Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

JUST STEPS TO THE OCEAN FRONT

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 7)

The former home of a writer and educator, this 1920's bungalow has been completely restored to provide a very comfortable stay at America's finest beach. Just steps from the boardwalk and beach (three houses from the boardwalk) and near Belmont Park and the Roller Coaster, the house comes equipped with all you will need for the perfect vacation. Boogie board,kayak, beach chairs, sand toys, garage parking and an extra outdoor shower.

The master bedroom has a queen bed and flat screen TV. The second bedroom has bunk beds with a single and double. The comfortable futon in the living room makes into a double, where there is another flat screen TV and IPod/CD music player. We also have a Pack N Play for your toddler.

The shelves are lined with over 300 quality books of all varieties. I keep the prices very affordable compared to any other stand alone house in Mission Beach, so it books out very well. Many people really like this historic-style cottage feel rather than 'all-the-same' condos that line much of the beach, and for good reason. The hard-wood floors and Dutch-door in the front provide a nostalgic step back in time, while enjoying the upgrades to the cottage over the years.

When our kids are grown we're moving back in!! So come enjoy the Mission Beach Cottage while you can. :)

World famous Sea World is five minutes away and the San Diego Zoo is ten minutes. World class dining can be enjoyed in downtown's Gaslamp Quarter, a ten minute drive. Mission Beach offers nightly sunsets, biking, sailing, rollerblading, surfing, boating, a roller coaster and the country's most entertaining people-watching.

Book now, for the vacation you deserve.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
David Simmonds
Member since: 1999
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017

About David Simmonds

I first moved to San Diego to go to San Diego State University and landed in Mission Beach, thinking 'why would I ever want to leave here'. Eventually, I was able to buy this house where my wife and I lived for ten years before starting a family. Now we have been vacation renting it for 14 years with plans to move back in when the kids are off to college.

David Simmonds purchased this house in 1990

Why David Simmonds chose San Diego County

One thing that attracted me to buy this house is its location so close to the beach and boardwalk. And it is a single family home with no attached homes, on its own lot. We also loved the historic value in an era when so many others are building new condos.

What makes this house unique

Having a single-family house on its own lot is a huge benefit. There are no common walls and you aren't sharing the yard with anyone. The proximity to the boardwalk and sand is a big plus, too, for a fraction of the price of the oceanfront properties which have very little privacy.

Amenities

Mission Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) Pack N Play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon in living room makes into a double, Bunk Beds (1) Double on bottom, single on top
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach chairs, Kayak, Boogie boards, Patio furniture, sand toys, beach umbrella

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(52 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
28% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
JUST STEPS TO THE OCEAN FRONT
average rating of 4.4423075 based on 52 reviews
5

Location

  • 5 of 5

Great location!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Stephanie. I'm glad you had a good trip and liked the house. Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Can't beat the location

  • 4 of 5

Cottage is old but clean. Nothing fancy but was perfect for our family.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is an historic cottage that my wife and I have preserved to retain the beach flavor of past times instead of tearing it down like so many others have. I'm glad it was perfect for your family. I could make it "fancier", but that would detract from our preservation efforts and it would be impossible to keep the good price that I offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enjoyable stay at Writer's Cottage close to beach !!

  • 4 of 5

Really enjoyed our recent stay at the Writer's Cottage! It is a charming older property with lovely antiques strewn throughout, as well as all modern necessities that you would need for your stay. Loved the close proximity to the ocean as it is the third house from the boardwalk. It has a great front patio and if the car next-door is not parked you have a direct view of tower 16 on the beach! The property is located in a area that is close to restaurants, bars and shops. Good referral to nearby Ray's Rentals for bike rental. One of our favorite activities was bike riding around the bay & then riding the boardwalk and stopping for lunch at Lahaina's bar and Grill ! Dave, the owner, was very nice and easily reached by email, as he responded quickly to all my inquiries before stay & during. The few concerns we had were minor problems – we were there during a chilly week and no heating was missed a little by this Arizona girl. The bathroom shower was the smallest shower I've ever been in. But otherwise good hot water! Little to no sink counter for us ladies who need to prepare in the morning. Entry lock is very tricky to use but we were able to figure it out eventually. Garage fit our midsize car with guidance from a 2nd party! There were pieces of lumber in garage that were really in the way to get in and out of my car so I finally reorganized them so I wouldn't trip. We had a little episode with ants in a plant that was in the house but we were able to eradicate them fairly quickly. Only one extra roll of toilet paper in the house during our stay. Thus, we got to the store. Bed was a small queen. Fair in comfort. We thought this was an enjoyable beach house to rent and would do it again!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, but the heater on the wall when you enter through the back door works well and heats the entire house quickly. I wish you had called me about that. Come back again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy cottage steps from beach

  • 5 of 5

We loved every moment! Will be recommending this location to friends and family. We can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Dirty and unreasonable

  • 1 of 5

Apon arrival, the rental was found with a dirty counter and stove top. The house is located in a good area but it is in bad condition. The bathroom door doesn't shut, there was no toilet paper, paper towels, or a spounge to do dishes. The property manager changed the date of my departure without explanation so we woke up a day before we planned to leave to a maid knocking on the door. The property turned out to be double booked and we needed to leave a day early. The property manager kept my security deposite with reason of us having too many people in the house but that's rediculous because we were actually down two people for the weekend and there's no way that we deserved to have out deposit taken away. When I contacted the manager he was rude and told me that he will give me a bad review as a renter if I filed a dispute. I'm awaiting my dispute desision right now. Be warned, this house will unfairly take your money and ruin your vacation. There are many other beautiful houses on the beach in San Diego and for a cheap price like this.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is completely a lie. I did not change his departure date or double book. The vrbo system doesn't allow double bookings. There is no way to double book. He was scheduled to leave on the date that he had chosen as his departure date. Another party was coming in that same day. He finally departed 2 hours late, barely giving the maid enough time to prepare the house for the next guest. The assertion that there was no toilet paper, paper towels, etc. is wrong. Nor was the house dirty.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Perfect house for a great beach vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect beach cottage for our family vacation. Had everything we needed and enough room to host a beach get together with family and friends! The location is perfect! We were walking distance to Belmont park; great for our 4 year old! We will be back!!

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
San Diego Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Pennant
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
None
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Mission Bay
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Santa Fe
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-8
Nearest Restaurant
Luigi's
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Beach
Mission
Car: recommended

5 minutes to Sea World, ten minutes to San Diego Zoo, ten minutes Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, 10 minutes to La Jolla, 5 minutes to many bars and restaurants.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mission Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 5 2017 - Sep 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,595
 
 
Early summer 2018
Jun 2 2018 - Jun 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,595
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 16 2018 - Aug 10 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 11 2018 - Aug 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,995
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$165
$1,095
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $120 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 10.5%

Add 11.05% tax and $70 cleaning fee. One week minimum Saturday to Saturday in summer.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties