Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

JUST OPENED UP 1/27/18 TO 2/3/18 - Last open time frame for winter 2018!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom 2 Bath Condo on the Beach, Private Beach w Beach Chairs & Heated Pool

House of the Sun, Unit 201, Siesta Key, I have a few other properties listed on VRBO as well and they are all on Siesta Key. If this one is not available for you, I have another condo also at House of the Sun, and at one is listing 1201328. Additionally, please view the other properties that I have. In the search engine, you can view a one bedroom which is 108307 and you can view my large 3 bedroom which is 721757. Thanks for your interest in my condos.

The following is a description of my condo at House of the Sun:

•House of the Sun is located at 6518 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, Florida 34242

• 2nd Floor Unit #201. I also have another condo at House of the Sun on the fifth floor.

•Reserved parking space is located under the building and you car will be kept cool 24/7.

•Master Bedroom has a king size bed, double mirrored closets, a mirrored vanity area, flat screen TV, private bath with walk in shower, updated, and is very spacious.

•Second bedroom has two twin beds and flat screen TV. The guest bathroom has a shower/tub combination, granite and sliding glass doors for the tub/shower.

•Living Room has High speed wireless internet, Surround Sound Home Theater with Ipod docking station, Blue Ray DVD player and 55'' flat screen smart TV.

•Fully equipped kitchen with a clothes washer and clothes dryer.

•Balcony with two lounge chairs, table w/4 chairs.

•Beach towels, beach lounge chairs provided on our beach by House of the Sun, and beach toys are all here. No need to bring any.

•Heated Pool and our own private tennis courts overlook the gulf.

•House of the Sun supplies lounge chairs both at the pool and on our section of the beach.

Views from the balcony face off to the southwest. Although this condo does not offer a view of the gulf, we still have a very nice view facing off towards the southwest and we get a wonderful southern exposure on our balcony all day long. House of the Sun has fourth and fifth floor decks with tables, chairs and lounge chairs and is a popular spot for sunset and the breathtaking panoramic views of Siesta Key Beach. Our HEATED POOL, and PRIVATE TENNIS COURTS overlook the gulf. During winter season the location cannot be beat, being one block from the Stickney Point Bridge (no long, slow lines on and off the key), and restaurants, bars, grocery, bike rental, drug store, ice cream, 7/Eleven, and much, much more, just across the street from House of the Sun.

Guests of House of the Sun enjoy bringing their evening cocktails and snacks to the FIFTH FLOOR DECK where the feeling is fun and friendly. Long lasting friendships that span the globe have been made from the fifth floor deck at sunset and guests come back year after year to enjoy this wonderful complex. CHARCOAL GRILLS are available with a beautiful picnic area that overlooks the beauty of the Gulf.

If you want a stress-free drive-free vacation, away from the public beach but still on the beautiful quartz crystal sands of Siesta Key Beach, this is one to consider.

If you would like to watch any of the video tours of the condos that I own and privately rent on Siesta Key, you can do so by logging into youtube. In the youtube search engine, input Donna Grimmer and all of my videos will appear.

Please take the time to read my RATES page. It has important information to help you when you book.

Keywords: 2 bedroom 2 bath condo on Siesta Key on the beach, Donna Grimmer, vacationsiesta

More Details

Owner
Donna Grimmer
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 14, 2018

About Donna Grimmer

Hi. I'm Donna Grimmer and I have four condos that I would love to show to you. If you are familiar with youtube, you can search out my videos by typing donnagrimm into the search engine at youtube. You can also find them on VRBO. They are 101699, 314793, 108307 and 721757 Although I do not live in Florida, I'm on Siesta Key many times a year and constantly check to make sure that my condos are in excellent condition. If you have any questions about my condos, please feel free to contact me anytime through this VRBO website. Have a great day.

Donna Grimmer purchased this condo in 2005

Why Donna Grimmer chose Siesta Key

House of the Sun is an extremely well run and maintained property. And we have all of the conveniences of shopping right across the street. We do not have to deal with the slow moving traffic on the key as we are just off of the south bridge (Stickney Point). Having a condo on the 2nd floor is a wonderful convenience, even with the 2 elevators, we can just walk up one flight of stairs to our condo. We love our place at House of the Sun!

What makes this condo unique

Dave and I have been coming to Siesta Key for over 15 years and we love it. We decided to purchase our condo at House of the Sun for so many reasons. First, we really like the location. The complex is on the gulf and one block away from the Stickney Point Bridge. During the busier times of the year, it is wonderful to be able to leave our building, cross the bridge and get to our destination without long, slow lines. We enjoy the large, heated pool the overlooks the gulf, and we love the decks on the fourth and fifth floors. Every evening, guests of House of the Sun love to come up to the 4th and 5th floor decks for sunset. A horn is typically blown from our 5th floor deck just as the sun is disappearing into the Gulf. The deck provides a panoramic view of Siesta Key Beach, and we are one of the very view complexes that have these wonderful decks right on the beach. We love the convenience of being able to walk across the street for groceries at the Crescent Market, cocktails at the Sniki Tiki and dinner at Claytons. Typically, my car stays under the building in my covered parking space for most of my time at House of the Sun. Everything that I need is right across the street, from rentals, to shops, to a variety of eateries, liquor stores, ice cream, pizza, pharmacy, rentals, and the list goes on and on...I simply cannot say enough about the location and amenities here at House of the Sun!

Guestbook comments from the owner

I had received the following email from a guest who was in just after Hurricane Irma. The building at House of the Sun had a repair that required water to be turned off at different areas of the building for 1-2 days. Guests needed to be moved to other condos where the building had water. My guest had to be moved to one of those units and here is the note that I received from my guest:



"Considering all that Siesta Key had been through with the hurricane, we felt fortunate that we were able to make this trip and stay there.

My son asked us over two years ago if we would be able to go to Sarasota for the World Rowing Championships, so the trip was important to us. We had a very good time and my son’s fiancee enjoyed her first trip to Florida. We spent much of Sunday at the rowing event and Monday on the beautiful beach and in the water. The beach chairs provided by House of the Sun, and your umbrellas and towels came in very handy. Unit *** had many decorations, (but no beach umbrellas and no beach towels), but your unit had more of the practical things people really want to use."

Thank you again.
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 23

Amenities

Siesta Key Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Large walk in shower, granite and tile, fresh & bright.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tub/shower has sliding glass doors, granite & tile.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Spacious bedroom, double closets, vanity, flat screen TV
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Flat screen on wall, comfortable and fresh mattresses.
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
JUST OPENED UP 1/27/18 TO 2/3/18 - Last open time frame for winter 2018!
average rating of 4.7586207 based on 52 reviews
5

Loved the privacy of the beach! Location walking distance to a bunch of stuff

  • 5 of 5

Donna is very informative, the condo is extremely well stocked, and it's so nice to go on a vacation where the beds actually comfortable! Weather was perfect and the restaurants and stores walking distance were terrific

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kevin, I'm pleased to hear that your pre-holiday get-away was a good one and that you enjoyed my condo at House of the Sun. I love the complex and the location and that is the reason why I purchased two units at this complex. I hope that you will keep me in mind for a return trip and that you will let your friends and family know that they can reach out to me through my Facebook Page, my email, or phone anytime. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a healthy and prosperous 2018! Donna G
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will be returning! The condo is spotless and well-appointed. Owner communication is the top-notch. We weren't concerned with being within walking distance to The Village area, so this was the perfect location for us. Loved the beach access & nearby bars/restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Wendy, Thank you for the wonderful review! Having purchased this one just last October, it was important to be able to get feedback and do whatever we can to make it as top notch as our other 3 places that we have here on Siesta Key. It was great to have been able to meet up with you while you were here and I look forward to having you back in the future. Hopefully we will meet again. Have a wonderful 2018!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1/2 time Sarasota; 1/2 time New Jersey
1

STAY AWAY FROM HERE!

  • 1 of 5

Don't stay here! I had a very unpleasant experience in the end, ruining an expensive 3 day weekend. The owner uses a young, totally unprofessional cleaning person (who told me she was the owner's niece), and who yelled "get out - your time is up" when she arrived precisely at 10 am on the final day. So we did. Then I received a text message from the owner an hour later complaining I hadn't stripped the beds! And in the end, the owner retained some of my security deposit claiming I hadn't complied with her cleaning instructions. So consider yourself forewarned! There are many great places to stay in Siesta Beach and Sarasota. This is definitely not one of them.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have an agreed departure time of 10:00 in order to get the condo ready for the next guest due to arrive the same day. This is standard departure time for the entire complex of House of the Sun as well as most other properties on the Key. My cleaning lady, who is a mature adult owner operator of her own business for over 15 years, arrived at 10:45 and you had not started to get ready to leave the condo, had not performed any of the departure procedures that are clearly written in my rental agreement and posted on the refrigerator, and you told her that you would leave when you were ready which was well past 11:00 AM. My cleaning lady does not yell or confront guests, but she has a job to do and does it very well as many of my reviews will attest to. I have several condos on the Key and receive many compliments about my units and their very clean condition. Cleanliness is key to a happy stay and these cleaners have an excellent track record. I want to make one thing very clear. I NEVER deducted any part of the security deposit for failure to follow check out procedures OR for late departure. I could have as you left the place trashed with garbage, left all lights on, all fans running, left the door to my condo wide open, and left the security door to the complex of House of the Sun propped open for anyone to walk in. You treated my home and the people who maintain it with with disrespect and you were never docked for any of it when you received your security deposit. With that said, you are not a welcome guest at any of my properties again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Belfast, Northern Ireland
5

A home in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful condo in an excellent location. Loved our stay here, right on the beach with the convenience of a pool if you prefer. Siesta Key is a great holiday spot and this beautifully decorated and comfortable condo is an ideal base for discovering all this area has to offer. We found Donna so easy to deal with and always willing to answer questions. We would recommend Donna and her two properties to any one who wants a hassle free holiday in this corner of paradise.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Roberta and Thomas, Thank you for such a nice note! I am so happy that you allowed me to give you a positive Siesta Key experience with my condo at House of the Sun and its great location. I am on the key 6 months of the year and that allows me to oversee all four of my properties and keep them in tip-top shape. Please contact me if you decide to come back. You will always be welcome to any of my properties on Siesta Key. Sincerely! Donna Grimmer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful condo on an amazing beach

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a wonderful week at this House of the Sun condo. Staying in a condo that is right on the beach is absolutely the way to go! We had never been to Florida for a beach vacation and picked this location because of Siesta Key's highly rated beach and were not disappointed. The sand (which did NOT get hot to walk on despite temps in the 90s all week!) and water were wonderful. The House of the Sun is a very nice building with a pool, tennis court, weber grills and a small game room by the pool with ping pong, air hockey and a few arcade games. We especially loved that they have lots of beach chairs (lounge and the low ones that work great to sit right at the edge of the water) that you can pick up as you walk out to the beach. This condo was spacious, extremely clean with comfortable beds and pillows. The kitchen had a great variety of cooking equipment and utensils, dishes, and extras like a blender to make margaritas. We were so happy to also use the beach umbrella, beach towels, boogie boards and sand toys provided by Donna. The fifth floor of the building is a beautiful open deck with tables and chairs that is the perfect spot for watching the sun set - we saw several breathtaking sunsets! My husband and son also enjoyed the large screen TV in the evenings. Overall I would highly recommend this beach, the House of the Sun and this unit in particular!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, IN
5

Great vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful condo! The condo is close to everything, yet quiet & relaxing. The property owners were great to work with and we plan to return next year. We would definitely recommend this property for a great vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Sarasota/Bradenton SRQ
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-75
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Clean $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.0%

LESS THAN A 7 NIGHT STAY IS AT A HIGHER 'PER NIGH' RATE THAN IF YOU BOOK FOR A FULL WEEK.

FEES AND CHARGES - PLEASE READ.

FEES FROM VRBO: VRBO adds on a SERVICE FEE, usually somewhere between 6 to 11%, depending on the amount of the rental. You can view a breakdown of all charges on line and before you book. Press GET AN INSTANT QUOTE, then click VIEW DETAILS on that quote. If you have questions with regard to the charges, send an email to the owner.

CREDIT CARD PROCESSING FEES: Credit cards have fees that range anywhere from 3-5% & will be the responsibility credit card holder. The credit card processing fees are separate from VRBO's 'service fee' and can easily be avoided by using E-check payment through VRBO. All credit card fees are deducted off of the security deposit before the deposit is refunded back to the credit card. You have options other than by using a credit card and if you are trying to save money, make payments with an alternate method other than by using a credit card. The choice is yours.

E-CHECK PAYMENTS THROUGH VRBO are FEE-FREE. This option is available for any VRBO reservation.

PERSONAL CHECKS: I can accept personal checks as long as payment in full is received at least 30 days in advance of the reservation.

REQUEST A RENTAL AGREEMENT BEFORE YOU BOOK: I can give you a personalized rental agreement with all of your payment dates and options.

I hope you will consider any of my condos on Siesta Key when you make your decision to book.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.