Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Best of Two Worlds - The Strip and The Beach

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,068 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

4BR/2B Cottage right in the middle of everything in a private community!

Newly renovated (May 2014) 4B/2B private beach cottage. Fully furnished with CENTRAL HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING. Centrally located just steps away from the action and fun on 'the strip' to steps from the private beach for sunbathing and swimming. All this in a peaceful, quiet, private neighborhood!

Fully stocked kitchen (dishes, glasses, pots & pans, silverware, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, gas stove, refrigerator, towels & dishcloths). 4 private bedrooms for 8 people, complete with bed linens & pillows - #1- Full Size, #2 - Queen Size, #3 - 2 Twin Beds, #4 - 1 Twin w/Trundle Bed. (LIMITED OCCUPANCY TO 8 GUESTS)

Two Bathrooms; Upstairs has a tub. Downstairs has a shower. Both bathrooms are stocked with towels, hand and face cloths and tissue paper. Gas Grill and picnic table in the backyard.

Bring your own beach towels. A washer & dryer are available.

Come and enjoy Happy Trails Cottage!

More Details

Property Manager
Karen Gould
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 26, 2017

About Karen Gould

Our mother grew up here in GOTL living with her grandmother in the 1920's. After marrying our father and moving to California and then Florida for many years, our parents decided to return to the lake and purchased this cottage in '84 as a summer retreat. With their passing, we wanted to keep the GOTL heritage alive and took charge of the cottage in 2011. We updated the cottage almost from the ground up with new windows, electric, insulation, wood, tile & carpeted flooring. Central Air Conditioning and heat duct work was added to every room but the sun room. In 2014, we completed furnishing, decorating and stocking Happy Trails Cottage to create a comfortable, fun, easy living space where guests can go to the private beach and relax and swim or jump into the action along Ohio's first Lake Resort town. We look forward to having you visit and enjoy your stay in Happy Trails Cottage!

Karen Gould purchased this cottage in 1984


Geneva-on-the-Lake Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1068 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , Upstairs
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Upstairs - Full bath with bathtub Downstairs - Full bath with shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 2 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
  • #1 - Upstairs - Full Size Bed #2 - Upstairs - Queen Size Bed #3 - Upstairs - Two Twin Beds #4 - Downstairs - One Twin with pullout Trundle Bed
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
Occupancy Limited to 8 Guests.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
22% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Best of Two Worlds - The Strip and The Beach
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
Venetia, PA

4 Days at Happy Trails

  • 5 of 5

Wow! This is a fantastic place to stay to enjoy Geneva on the Lake. A short walk takes you to a private section of the lake beach. A short walk in the other direction takes you to the middle of the main street which holds games, food, drinks, shops, antiques, and family fun.

Karen had everything ready for us!

Beach towels and food were all we really needed!

She even provided hand soap and shower wash in the bath and shower areas. Laundry soap and dish soap were also provided.....what a relief!

The laundry room was so handy...and we LOVED the sunroom!

Everything was so CLEAN! We had a toddler with us, and we never worried about her.

This site is definitely worth the price. Check it out!


  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great time

  • 5 of 5

Within walking distance of strip & water. Comfy & roomy. Nice front porch.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very comfortable and quiet.

  • 4 of 5

Very clean, well stocked and the best location to the strip and the beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun family trip!

  • 4 of 5

House met our needs, it wasn't anything extravagant, but it didn't need to be. The enclosed front porch was a great quiet place to drink your morning coffee. Loved all of the windows and natural light! We grilled out every day we were there. We had awesome weather the whole weekend! Location on the strip was perfect! We walked everywhere we wanted to go except when we rented jet skis and paddleboards. Those were located a couple of miles away at the Geneva state park. Multiple bars, food, arcades on the strip. Kids loved the private beach which is a minute walk down the road. Unfortunately, multiple stairs were missing that led to the beach so we were unable to use them to get to the beach, instead we had to climb down over a wall. We were able to do it without any injuries, so it was a success!

Con: 1) washer and dryer need some maintenance. Not all cycles on the washer worked, but we were still able to get clothes clean. Dryer took multiple cycles to dry.

2) propane for the grill was out on the first night, we ended up just getting it refilled ourselves

Had a nice, relaxing time!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

The house was nice and clean. It had everything we needed in the kitchen too cool with, and they also provided sheets and towels. However, the shower and toilet in the downstairs bathroom broke while we were there. It was very inconvenient not having the extra bathroom.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly, you were the first guests of the season and had to experience a plumbing problem we had no way of knowing about prior to your visit. We quickly remedied the problem so that it will not happen again. We appreciate your gracious cooperation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Incredibly cute, incredibly clean, perfect location. Can't wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this property with friends and family. The front porch was my favorite spot! Perfect location between strip and lake. Bedrooms very comfy and the cottage had everything we needed. Easy to rent and easy departure. Some places basically require you to clean before you leave. Hardly any departure instructions although we left it in good shape. Check in was at 4 pm, but we were told the day before that it was ready and we could arrive anytime before 4 pm! Neighbors were VERY friendly too. Karen worked well with us and responded immediately when we had any questions...which were hardly any. Can't wait to come back!!


  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Car: not necessary

300' from 'The Strip'. 500' from Lake Erie and private beach. Just an hour from Cleveland and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and many more fun places and fine dining.


Rates & Availability

Geneva-on-the-Lake Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mar 25 2017 - Sep 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
Fall Season
Sep 26 2017 - Oct 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 8.0%

Please let us know a little about you:
Name of Responsible Person (credit card holder):
Home Address, Contact #,City, State & Zip:
Telephone# you can be reached:
Driver's License#, State
Number of people in your party: 10
Names & Ages & relationship to you for each guest:

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties