions. Flies were everywhere when we got there, despite the owner being in the house at that time. There was no wireless service in the house but there is wifi, which we had to look for and eventually found inside one of the bedrooms (password was located underneath the unit). The floor of the pool was slimy, there was not enough cookware and utensils in the kitchen. We had to ask for more gas since there was only a little in the tank and we had to provide for paper towels and toilet paper as there was not enough for our 3 days stay. We paid for 4 days but stayed only for 3 due to a change in plans but we were okay not staying the entire time as there is really nothing special about the house and the location.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have read the review several times and have tried to figure out how we could have done better. This guest says first that there was no wifi, but then they found it. They seem annoyed that the password was on the back of the tower. That's where Verizon put it. The comment about the useless antiques is just bizarre. It is clearly advertized as a farmhouse. This is nothing more than a personal preference and so many other guests love them and consider them decorative. We were more than happy to bring more propane. Had we known they were lacking anything like a pot or pan we would have responded with more, as well. Same with the pool. We have a full time maintenace staff. Just let us know. Instead, no communication but a complaint in a review 4 months after their stay. It s maintained and chlorinated, but we don t swim in it. As for the location, most love it there and it s a 10 minute drive to the village. We supply a "starter supply" of paper products and have no control of it s consumption. I was there when the guests arrived and I didn t see ANY fly problem. The review doesn t say where they were. Just can't please some people. Thankfully they are rare. Glenda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
lakewood,New Jersey
5

Beautiful clean spacious home.Tastefully decorated. Child friendly. Fully stocked

  • 5 of 5

Great experience. Will recommend. We hope to come back.we were here for five days.We should have come for ten.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Lovely setting but run down property with indifferent owner/manager

  • 2 of 5

pros: nice outdoor property in a pretty setting. Gazebo, campfire site, nice pool. Roomy house with air conditioning, and it was hot!

Cons: No phone line or cell service (verizon or sprint), which was not disclosed in VRBO listing, but neither was indoor plumbing and electricity. We feel phone is a modern utility reasonably expected. Also its a huge safety issue because you can't call 911, No way to call for reservations at area attractions or restaurants either. House has land line but owner/manager refused to connect it. No smoke detectors! House is old! Renter beware!

Owner/manager wasn"t available for her tenants. No way to contact her (see above phone issue), No welcome book of instructions for how to connect to the spotty wifi, deal with the trash (12 people for a week make a lot!), or any other issue that might arise. The phone number with the VRBO listing connects to a fax, and the second number we obtained for a t mobile cell was not in service. Even if we could reach her, she couldn't call back!

House is run down. Plumbing needs work! Master bath toilet doesnt fill automatically any more. Shower in first floor bath sprays water from the faucets everywhere. Upstairs hall bath sink is coming off the wall. Kitchen sink leaks. The one good sized pot the kitchen has is under there to catch the dripping water.

There were inadequate pots and pans to meet the needs of a group our size.

Many of the beds mattresses needed to be replaced. The springs were sprung.

We were disappointed with our experience and wouldn't recommend this place especially at its price.. We've stayed at other Adirondack rentals and had much better experiences with the homes and the managers.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was raised to respect my elders and so I'll choose my words carefully. This elderly female guest called me, notice CALLED me,and insisted I should install a landline phone as she might have to call 911. I explained that we didn't advertise that we had a phone but offered wifi. Most guests seem happy with wifi and this guest is the first to ask for a landline. She was angry with me and had a lot of negative comments over the phone with me. It seemed she was fixated on the need to possibly call 911 sometime during her stay. She called 2 other times about the same thing and was annoyed that I wouldn't have it installed during her stay. In the "amenities" section of vrbo I didn't "check" that there was a phone because there is not one. It was disclosed that there wasn't a landline phone. Guest is incorrect. The house is an OLD farmhouse as advertised, but with many upgrades. The house is NOT run down as can be seen in the photos. The plumbing is "pex" modern plumbing. No sink is falling off the wall. Many guests have come and gone since this guest and no reports of water spraying or toilets not flushing . If it was during her stay then why not CALL me about it like when we talked about the 911 service. As for a place for trash, my goodness, there's large cans in plain view by the barn and our maintenance crew picks it up periodically and if we're CALLED, then we'll make an extra trip as needed. This is also the first guest to speak of the mattresses. Everyone else seems happy. They are in good shape, some soft, some harder. In, fact, most are memory foam and they don't have springs to be"sprung". As for a shortage of a pot or pan , again, we should have been CALLED about it and we'd bring extras right there. We're very attentive to all 9 properties we offer and if something is amiss we want to know right then in order to correct it. We have spares of just about everything in our shop for this purpose. This guest said that I wasn't available for my guests. She's just plan wrong about that. I took several of her calls as she continued to be angry that there was no landline service. That is all she EVER discussed with me with no mention of any of these other things. Truthfully, I wanted to avoid her after awhile because I wasn't going to install a landline phone that I never advertised I offered. The mean spirited way of this review is troubling to me. Our team works very hard to make things right for our guests. I'm grateful for the positive reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Stony Creek Inn and Rest
Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Albany International
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Warrensburg
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Crown Point
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Stony Creek/Warrensburg
Nearest Train
5 Miles
The Adirondack
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Rt. 418
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Warrensburg
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Thurman/Warrensburg
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Echo Lake Beach
Car: necessary

The Lake George Region offers four seasons of the best in indoor and outdoor activities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.