Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Splash - Swim With Dolphins, Snorkel, Kayak, paddle board

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Splash is located in a waterfront/beachfront setting on the tranquil, sparkling waters of Great Cruz Bay Harbor. The views from Splash are lovely, with sailboats floating peacefully on the palm-fringed bay in the foreground, and Pillsbury Sound, St. Thomas and blazing sunsets in the background. It's a short drive (5 minutes) to the restaurants and boutiques of Cruz Bay, and it’s also a short walk (5 minutes) to the restaurants, beach, fitness facilities and shops at the Westin Resort. Despite being near the Westin, Splash enjoys a quiet and peaceful setting, seemingly far removed from its neighbors. For those who love to be close by or in the Caribbean, Splash will delight.

Splash began as a fun loving beach house and was remodeled to become a more refined harborside villa with floor to ceiling stone walls, wide board mahogany floors, skylights, antique and custom built furniture, exterior gardens, and an interior pool. This is essentially a one level home, with the crow’s nest bedroom being the only room on the upper level. The great room contains the living and dining rooms, plus the kitchen and pool. The master bedroom and the guest bedroom are located on opposite ends of the great room and offer excellent privacy. There is a small bedroom with a bunk bed, which is great for children. The 4th crow's nest bedroom is outside access and is a charming, screened in bedroom, great for older teens.

Splash has three distinct deck/patios plus a small beach area. The main deck is located off the great room and has exquisite views, cushioned furniture and dining for 6. A half level below the main deck is a private patio under tall palm trees with an outdoor shower, a hammock and a table for 4. The sun patio is also a half level below the great room and consists of sand, lounge chairs, sunshine, and a tiki bar. The waters of the Caribbean are a half level below the patios, accessed by stairs that descend from a cut in the stone wall.

• A great villa for families with kids, especially kids who love to play in the water.

• The warm, exceptionally romantic ambiance of this villa also makes it one of our top recommendations for honeymooners and lovers. It’s a memory maker.

• A vacation home that has it all; a waterfront location, pool, a/c in 3 bedrooms, comfortable furnishings, lush landscaping, moderate privacy, sunsets and picture postcard views.

• You’re so close to the Caribbean that it’s almost like being on a boat, and the nautical sights and sounds of this quite harbor are wonderful.

• A superb location, 5 minutes from Cruz Bay and 10 seconds from swimming, snorkeling, kayaking and paddle boarding (snorkeling equipment, kayak's and paddle boards not included) in the tranquil, 82 degree Caribbean waters.

• Boaters have access to the deep water anchorages of Great Cruz Bay, allowing you to add boating activities to your agenda.

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, 800 338-0987, 207 510-6300
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

About Owner/Manager

Having traveled thru these beautiful azure blue seas for over 30 years now, I consider myself to be indeed a Pirate of the Caribbean and my heart definitely belongs to St.John...

Yes all the other islands are beautiful as well but how do you describe St. John to someone who has never been here?

St. John is God's canvas, 'undescribable breathtaking beauty, the emerald jewel of the Caribbean sea! All of these words have been spoken many times over...Just read any travel guide and you'll see St. John is at or near the top of their bucket list!

But for those of us fortunate enough to be able to visit here often or even own a small piece of the island, we realize St. John is well beyond physical beauty, it has a rhythm that's all it's own...It's 'pulsating' rhythm captures the beat of it's roots, history, people, culture and it has an overall 'VIBE' that ties your heartstrings in knots so you can't let go...This island's very essence is intoxicating and draws you back time and time again...

By fate and luck my career brought me to the Caribbean in the first place. Owning a large promotion agency out of Tampa, FL and having Joseph E. Seagram as an account, my task at hand at the time was to launch an unknown brand called Captain Morgan Spiced Rum throughout the USA, Caribbean and Europe! What opportunity and fun it was to be able to tell the tales of the real Captain Henry Morgan , share his rum with adult landlubbers and offer on a silver platter the fantasy to even snowbirds in 30 below temperatures in rural America the chance to sail the high seas...People couldn't get enough!!!

So after 16 years, 65,000 promotions and events worldwide and a treasure chest full of over $2,000,000 in gold and silver doubloons, my crew and I set sail to St. John , bought Villa Splash and havn't looked back since..., 'A Dream Becomes Reality!' June 2005

Owner/Manager purchased this villa in 2005

Why Owner/Manager chose Cruz Bay

This area of St.John still gives you the sense of living on a tropical island, yet offers all the amenities, necessities and the comforts of home! You are literally 5-10 minutes from everything but you still feel ike your on vacation without a care in the world...

What makes this villa unique

Where do I begin, because the list of unique benefits is endless...

Villa Splash captures the 'essence' of a wonderful Caribbean vacation and is indeed 'A MEMORY MAKER...'

Whether you want the 'hustle and bustle' of the island's tourist attractions, 'fun and sun watersports,' or want the peace, solitude and tranquility of a lazy afternoon nap in the crowsnest or a good book in the backyard hammock splash offers something special for everybody...

Many people have stayed at Splash thru the years and everyone agrees it's benefits and beauty are unsupassed! Some people have even booked splash 4-6 times!

Oh by the way a little trivia for you to share...Villa Splash was originally named after a very friendly female bottle nosed dolphin who frequently swims our harbor looking for handouts of the 'CATCH OF THE DAY' from the local fishermen! Be sure to be on the lookout as she is not camera shy and she makes for a great photo opportunity!

Yes, my fellow castaways, does life get any better than the 'lure' of the Caribbean Sea, droping anchor at Villa Splash, a pina colada at your own backyard tiki bar made with Captain Morgan Spiced Rum?

I don't think so, why go anywhere else you're already in 'paradise', living the DREAM...


'Arrgh,' Barb Baker/Owner


Estate Chocolate Hole and Great Cruz Bay Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , The master bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , The guest bedroom bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , The crows nest bath
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , The master bedroom, A/C, harbor view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , The guest bedroom, king or two twins
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , The crows nest bedroom, great harbor views
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • duty free shops
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis


Good! 3.8/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
Splash - Swim With Dolphins, Snorkel, Kayak, paddle board
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 6 reviews

Splash Villa, St John USVI - Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This property was great for our family - all adults. The layout offered privacy as well as common areas to congregate and all was clean and inviting. Despite having neighbors, we rarely felt or heard their presence. The Caribbean Villas property management company was awesome to work with and solved an arrival issue within 30 minutes even though it was after 8pm on Christmas Eve! The only downside was the information regarding the property led us to believe the Westin would be available and accessible to us. "and it’s also a short walk (5 minutes) to the restaurants, beach, fitness facilities and shops at the Westin Resort" However, when we attempted to rent watersports equipment, we were told the items were available for Westin guests only. And when we walked to the Westin and arrived in the lobby, we were not allowed on the facilities or shops, but rather asked to leave since we were not guests!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hamilton, MA

Splash Villa, St. John VI...Trip of a lifetime!

  • 5 of 5

Splash Villa-Everything you would wish for in a fantasy villa getaway. Private Beach, Yes! Indoor Pool, Yes! Private deck, Yes! Gorgeous rooms, Yes! Immaculate and beautifully decorated, Yes!. Private in all the best ways--but assessable to stores and services as well, Yes! So Spacious! a dream.... We never-ever wanted to leave St. John and Splash Villa!!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Santa Fe , NM

Total contentment

  • 5 of 5

My experience with this unit was well beyond my expectations. The indoor pool was a dream, each room was immaculate, lovely linens, fresh and inviting. The cupulo bedroom was the perfect surprise for my artist companion. She got her creative juices flowing in that wonderful environment! The appliances were all in working condition and sufficient. The hot tub was the perfect environment for cocktail time and the soft breezes and ocean wave aroma and sounds lullabied us nightly ! I thoroughly enjoyed the iguanas that dropped on the porch for a visit! Simply my best vacation ever!!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tampa, FL and Los Angeles, CA


  • 5 of 5

Villa Splash is absolutely gorgeous! This beautiful villa was everything we wanted. Waterfront with access to the Caribbean Sea, sitting on the huge deck complete with BBQ and outdoor speakers watching the "diamonds in the sky" light up every evening from neighboring island St Thomas, the VERY PRIVATE and refreshing indoor pool was awesome, , the kitchen and villa layout was perfect for our group, Villas Splash's gardens were like tropical rain forests with gorgeous flowers constantly blooming, the most amazing sunsets each and every night, we just loved it! Caribbean Villas...the property management company was more than helpful and we will return asap! This Villa is very private but close enough to the Westin to utilize their amenities. We would recommend taking the daytrip on the Westins "Island Spirit" to Jost van Dyke and Soggy Dollar Bar.

We loved the upstairs "Crows Nest" for complete relaxation and we closed the screen doors and had NO mosquito problems during our stay. You just have to be smarter than the native bugs on this or any other Caribbean island.

We were concerned about the first review but after staying at Splash.....we WILL be back! I guess some people just cant be pleased and if Villa Splash doesn't please obviously need to go back home and be

Thank you Caribbean villas and thank you Villa Splash.......WE LOVED IT AND WILL RETURN.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Splash villa

  • 1 of 5

Horrible experience. Broken air conditioner, spider webs, living room fan only worked on low, and the rudest office workers up in Maine. The two women there should be fired. Upon arrival, we discovered that one of the bedrooms air conditioner was not working at all. When we called the office in Maine, the two women we talked to told us that we were lying. The repairman from the local office verified that the airconditioner was broken, but they wouldn't replace it during our stay. Instead, they brought A portable one which was not working well and the temperature in the room would only go down to 92 degrees with it. Our 30 year old had to sleep in our bedroom on the floor for four nights. He finally ended up renting a room at a hotel because he was so uncomfortable. The owner of the place and the people in The office up in Maine refused to reduce the price for the inconvenience and aggravation we endured. The two women we spoke with in the Maine office were very unprofessional, rude and arrogant. One of them hung up on us because she didn't want to deal with our predicament. We would never do business with this agency again and would spread the word.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In my 25 years in this business, I can whole-heartedly say I have never had an experience like this. We rent multi million dollar private villas to people who we are to assume will take care of said home. In this particular instance, guests arrived with more people than they contracted, and expected to use a bedroom with an AC that was currently unavailable to use in a bedroom they were not contracted to use. We strive for an experience better than satisfactory and we accomplish this as is shown with our 77% repeat business record. If people arrive to the island with a preconceived agenda, verbally abusive behavior to staff members, immediately demanding a full refund with the intention of staying in the villa the entire week just minutes after arriving, then threatening to post a negative review if their demands are not met, there's no seeing eye to eye. I am happy to discuss the maintenance if any potential renters are concerned.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 5
Allen, Texas


  • 2 of 5

My family of 4 stayed in this home for a week. Great location and great house. The bedrooms were air conditioned and always cold and the house was very clean. This house had everything needed to be the best VRBO

rental we have stayed in, except mosquitos. Mosquitos were everywhere in the house, bathrooms, living rooms,

kitchen, porches and bedrooms. Each day was spent trying not to get bit and this ruined the trip. I would definitely not recommend this home to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
13 3


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night

Thanksgiving - Off Season Rates Apply
Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy sent with confirmation
$500 Damage Deposit

50% is due within 7 days of booking, final payment is due 60 days prior to arrival. For Christmas/New Years bookings- final payment is due 120 days prior to arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund