Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Best of Two Worlds - The Strip and The Beach

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,068 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4BR/2B Cottage right in the middle of everything in a private community!

Newly renovated (May 2014) 4B/2B private beach cottage. Fully furnished with CENTRAL HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING. Centrally located just steps away from the action and fun on 'the strip' to steps from the private beach for sunbathing and swimming. All this in a peaceful, quiet, private neighborhood!

Fully stocked kitchen (dishes, glasses, pots & pans, silverware, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, gas stove, refrigerator, towels & dishcloths). 4 private bedrooms for 8 people, complete with bed linens & pillows - #1- Full Size, #2 - Queen Size, #3 - 2 Twin Beds, #4 - 1 Twin w/Trundle Bed. (LIMITED OCCUPANCY TO 8 GUESTS)

Two Bathrooms; Upstairs has a tub. Downstairs has a shower. Both bathrooms are stocked with towels, hand and face cloths and tissue paper. Gas Grill and picnic table in the backyard.

Bring your own beach towels. A washer & dryer are available.

Come and enjoy Happy Trails Cottage!

More Details

Property Manager
Karen Gould
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

About Karen Gould

Our mother grew up here in GOTL living with her grandmother in the 1920's. After marrying our father and moving to California and then Florida for many years, our parents decided to return to the lake and purchased this cottage in '84 as a summer retreat. With their passing, we wanted to keep the GOTL heritage alive and took charge of the cottage in 2011. We updated the cottage almost from the ground up with new windows, electric, insulation, wood, tile & carpeted flooring. Central Air Conditioning and heat duct work was added to every room but the sun room. In 2014, we completed furnishing, decorating and stocking Happy Trails Cottage to create a comfortable, fun, easy living space where guests can go to the private beach and relax and swim or jump into the action along Ohio's first Lake Resort town. We look forward to having you visit and enjoy your stay in Happy Trails Cottage!

Karen Gould purchased this cottage in 1984

Amenities

Geneva-on-the-Lake Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1068 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , Upstairs
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Upstairs - Full bath with bathtub Downstairs - Full bath with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 2 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
  • #1 - Upstairs - Full Size Bed #2 - Upstairs - Queen Size Bed #3 - Upstairs - Two Twin Beds #4 - Downstairs - One Twin with pullout Trundle Bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
Occupancy Limited to 8 Guests.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Best of Two Worlds - The Strip and The Beach
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
EVANSVILLE
4

Fun family trip!

  • 4 of 5

House met our needs, it wasn't anything extravagant, but it didn't need to be. The enclosed front porch was a great quiet place to drink your morning coffee. Loved all of the windows and natural light! We grilled out every day we were there. We had awesome weather the whole weekend! Location on the strip was perfect! We walked everywhere we wanted to go except when we rented jet skis and paddleboards. Those were located a couple of miles away at the Geneva state park. Multiple bars, food, arcades on the strip. Kids loved the private beach which is a minute walk down the road. Unfortunately, multiple stairs were missing that led to the beach so we were unable to use them to get to the beach, instead we had to climb down over a wall. We were able to do it without any injuries, so it was a success!

Con: 1) washer and dryer need some maintenance. Not all cycles on the washer worked, but we were still able to get clothes clean. Dryer took multiple cycles to dry.

2) propane for the grill was out on the first night, we ended up just getting it refilled ourselves

Had a nice, relaxing time!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice

  • 3 of 5

The house was nice and clean. It had everything we needed in the kitchen too cool with, and they also provided sheets and towels. However, the shower and toilet in the downstairs bathroom broke while we were there. It was very inconvenient not having the extra bathroom.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly, you were the first guests of the season and had to experience a plumbing problem we had no way of knowing about prior to your visit. We quickly remedied the problem so that it will not happen again. We appreciate your gracious cooperation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredibly cute, incredibly clean, perfect location. Can't wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this property with friends and family. The front porch was my favorite spot! Perfect location between strip and lake. Bedrooms very comfy and the cottage had everything we needed. Easy to rent and easy departure. Some places basically require you to clean before you leave. Hardly any departure instructions although we left it in good shape. Check in was at 4 pm, but we were told the day before that it was ready and we could arrive anytime before 4 pm! Neighbors were VERY friendly too. Karen worked well with us and responded immediately when we had any questions...which were hardly any. Can't wait to come back!!

Jill

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Convenient location

  • 5 of 5

The house is perfect for our 2 families (2 families of 4 each). The location is superb! Easy walk to main restaurants and private beach. The nearby marina state park has lots of fun things to do. We had a great time BBQ in the backyard. Would definitely visit again!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

AWESOME PLACE !!

  • 5 of 5

This place was perfect in every way ! It was very clean and well maintained. My parents , 4 boy teenagers (ages 16 to 18) and myself stayed comfortably in this house. The teenagers loved the location, walk out to the right you are on main street, and walk out and go left and you are at lake. We had such a great time here and can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Ladycation Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Karen was super easy to work with and the house was fantastic. I was a little nervous about how hot it was going to be this weekend, but the AC kept the house nice and cold. Everything we needed was provided with the house. We had so much fun!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

300' from 'The Strip'. 500' from Lake Erie and private beach. Just an hour from Cleveland and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and many more fun places and fine dining.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Geneva-on-the-Lake Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SUMMER
Mar 25 2017 - Sep 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$1,900
 
 
Fall Season
Sep 26 2017 - Oct 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 8.0%

Please let us know a little about you:
Name of Responsible Person (credit card holder):
Home Address, Contact #,City, State & Zip:
Telephone# you can be reached:
Driver's License#, State
Number of people in your party: 10
Names & Ages & relationship to you for each guest:

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties