Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

10 acres of PRIVACY with Awesome View, Hot Tub, Firepit

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 0 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

This home has 3 bedrooms and a sleeping loft. Nice covered porch & hot tub.

Privacy, privacy, privacy! Elk Point is a hiker’s paradise. High in the Smoky Mountains above Maggie Valley, NC, this fabulous authentic log home is just under a mile from the Cataloochee Valley National Park. The vacation rental is named for the area in the national park where elk have been reintroduced into North Carolina. The herd is thriving and can be seen in the afternoons in the park, grazing the fields that once sustained the original inhabitants of the area. Elk Point adjoins the Cataloochee trail and is the perfect base station for hiking in the park.

Elk Point is a spacious log home on 10 private acres. It features three large bedrooms, each with queen-sized bed. A sleeping loft with another queen bed and two twin beds overlook the stone fireplace in the great room. Take in beautiful views of the surrounding Smoky Mountains.

10 minutes to Cataloochee Park.

20 minutes to Maggie Valley.

25 minutes to Waynesville, NC.

35 minutes to Harrah’s Casino, Cherokee gambling.

45 minutes to Asheville, NC, home of the Biltmore House.

Day trips include Nantahala and Ocoee white water rafting; Grandfather Mountain; Lake Lure; Hot Springs; Biltmore House, and much more.

*Note: The road to Elk Point is not suitable for trailers.

More Details

Property Manager
Shelda Muirhead
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
75%
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2017

About Shelda Muirhead

I have been in the vacation rental business for 20 years and LOVE what I do.

Some of the homes in Maggie Valley on VRBO are owned by me and my husband, and I manage others. I am so fortunate to live in these beautiful Smoky Mountains and I enjoy helping vacationers by sharing my knowledge of the area.

Map

This home borders the National Park and the Cataloochee Divide Trail in Waynesville NC.

Amenities

Waynesville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • - 1 king
    - 1 queen
    - 2 queen , 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...

Reviews

4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
10 acres of PRIVACY with Awesome View, Hot Tub, Firepit
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5

Beautiful cabin with breathtaking views!

  • 5 of 5

The listing description did not give the cabin Justice. It is a secluded cabin with views of the Smoky Mountains. The cabin is the type of cabin you would dream of having if you lived in North Carolina. The cabin is large enough to comfortably accommodate a large family. The property around it was very well maintained with a working jacuzzi as well. The amenities were described accurately. Any concerns that we had were easily taken care of promptly. We had a great time as a family at the cabin. We drove just up the mountain to cataloochee and were able to see the elk at the park. We also went down to Maggie Valley often and ate at many great restaurants such as Butts on the Creek. We also travel to nearby Sliding Rock and had a great time there in the water was cold even for the summer. Then we also went to Cherokee and had fun tubing down the river with the kids. I would definitely come back and I would definitely recommend this cabin as a vacation place for other people.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marianna, FL
4

Smoky Moutain Elk Adventure

  • 4 of 5

Shared the cabin with my brothers family with 10 total people, all ages 15 and up. The view from the front porch of the cabin was wonderful, especially just before sunrise. The high altitude provided cool evening breezes, even in late July. The Cataloochee Valley where the elk were brought in is just a 30 minute drive through the winding mountain road. We made several early morning and late evening trips to see them and even saw a young bear. The log cabin is beautiful with bed space for up to 12 people, but only two bathrooms. We had 4 teen to 22 year old boys share the loft. There is lots to see and do away from the hectic main park access of Cherokee or Gatlinburg. I would have given the cabin 5 stars, but there were a few negatives. I am a fairly light sleeper. The second story tongue and groove flooring is the ceiling, so without any insulation you hear every footstep at night from below. The living room furniture is somewhat worn but adequate with two couches and a chair, but no recliner. The AC was not real strong, but was not a major issue with open windows during the night, but did get a little warm in the loft during the day. There is no wifi, but cell service was pretty good for such a remote location, just make sure you have plenty of data to share. The long paved driveway going in is very steep with two hairpin turns. The walk up from the parking area is also steep, so this would not be a good place for someone with issues walking. We had no problems coming or going, but I guess this is the price you pay for an amazing view. This cabin is 25-30 minutes from town, so it is very peaceful and quiet, but if you want to eat out and spend a lot of time in town, be prepared for the drive. It was an hour to the main entrance of the park near Cherokee so we only spent one day there. We enjoyed the shorter drive to Cataloochee and the Big Creek area with fewer tourists. The kids loved the small hot tub and fire pit. The kitchen and dining room was really nice with seating for 8 at the table and two more at the large island. The upstairs king sized bed where my brother and his wife slept is a sleep number bed, so they were excited until they tried to adjust it and it did not work. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would go back again. The location was wonderful for what we like to do, view wildlife and hike in the Smokies. We would go back again.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really appreciate such a detailed review! This home is definitely ideal for visitors who want to get away from it all! We hope you'll come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilmington
2

Charged full rate for 3 days with no AC or TV :(

  • 2 of 5

This is a nice house in a good location. The driveway may be difficult for some, but we managed fine with a jeep and RAV4. If you have kids that stay up late I don't recommend letting them stay in the upstairs bedroom. You won't sleep well because you can hear everything downstairs because there is just a layer of wood between the first and second floors. Also in the living area there was s constant sprinkling of wood dust falling from the ceiling and making a little pile on the arm of the couch. We would wipe it off and it was not that big a deal.

That being said, the house itself was ok, but the first three days we endured without Hvac (needed repair and it was one of the hottest weeks), and tv (satellite was down). We arrived late Saturday and these things were fixed when we returned home Tuesday night. We spent over an hour on the phone with directv troubleshooting and the problem required a technician to come out. After that we were ready to get a refund and find another place to stay. Shelda asked us to give her a chance so we hung in there and she did get things fixed.

Flash forward, we got our deposit back but no other reimbursement for the three days without air conditioning and tv. We contacted Shelda and her response was that she had already dispensed the funds to the homeowner for that month and there would be no discount---but, when we came back she would give us a free night. Needless to say we are not coming back and don't plan on using Shelda, nor recommending her rentals if that is how she does business.

Hope this helps you in planning your vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This log home sits on 10 acres of land and offers lots of privacy. Our tenants love the fact that it's high in elevation with cool mountain breezes. I wasn't aware of the air or TV problem until Monday and both were fixed on Tuesday. Our tenant agreement states that we do not offer refunds unless we cannot address the problem in a timely manner. However, for return customers we sometimes offer a complimentary night's stay as a courtesy for any inconvenience, as when an appliance or something else malfunctions.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

My Home Away from Home.

  • 5 of 5

This property is out towards Cataloochee Valley, North Carolina. It's address says Waynesville, but it's actually more in Maggie Valley than Waynesville, off 276, exit 20 off I-40. The drive out to the house is fun, on curvy roads, and the driveway is a bit tricky, but we LOVE that it's way up and on 10 acres of land. We are about 20 minutes, give or take, from Maggie Valley, so to us, it's not too far out. Besides, we love to just hang out on the deck and cook at the house, because the VIEW is amazing!!! I've stayed here many many times now, and if the owners ever decided to sell it, I would try to buy it in a heart beat. It's really that perfect.

The kitchen is huge; lots of room for cooking with family and friends. The fire pit with hot tub make it a great place to just hang out and relax. We've heard the elk from the porch, and we've seen signs of bear there, too. It really is a place to get away from all the work/city/stresses of life.

Note: It really does sleep 10, but there are trundle beds, so for kids, you can add two more. Laundry facilities, dish washer, everything you need, except for paper products and soap. We usually bring in all our food, but you can head to Waynesville for groceries, or Maggie, but in Maggie it will cost you a bit more, and you won't find everything you may need. It is so close into the valley, you can beat the crowd and get a good spot to see the elk and hike.

Okay, so I have to say one thing negative. If you aren't in good shape, or have a hard time walking up hills, be aware that the walk from the driveway to the house can be a doozy, especially if you are bringing lots of things. My husband and I have no issues, but even for us, as avid hikers, we still are out of breath when done. We worked out that a cooler with wheels makes it easier.

I highly recommend this home to anyone. But please, take care of it, because I hope to own it one day. :)

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Love the Smokies!

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time at this home. We have been renting from Shelda for years and have stayed in many of her log homes. Each one has it's own special characteristics. If you want privacy, this one is for you! Love it up in those mountains! Shelda and her team make everything special for you!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • 3 Night Minimum - Weekly Discount
  • US Dollars
  • Please call our office for additional options on Rates and Dates