Calais is home to this apartment. Regional Natural Park of the Caps and Opal Marsh and Parc Richelieu reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Royal Kids Parc De Jeux and Stade Julien Denis.
Is Calais Black Apartment (2–4 people) – Downtown – Near the A16 – Beach – pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Calais Black Apartment (2–4 people) – Downtown – Near the A16 – Beach –?
As of Oct 31, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Calais Black Apartment (2–4 people) – Downtown – Near the A16 – Beach – on Jan 2, 2027 start from $125, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
What time is check-in at Calais Black Apartment (2–4 people) – Downtown – Near the A16 – Beach –?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Calais Black Apartment (2–4 people) – Downtown – Near the A16 – Beach –?
Check-out is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Calais Black Apartment (2–4 people) – Downtown – Near the A16 – Beach – located?
Situated in Calais, this apartment building is within 1 mi (2 km) of Grand Théâtre de Calais, Calais Lace Museum, and Parc St Pierre. Burghers of Calais and Second World War Museum are also within 1 mi (2 km). Les Fontinettes Station is only a 5-minute walk and Calais City Station is 19 minutes.
Reviews
7.4
Good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
The floors were not clean when we arrived, and when we asked for a mop, the host insisted that they were clean and refused du provide us a mop. The bathroom appeared to have had a long-term leaking pipe; it was damp and had a strong unpleasant smell. During our stay, the leak eventually caused the bathroom floor to flood.There were only 3 very thin towels and we had to buy one more ourselves as well as kitchen sponges as the one provided was very dirty and used. There is also no oven, which is quite strange for an apartment of this type. The internet connection was extremely slow and almost unusable, which was particularly inconvenient. We weren’t able to use the tv at all. Given the number of English-speaking guests who stay here, it would also be helpful if the host made more effort to communicate in both English and French, rather than only using French.The location in Calais is excellent and was probably the only real redeeming feature of the property. Unfortunately, the issues with cleanliness, the bathroom leak, internet and lack of basic facilities significantly detracted from our stay.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Sep 13, 2026
We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations. However, several points in your review require clarification so that future travelers have accurate information.
First, you reported the cleanliness issue more than 24 hours after your arrival. Had we been informed upon your arrival, we could naturally have intervened quickly to assess the situation and offer a solution. It is therefore unfortunate that we were not given this opportunity at a time when the problem could potentially have been resolved.
Regarding the bathroom, contrary to what your review implies, this was by no means a long-standing leak (as it occurred the day before your departure) or a pipe that had been leaking for a long time. When the property was prepared prior to your arrival, the bathroom was clean, dry, and showed no issues. The problem encountered was an isolated overflow from the water heater’s drain trap—an independent, unpredictable issue entirely beyond our control; notably, we intervened the very morning after you reported it. Upon our arrival on the day of your departure, we unfortunately found the property in a particularly dirty state.
Regarding cleaning supplies, the property is equipped with everything necessary for routine maintenance. We are therefore surprised by the claim that no cleaning tools were available.
As for the towels (one bath sheet and one small towel per person) and the amenities—specifically the oven—we would remind you that the property’s features and equipment are clearly listed in the advertisement. The absence of an oven does not constitute a missing amenity relative to what was advertised.
Regarding the internet, the property has a fiber-optic connection, contrary to the impression given by your review. We are sorry if you experienced connection issues during your stay, but this does not mean there was no internet access. Finally, regarding communication, there was no real language barrier: the platform enables automatic translation of messages, allowing travelers and hosts to communicate easily in their respective languages. We also remain available to assist our travelers whenever necessary.
We regularly welcome travelers and do our utmost to ensure that every stay goes smoothly. While we certainly welcome constructive criticism, we regret the particularly harsh tone of this review, as well as certain claims that do not reflect the reality of the accommodation or the actual circumstances.