The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk

Photo gallery for The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk

A dining table set with plates, glasses, and a bottle of Anafina wine, with a view of the outdoors through large windows.
An indoor swimming pool with clear glass walls, blue chairs, and a wooden ceiling.
A spacious living room with a television, leather armchair, sofa, and dining area.
A covered patio area with a stone pathway, a wooden pergola, and a brick building with large windows.
A kitchen with wooden beams, a tiled backsplash, and a dining area with a table and chairs.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Relax in the indoor pool
    A rare find in this area - enjoy a swim, whatever the weather.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Norfolk Coast

Popular amenities

  • Private pool
  • Pet-friendly
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View in a map
Roughton, Norfolk
  • Place, Norfolk Coast
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Amazona Zoo
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Place, Cromer Beach
    ‪6 min drive‬
  • Airport, Norwich (NWI-Norwich Intl.)
    ‪30 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

1 bedroom (sleeps 2)

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Spaces

Kitchen
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Norwich

Located in Norwich, this holiday home is by the sea. Felbrigg Hall and Cromer Pier are local landmarks, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Norfolk Coast and Abel Heath. Little Gems and Amazona Zoo are also worth visiting. Practise your golf swing on a nearby course, or enjoy other activities in the great outdoors, such as hiking/biking trails and cycling in the area.
Map
Roughton, Norfolk

What's nearby

  • Norfolk Coast - 1 min walk - 0.0 km
  • Amazona Zoo - 4 min drive - 4.3 km
  • Cromer Beach - 6 min drive - 5.9 km
  • Cromer Pier - 6 min drive - 5.9 km
  • University of East Anglia - 40 min drive - 43.5 km

Getting around

  • Roughton Road Station - 15 min walk
  • Norwich (NWI-Norwich Intl.) - 29 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Hatters Tea Shop - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Spinnakers Cromer - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪The White Horse - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪The Squire's Pantry - ‬13 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Does The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk have a pool?

Yes, this property has an indoor pool.

How much does it cost to stay at The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk?

As of 30 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk on 9 Nov 2026 start from £449, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

Is The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much is parking at The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is The Heydon, Roughton, Norfolk located?

Situated by the sea, this holiday home is within 2 miles (3 km) of Amazona Zoo, Norfolk Coast and Karttrack Cromer. Little Gems and Cromer Parish Church are also within 2 miles (3 km). Roughton Road Station is 15 minutes by foot.

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 10 out of 21 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 10 out of 21 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 21 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 21 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 21 reviews

Reviews

From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Norfolk nest

Clean, spacious, well equipped, rural location, warm pool, helpful owners. Attractive area Just book it.
Response from VrboOwner on 25 May 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent holiday. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with Norfolk Hideaways and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Excellent holiday let down by a couple of negatives.

Overall an enjoyable stay. excellent location, close to many places to visit. Several good places to enjoy a good meal, especially the The Foundry Arms at North Repps and Roughton Fish and Chips. Overall the The Heydon is an excellent place to stay but disappointing that the price had increases significantly because of the Easter holiday. The barns complex is very well laid out with plenty on open spaces and the swimming pool is an additional benefit. Only two negatives: 1. The overall cleanliness of the property could be improved. Flooring, kitchen area, including cooker, fridge, crockery and utensils and bathroom would benefit from an improved level of cleaning. 2. The electrics failed on two occasions during the night meaning no power or heating when we woke up in the morning. Luckily I was able to restore the power due to my electrical experience. The RCD in the consumer unit had tripped, luckily it reset OK on both occasions. However, neither of these negatives would stop us returning to The Heydon in the future.
Response from VrboOwner on 29 May 2022
Dear Richard, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Heydon, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Norfolk. Sorry to hear of the few issues you've mentioned, I can see by your booking we were not made aware of the cleanliness and electrical issue, which is a shame as we would have been more than happy to address these for you, however we are pleased to hear that the tripped switch was resolved and we thank you for bringing these to our attention. This property is individually managed by the owner themselves so your feedback will be passed back to them to action anything as necessary. We look forward to welcoming you back to Norfolk again very soon Richard! Best Wishes Norfolk Hideaways Response from owner: Sorry to hear about the issues at the Heydon. We have an electrician going in next week to try to prevent the electrics from failing again. As it’s never happened before, we’re not sure why it happened. Also, we have contacted our cleaning company to ensure that this does not happen again. We would like to give you a £50 refund and, if you book again, you will get a 20% discount. Just mention this to Norfolk Hideaways. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Many thanks to the owners for their generous offer. When completing the review I was not expecting any recompense, just giving an honest review which was generally positive. We did enjoy our stay and will probably return next year. Please pass on our thanks to the owners. Best regards
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Heydon visit March 22

Very enjoyable stay - well stocked with cleaning products ! Everything to our liking Good location for exploring the Norfolk coastline
Response from VrboOwner on 23 May 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent holiday. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with Norfolk Hideaways and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Good Norfolk Accommodation

A well appointed and equipped barn conversion. Would have preferred a dishwasher rather than the installed clothes washing machine. A good swimming pool on site.
Response from VrboOwner on 15 May 2022
Dear Caroline, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Heydon - This property is individually managed by the owner so your feedback will be passed back to them to action anything as necessary and again we thank you for your suggestions. We look forward to welcoming you back to Norfolk again very soon! Best Wishes Norfolk Hideaways
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Great accommodation.

Thought of everything Christmas decs and foil tray for turkey. Loved the gift of wine cake and biscuits. Thanks. Shame you are not allowing dogs in 2022
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

A lovely place to stay

A lovely place to stay with all that we needed. A good base location for exploring north Norfolk and with a lovely swimming pool.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Lovely Cottage

Perfect cottage for a couple, an added bonus that it takes dogs. Warm, cosy and comfortable. Would definitely recommend to friends
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Some details out of date

The bath mat backing was disintegrating, there was no dish washer as advertised, the procedure for use of pool was out of date. Talking to other users we paid a third more than they had. Overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely location and within striking distance of key towns. Thank you.
Response from VrboOwner on 25 May 2022
Dear Christopher, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Heydon. We are pleased that you you enjoyed your stay in Norfolk. Sorry to hear of the few issues mentioned, I believe the owner has already updated the pool procedure, so we thank you for bringing this to our attention. In regards to the dishwasher I have checked our website and it doesn't state that there is a dishwasher in the property. If you can let us know where you have seen this and we can update our information Christopher. We do hope to see you in Norfolk again very soon! Best Wishes Norfolk Hideaways
From a partner site

8/10 Good

The Heydon

Not ideal for older persons. Bath quite high resulting in some difficulty accessing shower. The patio area is very enclosed with buildings around. Not particularly dog friendly and very little area for walking a dog as road is quite busy. Cottage well stocked with pans, crockery and utensils.
Response from VrboOwner on 27 May 2022
Dear Peter, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Heydon. We are sorry to hear of the few issues you've mentioned, these will be passed back to the owner to action as necessary. We do hope to see you in Norfolk again very soon! Best Wishes Norfolk Hideaways
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Comfort , bed was very uncomfortable, as was sofa and chair.

The service When the loo broken was excellent, everyone worked hard, acquiring parts and getting it mended by 7.0 pm. The swimming pool was wonderful, the swimming was enjoyed by us both. The little patio garden was lovely, but unfortunately never got the sun, despite a very hot week.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

None

Could do with broad band towels or very big could not find any rubbish bags we had a lively few days
From a partner site

6/10 Okay

Nice cottage but village to far away to walk as led to believe.

The cottage was nice,especially the swimming pool, was disappointed we had to clean the fridge before using it and when we used the oven so much smoke came out of it I am surprised smoke alarms didn't go off, had to clean that before using it again. Also back door almost impossible to lock it really needs to be looked at. Very disappointed village to far and dangerous to walk to would have neen nice to be able to pop to the pub for a drink. Other than that was a pleasant stay.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

100

So good we will be trying to book 2x2weeks next year as soon as we get our holiday dates it was the best holiday home we have ever stayed in .
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Our stay in the Haydon by a couple of over seventies

The biggest problem we found was that on a cold week in May the underground heating system proved to be inadequate, this takes far too long to warm the cottage up, as I think the system had been set for a Summer schedule when Norfolk was the coldest place in England during that week. The directions to the cottage were poor when coming in on the A 148, if you go through Cromer as instructed there is no sign on leaving Cromer which points you in the general direction of the cottages. On this road there is no need to enter Cromer, you turn right at the roundabout and go through Felrigg and a little further on turn left, simple. Opening and Shutting the front door was very awkward as the key and lock were very tight. You had to lean on the door our pull it towards you depending if you were going out or coming in. Despite these little faults we would stay in this cottage again, as it had everything we needed and was well cared for.
Response from VrboOwner on 26 May 2022
Thank you for your email and for taking the time to complete the UpFrontReview following your recent stay at The Heydon. I am so sorry to hear that the weather was not great during your stay in North Norfolk. If we had known at the time of your stay we would have been more then happy to deliver some storage heaters to you. In regards to the directions to the property I have passed these comments onto our marketing team to address and amend on the arrival guides so thank you so much for your feedback. I do believe that these could be made to be much more simple to follow. We spoke about the door during your stay which I have already passed onto the owner which I believe will be addressed as necessary. Once again many thanks for taking the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to North Norfolk sometime in the future.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Lovely holiday home

Everything you need for a good holiday : lovely place to stay, everything you need included and an added bonus Of a swimming pool to use. Only downside you cannot walk to a local pub or village, although good pubs for food only short car ride away. This was our second stay at the Heydon.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Where’s the WiFi and loo roll

Fabulous property, my only issues were 1) the heating had been turned off and as there were no instructions on how to turn on I had to contact customer service 2) whilst the other properties had WiFi, The Hayden did not. I was not on holiday, I was visiting family and could not access my work emails or stream content I needed. 3) only 3 sheets toilet paper on roll on arrival with no replacement available As this is the only dog friendly cottage I would not be able to stay again unless WiFi was installed.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

We chose the week of the Beast from the East!

The property was everything we thought it would be. On the coldest week of the year it was still snug and comfortable. The under floor heating was great and the additional heater we found in the cupboard was very useful with the wind finding all the tiny gaps in the door to whistle through! The bed was very comfortable as was the lounge area. The kitchen was well equipped. Hasn’t been planning to cook but with the weather we had it just made life easier. And the bathroom was huge! Two constructive comments; please give the towels a good wash. They were obviously new and we were covered in fluff! Also would like a mobile shower head to make it possible to clean around after your shower. All in all would go again and highly recommend it to others.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Short break!

Wow we stayed for short break and the Heydon was amazing! Such cute cottage with great space for family's and couples! I couldn't ask for better place to be close to the beach and local bars and restaurants may I add our dog loved it and wasn't keen to leave!
Archival

8/10 Good

Heydon

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were only able to stay one night rather than the four nights we had booked. However, on arrival at approximately 3pm, the cottage living and kitchen area were uncomfortably cold. We turned the thermostat up to maximum but six hours later the room was still cold. We felt that nobody had stayed in there recently and therefore the property had been allowed to lose any built up heat it may have had. We had to keep our coats on until we went to bed. The bedroom was ok and we think this is because it doesn’t have a vaulted ceiling like living area. The underfloor heating seems to be ineffective in such a open space. There was also a small problem of no towels or loo roll (luckily we had brought a loo roll with us), this was rectified after a phone call to the owner. We are sure that in the warmer months it would be a really nice place to stay as it is well situated to the north Norfolk Coast and surrounding countryside.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

dogs holiday

Perfect location for a coastal holiday which is what we wanted for our two dogs, days out at the coast to return to a comfortable, warm,well equipt accommodation.it caters for all, with a high standard. We would return here and recommend The Haydon.
Archival

8/10 Good

Week in October

Had a lovely week in the Hey don cottage. Good location for exploring the area. Very nice pool, we would stay there again.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback