Located in the 4 star 'Les Balcons' with pool access
- english, french
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Average accommodation, noisy location, bad pool and very awkward check-in
I have stayed more than 10 times before in the Alps and always book apartment / chalet accommodation directly. This is my 3rd trip to La Plagne. This is my worst experience by some margin.
Good points: Accommodation is fine, a bit worn out in places but all that you need for a week's skiing. Location is good, can ski in and out. Great views from the balcony.
Bad points: 1. Accommodation is actually on the ground floor, next to the main walk way to the hotel next door and stair well for the rest of the apartments. So noisy at night and the stairwell door banging all night. 2. Photo is cleverly taken, this is actually a huge block of apartments not just a handful as it looks. Pool and hot tub are not located in this building but in the hotel next door. So they're shared facilities with many many other people. We went in a quiet week, we never queued for 1 lift but still couldn't get in the hot tub as it was always busy, and children under 16 weren't allowed in it.
Worst points: Check-in process was terrible. Instructions only sent to us from the owner in french as a pdf. Had to find a tabac a long way from the accommodation to get the key. We arrived at the Tabac at 5.30pm on the Saturday to get the key and the Tabac guy was very rude and told us, with a smile and a shrug, 'without a signed contract from the owner, you cannot have a key'. We showed everything to him, including the confirmation from homeaway, the 'here is your key' email from homeaway, all the communications from the owner including his email saying 'thanks for completing the contract, have a nice trip', a scan of the contract that we had signed and sent back. But he just said nope, it is impossible for you to have the key, and then served the next customer.
3 upset children and two worried parents starting to think we might have to spend our first night in the car. After not being able to get through to homeaway on the phone, and no response from the owners's email (didn't have a number for him), had to go back an hour later when eventually we were given the key.
The final insult, after cleaning the whole apartment from top to bottom and leaving it in a cleaner state than when we arrived, we were fined EUR 75 from our deposit for 'not cleaning the apartment'. We were sent a photo of a worn out basin plug and a photo of dirt on the floor underneath the back of the sofa that we had never moved.
Do yourself a favour and avoid.
We rent this apartment for 10 years. We have never had so many problems with a vacationer. Mr. Procter did not want to return the contract. We had to raise it many times. When Mr. Procter left, he sent a nice message to my wife. But the apartment was very dirty when Mr. Procter left. I had to call in a cleaning company to rehabilitate the apartment for the following tenants. But when I told him that the apartment was very dirty (with pictures taken by the concierge service), he was very angry and called us a criminal! A bad experience. Fortunately it was the first time in 10 years.
Positive experience, recommended!
We really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was wonderful, just as the listing described. Large kitchen and living room area. Fantastic location - right by the piste, but also in the town near shops, bars & restaurants! Excellent value for money, we would recommend this place for a stay :)
Thank you for your comment which made us very happy.
Tres belle appartement
Nous avons passé de très bonnes vacances. La propriétaire est charmante et fournit des explications très utiles. Je recommande !
Merci beaucoup pour votre gentille appréciation. Au plaisir.
Excellent location in Belle-Plagne. Truly ski in and ski out in a quiet area. Fantastic host, with great communication, very amenable and lots of nice touches. Good for families with kids and/or 2 families.
Would stay again
This apartment is perfectly situated for skiing. We travelled with our two young children and accessing the ski area was really easy even carrying all their gear.
Efficient property in a great location near the slopes. The bedrooms and baths are very nice. A parking space is accessible with the lift. Communication was excellent.
Appartement convivial et très bien
At the foot of the slopes. Departure and arrival on ski.
La Plagne offers exclusive access to its Olympic bobsled track.