Entire home

Ski Area Retreat w/ Hot Tub & Views

Photo gallery for Ski Area Retreat w/ Hot Tub & Views

Living area
Outdoor dining
Outdoor spa tub
Property grounds
Property grounds

Reviews

9.6 out of 10, Loved by Guests
Top 10% of guest reviews in this area

Highlights

  • Ping pong on-site
    A rare find — challenge friends and family to endless matches.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Wisp Resort

Popular amenities

  • Hot tub on site
  • Patio
  • On-site fitness centre
  • Barbecue grill
  • Electric vehicle charging point
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View in a map
McHenry, MD
  • Place, Fork Run Recreation Area
    ‪5 min walk‬
  • Place, Wisp Resort
    ‪17 min walk‬
  • Place, Deep Creek Lake
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Airport, Morgantown, WV (MGW-Morgantown Municipal)
    ‪59 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

6 bedrooms (sleeps 16)

Lower Level: Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Lower Level: Bedroom 2

3 Single Bunk Beds

Main Level: Bedroom 1 (Suite)

1 Double Bed

Main Level: Bedroom 2 (Suite)

1 Double Bed

Upper Level: Bedroom 1 (Suite)

1 King Bed

Upper Level: Bedroom 2 (Suite)

1 King Bed

5 bathrooms, 2 half bathrooms

Lower Level: Bath

Bathtub or shower

Lower Level: Powder Room

Main Level: Attached Bath

Shower only

Main Level: Attached Bath

Shower only

Main Level: Powder Room/Laundry

Upper Level: Attached Bath

Shower only

Upper Level: Attached Bath

Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

McHenry

Located in McHenry, this holiday home is in a rural area and on a lake. While the natural beauty of Deep Creek Lake and Deep Creek Lake State Park can be enjoyed by anyone, those looking for an activity can explore Wisp Resort. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, and don't miss out on the ice skating and sledging.
Map
McHenry, MD

What's nearby

  • Fork Run Recreation Area - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Wisp Resort - 17 min walk - 1.5 km
  • Deep Creek Lake - 9 min drive - 5.6 km
  • Swallow Falls State Park - 18 min drive - 15.0 km
  • Deep Creek Lake State Park - 27 min drive - 20.7 km

Getting around

  • Morgantown, WV (MGW-Morgantown Municipal) - 48 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬19 min drive
  • ‪Black Hawk Coffee + Kitchen - ‬13 min drive
  • ‪Burger King - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪The Rowdy Rooster Bar and Grille - ‬21 min drive
  • ‪Honi Honi Bar - ‬18 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Ski Area Retreat w/ Hot Tub & Views pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Ski Area Retreat w/ Hot Tub & Views?

As of 29 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Ski Area Retreat w/ Hot Tub & Views on 30 Aug 2027 start from £1,657, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Ski Area Retreat w/ Hot Tub & Views?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Ski Area Retreat w/ Hot Tub & Views?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Ski Area Retreat w/ Hot Tub & Views?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Ski Area Retreat w/ Hot Tub & Views located?

Situated on a lake, this holiday home is within a 15-minute walk of Fork Run Recreation Area and Wisp Resort. Happy Camper and Possum are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Reviews

9.6

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 11 out of 13 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 13 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 13 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 13 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 13 reviews

9.8/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great

Great stay
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Oct 2024
Hi Carol! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at Hilltop Cottage and hope to have the chance to rent to you again soon. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Bach weekend

We had a great stay! This was a perfect house for a bachelor/bachelorette weekend in deep creek. Just be sure to bring your own soap for the bathrooms to avoid having to run out right when you arrive
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Aug 2025
Thank you so much for your review! We're thrilled to hear you had a great stay and that the house was perfect for your weekend in Deep Creek. We appreciate the feedback about the bathroom soap - that's a great tip for future guests. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family weekend trip

It was beautiful! It was clean! Perfect area for family to spend time together!
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Apr 2025
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Darcel! We're delighted to hear that you and your family had such a great time at our location. Creating a clean, comfortable environment for families to enjoy is our top priority. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Clean cabin

I wish it were a little more isolated from other cabins
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Jul 2025
We appreciate your perspective, Austin! Our team is committed to ensuring our cabins provide the level of privacy and seclusion that our guests expect. We're always working to enhance our offerings, and your input helps us achieve that goal. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family getaway

Overall good experience
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Jul 2024
Hi Earl! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at Hilltop Cottage and hope to have the chance to rent to you again soon. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Thanksgiving

We had a wonderful time staying in Deep Creek Lake at Hilltop Cottage for Thanksgiving. The house was perfectly outfitted for our family and had everything we needed for our stay.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Dec 2024
Thanks for the kind words, Candace! We are happy to hear that the home was all you had expected and the amenities were well-equipped. We hope to have the chance to rent to you again soon! Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fabulous

The house was exactly as advertised. We had plenty of room to relax and enjoy the great scenery.
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Jul 2024
We're glad to hear that the house met your expectations and that you were able to enjoy the great scenery during your stay Vaughn! Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope you had a wonderful time and look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Women's Retreat 2024

This home was beautiful! Warm and cozy... updated... and it has very positive energy. It was a wonderful choice to host our Women's Retreat! The staff was very helpful and worked hard to make sure our stay was enjoyable!
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Sept 2024
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property Corina. We are delighted to hear that you and your group found the home to be warm, cozy, and updated, with a positive energy that made your Women's Retreat an enjoyable experience. The staff's hard work in ensuring your stay was comfortable is much appreciated. We value your feedback and are grateful you chose our home for your event. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great NYE stay

This was a great property for 4 families with kids ranging from 5 to 13. Great location and amenities; having the 4BRs with en suite baths was great. Plus the big king downstairs for two older kids and the bunks for the littles was a perfect setup. We didn’t get to take advantage of the ski-in privileges since those trails and lifts were closed, but still being close to the slopes was great!
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Jan 2025
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property Matthew. We're delighted to hear that your group of four families with children enjoyed the accommodations and amenities. The layout with the en-suite bathrooms and the separate sleeping arrangements for the older and younger kids sounds like it worked out perfectly. While the ski-in privileges were not available during your stay, we're glad you were still able to appreciate the property's proximity to the slopes. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Vocation

It was great
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Aug 2024
Hi Shahwali! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us here at Hilltop Cottage and hope to have the chance to rent to you again soon. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Great House, with a few fixes, its perfect

The house in general was perfect for our 3 families and grandparents. The kids loved the bunk room and wrap around porch. The kids would have liked some flat outdoor area to play, or even a grassy area, but overall enjoyed the space. Adults felt safe, but wished they had a view of nature rather than so many other homes so closeby, not much privacy. The kitchen sink had hardly any water pressure, as well as upper levels in the showers. The grill ran out of propane on our last night. I had contacted property management on the first night to inform them about 2 broken chairs on the deck upon our arrival. I left a message since it was after hours, but never heard back from them (called wed.). Overall functionality of the house was great as well as the location in relation to activities we enjoy. With a couple of minor fixes and a little better response from property management, this place is a dream!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jun 2025
Thank you for your detailed feedback Kimberly. We appreciate your thorough review and the candid insights you provided. The property management team will carefully review your comments to address the issues you noted, such as the water pressure, grill, and lack of response. We strive to provide an excellent experience for all our guests, and your feedback will help us improve. We're glad to hear that your families overall enjoyed the house and its amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely Location, But Lacking in Care for the Price

We stayed at this property over the weekend with a large group, and there were definitely some positives to highlight. The location was beautiful, offering peaceful views and a lovely setting for a getaway. The house was very spacious, perfect for our big family, and it was clean upon arrival, which we appreciated. Everyone generally had a pleasant time overall.That said, for a weekend stay that cost over 3,000, we were surprised by the lack of basic amenities and upkeep. It’s clear that this home is managed more like a business investment than a space someone takes personal pride in. For example:Kitchen supplies were lacking, no spatulas. The coffee maker had mold inside.No hand soap provided. I understand this is detailed in the listing, but still feels cheap. We were given only 1 towel per person.While the mattresses were comfortable, the sheets were Dollar Store quality.The upstairs bedroom window wouldn’t close, and several doors throughout the house didn’t close or latch properly.The upstairs bathroom had evidence of previous guests (specifically, urine in the toilet) when we arrived.The sliding glass doors in the basement were extremely difficult to open.The outdoor fire pit hadn’t been cleaned and was filled with ash.None of these are major structural problems—but they speak to a general lack of attention and care. These are easily fixable issues that anyone spending even a short amount of time in the home should have noticed and addressed.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Aug 2025
Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your honest assessment, as it helps us identify areas for improvement. While we're glad to hear that you generally had a pleasant time, we regret that there were some shortcomings in the upkeep and amenities of the property. Your comments will be carefully reviewed, and we will work to address the issues you've raised to ensure a more consistent and enjoyable experience for future guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jul 2025
Thanks for choosing to stay with us Jared! We hope you had a wonderful time with us and please come see us again soon! Madison, Railey Vacations
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback