Condo

Pet-Friendly Lakefront Studio – Canoes, Pool, Tennis, and Resort Perks at Historic Mill House Lodge!

Photo gallery for Pet-Friendly Lakefront Studio – Canoes, Pool, Tennis, and Resort Perks at Historic Mill House Lodge!

A lakeside view with a fountain, a walking path, and a building with outdoor seating.
A bedroom with a large bed, a ceiling fan, a window with blinds, and a heater.
A building with a water feature, including a waterfall and a stream, surrounded by greenery.
A spacious living room with a fireplace, a dining area with a wooden table and chairs, and a bookshelf.
A lakeside patio with outdoor seating, a fountain, and a building in the background.

Reviews

7.4 out of 10
Good

Highlights

  • Sledding on-site
    A rare find — grab a sleigh and hit the slopes right here.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Flat Rock Playhouse

Popular amenities

  • Balcony or patio
  • Swimming pool
  • Waterpark access
  • Barbecue grill
  • High-speed internet
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View in a map
Flat Rock, NC
  • Place, Bonclarken Conference Center
    ‪12 min walk‬
  • Place, Flat Rock Playhouse
    ‪12 min walk‬
  • Place, Carl Sandburg Home National Historic Site
    ‪17 min walk‬
  • Airport, Asheville, NC (AVL-Asheville Regional)
    ‪21 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

1 bedroom (sleeps 2)

Master bedroom

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

bathroom

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Flat Rock

Located in Flat Rock, this condo is in the city centre and on the waterfront. Jones Gap State Park and Cedar Mountain Naturaland Trust reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Mineral and Lapidary Museum and Team ECCO Ocean Center and Aquarium. Elijah Mountain Gem Mine and Green River Adventures are also worth visiting. Kayaking and water tubing offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with mountain climbing and hiking/biking trails nearby.
Map
Flat Rock, NC

What's nearby

  • Bonclarken Conference Center - 12 min walk - 1.1 km
  • Flat Rock Playhouse - 12 min walk - 1.1 km
  • Carl Sandburg Home National Historic Site - 17 min walk - 1.4 km
  • The Park at Flat Rock - 4 min drive - 2.7 km
  • Biltmore Estate - 38 min drive - 52.4 km

Getting around

  • Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) - 22 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Chick-fil-A - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Dunkin' - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Cracker Barrel - ‬7 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Does Pet-Friendly Lakefront Studio – Canoes, Pool, Tennis, and Resort Perks at Historic Mill House Lodge! have a pool?

Yes, this property has a pool.

Is Pet-Friendly Lakefront Studio – Canoes, Pool, Tennis, and Resort Perks at Historic Mill House Lodge! pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Pet-Friendly Lakefront Studio – Canoes, Pool, Tennis, and Resort Perks at Historic Mill House Lodge!?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Pet-Friendly Lakefront Studio – Canoes, Pool, Tennis, and Resort Perks at Historic Mill House Lodge!?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Pet-Friendly Lakefront Studio – Canoes, Pool, Tennis, and Resort Perks at Historic Mill House Lodge!?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Pet-Friendly Lakefront Studio – Canoes, Pool, Tennis, and Resort Perks at Historic Mill House Lodge! located?

Located in the heart of Flat Rock, this condo building is within a 15-minute walk of Flat Rock Playhouse, Bonclarken Conference Center and Carl Sandburg Home National Historic Site. The Park at Flat Rock and Butt Mountain are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

7.4

Good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 3 out of 11 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 5 out of 11 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 11 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 11 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 11 reviews

8.0/10

Cleanliness

8.0/10

Amenities

8.0/10

Property conditions & facilities

7.6/10

Check-in

6.0/10

Communication

8.8/10

Location

7.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Peace and Quiet

We love staying here.
Stayed 9 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Oct 2024
It was a pleasure hosting you!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Great view

Very nice porch view. Relaxing time!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jul 2023
It was a pleasure hosting you! Thank you for the review! Come see us again soon! We'll provide you with a Returning Guest Discount!!!!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
Very comfortable mattress and soothing views. Disappointed there were no kayaks as advertised. Neighbors were a bit loud, kitchen light did not work in dark area.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2022
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Relaxing in a beautiful area

Small attached cabin with a great back porch looking towards a beautiful body of water with geese and egrets. Bed mattress comfortable. Bring ice trays. Very good shower. Located across the street to Bon Clarken, the large conference center for tge ARP church. We enjoyed the Flat Rock Playhouse theatre and dining out in Hendersonville, NC, just 2-5 miles awsy.. Apple orchard popular with families close by. We plan to return.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jul 2023
Thank you for your stay and review, Tom & Catherine! Thrilled to hear that y'all enjoyed the area! Thank you for the tip regarding ice trays. We will be sure to get some there. We look forward to your return trip! -iTrip Vacations Charlotte Team
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Mill House Nest

It was very nice and relaxing. We could sit on the porch and see the lake right in front of us. Place was clean and well supplied with everything that we needed. Only fault we found was that the bed was to tall. Im 5"7 and I could not get on the bed. My husband is 6"3 and he had to jump to get on it. Other than that we gad a great time.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Sept 2023
Darlene, your impression of Mill House Nest is appreciated. We are glad you could relax and enjoy some of the great amenities. Sorry about that little hiccup with the bed; I will inform our management team. Come again soon! - iTrip Charlotte Team
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Slum Lord Management

The smell of mildew overpowering, causing nausea and respiratory distress during 10 day stay. Building listed as Millhouse Nest. It is actually Lakeview building with no signs showing the words Nest anywhere, so spent 30 min in the dark trying to find my lodging, after traveling 3000 miles and for over 10 hours. Dirty fridge, filthy porch, black mold and giant water stain on ceilings, filthy, mildewed drapes, clogged bathroom sink. Off site mgt. is slumlord style. No one on site to help with ANYTHING. Very frustrating. Would not recommend to anyone!
Stayed 9 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, location
Disliked: Check-in, communication

Good potential

Check in was confusing and erratic. I have booked thru VRBO many times but this time I was forwarded to ITrip and then forwarded to Superhog neither of which I had known about thus the process was triple effort and made the VRBO app useless Superhog then told iTrips I had not completed the application (in error) ITrips states texting them is the best way to get a quick response. Actually no response. Calling them was ok. They answered the phone but they could not actually contact the property manager effectively Electricity went out when using the microwave and no help was available saying it would take two days to correct. A partial refund was offered Contact with management ineffective saying it would take two days to correct Lovely location. Lodging had a sweet clean look. I have stayed at the Mill House location three times This will be the final time.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jul 2023
It was a pleasure hosting you, Stanley! We are so sorry to hear that you felt the Check-in processing was confusing. VRBO is only a marketing platform. iTrip is the property management company that is taking care of the unit you rented. As added security for our guests as well as our owners, we use Superhog to insure all transactions are secure and valid. iTrip provides many ways for guests to contact us via email, text, by phone and directly through the VRBO site. We do apologize for the electrical issues you were experiencing during your stay and can assure you everything is in working order.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy

Too many problems - No communication

We came prepared to cook our meals and were unable to do so. We couldn't get the pans to heat more than low on the stove. Which also meant no boiling water. We chose a cabin based on cooking and it ruined the trip. Sleep was also not great as we had a neighboring dog yelping. And the couch bed caving in. Awful mattress. We tried to use the living room tv and the remote wouldn't work. My husband tried to reprogram it and still nothing. So we couldn't put in our logins to watch things we wanted. I contacted the number provided and have yet to hear back- more than 24 hours later! We left a day early because it just wasn’t worth it. Very disappointing all around.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 28 May 2024
We appreciate guests like you, Jessica, who help us improve our services. We are sorry you felt the need to check out earlier. The stove is less than a year old and was working properly prior to your arrival. The resort is pet friendly. If you were having issues with another unit, the resort does have a front desk where you can complain about the dog barking. We manage only this unit and not the whole resort. The mattress on the sleeper sofa is less than a year old. Please be advised sleepers do have a weight limit. We have never had any complaints about it before. In regards to the remote, it sounds like it just needed new batteries. It was working prior to your arrival as well. Your stay was over Memorial Day weekend. Delays are expected due to the high call volume. We did get back to you, but you had already checked out. We would have been happy to assist you any way we could! -iTrip Charlotte Team
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

FREE Amenities! More FUN for the family!

The unit was cute and quaint! Kitchen was stocked with everything we needed for a weekend getaway. Resort had so many FREE amenities to enjoy! We went canoeing, played tennis at the tennis courts, enjoyed the lakefront fire pit, went swimming in the pool and had a lovely BBQ right by the water. We can't wait to come back again! Hosts were excellent at attending to our needs. 5-STARS!!!
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jul 2023
It was a pleasure hosting you! Thank you for the GREAT review! Come see us again soon! We'll provide you with a Returning Guest Discount!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely just lovely

I’ve stayed at this property before it was s Congo / the ease this time was just wonderful / no check in no check out / and the property is beautiful with the changes made.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jul 2023
It was a pleasure hosting you! Thank you for the GREAT review! We do hope you enjoyed your time with us. Come see us again soon! We'll provide you with a Returning Guest Discount!!!!
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Mill House Nest Flat Rock, NC

The location was lovely! We had a back porch situation with rocking chairs that over looked a pond complete with geese. We did have to improvise for our hanging clothes since there was no closet. Also, the kitchen appliances needed to have a power strip to be able to use them. We had to move what we needed to other outlets in the space. But, overall, our stay was very relaxing. The space was clean & comfortable. Being a corner room made it very quiet.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jul 2023
It was a pleasure hosting you! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Keep in mind, this is a studio apt and (unfortunately) does not have the space to provide guests with a closet to hang their clothes. This is tiny-home living at it's best! However, the bedroom does have a chest drawer for you to place your belongings in. Since this is a "tiny" space, it would not be advisable to have several power strips since this could cause the unit to have an electrical short and lose power altogether. Safety is key! Come stay with us again soon! We'd love to host you again. Safe travels!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback