Entire home

'GONE SHELLIN' Beautiful, Dogs Ok, GREAT RATES, STEPS TO Beach, BEACH VIEW,WIFI

Photo gallery for 'GONE SHELLIN' Beautiful, Dogs Ok, GREAT RATES, STEPS TO Beach, BEACH VIEW,WIFI

A beach with a wooden staircase leading to a building with a balcony.
A wooden deck with a table and chairs, overlooking a beach and buildings.
A staircase with a white railing leading to a white door with a window.
A living room with two blue sofas, a glass coffee table, a ceiling fan, and a dining area with a table and chairs.
A bedroom with a bed, a dresser, a nightstand, a ceiling fan, and a window with blinds.

Reviews

9.4 out of 10
Exceptional

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • Steps from the shore
    Top-rated for its nearby beach, ideal for sunbathing and swimming.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to beach near Avalon Drive

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Toys
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning
  • Pet-friendly
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View in a map
Port St Joe, FL
  • Place, beach near Avalon Drive
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Place, Palmer Beach
    ‪14 min walk‬
  • Place, Port St. Joe Beach
    ‪7 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed and 1 Crib

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Bathtub or shower · Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 2

Bathtub or shower · Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only · Outdoor shower

Spaces

Deck or patio
Outdoor shower
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Port St. Joe

Located in Port St. Joe, this holiday home is near the beach. St Joseph Bay Golf Club and Port St. Joe Marina are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore T.H. Stone Memorial St. Joseph Peninsula State Park and St. Joseph Bay State Buffer Preserve. Frank Pate Park and Port Theatre Art and Culture Center are also worth visiting. Jet skiing and scuba diving offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with ecotours and horse riding nearby.
Map
Port St Joe, FL

What's nearby

  • beach near Avalon Drive - 6 min walk - 0.6 km
  • Palmer Beach - 14 min walk - 1.2 km
  • Cape San Blas Lighthouse - 3 min drive - 5.6 km
  • Port St. Joe Beach - 7 min drive - 9.0 km
  • Mexico Beach - 38 min drive - 49.7 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Hunt’s Oyster Bar & Seafood On St. Joe Bay - ‬13 min drive
  • ‪Scallop Republic - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪LongBill’s on Cape San Blas - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Peachy’s - ‬10 min walk
  • ‪Pomodoro Italian Grill and Bar - ‬15 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is 'GONE SHELLIN' Beautiful, Dogs Ok, GREAT RATES, STEPS TO Beach, BEACH VIEW,WIFI pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows pets (limit 1 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.

How much is parking at 'GONE SHELLIN' Beautiful, Dogs Ok, GREAT RATES, STEPS TO Beach, BEACH VIEW,WIFI?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at 'GONE SHELLIN' Beautiful, Dogs Ok, GREAT RATES, STEPS TO Beach, BEACH VIEW,WIFI?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at 'GONE SHELLIN' Beautiful, Dogs Ok, GREAT RATES, STEPS TO Beach, BEACH VIEW,WIFI?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is 'GONE SHELLIN' Beautiful, Dogs Ok, GREAT RATES, STEPS TO Beach, BEACH VIEW,WIFI located?

Situated near the beach, this holiday home is within a 15-minute walk of Pig Island and Palmer Beach. William J. "Billy Joe" Rish Recreation Park and Cape San Blas Lighthouse are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

9.4

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 39 out of 53 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 11 out of 53 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 53 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 53 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 53 reviews

9.2/10

Cleanliness

9.6/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

10/10

Location

9.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great location and easy access to the beach. House is well maintained and clean. Excellent communication with the property team. We (my family) will be back soon. I definitely recommend staying at this property. K Chaney
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Apr 2026
Thank you so much for your great review. Always happy to know our guests had a wonderful time! Please come back soon.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great beach house for a small family.

Cute house close to the beach, we would definitely stay again.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Jun 2022
Thank you Melina, You are welcome anytime.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Stay!

The location of Gone Shellin is absolutely perfect. We loved how close it was to the beach, and being able to walk to Scallop Cove and the Tradin Post. We enjoyed our stay.
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Apr 2023
So happy you had a great time. Please come back again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Location

Property was exactly as listed. Loved the location and proximity to beach.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Jan 2025
Thank you so much Jan. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome back anytime.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location…steps to beach!

This property’s location is wonderful, the house is in a quiet neighborhood, and the dog friendly beach was very uncrowded. We had a relaxing getaway on the Cape!
Stayed 14 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Nov 2022
Thank you John. So happy you had a great time. Please come back again.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful birthday getaway

First time in Cape San Blas and have already booked vacation for next year. Loved it!!!!
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 19 Sept 2022
Always happy to hear that you loved it as much as we do. Thank you and see you next year!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great duplex!

The duplex was perfect for our family of 4. The location was great, it was very convenient to the beach. The unit was very clean and the kitchen was fully stocked. Would stay here again.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Aug 2023
Thank you Amber. I'm so happy you had a great time. Please come back again.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Outstanding!

We will definitely stay in Gone Shellin' again!
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Mar 2020
So glad you were happy! We try our best to make sure everyone has a great vacation stay at our home.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Gone Shellin

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with 2 dogs.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Mar 2020
Thank you so much..Please come back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

So close to the beach

Great location to beach, would come back! A/C works like a champ, fully stocked with all you need (minus food). We had a GREAT time at this house.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Gone shellin was fun

We had a great time at Gone Shellin! The beach was incredible this weekend! We loved being able to bring our dogs! We had plenty of room!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept 2022
Thank you David, Please come back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Tons of Dolphins

Great location and great price and only steps from the beach. Although it was hot for October, weather was great and dolphins put on a show multiple times a day. Unit is well equipped and pet friendly making it a great choice for our fall vacation at the beach.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Mar 2020
Thank you so much! Please come back again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great family/pet friendly duplex

This was our second time at Gone Shellin and it was great to see some small updates have been made since our previous stay. The house easily accommodated our family of 3 and the owner allowed us to bring our 3 dogs (which many rentals do not allow - thanks again Carol!). Proximity to the beach, trading post and scallop cove is also a positive. Would definitely stay here again!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Aug 2023
Thank you Amanda, you are always welcome at Gone Shellin. Please come back again. Sincerely,Carol
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect location

This "second tier" beach rental has easier, better access than other beachfront properties I've rented. Absolutely amazing. The layout worked perfectly for our small family, and the outdoor shower head kept little heads and feet clean. We hope to come back again next year!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Aug 2022
Thank you Amy, I'm so glad you enjoyed our home as much as we do! Please come back anytime.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A Little Slice of Heaven

Perfectly sized place with all the things you need to be comfortable for a stay at the beach. We enjoyed seeing the ocean from the deck and hearing the waves. There is a lot of charm here and you can't go wrong. TV and Wifi worked like a charm. We felt at home immediately. There is a lot to love at Gone Shellin!
Stayed 14 nights in Feb 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Feb 2024
Thank you so much Linda . You were the perfect guest. You are welcome back to Gone Shellin anytime
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

20th Anniversary Trip

We had a great time at Gone Shellin’. St. Joseph state park was fun, we fished in the bay! Husband caught several catfish & 2 small sharks & you have to shuffle your feet to avoid the sea erchins. We loved it! We bought all our seafood for each night at St Joe Shrimp Co & bait at Scallop Cove. Such a favorite spot for us!
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 19 Aug 2021
So glad you loved the Cape as much as we do!! Please come back again.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Close to beach

Stone throw to beach. Perfect for two couples. Clean. Kitchen well stocked. It's a duplex and other unit has a fish cleaning station.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 16 May 2023
You are welcome back anytime David!
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication

very uncooperative beds

goneshellin was its usual self, the grill did not work, missing a can opener, little things, but, a 4" foam pad has been added to the beds, you can not sit on edge to put on your socks, and once on the bed, you can not slide side to side, you are trapped. the location is superb
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Mar 2023
I'm very sorry Robert. You have been to Gone Shellin several times and never had a problem. You were very mean and nasty to me and my management people before you ever arrived. I was thinking of cancelling your reservation., and I should have. The foam pad could have been REMOVED if you did'nt like it. You could have contacted me or Coastal Joe anytime if the grill did'nt work or you needed a can opener. The grill does work, you just did'nt know how to use it. RIDICULOUS complaints that could have been easily rectified anytime. You just wanted to complain, and this is all you could think of. You are NOT welcome back at Gone Shellin.
Archival

2/10 Terrible

Complained about construction noise and they charged us extra

We have stayed next door (Gone Catchin) twice over the years and they weren't available this week, so we tried next door (Gone Shellin). We checked in Monday and the WIFI wasn't working. Called the office and they sent someone out who fiddled with the router (turn this switch on and off five times) and it worked, but then the cable went out for the rest of our stay. We watched TV via my laptop. Wednesday morning a huge delivery truck arrived at our duplex, an 18 wheeler, delivering wood and other supplies. Then the construction noise began. Thursday and Friday we were treated to drilling, sawing, and hammering every time we wanted to sit on the deck and hear the ocean. When we complained on Friday the owner said "sorry" several times, offered a "free" night or 10% off a stay NEXT year. We wouldn't stay an additional day to hear more construction noise and next year is up in the air! To top it all off, the owner emailed and told me she didn't know about our dog and is going to charge us an additional $100! Our very first email to them, asking about available dates read "A middle aged couple and their beach-loving dog. We have stayed Gone Catchin twice! :)" I'm very disappointed in this stay, to say the least. We will not be staying at either place ever again. BEWARE!
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Mar 2020
I apologized numerous times to our guest and gave her $100 off for this stay which amounted to a 20% discount since they were only staying 5 days. The pet fee was waived. We also offered a free day but she declined. She never said anything about the TV not working. This is the first I've heard about it. We have a management company that takes very good care of our guests. She never complained to them or that would have been fixed immediately. The next door neighbors were installing a SMALL outside shower. This was not a big construction job at all. We knew nothing about it prior to this. They worked only 2 days from 10:30 until 3 pm with a break for lunch. Our neighbors apologized to this guest too but her husband swore at them and told them "F" you. Not exactly a nice "middle aged couple" as they called themselves. These people have no complaints about our home ,the amenities or the area. They are complaining about our neighbors...who I can't control. We have NEVER had a complaint or bad review in the 10 years we have been renting our home. We gave them money off, offered a free day ( the neighbors outdoor shower was completed) and a substantial discount if they wanted to come back again. She said she would give us a bad review if we did'nt give her more. We feel we were extremely fair. We can't control what the next door neighbors do but we tried rectify this the best we could. They were just trying to "SCAM" a free vacation out of us. I wish I would post their names so other people can "BEWARE" of them.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Place for a Small Family

Great Place for a Small Family. The place was a good size, good layout, and well stocked with all the appliances and cookware we needed. Surprisingly good view of the beach between the two ocean front houses. The walk to the beach was very easy.
Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Nov 2021
Thank you so much for being our guest. You are welcome to come back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Very nice duplex close to the beach

Nice quaint duplex very close to the beach. Quiet neighborhood with sturdy walkway to ocean. Nice deck with partial view of ocean. Small grassy area for my dog to potty. Nice kitchen. Would rent again!
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Oct 2021
Thank you Beth. You were a wonderful guest. Please come back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cute little beach house

Had a great stay. Great location, and great price. Small, simple and perfect for a family staying at the beach all day.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Really enjoyed our stay , been to the Cape 40 + times so I've seen quite a few place particularly

As stated above , if I had to compare this unit to others in Silent Sands I would give a C. For ambience . Decor really needs to be updated also kitchen etc.✌️
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location

Property Review

The property is in a great location just off the beach. Ideally, it is smaller than we prefer, but would rent again.
Response from VrboOwner on 13 Jul 2021
Disappointed in the rating. As you can see from the description and the pictures it it not a huge 6 bedroom home. It is a wonderful beach cottage, exactly as advertised. Our rates are lower than most of the similar ( or smaller) properties on the Cape, especially factoring in our location. Hope you had a wonderful time!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Gone shellin

Nice proximity to beach. Would definitely stay they again. But the house is cluttered with to many trinkets. decor could be better.
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 5 May 2021
Hi Gail, thank you for your review. Everyone has their own taste in decor. I get a lot of compliments on the beachy decor from other guests. You are welcome to put the things you don't like in a closet and take them out before you leave. Sincerely, Carol
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback