The Blue Door Historic CBD Cottage w/ Private Deck & Garden

Photo gallery for The Blue Door Historic CBD Cottage w/ Private Deck & Garden

A modern kitchen with white cabinetry, a central island with bar stools, and a dining area with a sofa and chairs.
A white brick building with a teal door, a potted plant, and a wooden fence.
A bedroom with a bed, a colorful quilt, a window with blinds, a wooden floor, and a nightstand with a lamp.
A bedroom with a bed, a wooden table, a chair, a wardrobe, and a hanging coat rack.
A modern living room with a flat-screen TV mounted on the wall, a wooden entertainment unit with books and a vase, a window with a view, and a wine rack.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Made for relaxation
    Top-rated for comfort — guests feel right at home here.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Adelaide Casino

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Dryer

Explore the area

View in a map
Adelaide, South Australia
  • Place, Adelaide Central Market
    ‪10 min walk‬
  • Place, Victoria Square
    ‪12 min walk‬
  • Place, Adelaide Convention Centre
    ‪18 min walk‬
  • Airport, Adelaide, SA (ADL)
    ‪13 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 4)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Office
Balcony

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Adelaide

Adelaide Central Business District, a neighbourhood in Adelaide, is home to this holiday home. Her Majesty's Theater and Lion Arts Centre are cultural highlights, and some of the area's attractions include Jam Factory Contemporary Craft & Design Centre and Adelaide Showground. Looking to enjoy an event or a game? See what's going on at Adelaide Oval, or consider Adelaide Entertainment Centre for a night out.
Map
Adelaide, South Australia

What's nearby

  • Adelaide Central Market - 10 min walk - 0.9 km
  • Victoria Square - 12 min walk - 1.0 km
  • Adelaide Casino - 18 min walk - 1.6 km
  • Adelaide Convention Centre - 18 min walk - 1.6 km
  • Rundle Mall - 20 min walk - 1.7 km

Getting around

  • Victoria Square - Tarndanyangga Tram Stop - 13 min walk
  • Pirie Street Tram Station - 18 min walk
  • Adelaide, SA (ADL) - 13 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Elephant & Castle Hotel - ‬7 min walk
  • ‪SOHO - ‬8 min walk
  • ‪Hungry Jack's - ‬3 min walk
  • ‪Futake - ‬8 min walk
  • ‪Parkbongsook Restaurant - ‬8 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is The Blue Door Historic CBD Cottage w/ Private Deck & Garden pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

What time is check-in at The Blue Door Historic CBD Cottage w/ Private Deck & Garden?

Check-in begins at 2:30 PM.

What time is check-out at The Blue Door Historic CBD Cottage w/ Private Deck & Garden?

Checkout is at 10:30 AM.

Where is The Blue Door Historic CBD Cottage w/ Private Deck & Garden located?

Located in Adelaide Central Business District, this holiday home is within 1 mile (2 km) of West Terrace Cemetery, Adelaide Casino and Rundle Mall. Adelaide Oval is 1.5 mi (2.4 km) away. Victoria Square - Tarndanyangga Tram Stop is 13 minutes by foot and Royal Adelaide Hospital Tram Stop is 14 minutes.

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 12 out of 16 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 16 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 16 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 16 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 16 reviews

9.8/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

8.8/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

8.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A blissful stay in Adelaide

A beautiful property in a great and convenient location! Super clean and with everything you need at your fingertips.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Aug 2023
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for our property Lisa. We are very happy to hear you had such a great stay! We look forward to hosting you again in the future should you return to Adelaide. The Hello Host Team.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Brilliant place

This place is in the perfect location and is extremely comfortable. The hosts have thought of everything. Little touches and comforts make it feel like home. Will definitely stay again.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Aug 2024
Thank you so much, Emily, for your 5-star rating! We’re delighted that you found the location perfect and the place so comfortable. It’s wonderful to hear that the little touches made it feel like home for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Better than home.

A lovely property, stylish, comfortable, well equipped and central. Up there with the best we have stayed in. Even has the shopping trolley so you can take the short walk to the Central Market to pick up some supplies.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Aug 2022
Thank you Katrina, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

5 nights at the blue door

Great spot to explore Adelaide city from.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Jul 2023
John was a wonderful guest and we would be happy to host them again. The Hello Host team
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The place was good. However, will be good to change all the spices since all has expired and provide more salt other than the salt in the shaker. Whole carton of milk, coffee, tea and sugar deeply appreciated.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Oct 2025
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us! Regarding the spices, they were left by a previous long-stay guest and were kept by the cleaners as a complimentary extra. However, we appreciate your comment and will make sure to remove any expired items. We’re glad you appreciated the milk, coffee, tea and sugar provided. Thank you again for your suggestions — they help us improve!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful, historic property.

A lovely period cottage within walking distance of the centre of Adelaide. The cottage has a well equipped kitchen and all the rooms are very comfortable. The cottage is in a cul-de-sac so the neighbourhood is quiet.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Nov 2023
Thanks for your kind review Karen. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Such a great find!

My business partner and I had a two week consultancy and this place was perfect. Amenities were great, space was perfect for working, and distance from client allowed us to choose to either walk or Uber. Check in and out was very easy, and we appreciated the complimentary bottle of wine. Will book again.
Stayed 13 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Nov 2024
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Andrea! We're thrilled to hear that the space and amenities suited your needs perfectly during your consultancy. It’s great that our location offered you the flexibility to walk or Uber to your client, and we’re glad you enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine. We’d be delighted to welcome you back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Great location for enjoying the city.

The house was great. Excellent air con, comfy beds, good kitchen. The location was excellent, close to central market and great restaurants. I am glad we didn't have a car because parking was scarce and squeezy. Adelaide is a fabulous city especially while there is a festival happening.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Feb 2024
Thank you for your great feedback Robert! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our house offers excellent air conditioning, comfortable beds, and a well-equipped kitchen. The location near the central market and great restaurants is unbeatable. We understand parking can be challenging, but we're pleased it didn't affect your overall experience. Adelaide is especially fabulous during festival season, and we're delighted you got to experience its vibrancy. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quality Accommodation

Good location. Well appointed (except that there are no alternatives to the bloody doonas). Convenience to free CBD bus service a definate plus.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Location Location Location

This is such a great place to stay close to the Markets and China Town a foodies delight. Walking distance to most things and easy access to trams and trains. Home from home everything you need to enjoy your stay is already there and with the markets 5 minutes walk away you can shop to your hearts content. Loved our stay all 4 adults plenty of room and always managed to get a park close by if not right outside the house. Will definitely be back
Stayed 8 nights in Feb 2023
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The house was clean and tidy inside. Outside needed a cleanup. There is inadequate living room seating for 4 adults which made it uncomfortable in the evenings/relaxing. The bedroom door locked making access impossible until the serviceman arrived. The stools at the table has seats that were instable (seats loose and wobbly). Overall, I would recommend the house for younger people but not for an older group.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy

Bad.

Never seen service like this. Handbook notes the keypad lock sometimes doesn't work – Locked us out late. Host emails excessively and unavaible by phone. Inflated charges were sought after the stay. Listings should be required to disclose short-stay management firm. Will be staying clear of HelloHost.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Mar 2024
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're sorry to hear about the inconvenience you faced with the keypad lock and communication. Your feedback is valuable, and we'll work to address these issues to ensure a smoother experience for our guests in the future. We appreciate your input and understand your concerns.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, location
Disliked: Communication

Great place and location

Check in was for 2:30 pm. We couldn’t get in till 4pm as previous occupants were late in leaving and then had to be cleaned. The price of cleaning was exorbitant. We seemed to working for the property manager! They didn’t know we were late getting in, and when told then checked we were telling the truth. Would have thought the cleaner would have told them. Apparently you have to get permission to depart late so why didn’t the property manger know? No phone calls everything had to be done by email. Somewhat tedious going back and forth never know whom you would get next, sometimes explaining the same thing over again because someone different answered. The parking permit expired which again was us informing them and had to renewed. Then it was by chance if we could get parking in the street even though they kept saying there was a parking bay for us was on the street. The bathroom sink drain was blocked. The property manager wanted us to spend time checking instead of coming or sending someone out to attend immediately. Again doubting if we were telling the truth. Of coarse when someone did come it was well and truly blocked with a handful of hair etc. Tradesmen there for some hours was discreet and friendly but really who wants a tradesmen there while you are meant to be on holiday. There was not enough toilet paper they gave us only 3 rolls between 4 people for 7 days…they refused to give us any more so went out and bought more. Not all products were replenished which they stated were not on the list even though the products were all part of the same product range. Then they sent a departure email with a lengthy list on what l had to do before leaving. Can you believe they wanted us to empty all bins and then replace with new bags. Strange l would have thought that was part of cleaning a place. Think l will give STAYZ a miss in the future Stead there was park
Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Dec 2022
Communication with this guest was troublesome from the onset of acceptance of this booking. The guest’s expectation was that they would receive the service of hotel accommodation from the self-catering stay that was booked. Our team continued to provide professional and prompt responses to over thirty emails with requests received from this guest before, during and after their stay. We were disappointed to receive notification from this guest that the property was not ready for their 3pm check in. This was a situation that was out of our control, and unfortunately, had not been communicated to our team by the cleaner attending who was new. The clean was complete by 3.30pm and we communicated our sincere apologies directly to the guest as this was a situation that should not have occurred. We attended the next day to check the door lock which the guest had reported as faulty, however, no fault presented. As a thank you for the check in delay we left a complimentary bottle of wine for the guests during this visit. The guest thanked us for our prompt attendance and resolution of the issue. We pride ourselves on offering high service levels and providing the essential necessities to welcome our guests. The guests were supplied with 6 rolls of toilet paper upon arrival not the 3 advised in their review. This is intended as an initial supply for a self-catering stay and is reflected in the pricing for the accommodation. Other consumable items requested by the guest were not items that are normally supplied such as hand lotion and fabric softener. Regarding the guest’s grievance about parking, it is clearly noted that there is street parking only available in front of the property and surrounding streets and is rare that a park is not available in the location. The council issued parking permit available for our guests use expired during the guests stay and was replaced promptly upon notification from the guest. A plumbing issue arose during the guests stay and after problem shooting from the customer service team a plumber was promptly sent to remedy the issue the same day. The guests’ expectations, and at times unreasonable communications, were dealt with as professionally and courteously as possible. It is unfortunate that despite our best efforts the guest did not enjoy their stay. We would recommend that the guest avoids booking self-catering accommodation for their future travels as it clearly does not suit their requirements.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Adelaide Gem

We loved our stay at The Blue Door and will hopefully return again next year! The location is quiet, yet just a couple of easy walking blocks to another Adelaide gem, Central Market. From there, free public transport takes you to Rundle Mall, North Terrace, Art Gallery State Library etc. The cottage is thoughtfully decorated, full of natural light and we especially appreciated the hand curated Adelaide art and culture tributes. It had everything we needed for our Adelaide return stay!
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 8 May 2023
Mark was a wonderful guest and we would be happy to host them again. The Hello Host team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 9 nights in Jul 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback