Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076


Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 2.5 Half Bath With Views Of Ocean. Fisherman/family Paradise

4 Bedroom 2.5 Bath Oceanside cottage with full kitchen plus M/W,D/W,CCATV,VCR,furnished spacious sun deck,enclosed outside shower, W/D,& fish cleaning table and locked outdoor area to store beach and fishing equipment. Views of the Ocean and Sound from the 3rd Floor Deck.

Recent upgrades in Fall of 2017!!!

Less than One Block to Beach Access and One Block to Marina....Walking distance to the Ocracoke Island Ferry.

House is located on a dead end street with very little traffic. Very peaceful location with lots of distance between neighbors.

Constructed and Owned by Family of a local fisherman who was a legacy on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Plenty of relaxing time awaits you at this peaceful abode. Great for Families and Fishermen.

More Details

Ricki Stewart
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

About Ricki Stewart

Our family does not use the house as much as we would like so we are able to share with you.

Why Ricki Stewart chose Hatteras

Home is owned by local Outer Banks family with a patriarchal famous Outer Banks fishing legend who originally bought it so he could fish and walk from the Marina to his house & not have to worry about a car. Home has been in the family since it was constructed. Only rented a handful of times, however, lack of use over the past several years has allowed us to offer this excellent home and share it's legacy.


What makes this house unique

Greatest Location Oceanside On The Island. Walking Distance To Beach, Marina, and Ocracoke Ferry!!! Do Everything Without Driving. Go To The Beach, Fish, Fish, Fish, take a Ride on the Ferry to Ocracoke Island.


Hatteras House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM / Check-out: 9:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Rooms are downstairs and 2nd floor and living room/open kitchen is upstairs on third floor.
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes: can provide any assistance during your stay! Walk to Beach, Oceanview, and walk to Mariana. Excellent Location!


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
17% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
average rating of 4.2352943 based on 17 reviews

Great place and location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. This property is very nice, comfortable, and in a great location.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Trumbull, CT

Very nice vacation rental home

  • 5 of 5

This rental property is well maintained and is in a wonderful location to the beach. When we arrived we were very impressed with the neighborhood and the property itself. Very clean, everything was functional and very spacious for a family of four. The walk to the beach was pleasant and short. You can hear the waves from the deck and the view of the ocean, all around, was spectacular. The property owner was very responsive to any questions that I had. If your looking for a quite vacation rental, I would recommend this property to any vacationer.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Vacation at the beach!!

  • 5 of 5

I was really surprised when my wife, daughter and grandchildren all said I did a SUPER job picking out the SUPER selection for our stay at Hatteras. The house was well worth the expense for the views, closeness to the beach and sound and comforts that were at the house. The 4 bedrooms, kitchen and living area are very comfortable. The AC worked great and the short distance to the beach was especially good. My family is looking forward to returning to this location and house next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

everything we needed

  • 5 of 5

Very helpful owner. Comfortable accomodations close to beach with beach and sound views from the deck! Conners grocery store close with all sorts of specialty items as well. Walk to ferry to ocracoke island, and local waterfront stores/restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great time! Here are the honest pros and cons

  • 4 of 5

I would highly recommend you give this place a try. I would honestly go back. The below is the truth.

Pros: Pics don't do justice for place because it is larger than it appears, extremely kind and accomodating owner, EXCELLENT location near Ocracoke ferry and short walk to beach with quiet neighbors, good fishing and bait stores nearby, board games in house, good running A/C system, affordable place, seemingly safe area, located nearly across from an excellent restaurant called Hatteras Sol where we also watched beautiful sunsets off a dock.

Cons: Had to reset router for WIFI twice in 5 days but not terribly inconvenient, intermittent washer but worked eventually, running toilet upstairs so I lost sleep at first and had to turn off the toilet water at night to sleep (but all was well after and owner is fixing, so you should be fine), house strangely shook in areas slightly with major wind blows or storm, deck slightly unsafe...only my opinion...due to shaking when coming from top level downward and grabbing handle, the eyes on stove aren't large enough to cook with the certain larger pans underneath sink to accomodate certain meals for a larger group, didn't get to personally meet the nice owner...if you consider that a con ;)

Be encouraged about this place. We had a great time!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Drew: Thanks for the review. We just installed a new glass top stove and repaired the leaky toilet. The deck was recently reinforced when new siding was added to the house so I can assure you or anyone else they are safe. You are welcome to come again anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Baltimore, Maryland

Old beach house, run down but lovely for what is is

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house knowing it was an old beach house. We loved the history of it. What we found was that it was really run down and there was not a lot of upkeep. The front door was broken, the sink had a leak and on our second extremely hot day the upstairs ac unit broke. There was only one working tv and lots of small broken things around the house. We fixed what we could and replaced broken light switch covers where needed. The fridge had a broken shelf and the light was burnt out. The house was dirty I.e. Doritos crumbs on the floor of the living room, dust on the tv stand and kitchen cabinets all needed wiping out. Pots and pans also were really dirty. Found lots of items held in place by masking tape, mold on shower curtains. We just felt that the owner really did not seem to care. We did our best to clean what we could. Distracted us from the joy of vacation for a few days. Would not rent again. House has character though. Nice location.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you had AC trouble during your stay. However, we did provide temporary AC during your stay. You will be pleased to know that we have recently purchased brand new units in 2017. We have also made all these repairs and more. Thank you for your response.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Norfolk International Airport
Nearest Barpub
91 Metres
Teach's Lair
Nearest Ferry
100 Metres
Ocracoke Island Ferry
Nearest Motorway
50 Metres
Highway 12
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Hatteras Island Beaches
Car: recommended

Located within one block of beach access and one block to the Marina. Located on a quiet street with very light traffic.




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and Linens $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.75%

In event of mandatory evacuation declared by Dare County Emergency Management refunds will be proated beginning on the day of evacuation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.