Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spring is here hike the Blue Ridge stay at Black Bear Retreat.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 master bedrooms +'computer room and play room, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Don't get stuck with just a cabin in the woods! Expect more from Black Bear Retreat. This home has it all. Enjoy state of the art surround sound, luxury furnishings, two covered decks and wonderful sun room with large casement windows overlooking forest and mountains. Excellent spot to read/write at ease while you feel as though you are nestled in the woods. Home is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Spacious bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen. Kitchen has top of the line appliances. Kenmore Elite washer/dryer. Multiple playback devices will keep the whole family entertained. Bring your blue ray discs, connect your iPods, stream movies on Netflix or surf you tube. NEW 60 inch large screen LED 1080P HD Streaming Wifi TV in living room two other HD TV's in bedrooms. The double master bedroom with baths one upstairs and one on the main level is perfect for 2 couples or a family of four. A bonus computer room can be used for work or play or as an extra place to sleep. Very comfortable queen size inflatable mattress is available. You will feel so comfortable in this mountain retreat that you'll never want to leave. The scenery is breathtaking. Unlike many mountain cabin homes in the area which are beautiful but remote and rugged, Black Bear combines privacy with easy access to the home and to all the town of Black Mountain and the Blue Ridge has to offer. The home is within town limits and has paved all weather access roads. The Sun room is light and bright. The best place enjoy a wonderful view of the surrounding woods, mountains, and wild life. Two Skylights with motorized shades let the sunshine in and keep things warm and bright in the fall and winter months. Two large covered decks on two floors allow you to enjoy the natural beauty or sit in a rocking chair sipping a bottle of wine and watching the sun go down over the mountain horizon.

email contact preferred

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Ed and Damaris De Varona
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

About Ed and Damaris De Varona

I work as an attorney in Miami. I am 50 years old. My wife and I have been married 17 years. I am self employed and enjoy considerable scheduling flexibility. We like to get away on long weekends. Because of the kids, school the longer trips have to wait until summer. There is also some time for us on spring break in March or Winter break in December to travel. We enjoy traveling to new places in our small RV. We have two beautiful daughters ages,16 and 15. The girls are very friendly and enjoy exploring new surroundings. We enjoy the great outdoors but also enjoy museums and touring new cities. This home is available on short notice.

Ed and Damaris De Varona purchased this house in 2007

Why Ed and Damaris De Varona chose Black Mountain

I was looking for a total getaway home that did not compromise privacy for convenience or space for amenities or views for location. Black Bear delivers more than your typical cabin in the woods. I can walk or bike into downtown Black Mountain for groceries or other provisions. I can park my RV out front or my cars in the two car garage. I can walk with the kids to the lake and the community pool. I can start hikes into the surrounding mountains within minutes from my home. I was looking for a place to relax and unwind to enjoy mountain sunsets from my decks and hear the sounds of nature and not the sounds of traffic or neighbors. Bird watch from my backyard decks. Eat your meals "al fresco" every night as you watch the sunset. I wanted to have a modern home with all the modern high tech conveniences. I did not want to settle for a 'Spartan' mountain cabin with limited or unpaved road access, internet access or spotty phone service. I wanted to have plenty of room for guests. I wanted a place to start my day trips into the Blue Ridge without having to worry about paved access, long winding gravel roads or adverse weather conditions. I wanted a home where AC in the Summer is strictly optional but four seasons can be enjoyed. Fall season at Black Bear is stunning and Winter season is mostly mild with some post card perfect snow showers.

I wanted a place within a day trip of all the Nature activities Western NC has to offer. Black Bear has delivered for me I know it will for you as well.

What makes this house unique

You are able to walk or bike to downtown or take your golf clubs cross the street and play golf at the stunning Black Mountain public golf course. A full service gym (Chesire) is a 5 minute drive or 15 min bike ride away. A picnic on the Blue Ridge Parkway one of America's most scenic highways is only a 10 minute drive away. Bring your fishing rod as lake Tomahawk is less than a 15 minute walk from the retreat. Go to Montreat and climb lookout mountain. You can take a casual stroll downtown to eat lunch at many fine restaurants or shop in the antique shops. Go to one of the many local festivals. Rent bikes at Epic Cycle downtown and do a mountain bike tour of Black Mountain start from your front door and take North fork road all the way around to old hwy 70 and Lake Tomahawk. Follow the golf courses back to Black Bear. If you crave more, the City of Asheville is considered one of the most livable cities in the US is at your doorstep. ( About 15 minute drive West on I-40 or US 70) Enjoy the incredible art and music scene in Downtown Asheville. Eat at the open air restaurants or spend the day at the Biltmore House. The largest private home in America. Tour the second largest art deco district in the US. Other nearby attractions include skiing less than 40 minutes away. White water rafting at the Nantahala River. KOA camping. Chimney Rock Park and Lake Lure is only 20 miles away. Grandfather Mountain and Mount Mitchell tallest mountain east of the Mississippi are less than 1 hour away.

Guestbook comments from the owner

what a great weekend we had! The house is great!...We will definitely be back!
May 2010
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Black Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(57 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
29% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Spring is here hike the Blue Ridge stay at Black Bear Retreat.
average rating of 4.4561405 based on 61 reviews
3

Nice rental, weather problem.

  • 3 of 5

There were two couples using this rental and we were comfortable. Not luxury but comfortable. Our problem occurred when during a rain storm there was a water main break and there was no water to the house. We called the water company and they said it would be a couple days for water to be restored. We had two nights left on our rental. We felt like we had not choice but to leave. We would have no toilets to flush or water to wash with. We did go to the store and buy gallons of water to flush the toilets with before we left. So we would not leave a stinky mess. When we contacted the owner hoping for somewhat of a refund and thanks for not leaving a mess, all we got was "too bad, you should have gotten insurance". He said that he is not responsible for "Acts of God". We aren't either. His attitude left a very bad taste. We have used VRBO for many years and we have had problems with two rentals this year. The message is to be very careful in who you rent from.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is very unfortunate that a storm ruined your stay. The terms were clear in the rental agreement that we were not responsible for losses due to storms. I tried to make it right by offering you a credit of two nights for any future stay. I hope you take me up on the credit in your future travels. Trip insurance is highly recommended for unexpected trip issues. I hope you understand that refunding money causes as much of a hardship for me as for you. .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable and did not lack for anything

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything described and we had a very relaxing and comfortable stay. Will definitely try to stay here again when we come back.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jack for staying at BBR. I am glad you had a great stay and look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable, and everything we needed. Gorgeous setting.

  • 4 of 5

The house has comfy furniture and beds, with a breathtaking view from the enclosed porch which is where we spent nearly all of our time when in the house. The two full master suites made it easy for two couples. The basement level even provided space for a workout. We had two movie nights in front of the big screen in the living room (after a bit of effort working out the controls). A complete laundry was very helpful.

We suggest that some of the window coverings need attention, with some non-working blinds and some with missing slats. But overall a very enjoyable experience, and we would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Black Mountain and all the amenities that BBR had to offer. I will be taking a close look at some of the blinds to make sure they all work as they should. Thanks again Carol for staying at BBR. I hope you will have a chance to return again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Top Notch Accomodations!

  • 4 of 5

Great location in Black Mountain. House has a great layout and quiet neighborhood. All the amenities one needs and we especially liked that soaps and towela were fresh. Nice touch. We would recommend to couples or small families

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York City
5

Our fourth stay there, all have been great

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at this property in December for four years in a row. It is a beautiful well-furnished house that is very comfortable. Best of all is the layout...the downstairs is perfect for socializing, but the upstairs master bedroom and bathroom can be completely private if someone wants to be alone. The appliances and entertainment center are top-notch. There are lots of windows and a very nice sunroom. And Black Mountain is a charming town, with lots of good restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful getaway.

  • 5 of 5

There were 4 of us friends and we really enjoyed the area and the house. Black Mountain is a great town and conveniently located. Shopping and dining were great.

The house worked out perfectly. We enjoyed the deck for happy hour, cooked breakfast and one dinner, and had plenty of space.

We did the Christmas evening and also daytime tour of the Biltmore and loved it!

It was a really great week.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am really glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Black Bear Retreat
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Tomohawk
Nearest Point of Interest
Downtown Black Mountain
Nearest Point of Interest
Asheville
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $95

For Holidays High rate will apply. Additional insurance fee and or deposits may be required. Pet fee additional. Rates and minimum stay requirements are subject to change until confirmed. Call for monthly rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties