Located in Banner Elk, this cabin is in the mountains and on the waterfront. Hawksnest Tubing Park and Sugar Mountain Resort are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Grandfather Mountain and The Blowing Rock. Travelling with kids? Consider Tweetsie Railroad and Magic Mountain Mini Golf and Arcade. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, and don't miss out on the ice skating and sledging.
The Greater Foscoe Mining Co. - 2 min drive - 2.1 km
Grandfather Vineyard & Winery - 3 min drive - 1.7 km
Grandfather Mountain State Park - 3 min drive - 2.7 km
Hawksnest Tubing Park - 7 min drive - 5.1 km
Getting around
Tri-Cities, TN (TRI-Tri-Cities Regional) - 92 min drive
Restaurants
Mountain Dog Coffee - 8 min drive
McDonald's - 9 min drive
Town Tavern of Banner Elk - 18 min drive
Blink Elk Tap Room - 17 min drive
Banner Elk Cafe - 17 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Lakeside Mountain Cabin on Seven Devils pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Lakeside Mountain Cabin on Seven Devils?
As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Lakeside Mountain Cabin on Seven Devils on 25 Apr 2027 start from £681, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Lakeside Mountain Cabin on Seven Devils?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Lakeside Mountain Cabin on Seven Devils?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Lakeside Mountain Cabin on Seven Devils?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Lakeside Mountain Cabin on Seven Devils located?
This family-friendly Banner Elk cabin is located on the waterfront, within 3 mi (5 km) of Grandfather Mountain State Park, Hawksnest Tubing Park and Grandfather Vineyard & Winery. Watauga River is 2.6 mi (4.2 km) away.
Reviews
8.0
Very good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We had a group of two families and everybody from my 3yr old to the teenagers really enjoyed themselves. There was so much entertainment at the property nobody said they were bored!
We used this property for an easy commute to the ski businesses in the area. Good breakfast restaurant at the bottom of the mountain and quick access to gas stations and convenience stores.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Feb 2023
Thank you so much for sharing and its our hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
7 guys stayed and worked for a month. The house was beautiful. Everything was perfect for them each had their own bed. The location was perfect to get around town easy.
Stayed 24 nights in Jan 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Apr 2025
We are so grateful for your business and the feedback. Its our sincerest hope to welcome you again to our home in the very near future.
This is a great property for a small family or group. It is cozy and comfortable. The pool table and hot tub are a bit older, but they are working well. I booked this cabin because of these amenities, the price, and the location. The convertible ping-pong table and the arcade one-machine were a great bonus. There are a few renovations and updates needed: a new showerhead in the ground-floor master bath, a working light fixture over the grill on the deck, non-worn-out pots and pans, a properly working dishwasher, and an updated coffee maker. The beds were newer hybrid foam. The verdict was split on the comfort; however, they seemed newer, so they worked well. There is room for two vehicles to park adequately at the property. I recommend staying here for a family of 3-6, and I would again for the affordability and location.
We had 12 people in our group for a long weekend, and this was the perfect spot for hanging out and cooking meals. There were lots of beds and a good kitchen with plenty plates and other supplies. Beautiful decks too! It was unclear what “lake access” meant (we thought we could use the neighborhood club lake access but we were asked to leave because it’s for club members only)
Hot tub was low on water but we ultimately did not use. Stay was excellent and only thing we weren’t aware of was the steep hillside and not much yardage for our dog - might have missed it in the booking but thought there was a backyard of sorts between the house and neighboring pond. Also wasn’t aware of not being able to fish that pond until after the booking but all very minor things - greatly enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you!
The place and view lake side was great , cabin was great . There are some concerns . Living room ceiling fans stopped working .concerns there was a shortage When taking a shower in the upper level it was a concern that water was leaking in the downstairs bathroom room through the light fixture . Also in the low level there was water behind the Tv water was present , the cabin is beautiful , a little dusty overall it was perfect !we enjoyed it so much .
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Al W.
21 Sept 2023
Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Not At That Price
The biggest issue I had was that it was not clean. The garbage can was overflowing with the previous tenant(s) trash and there was a greasy film on every surface of the kitchen. We spent a lot of time recleaning dishes and surfaces just to be able to use the kitchen.
Overall, the cabin is logistically in a good location and has the basic necessities for a rental. I just think the price is too high when you don't maintain the property well.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 17 Nov 2023
Hi Al,
Thank you for sharing. Our apologies that your experiences failed in any way to meet your expectations. Please know that what you stated is not in line with our standards and policies. Each point has been addressed by our Executive Housekeeper with the contractor assigned to clean the home . Again our apologies and its our hope that you will. schedule a revisit and experience the home at its best.
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Hanna K.
21 Jul 2022
Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Do not rent this cabin
I wish I could leave a zero star review. My family stayed at the Lakeside at Hawksnest cabin 1 night - and it was just nasty. The entire cabin was filthy, nothing but the black mold growing! Everything was stained , smelled horrible. After one sleepless night we contacted VRBO and the Carolina Cabin Rentals broker was able to moved us to the real nice place. It was very obvious that Lakeside at Hawksnest was being run by a money greedy owner with no care for upkeep. Please don't rent this cabin. I have plenty of pictures just showing the filth
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jul 2022
Hi Hanna,
We are thrilled that we were able to ultimately ensure that the remainder of your stay was an enjoyable one. However after re-locating you an inspection of the home was completed and no black mold was discovered nor seen. What we discovered was a smell that is fairly common in homes here in the high country and other areas located with medium to high levels of humidity. The overwhelming majority of the time opening doors and windows in conjunction with setting the air conditioner will remove this smell rather quickly, such was what we found here. Again we are very happy that we were able to place you in a home that you enjoyed and met your expectations however we do feel that the picture presented of the home and the owners is unfair. Lakeside at Hawksnest has provided a wonderful backdrop for hundreds of families looking to create cherished family memories.
From a partner site
2/10 Terrible
Shirley B.
15 Oct 2020
Worst experience with Rental home
I wish I could give 0 stars. Too many issues to describe with the limited amount of words available. First of all, we couldn't get in the home with the code provided. We called and it took 35 minutes before we could enter. Bought firewood and starters only to conclude the fireplace was not vented properly and smoke was so bad we had to open the doors for a bit. (Lots of black smoke over the fireplace). The hot tub had a very bad smell, perhaps mold. We couldn't use it at all. There is a tree by the front window that needs trimming and even in the daytime, it blocked any sun making the home dark. Outdoor furniture is so soiled we couldn't enjoy the experience of being outdoors and there is absolutely no other place to be outside. There was no banister going downstairs which is a hazard. We had booked a three night stay but left after two days thoroughly disgusted.
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Oct 2020
We are certainly disheartened to hear your experiences at the home. We really would have loved the opportunity to have come out and tried to rectify some if not all of any issue that caused you any stress on your vacation. Customer Service is one of our founding tenets and as such we would have relished the opportunity to have rectified any if not all of the problems you reported. Rest assure someone from our office will be contacting you to discuss this further. Please accept our utmost apologies. Expect our call soon.
The pictures show a completely different cabin that what you stay in. Why would I bring two dogs where there is no where for them to run? You have to walk them on a road for potty time. The cabin was DISGUSTING. I called as well as my wife to the rental place with no help. The day we arrived, we opened the door and was hit with an awful smell that wasn’t just cabin musk (the “master” had its own foul smell). Yes, I know it’s pet friendly, this smell wasn’t pet scents. The trash can was covered in grease or oil that I would’ve had to go buy special degreaser to clean. (We did go buy fabreeze and a plug in because the smel was terrible). The dishwasher was FULL of dishes, I suppose it was our job to put those away? The hot tub wasn’t in a good location, nor was it clean. After speaking to two different agents at two separate times with no help, we gave up. Now I will say they offered to come clean it, but we didn’t feel comfortable having a stranger in the cabin while we were there or not there, especially having our dogs there. And judging by the lack of response, who’s to say they would’ve even showed up during our visit. We sent pictures to a random number we were asked to send pictures to with no response. I am not impressed with the cabin as well as the rental agency.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Aug 2023
Thanks Branndon for sharing. Our deepest apologies that your experiences in any way failed to meet your expectations. Upon reading your feedback our Quality Control Teams conducted a deep inspection on the home and rectified a number of issues. Your feedback is critical in our endeavors to provide the very best in a vacation rental experience
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Dan H.
7 Jun 2022
Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
Overall good experience...
Overall, we enjoyed this cozy cabin for a family vacation. The location and condition of the cabin were great. There were small issues that kept our trip from being more enjoyable: there were substantial leaks from the top floor bathroom when using the shower, there were no batteries in most of the TV remotes and/or they were not working, the dishwasher was still full with the previous guests dishes, the ping pong net was broken, and there were no garbage bags for the trash can in the kitchen. Overall a good experience, but attention to some details could have made it better.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2022
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Nube
3 Feb 2022
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
Super nice property with a good pond view out back. Extremely steep hills to get to, I have AWD but would've needed chains if it snowed more. Don't disregard chain warning. Pull out beds can be more cramped than it looks but it fit perfect for 8. Owner communicates in normal time and allowed us to purchase one more day. Would stay again
The cabin was fantastic! The area was beautiful!
Highly recommend for any occasion!
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Eliel A.
2 Aug 2021
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Need improvement
Overall the cabin was ok. However the staff needs to pay more attention to cleaning the property, when we open the home it smell like mildew, there is mold on king master bath windows, the hot tub was not hot enough and cloudy water, there is not a lot of lighting in the kitchen we were cooking almost in the dark, the main leaving area the ac gave us issues to start. In the main floor bathroom the rug was clean but it had pet pee stain, there is leak coming from the main floor to the laundry room. This issues did not make our stay 100% satisfied.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021
Verified review
8/10 Good
teresa b.
20 Jul 2021
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Nice quiet get away,
We loved the location. The cabin could use a good cleaning and updated pictures on VRBO. I was expecting a good view of the pond but the yard has grown up so the you only have a few glimpses.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2021
Verified review
8/10 Good
Evelyn D.
18 Jul 2021
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Nice but the pictures on the site are old
The place was ok. The location was good because we weren’t too far from family friendly activities. To get to downtown Boone was like a 15-20min ride. The home could use a few upgrades. Under cabinet lighting would help with meal prep. It was so dark I couldn’t see what I was cooking. The shelves where pots were stored had fallen down. The bath tub didn’t drain and the floors of the tub and showers was stained.
Maintenance issues missing light damaged furniture dirty cookware and previous tenants garbage after reporting never removed. We cleaned up after bear nuisance. Took our and previous occupants trash to the recycling center