The Founder - Iconic Rockhouse Cabin!

Photo gallery for The Founder - Iconic Rockhouse Cabin!

A wooden cabin with multiple levels, surrounded by trees in a forest.
A wooden staircase leading to a cabin in a forest.
A hot tub surrounded by a wooden deck and a forest.
A spacious kitchen with a large island, wooden flooring, and a high ceiling with exposed beams.
A covered outdoor area with a grill, seating, and a view of the forest.

Reviews

8.4 out of 10
Very good

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Hot tub on site
  • Toys
  • Barbecue grill
  • Pet-friendly
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View in a map
Campton, KY
  • Place, Graining Fork Nature Preserve
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Natural Bridge State Park
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Red River Gorge Geological Area
    ‪11 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Single Bunk Bed

Bedroom 3

1 King Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Balcony

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Rogers

Rogers is home to this cabin. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Natural Bridge State Park and Red River Gorge Geological Area. Take the opportunity to explore the area for outdoor excitement like rock climbing.
Map
Campton, KY

What's nearby

  • Graining Fork Nature Preserve - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Natural Bridge State Park - 2 min drive - 3.1 km
  • Kentucky Reptile Zoo - 8 min drive - 10.2 km
  • Red River Gorge Geological Area - 11 min drive - 16.0 km
  • Cave Run Lake - 49 min drive - 70.0 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Miguel's Pizza - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪Cliffview Pies & Pints - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Little Caesars Pizza - ‬9 min drive
  • Red River Rockhouse
  • ‪Redpoint Bbq - ‬3 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is The Founder - Iconic Rockhouse Cabin! pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at The Founder - Iconic Rockhouse Cabin!?

As of 29 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Founder - Iconic Rockhouse Cabin! on 2 Nov 2026 start from £391, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at The Founder - Iconic Rockhouse Cabin!?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at The Founder - Iconic Rockhouse Cabin!?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at The Founder - Iconic Rockhouse Cabin!?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is The Founder - Iconic Rockhouse Cabin! located?

Situated in Rogers, this cabin is 0.2 mi (0.3 km) from Graining Fork Nature Preserve and 2.4 mi (3.8 km) from Natural Bridge State Park. Hoedown Island and Cliffview Recreational Preserve are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

8.4

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 11 out of 26 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 10 out of 26 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 4 out of 26 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 26 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 26 reviews

9.2/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

8.8/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

8.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
Great cabin and stay. Location shares the same address as Rockhouse restaurant and that made it challenging to find at first. Steps up to the cabin are very steep and only go halfway up to the porch. Bringing supplies up was a workout.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2026
Response from Management on 19 Oct 2026
Thank you for the great review, Chris! We're glad you enjoyed the cabin and had a wonderful stay with us! We understand that finding some of our more tucked-away properties can be a little tricky. That's why we provide detailed written driving directions in the cabin guide sent to guests as soon as they book, including specific instructions to help locate the property. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the stairs and understand they can be a bit of a workout when carrying luggage and supplies! Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back to the Gorge in the future!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a great stay! Host was wonderful and easy to communicate with, beautiful views and awesome cabin!
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Apr 2026
Thank you so much for your 10/10 rating! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We’d love to welcome you back to any of our RRG Getaways properties anytime.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Ideal location! Comfy beds, huge shower, nice kitchen and a hottub. A lot of stairs, which. We didn’t think about when carrying our luggage. The wrap around deck was nice. Overall, it was a relaxing place to stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Jul 2026
Jenni, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed the location, comfortable beds, spacious shower, kitchen, hot tub, and wraparound deck, and that you found the cabin to be a relaxing place to stay. We appreciate your note about the stairs as well. Due to the beautiful hillside setting, there is a staircase leading from the designated parking area to the cabin. We do our best to be transparent by including photos of the stairs in the listing so guests know what to expect before booking. Thank you for choosing RRG Getaways. We truly appreciate your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to any of our getaway properties in the future.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The cabin was clean and very comfortable.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Apr 2026
Thank you so much for your 10/10 rating! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you choosing RRG Getaways. We’d love to have you back for another getaway anytime.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great stay and great property
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Dec 2025
Thank you so much for your 10/10 rating! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back to any of our RRG Getaways properties anytime.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great cabin in The Red. Cabin had everything we needed as a home base for our family climbing trip. Awesome location 15 minutes from most south crags (next to Rock House is a huge plus), incredible views, clean and easy check in/check out.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Apr 2026
Thank you so much for your 10/10 rating! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We’d love to welcome you back to any of our RRG Getaways properties anytime.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful cabin

This is a serene and quiet place to stay. Wonderful cabin. However, note that there is no microwave and the treck up the hill is excruciating.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Jul 2025
Hey Cheyenne, Thanks for the honest review! There is gravel steps leading up to the cabin, that take about 30 seconds. hopefully our pictures in the listing can help future guests know what to expect. Welcome back to any of our RRG Getaway cabins anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This cabin was awesome! It is private and away from the other cabins nearby which I like. This is the easiest cabin to get to. The climb up the stairs isn’t great but it isn’t terrible either. Nothing to complain about it. I loved this place and will be back!
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 12 Jan 2026
Thank you so much for your 10/10 rating! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back to any of our RRG Getaways properties anytime.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Had a really lovely low key honey moon here. We absolutely loved the chefs kitchen and the wood burning stove. It has large beautiful windows, the only downside is there is no curtains in the bedrooms. I'm bit of a scaredy cat so that gave me anxiety thinking someone could be watching.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Nov 2025
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us — we’re honored to have been part of such a special getaway, and we’re thrilled to hear you loved the chefs kitchen, wood-burning stove, and those big, beautiful windows. It sounds like you created a wonderfully cozy, memorable stay together. We appreciate your note about the lack of curtains in the bedrooms. Some guests enjoy the natural light and forest views, but we understand how privacy concerns can affect comfort. We’ll be reviewing window covering options to ensure the space feels relaxing for everyone. Congratulations again on your marriage, and thank you for sharing your experience. We’d love to welcome you back for an anniversary trip in the future!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great location. We were there to rock climb, and this is central to most of the locations. The house does have a musty smell, but it is a cabin in the woods. The house was clean. The beds were comfortable. The TV in the sitting area is huge. Loved the porch, sat out there most of the time when we were at the house.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 31 Oct 2025
Thank you so much for your 10/10 rating! Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back to any of our RRG Getaways properties anytime.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Weekend at the Founder

We enjoyed our stay at the Founder! I loved sitting on the wrap around deck up in the trees. The inside of the cabin was clean, but the cushions, hammocks and grill were pretty dirty.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Aug 2024
Hey Kellie, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback and will make sure to get those items checked out. Please check out RRGGetaways for your next stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Red river gorge

We had a great time. The cabin was beautiful! Had a great kichen area and the wrap around porch was wonderful. The steep path to the cabin was hard for us to get back and forth but doable. The location was perfect for all the attractions! Overall we had a great experience!
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Aug 2024
Thank you for the wonderful review! We would be happy to host you at any of our RRG Getaways properties anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Short Vacation

Great property, awesome kitchen. Be ready for the steps to the top. :)
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Jun 2025
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can host you again on your next trip to the Gorge!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful lodge

Wonderful stay for our family of six. Close to all the attractions in red river gorge. Mold issue was fixed by our stay but stove pilot is strong and wouldn’t recommend if you have sensitivity to gas smell. Also, steps to cabin are no joke so pack light and no microwave or toaster so plan meals accordingly! Kitchen otherwise beautiful and has everything you could need to feed 12.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Jun 2025
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can host you again on your next trip to the Gorge!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great cabin near Red River Gorge.

Great cabin, convenient location for RRG. Do be aware that accessing the cabin will be difficult for some. The walk up to the cabin is very long, steep and dark. No issues for most people drawn to have for hiking anyway… but people with any kind of mobility issues will not make it up that hill/steps. The hot tub was “ok”… would prefer one that could get above 99 degrees though. Overall, we would return though.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Dec 2024
Hey Scott, thank you for your honest review! We made sure the hot tub can be adjusted normally now. Hope we can host you at RRGGetaways again.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This is a very cool cabin perched on a nice piece of land. Has quite an impressive vaulted ceiling and loft showcasing some of the old timber framing. With a day or two of maintenance, it could be a five star place. There are no strike plates on any interior doors, so they can't be latched. Missing covers on a couple electrical boxes. And a broken window that's been taped back together. None of these things were prohibitive from enjoying our stay, but definitely should be addressed promptly.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, location

Out of breath

The walk up to the property was very strenuous and dangerous . Two windows were cracked. Shower water pressure was very low. Mold was in one of the bathroom drawers. The house was nice otherwise but would not stay again due to the walk up to the house.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Jun 2025
Thank you for letting us know about these issues so we can fix them for the next guests.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Location
Disliked: Listing accuracy

A beautiful place with multiple issues

We were very excited to stay here when we saw the pictures and made our booking. It looked like one of nicest places in the area and looked very sleek with new appliances and updated decor. However, when we arrived it reeked of mold! This was probably our biggest issue with the place next to the main AC/fan not working when we arrived. The bedroom air conditioner leaked water. My husband had to troubleshoot everything. Someone flipped the fuse on the outside a/c unit. Someone had turned the gas off because the pilot lights we’re completely off. The whole shower smelled like sewage. Beautiful cabin but the mold issue was very concerning. This is a health issue and should be addressed. Also for the safety of tenants, I would recommend putting in lights on the walkway to the house. It is very steep and hard to see in the dark.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Jun 2025
Thank you for letting us know about this issues so we can fix them for future guests.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful Mountainside Home

Enjoyed our stay despite barely getting to the cabin walking up the path. Its alot steeper than it looks in the pics. Maybe do a zigzag path to make it easier to get up....with luggage. The cabin needs curtains, rugs, a hair dryer and definitely a microwave. The endless hot water ended.....n trickled down to nothing...then came back on cold.....n then warmed up and didnt smell good. There was no rug to step out of the shower on n I actually slipped. Im usually not too critical on my reviews, but I think that your use of "Luxury" made me anticipate more. I'd also recommend a sheet, like the one that is there, that explains how to use the fan/heater and also that the light switch to outside is behind the fridge. On the sheet you coukd recommend what to do, where to eat, how far it is to get to those places. The beds were comfy and the cabin was beautiful. Enjoyed the fire pit but was too cold to hang out on the wrap around porch. You do not have to share this review, but I feel like you'd have happier renters with just a few added things.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Aug 2024
Thank you for the wonderful review! We would be happy to host you at any of our RRG Getaways properties anytime!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Communication

Some tlc

The property has so much much beauty to it, but is lacking the attention it once had+deserves. This cabin is marked as the “founders” cabin. The owner of the restaurant below Or old owner. Upon arriving the smell of moisture and mold was powerful but, the beauty of the place was there. arriving we noticed a broken window that had electrical tape holding it together and a broken window in the cooking area. There was water standing in the drawers of the fridge as well. In the child’s room there is a decent hole next to the electrical outlet which is right in the bed area of the bottom bunk… shocking? The child’s room was the room with the most overwhelming smell. I didn’t let my kids sleep in there because I didn’t want to risk them getting sick from mold. Tuesday rolls around and we had some spraying done while hiking. Wednesday the ac in the main area stopped working. Thankfully I brought a fan on vacation and used it to blow out the cold air from the downstairs room so that the kitchen and upstairs wasn’t to hot to handle because that’s the main living area+where my kiddos were sleeping. Informed the property management of the issue and kept things as dry as I could but no one ever showed up. Each sleep was filled with moist bedding. Outside furniture had to be cleaned before it was able to be used and had to sweep after spray. Filled with expensive items that are nice to use. This place has so much potential I hope it gets the tlc it deserves!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Aug 2024
Hey Chelsea, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback at the Founder Cabin. So sorry no one was able to make it out to your cabin during your stay. I believe the smell you were experiencing was from the commercial stove, it has a pilot light that stays on and can generate a strong oder. We Have REMOVED the stove from the cabin! (As of the last week in August here). And replaced it with a brand new electric stove. As well have new windows ordered and will be replacing the two cracked windows. As well we have just installed a new deck for a Hot Tub that is coming in next week! We Love the Founder cabin and want to make sure it gets the love it deserves. Thank you again.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Convenient location and unique cabin. No dining table or living room furniture on the main floor was bizarre. Beds were way too soft. Strange towels and no standard coffee maker.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jun 2026
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the convenient location and found the cabin to be unique. We understand that every guest has different preferences when it comes to layout and furnishings. While the cabin does feature island seating for dining and lounge seating on the main floor, we encourage guests to review the listing photos prior to booking to ensure the space is a good fit for their needs and expectations. We also appreciate your comments regarding the beds, towels, and coffee setup, as guest feedback helps us continue improving the experience. Thank you again for your stay, and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Check-in, communication
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Disliked: Location
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Aug 2026
Thank you for staying with us!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Stayed 4 nights in May 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Aug 2024
Thank you for the wonderful review! We would be happy to host you at any of our RRG Getaways properties anytime!Thank you for the wonderful review! We would be happy to host you at any of our RRG Getaways properties anytime!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback