Located in Torpoint, this cottage is in a rural area and on the beach. Port Eliot House and Gardens and Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park are local landmarks, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Whitsand Bay Golf Club and Torpoint Ferry. Travelling with kids? Consider Adrenalin Quarry, or check out an event or a game at Home Park. Discover the area's water adventures with snorkelling and windsurfing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with hiking and horse riding.
South West Coast Path Section 35 Trailhead - 9 min walk - 0.8 km
Dartmoor National Park - 47 min drive - 28.1 km
Getting around
St Germans Station - 14 min drive
Newquay (NQY-Newquay Cornwall) - 61 min drive
Restaurants
The Canteen at Maker Heights - 11 min drive
McDonald's - 18 min drive
The Ploughboy - 17 min drive
The Halfway House - 11 min drive
The Wheelers - 10 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Luxury Beachside Cottage - Unspoilt Cornish Village - Child/Dog Friendly pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total). Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Luxury Beachside Cottage - Unspoilt Cornish Village - Child/Dog Friendly?
As of 29 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Luxury Beachside Cottage - Unspoilt Cornish Village - Child/Dog Friendly on 1 Nov 2026 start from £884, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Luxury Beachside Cottage - Unspoilt Cornish Village - Child/Dog Friendly?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Luxury Beachside Cottage - Unspoilt Cornish Village - Child/Dog Friendly?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Luxury Beachside Cottage - Unspoilt Cornish Village - Child/Dog Friendly?
Checkout is at 9:00 AM.
Where is Luxury Beachside Cottage - Unspoilt Cornish Village - Child/Dog Friendly located?
This family-friendly Torpoint cottage is located on the beach, within a 10-minute walk of Portwrinkle Beach, Finnygook Beach and South West Coast Path Section 35 Trailhead. Whitsand Bay Beach and Whitsand Bay Golf Club are also within 1 mile (2 km).
Reviews
9.8
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Booking was easy and communication with host was absolutely excellent. Accommodation was lovely and in keeping with the traditional Cornish coastal cottage feel. Everything we could want was provided plus some! Portwrinkle is quiet so excellent place to relax and everyone we met ( both locals and other holiday makers) were super friendly! We liked the fact that the underground parking was secure and found access to the garage fine as long as you proceed with care.Spiral stairs might be an issue for some however these are nice wide stone steps. Would definitely recommend.
Excellent location and views across the ocean. A tasteful and sympathetic conversion right next to the beaches, with safe, designated parking. Our host was exceptionally helpful both before and during our stay, always quick to respond, accommodating and cheerful. The property is tastefully well-furnished for comfort and relaxation. It is a lovely place.Unfortunately for our party, the stone, spiral staircases were tricky to navigate, particularly for my elderly mother. She is quite sprightly for her age and we hadn't asked questions about accessibility, which we now realize we need to. Also, for us, having to bring the dog in and out of the property via the underground garage was awkward.We had a lovely time, enjoying walking, swimming, visiting local sights and excellent local restaurants. I would happily visit again but not with Mum or a dog.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Aug 2026
Penelope Thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a good time. We do explain in the property listing that there is a wide stone circular staircase. We are sorry to hear your mum found that a challenge even though these is a good handrail for its full length. We have not had any other comments back from guests about taking dogs out via the car park entrance door, but will take that onboard.
Nice property, ideally situated if looking for the sea and quietness while having different things to do/see within driving distance. Perfect for a short stay.
Close to the beach, quiet area, very well catered house. We had a lovely weekend stay. Host was attentive and answered any queries. Thanks, we had a fabulous time
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2023
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Sue
27 Aug 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, communication
A fabulous property! Lovely, long weekend with family the house had everything for a 2 year old up to a 60 year old!
Beautiful place, lovely location. Alison was kind enough to let us stay later on the day of check out. No complaints apart from Parking is a nightmare!
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Dec 2022
Hi Cath I am delighted we delivered for you and your ladies with the house and the location.
I corresponded with you after your stay as I was concerned about your comment regarding the parking. and wanted to understand the problem you had experienced as nothing had been mentioned during your stay.. I understand that there weren’t any problems with the allocated parking itself and it was just that only one of your party felt confident enough to drive down into the underground car park so you elected to use the public parking on the sea front instead. Other than that I understand you and your ladies had a super time, which is great to hear. Sorry if that caused you some concern, however I hope that the house, hot tub, views and location might be enough to tempt you back to visit us again one day, confident that there are options for additional parking if you need it. Kind regards Alison
The property was absolutely gorgeous. Views from the balcony were glorious. Really nice pub 20 mins walk away and great facilities in the property. Alison was very quick to respond to queries.
Thanks for your feedback. We already have scheduled redecoration and replacement/updates at the end of the season as part of our rolling maintenance so hopefully this will cover any areas you felt were starting to look like they needed a little TLC.
2 Fish Cellars certainly lived up to expectations, everything was just so, enjoyed it immensely, even had a go in the Hot Tub! The views are amazing and we were so lucky with the November weather. However even if it had rained non stop, you could just drink in the views. Certainly will be returning.
Alison’s Communication was great from the start. We were informed of the supermarkets delivering to fish cellars and even provided a service for receiving and putting away the shop before we arrived for a small fee, which was lovely. Beds super comfy, lounge and kitchen comfortable and well equipped. The views are stunning. The local Finnygook inn serves delicious food and has a wonderful, warm atmosphere. We would love to return .
The views of the sea are majestic and even better when you are sitting in the hot tub sipping a glass of wine. The house is well equipped with everything and the quality is top notch. I loved the welcome bottle of sparkling wine-such a nice touch. Alison is very responsive and when we left our phone behind, she helped in every way to get it back as soon as possible. I would stay here again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Matthew W.
30 Dec 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy
Been looking forward to end of the year short break with family / friends. Very disappointed during our stay, heating and hot water did not work for at least a day and half. The property was freezing cold and noting that December / winter. Besides, could not have hot shower after long walk and tiring day. Sadly to say that had to drive to Fowey and took shower at friend place. It had ruined the experience for this trip.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 31 Dec 2025
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that there was a problem with the boiler during your stay. Unfortunately, just as in our own homes, things do go wrong occassionally and on the rare occassions this happens we pride ourselves on getting them resolved as quickly as possible for you. You reported a problem to us at 7pm on the Sunday evening. Despite our joint best efforts we were not able to reset the boiler. Our plumber was contacted at 8am the following morning and attended and fixed the fault during the day. I checked with you at 7pm to ensure everything was still working correctly and you confirmed it was. I am not sure therefore why you say it was not working "for at least a day and a half"? The house is very well insulated and we provided you with two large fan heaters to use during the time the heating was off so there was no reason for you to have been cold. All of that said, I am sorry that this impacted on your enjoyment of your trip.
8 of us stayed at the fish cellars for the weekend. What a fantastic property with amazing views on both sides. The house is really well equipped with everything you need . It's just 5 minutes walk to the beach too. We stayed in sunshine but I suspect the views would be equally amazing during a winter storm.
The owner provided a welcome pack with all the information you need for your stay and responded really quickly when we had a small problem which was resolved immediately . The bedding and towels and furnishings are really good quality too.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend
The location, and the apartment are lovely with stunning views.The stone spiral staircase is dangerous for toddlers, even with the two gates ( one of which needed mending during our stay).
The property was clean and well equipped. The hot water system was not sufficiently regulated to prevent scalding. The fly screen on the door to the deck is necessary because of wasps, but was damaged and could not be opened and closed easily. The hot tub is literally a barrel.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Aug 2023
Janet, thank you for your feedback and your positive comments about the property and location.
We are sorry there were some aspects of your stay you were not so happy with.
Stairs are always an area of concern with little ones around. As you commented, this is why we have a child safety gate fitted at the top of each flight to prevent any accidents, just as you would do at home. I am sorry you had a problem with one of the stair dates during your stay. Sadly equipment does break sometimes. We recognised the importance of the safety gates for your party and we did arrange for the faulty unit to be replaced within 3 hours of you bringing it to our attention.
I am a little confused about your comment regarding the hot water system. The showers are all thermostatically controlled and the sinks all have mixer taps. I am not sure what further controls you would expect?
The hot tub is an authentic cedar wood hot tub imported from Canada with pump, heater and filtration system. Yes they do resemble a barrel!
2 The Fish cellars is a great property and there is lots to like. It is very well equipped and so daily living tasks are easily accomplished. The two way sea views from the kitchen window and living area are a fabulous bonus and we very much enjoyed watching the sea in various '' moods'' throughout our stay. The showers are hot and the two double beds are very comfortable. The hot tub unfortunately wasn't working properly while we were there ( nobody's fault and the owner was trying to fix it promptly) It's great to have a small beach so close by and we had it to ourselves for a BBQ one evening. The coastal path is also very accessible and we walked to Polperro .. a hilly trek!
We felt the property was a little high on price compared to some others we have stayed at and felt a little smaller than the pictures suggest. The bunk beds are small and basic and the sofa bed downstairs reportedly quite uncomfortable,. We missed having no garden space and the balcony is quite cramped.
I don't want to end on a negative note as it is a lovely place to stay, but I wanted to give a balanced view. The owners are extremely attentive, kind and responsive to any issues.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Jul 2021
Annie thanks for your review. It is very helpful for future guests to hear how past guests have assessed the property.
We are delighted to hear that overall you had a good time and enjoyed the location. We are sorry to hear there were some areas that fell short of what you hoped for though.
It was very unfortunate that the electric hot tub heater was not working when you stayed.. The part that had failed was out of stock at the manufacturer. It has since been replaced, but sadly we were not able to achieve this whilst you were there as we would have liked. We did explain how to top up with hot water to ensure you were able to use the hot tub as normal during your stay though.
We are disappointed to hear the sofa bed was uncomfortable as we replaced the mattress with a new luxury memory foam mattress just 4 weeks before your visit and you were the first guests to use it. We will certainly investigate though so thank you for the feedback.
We always think of the beach, the harbour and rock pools as our garden, but you are right that we are not able to offer private garden space at the property. We don’t think the property description suggests that there is though?
Thanks for your custom and sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations on this occasion.
What an amazing find! Photos couldn't possibly do it justice, this house is one of a kind and absolutely perfectly set up for short and long stays.
It's the little touches that count when you go away and what stood out about this property to us was the warm under floor heating, wall mounted fans, portable lights in all the bedrooms, USB and wireless charging points, lots of TV channels including sports, hot tub on the balcony, underground parking, comfortable beds, stunning views and all set on a really secluded communal plot of 3 or 4 houses. This would be a great stay for the summer but it was also the best start to our Christmas holiday (decorations and tree were a really nice touch). We will be back next year hopefully when the sun comes out to fully take advantage of the fantastic location!
Thanks to the owners for returning our youngest childs bunny rabbit which we left behind in our hurry to vacate! She was devastated but now happily reunited within 24 hours of letting you know. So kind of you to post it back!
The Finnygook is also worth a mention! Excellent Sunday lunch, service and all within walking distance.
All in all, an amazing couple of days away in December that we will remember forever. Even though it rained the whole time, the house was that nice that it didn't matter!
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Dec 2022
Thank you for such a thought out and comprehensive review. I am sure other prospective guests will find this helpful.
We were delighted to reunite bunny with your daughter. These things matter!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
We really enjoyed our stay. A couple of small issues which were promptly resolved. I think the speaker needs updating as we were unable to pair our phone to it but overall it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thanks
Stunning property with amazing views and everything you think of to make for a wonderful stay
Perfect property for relaxed break by the sea. Loads of great walks nearby and finnygook arms 10 min walk up the hill had fantastic food . Highly recommend
Excellent quiet location. Rental has all the amenities any could require with good explanations on how to use equipment. Very comfortable. Notes on the locality would have been useful but that is just being picky. Anyone who books this place will be so happy they did.
We had been to Portwrinkle over 11 years ago, when The Fish Cellars wasn’t a completed accommodation, in fact from memory it was almost left to ruin.
Location is amazing, so close to the sea.
If you don’t like neighbours too close, or sharing the courtyard this isn’t a place for you, the car park I’ve VERY tight to get in, but manageable in a large 4x4.
Had a couple of issues, but they were solved very quickly and even had a visit to check all was okay.