Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury 3 bed house near St Andrews. Ideal for Golf, Sea and Walks

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,937 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Recently renovated 3 bedroom 3 bathrooms near St Andrews

Dating from 1743, and originally two fishermen's cottages, this house has recently been extensively renovated to offer a spacious, modern and comfortable property in the quiet village of Cellardyke.

The fully fitted kitchen/ dining room (with AGA) offers a large entertaining area with seating for eight plus breakfast bar.

A separate sitting room has direct access to a private walled garden and deck area.

Three twin bedrooms with modern ensuite bathrooms offering showers in each,( plus one luxurious slipper bath) are tastefully decorated and incorporate ample storage.

There is also a storage room, with separate access, allowing wet or muddy equipment to be stored and dried.

A BBQ area is adjacent to the private decking area.

A beautiful sea view over to Bass Rock and Isle of May is offered from the master bedroom which, like the other two bedrooms, features twin beds to cater for groups as well as families.

This property offers direct access to the renowned Fife Coastal Walk that follows the chain of quaint fishing villages round the East Neuk of Fife. Enjoy the old village pubs and restaurants before heading off to play one of the many golf courses in the area including the famous Old Course in St Andrews.

The more adventurous can enjoy the many water sports on offer around Anstruther and Cellardyke. Both villages have harbours that provide boat excursions to the island seabird colonies, and these are both within easy walking distance of the house.

Try the award winning Fish and Chips on your way home from the harbour.

More Details

Owner
Pamela Haggart
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2017

Amenities

Cellardyke House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1937 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Luxury
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Wet room style, spacious room with underfloor heating.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Luxurious wetroom plus slipper bath and underfloor heating
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Spacious shower cabinet
  • All bathrooms finished to luxuriously high standard including underfloor heating, tiling and large shower heads. Slipper bath in main bathroom for complete relaxation.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , Walk in dressing room and ensuite shower room
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Walk in wardrobe.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Walk in wardrobe and ensuite shower room
  • All bedrooms recently decorated. Good quality linen and towels provided. Sleeps 6 in beds. Further temporary bed available by prior arrangement (extra linen and towel charges may apply).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ideally situated to visit local historic fishing villages and walk the Fife Coastal Route. Scottish Fisheries Museum 250 yards from house. Close enough to Edinburgh for City attractions. Golf courses in every direction.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury 3 bed house near St Andrews. Ideal for Golf, Sea and Walks
average rating of 4.773585 based on 53 reviews
5

A fantastic home, ideal for family holidays. We felt in love with it

  • 5 of 5

We were a party of 8 and had such an amazing time there. Property located within a stone throw from the harbour and local shops and restaurants. Everything inside modern and orderly throughout. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

what a lovely place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We were spending some time in Scotland to celebrate our fiftieth anniversary before leaving from Southampton on a cruise. There were seven of us. The house was perfect for so many with space for all of us. The contrast from the outside and inside will, almost, knock you over. Modern, with upscale ammenities, and tastefully decorated, it was a pleasure being there. Only one block away from the water front it was convent to all that was available to enjoy. Speaking about the waterfront, we hearthly recommend The Waterfront restaurant. The food and service were world class.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks S. Appreciate your comments about the house and especially about the surrounding area. We don't realise how special it is sometimes. Enjoy your cruise !!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic property with everything you need. Great location. Would definitely return!

  • 5 of 5

We were a golfing party of 8 who stayed for 3 nights in June and we all had a fantastic stay. The property is modern and was spacious enough for us all including a big kitchen and open dining area stocked with everything you need-the Aga oven was impressive. The bath rooms were excellent with walk in wet rooms in 2. The outside garden area was on the small side but still enough room to sit out & enjoy the fresh air. Locals in the village were very friendly & welcoming which was nice. Cellarydke is a great wee town to stay. Pamela the owner was a great help also when we accidentally locked ourselves out of the property! We would definitely return to this property and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent Acomodation at James Street Cellardyke

  • 4 of 5

The property was stylish, spacious and comfortable. It was well eqiuiped and nicely furnished.

The only issue was that one bedroom did nnot have a heated towel rail.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

We have just arrive home from a beautiful peaceful week at 14 James street, it was home from home I baked and drank wine most of the week, in between walking, the aga was amazing from making pancakes to toasties bread and popadoms to full out Sunday roasts the house has everything you need. The bathrooms and bedroom were lovely warm and comfortable, the living room was lovely but sofa not very inviting after long walks around the coastline but we spent most of our time in the kitchen / dinning area where we had two comfy arm chairs and warm blankets to snuggle up with and watch the tv while the boys played games at table or used the pink sofa in the lounge upstairs. You will not be disappointed if you just want to relax and get away from everything, there is no phone signal unless you go to the top of the house which was ok for us.

My only niggle was no Christmas decorations or a little tree just to say it's Christmas. I'm a big Christmas fan I love everything Christmassy so maybe it's just me.

But I would highly recommend this house.

There are a few stairs/steps, we went with are nan and taid who are in there 70s they managed fine once they got their bearings.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Generally a lovely property but we found it dusty and particularly dirty on the kitchen

  • 2 of 5

We found it difficult to get around the property in a safe manner due to many steps and no hand rails. One bedroom had no heating and the shower did not work.Faulty door from kitchen denied access to rest of house . Heating inadequate on arrival .

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As we explained in our email, our housekeeper's daughter was taken into hospital with pregnancy problems, however, on this occasion we fell short of our usual standards and we have apologised. We are sorry that you did not alert us to your other issues when you called regarding your difficulty with the door handle. We have actioned repairs where necessary and apologise again for any inconvenience caused. (Thank you for deposit refund. Although we had a few minor issues when we were at the cottage we had a lovely time - it is a beautiful house with some lovely touches. Jackie)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Edinburgh
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
The Ship Anstruther
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Rosyth
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Anstruther, Crail, St Andrews
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Leuchars
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
M90
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
The Haven Cellardyke
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Cellardyke
Car: necessary

Situated on the Fife Coastal Trail,in one of the East Neuk's conservation villages, this property is perfect for all outdoor pursuits including walking, golf and water sports. More than twelve golf courses are within easy reach to cater for all standards. Ample storage and.drying areas are available in the property for when the weather turns nasty!!

World famous St Andrews with its ancient Cathedral, University and ten Golf Courses is 10 miles from here.

After all these outdoor activities it's a short walk to the famous Anstruther Fish Bar and other restaurants or bars.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $132.47

Please note: A 25% non returnable deposit will be required to secure booking. Balance of 75% to be paid six weeks before start of rental.
If booking within six weeks from rental 100% of applicable rates will be required when booking.



For short stays please contact the owner for availability if rates are not stated.

Payment by BACS please.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties