Durham is home to this holiday home. Streets at Southpoint Mall and Brier Creek Commons are worth checking out if shopping is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's popular attractions can visit Durham Performing Arts Center. Sarah P. Duke Gardens and Mary Lou Williams Center for Black Culture are also worth visiting.
Raleigh-Durham International Airport (RDU) - 20 min drive
Restaurants
Starbucks - 11 min walk
Big Bad Breakfast - 14 min walk
Biscuitville - 19 min walk
Rockin' Rolls Sushi Express - 2 min drive
Chipotle Mexican Grill - 13 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is Duke Hospital House pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total). Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Duke Hospital House?
As of 27 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Duke Hospital House on 8 Nov 2026 start from £250, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Duke Hospital House?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Duke Hospital House?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Duke Hospital House?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Duke Hospital House located?
Situated in Durham, this holiday home is within a 10-minute walk of Durham VA Medical Center, Duke University and Duke University Hospital. Sarah P. Duke Gardens and Duke University Chapel are also within 1 mile (2 km).
Reviews
8.0
Very good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
House was perfect location to hospital and surrounding areas. Immaculate cleaning. Laundry worked well as did all appliances. Would like to see grab bars in bathrooms. Overall it worked out very well for us and would book again!
The owners try hard to keep this property well maintained and it shows. Listing and pictures was accurate and the owner was responsive to any inquiries and/or concerns that we had.
Perfect location for graduation at Duke, 8 minute Uber ride. Close to hospitals and wonderful strip mall full of great places to eat.
Very minimally decorated and needs living room furniture updates, however, served our needs for clean space for sleeping and great back for pets to potty.
Location perfect. Washer/dryer didn’t work but found out after trying to do a load (spin cycle broken), clothes were soaked and that’s when we discovered the dryer was broken too; cockroach in the kitchen; bathroom light in primary bedroom didn’t turn off. Communication with the host was poor.
Stayed 8 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Kelly D.
4 Dec 2024
Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Location was nice but house needs work
We rented the house as it was close to Duke University Hospital. The house needs some updating and was somewhat clean but there were ants in the kitchen. The owners were responsive. We booked the home for a week but we left three days early since we needed a cleaner environment for my husband’s recovery. I would rent from the owner again but possibly a different property.
Stayed 9 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Dec 2024
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you found the location convenient and appreciated our responsiveness. It’s disappointing to hear that your stay wasn’t as comfortable as we strive to provide, especially during such an important time for your husband’s recovery.
We want to assure you that the property undergoes regular pest control, and no issues with ants have been reported during this or prior stays. Had we been made aware of this concern during your visit, we would have addressed it immediately to ensure your comfort.
Your comments about the property’s condition are noted, and we’ll continue to make improvements where needed. We appreciate your understanding and are grateful for your willingness to rent from us again in the future. Please don’t hesitate to reach out if you have specific needs for your next stay—we’d be happy to assist. Wishing your husband a smooth and speedy recovery!
Verified review
8/10 Good
Jay B.
16 Jun 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
The house is conveniently located--plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. I would describe it as a no-frills place to stay which is all we needed. We stayed here for 2-and-a-half weeks while our house was being made ready and it was a good base of operation. I would say the neighborhood is a little rough around the edges and there weren't a lot of things supplied with the house. Internet and TVs all worked well. They accommodated our dogs and a cat for an additional 250. We did have to sign a separate rental agreement.
The yard front and back was a mess. Easy and safe entry. Inside wood floors were clean and shinny. No dirt. The rest of the house was also clean including dishes and towels. Plenty of closet and drawer space. TV was like new, large flat screen and clear. Washing machine and dryer were large, clean and efficient. The best thing about this property was its’ nearness to the hospital.
Stayed 15 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Dec 2021
Thank you for staying with us, it was wonderful to host you!
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Jon A.
12 Oct 2022
Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, location
Disappointed
Floors were dirty with debris and a large half-dead cockroach. Talked to host and they came and cleaned the house. We decided not to stay because we had an infant with us. First impressions are important. Host admitted they were having trouble with one of their cleaners and the property had been vacant for several days. Host needs to inspect the property before guests arrive.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2022
Verified review
6/10 Okay
emilia s.
22 May 2026
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
The beds were amazing, that's the most positive thing.All was as described, EXCEPT internet.We arrive to the house and find there is no internet. We were not notified beforehand.Asked the host about it (I had to ask!!!) and he explained router was faulty, blamed internet provider and said a new router was on-route and should arrive during our stay (which it did not), and simply shrugged it off and said he tried his best and that was all he could do.He did offer to pay for the data if I bought a hotspot and set it up.Honestly "doing the best you can" would've been ensuring the home had internet, AS DESCRIBED, BEFORE guest arrival, so getting that hotspot on his own time/dime and setting it up. I find this reproachable. In this day and age you cannot offer a home with internet and then not provide it. We did go to buy a hotspot at AT&T, set it up, terrible reception in the house and could do nothing but send texts, went to get a second one with Boost Mobile, set that up, also terrible reception in the house, and we gave up.
Great location for checking out Duke and possible grad student housing. Walked onto campus multiple times. Close to freeway. Major cut through so there’s a ton of traffic most of the day, but good windows kept out most of the noise. Fence in back and sides, but not connected to house. Would’ve been nice to have fully enclosed backyard for children and pets. Inside is accurate with pictures.