Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Old Hickory Lodge, 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18, WiFi, Theater Room, Hot Tub

Bedrooms 4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, Sleeps 18

If you want to experience the serenity and natural beauty of the mountains without being far from restaurants, shops, and attractions, Old Hickory Lodge is for you. The 3-story log home, which can sleep up to 18 people, is located in the quiet, wooded Hemlock Hills community. You can gaze out at trees and the seemingly endless sky from the cabin’s 2 large decks, yet you’re less than 15 minutes from downtown Gatlinburg.

With its wood-planked walls, floors, and ceilings, Old Hickory Lodge is rich with traditional charm. But it also offers plenty of modern luxuries. Generously cushioned seating, for instance, makes the great room an inviting space for watching a favorite show on the 50” flat-screen TV or surfing the web via the free WiFi; in winter the stone-surround fireplace adds a golden warmth that only accentuates the rustic ambiance.

Likewise, the log-style dining table and the kitchen island are a cabin-perfect contrast to the gleaming stainless-steel appliances of the fully equipped kitchen. From the refrigerator/freezer with ice maker to the dishwasher, from the microwave to the blender, Old Hickory Lodge’s kitchen has just about everything you need. The cabin has a park-style charcoal grill outside as well, should you have a hankering for home-cooked barbecue.

The downstairs game room ensures that even if bad weather keeps you all indoors, you won’t be bored. You can shoot pool at the full-size billiard table, challenge each other to air hockey, or watch a movie on an oversize flat-screen TV in the home theater, which has 9 cinema-style seats.

And when the weather clears, you’ll definitely want to hang out on Old Hickory Lodge’s 2 expansive covered decks. Kick back on one of the numerous rockers and listen to songbirds in the morning; enjoy nibbles and cocktails at the bistro table as the sun sets behind the trees. Best of all, luxuriate in the lower deck’s hot tub. For a memory you’ll long cherish, take a soak at night, while the moonlight casts its silver glow and the hooting of owls punctuates the serenade of the whip-poor-wills.

To get the most of a vacation, being well rested is a must. That’s easy at Old Hickory Lodge. The downstairs and the main floor each have a relaxing bedroom with a log-frame queen-size bed, a wall-mounted flat-screen TV, plenty of storage, and a ceiling fan to help lull you to sleep. The other 2 bedrooms are on the top floor. With its king-size bed, fireplace, private bathroom, and flat-screen TV, the spacious master suite practically guarantees sweet dreams. The 4th bedroom can sleep up to 8 people in its pair of queen-size bunk beds. It’s a perfect room for the kids in your group to make their own; it even has its own bathroom and flat-screen TV.

Have additional guests? The sofas in the great room and the game room each convert into queen-size beds. And as well as 4 bedrooms, Old Hickory Lodge has 4 full bathrooms: the 2 en-suite bathrooms on the top floor, another on the main floor, and the 4th downstairs.

While Old Hickory Lodge has just about everything you need for a laid-back, fun-filled stay with family and friends, you’ll definitely want to take advantage of its proximity to the area’s attractions. The cabin is only a half-mile from the Gatlinburg Arts & Crafts Loop, an 8-mile trail of more than 100 galleries, studios, and craft shops. In less than 15 minutes you can drive to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park or to the attractions of downtown Gatlinburg, which include the Guinness World Records Museum, an aquarium, thrill rides, and a tram that heads up to Ober Gatlinburg Ski Area and Amusement Park.

Old Hickory Lodge just might be the site of your best vacation yet. So book your stay today… before someone else beats you to it!

More Details

Property Manager
Jackson Mountain Homes
Member since: 1996
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018


Gatlinburg Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom # 1 (1 King), Bedroom # 2 (1 Queen), Bedroom # 3 (1 Queen), Bedroom # 4 (2 Bunk Beds), Extra Bedding (2 Sofa Sleepers)
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting


Good! 3.8/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
30% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Old Hickory Lodge, 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18, WiFi, Theater Room, Hot Tub
average rating of 3.8 based on 10 reviews

Awesome House!!

  • 3 of 5

I gave it 3 stars only because the management company is too big for itself. We were there the week after Christmas when it was soooo cold and even snowed us in one day. We arrived on Dec 27 and on Dec 28 realized the heat downstairs was not working. I called and they called me back to return their call. We were up in the mountains with no cell service, when we got back it was 5:30 and I returned the call. I was sent to 4 different people then placed on hold for over 15 minutes. I finally hung up. The downstairs became uninhabitable with the extreme temperatures. It was 40 degrees downstairs. We were only able to use the game room the first night we were there. We had 7 adults and 4 children and had to double up in the other rooms so we could sleep. I called again on Sunday when it got really cold, twice. They finally came out and left us a space heater. It got up to 45 with the space heater. We absolutely loved the house but there are problems within the management company. I have used VRBO for over 20 years, this is the first time I have had these kind of problems. Some suggestions, rug inside door for snow on shoes, maybe some bean bag chairs for the livingroom for when you have as many people as we did. Also, a small table in the bathrooms to put hairdryers and makeup on, because the vanities are so small. Really disappointed with the kids we had that we couldn't use the game room due to uninhabitable temperatures.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Susan, we are pleased you found Old Hickory Lodge an awesome house! It is our goal to meet guest expectations upon arrival. Sometimes do to unforeseen circumstances, such as the HVAC unit going out, we fall short on expectations. We were able to compensate you for these unusual circumstance. Your additional suggestions are great and we have passed them along to the owner. On your next stay in the Smokies, we hope you will stay with us again, giving us the opportunity to exceed all expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home away from home!!

  • 5 of 5

I couldn’t have asked for a better place for my children and family to spend Christmas. Everything was clean and fully stocked. The Christmas decorations were also beautiful. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shenita, thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your Christmas in the mountains at Old Hickory Lodge. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful cabin, but feels like bargain basement accommodations

  • 2 of 5

The cabin is big and pretty to look at, but every time we turned around, we noticed how cheaply things were done. First of all, the pillows are TERRIBLE. Second, the queen bunks have a very thin comforter and no blanket. It gets cold in that room because the thermostat is out in the hall, where it's much warmer. There is NO storage space. A small 3 drawer dresser for 8 people in that room? And no storage in the bathroom, either. No hooks to hang towels to dry. The hot tub smelled musty and gross. The pots and pans are extremely cheap and gross-looking. We had an issue with ants. I called the first 2 days and no one came, so I ended up just buying a can of ant spray at the Family Dollar and took care of the problem myself. We had 2 teenage boys sleeping on the pull out sofas and we had to call to request linens for them, which didn't come until the 2nd day. There were only 4 towels in the 2 bunk room. We requested more towels and they never came.

The location is a good 20-25 min from Pigeon Forge and 15-20 from downtown Gatlinburg. There is no view- you look out at trees and cabins across the way.

It wasn't terrible, but I'm sure you can find much nicer accommodations for the money.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Heather, thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your input, as well as all our guest feedback is vitally important as we want all guests expectations to be met upon arrival. We apologies to you that we fell short in our communications and that the issues were not addressed during your stay. On your next stay in the Smokies, we hope you will stay with us again, giving us the opportunity to exceed all expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Property was ok but parking was a mess and cabin is much smaller then pics and description makes it

  • 3 of 5

Cabin is pretty but is smaller then pics make it look. The parking is horrible with all these big cabins right next to each other and no assigned parking. Neighbors on just one side had 6 cars and if you didn't beat people bacj you were forced to try and scramble for a spot anywhere you could find it. Cabins are right next to each other so no real privacy and no real good views to speak of. The cabin itself was ok and ammenities were nice, however the whole thing could use an upgrade. I would suggest looking else where if you want privacy, no worry parking and a bigger cabin if you have a large party.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jerry, thank you for staying with us! We are sorry you encountered parking issues on your stay. We have passed along your suggestions to the owner. We hope you will stay with us again, giving us the opportunity to exceed all expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

super zabawa

  • 5 of 5

klimat i ekipa rewelacja

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mariusz, thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you found the atmosphere great and that you had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3

Beautiful cabin!! Sufficient space for our entire family.

  • 5 of 5

Since we were able to visit during the middle of May, we avoided noise and crowds. We couldn't have chosen a better time to go!! Minutes from Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge and many back roads to admire the beauty.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Darlene, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary





  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

    Booking Fee 4 BR: $99
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 7 nights

    Booking Fee 4 BR-5 BR: 5%
    Charge basis: AD
    For stays between 8 and 365 nights

    Damage Protection 4 BR New: $95
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights

    Housekeeping Fee $150: $150
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights