Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Beach House on Florida's Forgotten Coast

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

The Beach House is a newly built wooden cottage nestled within the palms of a large serene corner lot on the beautiful Forgotten Coast. Gorgeous Gulf of Mexico beach views and easy beach access are a dream come true. This coastal area is pet friendly and offers many enjoyable possibilities including peaceful strolls on the quiet white sandy beaches, swimming, sun bathing, picnicking, bird watching, boating, canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, fishing, crabbing, scalloping and surfing. Bikes, golf carts, canoes, kayaks and horseback rides can be rented at nearby establishments if you are interested.

Breathtaking sunrises and sunsets are seen from most every room in the house and always from all four porches. Bottlenosed dolphins, bald eagles and ospreys are common sites here. Loggerhead sea turtles make their nests on our beaches from May through October. The lot across the street from the Beach House is a State Preserve where eagles are viewed almost daily.

The Beach House is a custom built two-story home with two bedrooms, two full baths, a large kitchen and family room, and a private breakfast room with spectacular views to enjoy your morning coffee. The house sleeps eight, with a queen size bed in each bedroom, a comfortable queen size futon, and a pull out queen size sofa bed in the living room. There are porches on both the front and back of the home. The back porch is screened and there are small open deck porches off of each bedroom which are excellent for greeting the morning sun, sun bathing, or watching the stars at night.

The Beach House contains a fully equipped kitchen, a utility room with washer and dryer, two big screen TVs with Dish network and movie channel, and a private breakfast room and family room with excellent beach views. The house has central heating and air conditioning and ceiling fans are installed in most rooms. Complementary wi-fi is available as well as a telephone for local calls. The large yard includes an outdoor grill and a cement breezeway under the house complete with chairs, wooden porch swing, and wooden picnic table for entertaining and enjoying the outdoors.

This coastal area offers one of the last beautiful private and peaceful beaches in Florida, where you can collect a variety of sea shells, appreciate wildlife, and enjoy the peace and beauty of The Uncommon Florida.

Indian Pass Raw Bar a unique eating establishment less than a mile down the road where you can enjoy delicious Apalachicola Bay and Indian Lagoon oysters as well as shrimp, crab and other local seafood. The Raw Bar often has live outdoor entertainment and dancing on weekend nights. You will love their laid back style.

Nine miles to the west is the city of Port St. Joe where you can enjoy fine dining, great shopping, dancing and other entertainment. St. Joseph Peninsula State Park located on Cape San Blas is known worldwide for its beautiful beaches and you can rent canoes and kayaks or launch your own boat into the pristine waters of St. Joe Bay. Another interesting and educational place to visit is the Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve which is located approximately 30 miles to the east. The nature center at the Reserve offers educational exhibits and aquaria featuring local fish, turtles and other wildlife.

If you enjoy shopping in small eclectic shops, you will want to visit the historic town of Apalachicola to the east and enjoy some delicious fresh local seafood while you're there.

If you're looking for a perfect and simple place to relax and enjoy the wonders of Florida's Forgotten Coast, the Beach House is the place!

More Details

Owner
Curt and Linda Allen
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2018

About Curt and Linda Allen

Curt and Linda Allen, Owners

Why Curt and Linda Allen chose Port St. Joe

The owners have lived in this area all of their lives and they built the home themselves on the beautiful beach that they have visited and loved since they were children. The home is designed to capture as many views of the outdoors as possible.

What makes this house unique

The Beach House is located on a unique corner lot and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to the beach. The lot across the street is preserved by the State of Florida and bald eagles and other birds are seen almost daily. There are so many places to sit, relax and enjoy the salty breezes from the Gulf and the breath-taking scenery.

Amenities

Port St. Joe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Two complete bathrooms with shower/tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Two bedrooms with queen beds; pull out queen sofa bed and queen size comfortable futon bed in living room
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
The Beach House on Florida's Forgotten Coast
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 42 reviews
5

Beautiful property and area. Nice owners, nice neighbors.

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place. Perfect for our great Dane and us. The house is close to the beach and Indian pass raw bar. Perfect location. Oh, a bald eagle nests nearby so that is pretty cool.

Curtis is a very nice guy too. Called to check on us when we got in and to make sure we had everything.

It was such a great experience. I can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The Beach House is perfect for long weekend getaway! Short walk to the beach and close to the Cape! We couldn’t have asked for a better location.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect get away beach house. Clean, comfortable and accommodating for our family

  • 5 of 5

Our family loved our time here, the ocean is just a few steps away. Enjoyed sunsets on the beach and on the balcony, as well as watching the dolphins swim the shoreline. Enjoyed fresh fish the owner brought us to prepare. It was nice to have beach chairs & everything we needed and not have to travel with the extra goods. Enjoyed our visit with Curt the owner as well!! Fabulous find! We will return!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great little cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! One thought, would be nice to have more towels..... we had to wash towels daily and sometimes twice a day. House would clean and exactly as pictured. Owners definitely go above and beyond with household items!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

House was filthy

  • 2 of 5

The good side of this review is the beds were very comfortable, views of the gulf were good and it's close to the beach.

I hate to leave a negative review I really do but this house was dirty I don't mean dusty but filthy. I had to clean the kitchen before we could eat, inside the dishwasher was dirty and dirty dishes were placed with the clean ones, dirty cups and a dirty coffee pot. Mold was growing in the bottom of the kitchen garbage can and there was something green in the bottom of the refrigerator. Second day we noticed a strong sulfur smell from the hot water, so bad we could not shower. Third day we planned to cook on the outside grill but the grate was rusted so it was unusable. This house gets 35 five star reviews (what ?). The write up about this place sounds nice and inviting and that's why we chose it but we couldn't have been more disappointed. I would not return and I would not recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We haven't ever had this before,I've have pre checks done now before new renters,sorry! First time and last ,pre checks before new guess arrive.sorry curt.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3
5

Perfect Beach Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We were a party of two families that needed a quick beach getaway over Memorial Day weekend. This place was perfect! We love the area anyway and this was the perfect place to unwind. The natural beauty surrounding you here is spectacular. The beach views can't be beat! The back porch was our favorite spot to hang out. The beds are so comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed. We will definitely be making a return trip!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Apalachicola
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Indian Pass Raw Bar
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
St. Joe
Nearest Motorway
C30
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Triple Tails
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund