Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Canal Front with Private Dock, Across Street from BEACH & Golf Carts!

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9-11)

Look no further!! We are in the center of it all AND you can have it all- beach and canal!! This house is truly the best location on the island and allows easy access to all the island's activities! We are a canal front home with a private dock, across the street from the beach, next to the tennis courts, across the street from olympic pool and shopping! We are less than a 100 yards from the beach access which has sand regardless of the tide! (This is an incredible bonus considering some the beach front homes don't have any beach during high tide or have a huge hike to actually get to the water) We also have 2 golf carts included in the rental!! We now have WiFi!! Perfect home!

Once you visit our home you will want to return! This home has generations of love and laughter. It has an open floor plan so you can talk to the chef while sitting on the back porch overlooking the marsh! Downstairs you can follow a family tradition and have an oyster roast in the fire pit!

ADVENTURE/ACTIVITIES: If you feel the need to venture further, you can take one of the four seater golf carts INCLUDED IN THE RENTAL and go to two different wonderful golf courses, a marina, five different restaurants, several pools, and a fitness center!

You can also explore the island on the quiet roads and extensive bike trails. There is a lot of wild life to be seen including alligators, pelicans, osprey, dolphins, crabs, and a lot of deer! There are also many great shells to be found on the beach. It is like your own little mini zoo!

If you wish to get intimately involved with wildlife, you can bring home dinner by going crabbing and fishing off our dock. You can also bring your boat and launch it at the marina or another close public launch.

Fripp also offers Camp Fripp, a children's recreation center where the kids can explore the island while mom and dad golf, play tennis, or just sit by the pool. There are organized activities for the older kids as well.

ISLAND FACTS: Fripp Island is a pristine 3000 acre private, gated island 19 miles outside of Beaufort, South Carolina. The island has three and a half miles of beautiful beaches. Several movies have been filmed on the island including Forrest Gump, Jungle Book, and The Prince of Tides. The authors Pat Conroy and Cassandra King choose to call the island home.

HOUSE INFO: This four bedroom, two bathroom home has an outdoor covered porch and an enclosed sunroom. There is a king in one room upstairs and a queen in the other room. Downstairs, one room has a double and a twin and the other has a queen. The pull out queen is in the sunroom which has a door to shut it off from the rest of the house. ALL OF THE ROOMS NOW HAVE A TV!!! There is a wonderful view of the canal with a private dock. Downstairs there is a screen porch with an enclosed charcoal grill, a ping pong table, and of course a washer and dryer. The kitchen has all of the essentials and then some. The downstairs bathroom has been remodeled and updated. You will surely want to enjoy it!

The house was originally intended to be a fishing camp. The downstairs was going to be for all my Grandpa's rowdy friends. The upstairs was supposed to be for the more refined guests! That being said - YOU HAVE TO GO OUTSIDE TO GO FROM THE UPSTAIRS ROOMS TO THE DOWNSTAIRS ROOMS. Some people find this charming. Some find it bewildering. I like to escape downstairs!

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Marcie Hansen
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Marcie Hansen

This house was built by my grandprents in the 1960's. It has been a family haven ever since. My parents own it now. We have family vacations there once a year where we boat, swim, crab, bike, golf cart and get into all sorts of trouble!! I rent the house for them and remember visiting my Grandmother there when I was a kid. She made the craziest food and we had to eat it without complaining! I still can't eat cold soup!! We have so many family memories there, it is a vital part of our lives. We love it when people rent the house and develop some of their own memories!

Marcie Hansen purchased this house in 1965

What makes this house unique

This map doesn't show the canal for some reason. it is there right behind the house! Fripp Island is like any other place in the world. It is an experience you won't forget!!

Amenities

Fripp Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (1), Pack -n- Play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 5 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
VCR (with a lot of movies), No indoor Smoking, High Chair, Pack-n-play, Crab Pot, Bocce ball, Horse shoes, a Variety of beach toys, bikes (no helmets)

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Canal Front with Private Dock, Across Street from BEACH & Golf Carts!
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
Asheville, NC
5

A home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

We have rented several houses on FI in the last couple decades and this is our 'go to' house! We don't even search online anymore.

The location on the island is perfect. The water levels change up and down the beach year round with tides, floods and good ole erosion, but this house ALWAYS has plenty of beach to play on!

The beach club is also right across the street w/ pools, shopping and take out food.

You also get the bonus of the private dock, which is great when you don't feel like packing up the whole kit n kaboodle to haul to the beach!

I don't really need to add that having the 2 golf carts included is a bonus you don't find at all houses.

The kitchens VERY well appointed, you really don't need to bring anything from home (incl, coffee pot, crockpot, mixer, fry daddy etc)

It might not be the fanciest house on the 'resort' island, but it is always CLEAN and spacious enough for a variety of types of groups. (family, girls trip, fishing trips)

I saw a review on the problematic wifi? And its true, thats how it is all over the island. There is a land line phone there too-in case of emergency.

We can't recommend this house enough!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review. We love Fripp as well! We look forward to seeing you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Asheville North Carolina
5

November boys retreat

  • 5 of 5

We found this home to be extremely comfortable, well stocked and conveniently located.The canal dock was a big hit for fishing and hanging out in the evening.The golf carts and bikes made getting around the island easy and enjoyable.Beach access across the street was also nice.Island amenities including 2 golf courses were a big draw as well. The rear porch marsh view was stunning.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Central Florida
2

Not exactly what I expected

  • 2 of 5

Pros: Have your own dock, location of the house is right across the street from beach access, short walk to nice big pool, close to business center and fitness center, the grill under the home is very nice, nice area that has ping pong table and hand shuffleboard, house is nicely stock and price is right.

CONS: Owner kept saying that she was working on the problems but resolutions came late in the week or not while we were there. First of all internet was not connected when we got there, we had to reboot two times, then it worked VERY sporadically and had to reboot two more times during the weeks stay. When I told the owner of that problem and that I was in school and needed the computer, she suggested I go to business center across the way, only problem was I needed to be online at 6:45 for a class and the business center was closed. Second the tv in bedrooms were cloudy and did not come in clear. Third, the water pressure when you took a shower was lousy. Four, the tub did not drain until you were done with the shower. Five, I was told that there were 2 adult working bike and many children bikes, only one child bike worked and we had to rent others from the Marina. Six, the golf carts were in lousy working condition, when the guy finally came to look at it, mid week, there was a part that needed to be ordered and it would be fixed after we left Fripp. Seven, TWO broken DVD players but they did have TONS of VCR tapes and DVDs.. after many requests, finally a day before we left someone brought over a DVD player. It does say in the contract that the house was supplied with these items, but owner is not responsible if the items do not work and no refund will be given. And so that is what happened.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for renting our home and bringing some items to our attention. We love this home and know beach wear and tear has to addressed regularly. The great news is we were the renters the next week and were able to address all items! My sister brought 4 adult bikes down and they are perfect for a beach ride (just remember to hose off when done :). All DVD and TV's were repaired or replaced. All drains were cleaned out (thanks dad!) The golf carts have new bits and parts that were needed and ready to go! The one item we will add on the renter's information list- is about the internet. We have tried different ways but basically, the service on the island is on island time. When it goes out....we just unplug, wait 10 seconds and plug back. Box is located in living room, behind the brown comfy couch, on the windowsill. With all of this said, we are so happy that you were able to enjoy the beach and the games provided. We have had some mean games of ping pong and shuffleboard while we are down there as a family! It is a magical place and love sharing it with others.....
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3
Matthews, NC
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5

We had never been to Fripp Island before...and what a cool place! So much to do and see. Great for everybody. This house has the best of both worlds....the canal is so peaceful full of wildlife, hang out on the dock and go fishing or relax. The beach is such a quick walk...or bring the golf cart...an added bonus for sure...so fun to just explore the island this way. It was such a treat to have a vacation here...don't pass up the opportunity! The house itself is great..the bedrooms are big and plenty of space to unpack your stuff. Cozy living/ dining area...and our favorite was to hang out on the porch at night. Great house, perfect location...we'll be back!!!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Simply the best

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous home away from home! Wonderful accommodations and decorated so warmly! There is so much room and I can't even think of anything else I could have needed--all was provided, including wifi! So tranquil on the canal and the walk to the beach was easy! With the golf carts, getting around the island was easy and fun. Wildlife-watching at its best, too. I will definitely return and I cannot wait to go back! Highly, highly recommend this home!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Asheville
5

Will Return!

  • 5 of 5

I love this house! The dock on the canal is a wonderful plus. The location on the island is the best. I enjoy sitting on the deck with friends and family, There's plenty of room for all!!!

Will certainly return.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Relaxing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fripp Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer
May 28 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
late summer
Sep 10 2017 - Oct 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
fall
Oct 22 2017 - Dec 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
winter
Dec 4 2017 - Feb 25 2018
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

During the "peak season" the house is rented Saturday to Saturday. During the off season, shorter rentals are great! Prices are negotiable during the off season!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties