Located in Bath, this cottage is in a rural area. Bath Assembly Rooms and Queens Square are local landmarks, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Golf Club. Travelling with kids? Consider Bath Sports and Leisure Centre and Bath Botanical Gardens. Take the opportunity to explore the area for outdoor excitement like cycling.
Bristol International Airport (BRS) - 62 min drive
Restaurants
Lime Tree - 11 min drive
4W Café - 13 min drive
Robbie's Plaice - 19 min walk
Starbucks - 12 min drive
Sports Café - 11 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Stables, Batheaston - sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Stables, Batheaston - sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms?
As of 28 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Stables, Batheaston - sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms on 9 Nov 2026 start from £618, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Stables, Batheaston - sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Stables, Batheaston - sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Stables, Batheaston - sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Stables, Batheaston - sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms located?
This family-friendly Bath cottage is located in a rural location, within 3 mi (5 km) of Kennet & Avon Canal, University of Bath and Bath Golf Club. Bath Sports and Leisure Centre and Bath Botanical Gardens are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We loved our stay in this peaceful cottage, situated on a hill above Batheaston. The accommodation is excellent, with comfortable beds and sofas and well equipped kitchen. A beautifully situated tennis court is just a few feet from the Stables and we were able to use this every day. It is an enjoyable walk along the canal to Bath or a twenty minute bus ride into the city centre. We would love to return.
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
28 Jul 2026
Excellent place to stay
Excellent place to stay.
Excellent. Enjoyed it all.
Lovely and quiet. Close to Bath. Easy to get into City Centre by bus or along the canal. Nice places to eat nearby.
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Thomas F M.
16 Aug 2026
Disliked: Listing accuracy
Just OK, not great value for the cost
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept 2026
Dear Thomas,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're disappointed to hear you didn't find the property good value for money. It is often more expensive through third party channels.
We look forward to seeing you book with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Bolthole Retreats
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Rebecca C.
9 Jun 2026
A nice quiet spot
Stayed here for a few days over half term, during the heat wave. A lovely secluded place, airy and open, with a lush garden space for reading and BBQs. Host popped in a couple of times and was very friendly. Within easy reach of Bath. Would stay again.
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Paul M.
20 Jul 2024
Lovely property, would stay again
Lovely property, clean, comfortable, and everything you could want. Great garden for relaxing in. Would stay again
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Diana A.
26 Feb 2026
Lovely weekend in unusual property
This warm, cozy unusual property was the perfect place to stay in a family break including 5 month old baby (took a thick soft playmat for his comfort on travertine floors).
The aga kept the whole house warm for us and we loved visiting The Gather Cafe in Batheaston as well as the walk into Bath along the canal.
So much recent rain had made tennis court mossy and looking unsuitable for play, but the beautiful woodland surroundings, primroses on the grassy banks and so many birds (including early morning tawny owls) made up for lack of tennis! Wonderful weekend
Planned originally as a trip with additional2 relatives, but due to illness we just travelled as a couple to this great property.Very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Great location for Bristol and Bath.Lovely countryside. Very glad we stayed here!
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2025
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
30 Jul 2025
A peaceful city break
For our international group of friends, The Stables provided a relaxed and flexible living space, just right for our time spent in the centre of Bath. Coming home to a garden full of bird-song amidst the trees and hills above Batheaston was a lovely way to end each day.
Great location to explore Bath and the surrounding areas. Comfortable stable conversion full of character.
Owners make you feel very welcome and were responsive to any query.
Enjoyed playing tennis onsite.
It was a beautiful cottage, Leigh and Matthew as hosts were very gentle and we could use the tenniscourt every day.
Whenever we will visit Bath again we will look for this cottage!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2023
From a partner site
8/10 Good
21 Apr 2024
Excellent but needs more attention
Beautiful property , excellent location, very good customer care.
It only needs some attention to maintenance (the upstairs bathroom was leaking and the hot water runs out a bit too quickly.
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Apr 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Stables, Batheaston. We are very glad to hear that you liked the property and the location. However, we are disappointed to read your feedback regarding the bathroom and the hot water and we have shared this with the owner. The owner wishes that you had reported these issues during your stay as they would have attended the property to fix these for you. They have confirmed that the leaking has been fixed and that the hot water can be boosted on the thermostat.
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
20 Jul 2022
Vacation July 2022
We really enjoy the house, this place is incredible. We spent 10 days surrounded by nature and history. My kids really enjoyed hiking and play with Jambo. An special thanks for Matthew and Leigh for all the recommendation and help!. A place worth knowing. A Lovely house!
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Jul 2022
Hi, we're so pleased to read that you had such a lovely time. We will pass your thanks on to the hosts.
From a partner site
8/10 Good
Wilfred M.
29 Jun 2025
Great place to discover Bath and surrounds
What a beautiful cottage in tranquil surroundings. Our hosts visited to welcome us and we even had fresh flowers to add to our welcome the kitchen was extremely well equipped and utility room although we could not find the clothes aired to dry few items in the sun after long drive to get to the Stables we were so pleased to see tea and coffee there but it would have been great to have had a small carton of just UHT long life milk to instantly make a cup of tea. The shower tap upstairs was very stiff and our friends had difficulty operating it we loved having a bbq on a lovely summers evening . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Jul 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on your recent stay at Stables, Batheaston. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and has been passed on to the owners. The suggestion about providing UHT milk has been taken on board and is currently being looked into. The owners also mentioned they wish you’d contacted them during your stay, as they would have been more than happy to help. They’ve let us know that the clothes airer is stored in the summer house, and they are arranging for the shower tap to be fixed as soon as possible. We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds again soon.
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Cindy B.
8 Jan 2024
A charming stay for Christmas
We loved our time at the Stables. It was specious and well-appointed with an easy and quick drive into Bath. We loved trying the Aga and there was everything you could think of in the kitchen. We especially appreciated the Christmas touches.
The only thing I can think of that would be helpful would be a better explanation of recycling. I wanted to do it correctly, but it's handled differently than in the U.S.
Overall, our visit was perfect and iI'd recommend to anyone.
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Melissa K.
10 Aug 2023
Lovely stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at the Stables, it had everything we needed and couldn’t have asked for more. Matthew was a great host and made sure we were comfortable and was easy to contact if we needed anything. The location is great, peaceful and quiet, and only a short journey into Bath. We had a good couple of days exploring, going into Bath (we booked a taxi for the short journey which was really simple), we did the river boat tour, followed by Sunday lunch at the Bathwick Boatman, which was lovely and we managed to avoid the rain, it was a great day! We also visited Dyrham park the following day which was good too. The fish & chips takeaway from Robbie’s Plaice just down the road from the Stables was good and the breakfast in the Gather Cafe was also very nice. We definitely would recommend the Stables and wouldn’t hesitate to come back in the future.
The house was fine. However..we felt it had been empty for a while. Dust cobwebs on lamps and light fittings.
No light in the walkin wsrdrome. Lights not working on the stepson the outside
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Dec 2024
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at Stables, Batheaston. We’re delighted to hear that you liked the property however sorry to learn about the concerns you’ve raised. Your feedback is incredibly valuable, and we’ve shared it with the owner, who truly wishes you had reached out during your stay. They would have been more than happy to arrange for the housekeeper to address the issues for you. They've let us know they’re already working on fixing the light in the wardrobe and the outdoor lights.
From a partner site
8/10 Good
27 Mar 2025
A comfortable and relaxing break
Generally a good choice.
But we were very concerned about returning to the Stables at night . Outside lights down the steps do not work and the large light on the chimney was intermittent . Quite dangerous.
Never understood the guidance on how to deal with the rubbish - recycled items should go into the small summer house ? But it was impossible to open the door and there was no sign of a recycling bin.
Upstairs felt cramped with the sloping ceilings.
Good selection of crockery and cutlery.
Plenty of cleaning materials.
Nice and warm with plenty of hot water.
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Apr 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Stables, Batheaston. We truly appreciate your feedback and have passed it along to the owners. We understand that you reached out to them during your stay regarding the lights, which are sensor-operated and confirmed to be in full working order. They also mentioned that they provided a torch to assist you.
Regarding the recycling bin, it's located in the summer house, and the owners would have been more than happy to help if you had needed any guidance.
In terms of the upstairs space and ceiling heights, our website listing includes a 3D tour that allows you to explore the property, giving a clear sense of the layout and dimensions. We also mention in the 'Points of Note' that the upstairs bedrooms have sloping ceilings.
My family stayed here during our trip to Badminton Horse Trials. The location was an easy drive to the event. We enjoyed evening strolls thru the fields and woods surrounding the house - amazing views of the valley below. It is also close to pubs, grocery stores, the city of Bath....we had everything we needed! The Aga oven, which seems to be a proud focal point for this listing, wasn't working. The stairs from the driveway were mentioned but downplayed in the listing and were tough for my elderly mother.I probably wouldn't have chosen this house had I known the full picture regarding the stairs. The steep sided ceilings upstairs were tough for my 6'4" husband (actually all of us hit our heads multiple times, lol). But none of that deterred from a wonderful stay!
Stayed 7 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 23 May 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on your recent stay at Stables, Batheaston. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback about the AGA. The owner has let us know that they got in touch with you ahead of your arrival to explain that it wasn’t working at the time, and they’d like to pass on their apologies for any inconvenience this caused. We're pleased to say that the AGA has now been repaired and is back in full working order.
We’re also sorry to hear that your mother found the stairs challenging and that you bumped your head. We’ve taken your comments on board and will make this clearer in the property listing to help future guests. For reference, we do show ceiling heights in the photos to help give a sense of the space.
From a partner site
8/10 Good
13 Oct 2023
The Stables
We stayed in The Stables in June 2022 and were not disappointed with our return visit. The only quibble was lack of a dishcloth/cleaning cloth (worktops and oilcloth need wiping down) and heat from Aga because it was unseasonably warm. Left messages on both contact phones but no reply (from son of named contacts) until midday Tuesday. The very pleasant chap who mowed the lawn on Monday produced a J cloth. Upstairs bedrooms cooler once heaters turned off and the windows and doors left open.
This isn't a complaint but just an observation.
From a partner site
4/10 Poor
28 Oct 2025
The Stables and its owner were not nice
Things and furniture wear and tear. Very old chairs and in a very bad condition. The doucherail felt from the wall before we even could use it. The douche upstairs was also in a bad condition. The lights outside didn’t work so it was very dark because the house is in the wood on a hill with small roads so it was very frightfull. The toilet downstairs was not flushing and we must wait more than a day for the plumber. There are rats in the roof who makes a lot of noise and also frightfull. We found hairs in The douche and between the sheets. The fridges were old and rotten and constantly wet inside. The coffee machine was very dirty and pots and pans out of order and scratched. The owner was not nice. Entered the house when we have diner. No excuse and didn’t say I come back later. He only spike about his own vacation and demand 180,- pound for the old and worn out chair and the doucherail. We did say that the things were very old and still broken when we arrived. We also have mentioned it in the beginning. We have had 2 bad days and nights and couldn’t sleep the night before we have to drive back to Holland.
Our vacation was a very bad experience and we demanded 200,- pound back.
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Vlatko K.
5 Aug 2026
Perfect stay
We had a wonderful stay and couldn’t have asked for a better place to spend our time near Bath. The house was absolutely beautiful, spotlessly clean, and had such a warm and welcoming atmosphere that it immediately felt like a home away from home. Every room was thoughtfully prepared, making our stay both comfortable and relaxing. The attention to detail was evident throughout the property, and everything we needed was provided.
Our hosts were truly exceptional. They were friendly, responsive, and genuinely cared about making sure we had a great experience. Their hospitality made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until the day we left. The location was also perfect for exploring Bath and the surrounding countryside while enjoying the peace and quiet of the area.
We would happily stay here again and would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a comfortable, charming, and well-maintained place with outstanding hosts. Thank you for making our visit so enjoyable!
The Stables was exactly as described. Perfect place for our Christmas in the UK. The kitchen was well equipped, the rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable, the living area was also terrific. And the walk to Batheaston had a nice local pub at the bottom. Who could ask for anything more. And Bath was a picturesque one hour or so walk away along the canal. Thank you Mathew & Leigh
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Jan 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, the owners will be so pleased to read this. We're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at Stables and you enjoyed the walk to Bath along the canal.
We hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again in the future.
From a partner site
8/10 Good
9 Nov 2022
Lovely property in a quiet location
We stayed for 3 nights as a group of 5 adults in August 2022. The property is tucked away in a quiet, rural location on the outskirts of Batheaston. Everything you need is there and it is an excellent base for exploring Bath and the Cheddar Gorge area. The only criticism is that the upstairs bedrooms get very warm, despite having velux windows. Apart from that, everything else about the property was very good.
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Lynne E.
25 Jul 2022
Stables - Perfect
We stayed at the Stables to catch up with family in Bath. Beautiful accomodation and we were made very welcome by the hosts.
It was very clean and well equipped and a fabulous location for visiting Bath and surrounding area. Also able go on walks straight from the house, which was a bonus. Would definitely stay there again.