Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Log Cabin On 5 Private Acres, Gated Community With River Access

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Our cabin is located on a 5 acre wooded property with two creeks running through it. It is very private yet close to many attractions. With 3 bedrooms and two baths, full kitchen with all needed kitchenware, a 6 person family can feel right at home. You can walk to the Green River where you can swim and fish or walk the trails on our property. Easy access year round so you wont be snowed in or out, yet only 1 hour from Sugar and Beech mountains for your day ski trips! In addition, the Tryon International Equestrian Center is only 4 miles away.

Roberto Carballo
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2018

Why Roberto Carballo chose Green River Highlands

Since we arrived here on vacation for the first time, we fell in love with the area. It is quiet, natural and gives us a feeling of tranquility and health. We also get to enjoy the many activities in the area without having to go too far. We will eventually retire here so we want all guests to feel welcome and take care of our place which we love so much!

What makes this cabin unique

This location is centrally located to many of the attractions and unique places in Western North Carolina yet it is in an area called the "thermal Belt" due to its great weather and accessibility year round. You can go snowskiing in the winter just an hour and a half away, then come back to mild winter weather on the same day. Zip Lining, hiking, horseback riding, mountain biking as well as city life in Asheville or Charlotte are all within an hour to hour and a half drive. Some of these activities are less than half hour or a few minutes drive.


Green River Highlands Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Basketball court available in the playground area.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Log Cabin On 5 Private Acres, Gated Community With River Access
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews

Never Again

  • 1 of 5

We where very disappointed. We arrived around 4 pm and the house was cold 52 degrees inside, it was warmer outside(56) We got the heat turned on and as the house warmed up. The smell was terrible, like dogs or something in that vein, which in-turn set off our allergies. As the night went on the smell intensified to the point that my wife had an Asama attack. I had to get up open the windows for fresh air so she could breathe. The beds were not made and the sheets we finally found did not fit. To make a long story short we rented the place for 3 days but due to the smell setting off our allergies we left after the first night. There were other issues such as the furniture has a smell and feels like you are sitting on a board- etc. Worst place we have ever stayed !!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was a total surprise to us. I called the renter the day before to make sure when he was arriving and to set myself at his disposal for anything he needed, everything was fine and did not hear from him again. We keep constant communication with our renters and have not had bad reviews in the past, we try and keep the place updated and have it cleaned on a continuous basis. if there was a problem and we would have been informed, we would have done whatever it took in order to correct it. We don't feel this was a fair assessment of our property, since we were not even informed of any issues at the time. In addition, we have been continuously updating our property with some new furniture, bathroom floors were redone and a new roof was installed all in 2017. Towels and linens were also recently replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Over all the house was roomie. The location was quiet. easy to find.

  • 3 of 5

Upon arrival the kitchen smelled like dead fish. Turned out the dish washer had standing rank water in the bottom of it. The owner was notified and it took 2 days to get it pumped out. The dishwasher was supposed to be replaced but that never happened. The TV service sucked and had NO local channels. The ad said the house had wifi. Turns out the wifi was secured with a pass code that the owner was very reluctant to give us. Then when we finally got the pass code, come to find out only ONE person could use it at a time. There were partial rolls of toilet paper on the racks and only one spare replacement roll. The refrigerator had all kinds of left over food in it and the coffee maker had used moldy grounds in it. I had to trim tree limbs on the sides and overhead of the driveway and turn around to keep from scratching our truck sides and roof. As a guest I don't expect to have to make the beds for the first time either. It is unfortunate that the property is being managed from Florida. Local management would be better equipped to see that these small items would be properly performed. Aside from poor management, the house itself was very accommodating.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the first time in over 10 years we have had any negative review, this is not usual. The dishwasher apparently got clogged and produced the smell however, the next day we had someone over to clean it up and assess the situation, the dishwasher has since been replaced. We were in constant communication with the guest and worked to get everything taken care of promptly, however, some of these items were not told to me by the guest until I saw this review, therefore we would not know to correct them Lastly, we have Dish Network including all the premium channels such as HBO, Showtime etc. but there are really not many local channels in the area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

a great cabin nestled in a quiet landscape

  • 5 of 5

Very much enjoyed our stay at this house. Quiet, peaceful with a pretty landscape.

House had all we needed too in the kitchen to make home meals. Owner was available when I needed to ask questions. Appreciated this. Will be calling again in the future.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Social Circle, GA

Closest to TIEC

  • 5 of 5

Will keep coming back! Closest neighborhood to TIEC making it easy to go back and forth to the shows. Big enough to share with friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Social Circle, GA

Nice cabin

  • 5 of 5

This is a nice comfortable cabin. Owners are great to work with and everything was easy. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5

Everything was as described, the owner is very friendly and helpful. Peaceful, scenic location...wi-fi would be a plus.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $200
Property Damage Insurance $59

Please confirm rates prior to booking, rates are subject to change.
We are flexible in terms of dates and special requests. If you would like to reserve for odd dates
or long term, please let us know.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.