Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Offering Discounts on available dates in September and October

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths2
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Home, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths and 2 Half Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Villa Jammin Gecko, is a brand new (construction completed in April 2015) 3 story custom beachfront estate with 5 bedrooms and 7 baths, located directly on a beautiful sandy beach over looking the Caribbean sea in Placencia, Belize.

Ground Floor features:

3 large bedrooms each with private baths, formal entry area and large game room with built in wet bar, pool table and large covered patio over looking pool and ocean.

2nd Floor features:

A huge open kitchen with island breakfast bar, large open dinning room, two large outdoor covered and open patio / dinning area one off the off kitchen over looking the Placencia Lagoon and Maya Mountains and the other overlooking the pool and ocean. Also on this level is a large private guest suite over looking ocean complete with its own private covered patio overlooking pool and ocean.

3rd Floor features:

The top floor is a massive private master suite and bathroom, with oversized jetted tub, outdoor shower and huge covered and open patios over looking both the ocean and the lagoon and mountains.

A detached garage and staff quarters is also located on the property.

Our level of quality and customer service can be verified by reading the reviews on our other two Gecko properties VRBO #'s 502818 and 286157. Homes can sleep up to 36 when combined with listing 502818 and 286157 located next door on the beach which is ideal for weddings or large family gatherings.

We are located just 1 mile south from the Placencia Hotel, 1/2 mile north of the Belize Ocean Club and 1 mile north of Maya Beach Bistro. The home is uniquely located in upscale area that provides for a very private beach setting, yet it is close to fine dining and other upscale resorts in an exclusive section of Placencia, just 10 minutes from Placencia Village and air strip.

Other features of the home include:

Privacy Fence with driveway gate.

Home is decorated with local art, fully furnished and outfitted with all brand new EVERYTHING.

Custom high end construction and finish out, all high end natural stone flooring throughout with no carpet in home.

Onsite professional staff that live on site in detached staff house

Following items are INCLUDED with rental:

CONCIERGE SERVICE

DAILY MAID SERVICE

24 HOUR CARETAKER

PRIVATE CHEF (3 days included with weekly rental)

USE OF NEW 4 SEAT GAS GOLF CART

ONSITE LAUNDRY AND WASHING OF GUESTS CLOTHING BY ONSITE STAFF

USE OF KAYAKS, PADDLE BOARDS AND BICYCLES AT HOME

USE OF PLACENCIA HOTEL POOL

TRANSFERS TO/FROM PLACENCIA AIRSTRIP

WI-FI WITH HIGH SPEED INTERNET AND FREE PHONE SERVICE TO USA AND CANADA

Bedroom Setup:

Master Suite Third Floor - 1 King bed and 2 Chairs w/ Pull Out Twin Sleepers

Bedroom 1 First Floor - 1 Queen

Bedroom 2 First Floor - 1 Queen

Bedroom 3 First Floor - 1 Queen

Bedroom 4 Second Floor 2 - Queen

Gameroom First Floor - 2 Banquettes, Twin Size

1 Pack and Play (crib) and 1 Portable High Chair Booster Seat

**DISCLAIMER***

We only have linens for the above mentioned beds and do not have any foldaway beds.

More Details

Property Manager
Talia Walton
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

About Talia Walton

Property designed, built and managed by Texas couple that have been visiting and building in Placencia since 2001.

On site staff are a very friendly young couple that speak great English and make you feel at home. They are extremely professional, trust worthy and guests can arrange for wife to baby sit, if they want to leave smaller children to go diving or enjoy a great meal out.

Talia Walton purchased this house in 2015

Why Talia Walton chose Placencia Peninsula

Jammin' Gecko is located in heart of some of the best saltwater fly fishing in the world as well as world class diving and snorkeling on the 2nd largest coral reef system in the world. The now fully paved 26 mile Placencia road makes getting on and off the peninsula by car a much more enjoyable and faster experience, thus making access to the rain forest, Mayan ruins, cave tubing and other attractions in the jungle easily accessible.

Being the 6th home we have constructed, Jammin' Gecko will have all the amenities a family or group of friends could want in their vacation rental.

High end finish out with use of local hard woods, all natural stone flooring and attention to detail inside and out. Third floor master suite provides the ultimate in privacy and amazing views of both the ocean and the mountains. While the home has high end efficient and quite air-conditioning it was designed to open the windows and doors to take advantage of the cool ocean breeze.

Besides the fabulous residence you will be staying in, PLACENCIA OFFERS THE WHOLE BELIZE EXPERIENCE!

What makes this house unique

On-site staff, daily housekeeping with laundry service, security, chef provided (for every 2 days of rental, receive the one day of the chef - will prepare 3 meals per day), golf cart, kayaks, paddle boards and bikes are all included.

Amenities

Plantation House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
    Bathroom 7 - toilet
    Master Ensuite - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • Rooms have large private baths with walk in shower and use of high end natural stone throughout.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Suite - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Game Room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 2 Twins
  • Master Suite sitting area includes two large sleeper chairs. Perfect for younger children. Large private bedrooms with resort style private baths in each room. Each room has it own controlled A/C unit.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Ask owner about onsite chef services included with weekly rental rate.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Offering Discounts on available dates in September and October
average rating of 4.8974357 based on 39 reviews
5

We had a great week with family and friends for our first trip to Belize

  • 5 of 5

We had great weather all week. The house was unbelievable. We felt spoiled with the daily laundry and cleaning service. Our chef Manuel was amazing. Great location as a base camp for our excursions. Really a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible in every way!!

  • 5 of 5

Upon arrival we were treated with a welcome cocktail and a tour of the house....amazing is a mild understatement! The place is immaculate from top to bottom and the staff has every detail covered. The paddleboards, sea kayaks and snorkeling equipment will keep you entertained for days on end. Should you require a little variation just jump in the provided golf cart and hit any of the neighboring restaurants, bars, bowling ally, etc. All within a mile! I recommend this place as well as Vision Properties immensely!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Do NOT Trust the Chef

  • 2 of 5

I traveled to Placencia with a group of 18 and rented two of the Gecko properties. Ultimately everyone had a wonderful time. The properties are amazing, and the town/area is picturesque. However, the chef knowingly over charged for provisions (refused to supply actual receipts) and was seen on multiple occasions taking our groceries and leftovers home. He would also spend his down time "hanging out" in the house (playing pool, drinking, etc.). He lied to us on many occasions about safety issues, and invited his relatives to the house multiple times to try and sell wares to our group (very aggressive and would not leave the property when asked). It was a very uncomfortable situation, and left everyone in our group feeling very uneasy about the security at the house.

We were also unable to use the kayaks and SUPs as there were no paddles. I realize things happen when traveling abroad, however, at this price point, I expected more. I will absolutely return to Placencia, but will not stay at any Gecko properties in the future. Very disappointing.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The owners and management of this Villas did everything possible to make things right for this group. While the chef maintains and did not overcharge them he was put on notice and the Crowley's were refunded the amount the felt they were overcharged. Their food cost for breakfast, lunch and dinner was less than $15 per person per day they had chef service. Their concern was that he took leftovers; the chef said he was told he could have leftovers but the guests say they did not. Also, while we were short on paddles for the SUP's and Kayaks the staff could have located more had they asked. At the time there were quite a few missing but they have since been over supplies to ensure there are plenty. As seen by all our other review on all properties we maintain a high standard and succeed in satisfying almost all our guests. Sometimes things do go wrong and we strive to remedy issues as soon as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing Girls' Week in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from our amazing girls' week and I just can't say enough about how gorgeous this property is. The home is pristine and the staff take great care of their guests. The Chef prepares amazing meals and the small village (5 minutes by golf cart) has wonderful restaurants to enjoy on the days without the chef. We recommend Mangos and the Maya Bistro. Access to the Placencia Hotel pool is an added bonus for social happy hours. The excursions we enjoyed were the Zipline and River Tubing tour and the Waterfall tour. Soooo amazing and we highly recommend all 3 of these excursions. If you book the Zipline and River Tubing before you get to Belize, you can save $20 per person. This part of Belize is rural and full of untouched beauty. The property is very relaxing and we even had massage therapists come to the house for 90 minute massages. Visiting Placencia is easy by taxi and the staff will help you get that all arranged. We went to Tipsy Tuna and Barefoot Bar and really enjoyed the love music on the beach. I recommend having the fridge stocked with food and beer by staff before you arrive as it is very convenient and the local grocery stores don't have much to choose from. Be sure to purchase any liquor you desire from the Duty Free shops at the airport. The small plane ride to Placencia from Belize City is pretty hot (AC kicks in while in flight but take off and landing are pretty hot) and can be a little rough so be sure to dress in cool clothes.... ladies put your long hair up for additional comfort. The flight is quick (30 minutes) and allows for more time at the gorgeous home so we recommend it. Overall, this has been one of my very favorite Carribean/C.A. Vacations. It's not a party vacation, more of a a relaxing vacation in a beautiful location. The home can easily accommodate all ages and the 7 bathrooms make it very convenient and easy for everyone to have their own space. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation with family or friends, you will not be disappointed with any of the Gecko properties. Thank you for an amazing week Jammin Gecko, we hope to return next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Pittsburgh
5

Fantastic Home for Adventurous Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Jammin Gecko for two weeks and the house was perfect for our needs. We had five couples and each bedroom had a private bath. Additional 1/2 baths are included. The service you receive at the Jammin Gecko is above and beyond anything we have experienced in past rentals. Three meals per day for three days, daily cleaning/laundry service, and concierge service. Mabel, Domingo, and George were very attentive and yet not obtrusive. I can't say enough about their fantastic service. Hanging out at the pool was a frequent activity and ideal size for our group and the grounds were impeccably kept. We felt completely safe and secure at this location and the general area was also very safe. The location is 25 minutes to downtown Placencia by car and almost all of the adventure trips were within one hour. Diving is slightly expensive but worth the extra costs, They all included lunches at a private island. Expect a 1 hour trip to most dive sites. The hiking and zip lining was fantastic and if you are in good shape and enjoy some adventure take the Antelope trail in Mayflower Nature Reserve to the top to a beautiful natural pool for a swim. My wife and I would rate this as our best trip in a long list of other places we have visited. The stay at JM was a big part of what made this trip so memorable.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect vacation home

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home with three other families for a Spring Break getaway. The house exceeded our expectations. Five bedrooms, each with private bath, allowed everyone their privacy. The common spaces were comfortable and perfect for socializing. There is a second floor living room plus ground floor game room so the teens could have their own space and we didn't have to hear their music! We chose to put all the kids in the upstairs master and each couple had their own bedroom. The outdoor pool with lounging area was a big hit.

I strongly recommend renting a car, as the area with shops and restaurants is about 40 minutes by golf cart.

I cannot say enough about the staff. They were professional, friendly, and very helpful. The housekeepers did our laundry each day. Javier and Mabel checked in on us every day to see that we had everything we needed. The chefs prepared a traditional Belizian breakfast, lunch, and dinner three days when we were there. All meals were fantastic.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
"Best food in Belize! Be sure to try the shrimp and grits and bloody mary for breakfast."
Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Placencia
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Placencia Hotel
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Placencia
Nearest Motorway
14 Miles
Southern Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Maya Beach Bistro

Private secluded beach, close to three of the best restaurants on the Peninsula, fish or watch sunset over lagoon and mountains from dock on lot across street.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $700

**Weekly rate applies only to Sat to Sat stays**
Rates include daily maid service, chef 3 days on weekly rental, use of golf cart and kayaks at the home.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties