check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Wow Whitewater Ocean View 200 Mtrs to Montezuma Center &Beach

Bedrooms 3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Montezuma Beach Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This is a truly dreamy home for vacation . A WOW ocean view surrounded by jungle and wildlife yet only 200 meters from the very cool town and beaches of Montezuma. The town is a unique and special place where world travelers come and go. Interesting international characters mingle with locals in this still small town year round. It's not unusual to hear 4 or 5 different languages while dining out at one of the many great restaurants here.

The home is the result of several years of planning as well as some very excellent work done by a local builder . We think you'll find it a difficult place to leave when the time comes.

There are 3 bedrooms, all have air cond. The breezes are pretty consistent on this high lookout so no mosquitoes . But just in case the house has many ceiling fans even on the patio. There are two double beds and a king, also two couches which fold down for sleeping. The patio has a high drop below and for this reason is not recommended for small children.

Nuts and bolts stuff: The house is 4-5 hrs from the San Jose airport via car/ferry. If you come by local flight to Tambor and rent a car at Budget, the trip is only an hour or so total. The bedrooms have air cond. the rest of the house has ceiling fans. The "book now" button allows you peace of mind with credit info, but you can also contact me directly and save the service charge costs. The walk to town is down a steep and winding road and is an easy 10- 15 min. down, but much harder returning. If it's not too much of a strain on the budget, a car is a nice idea.

The house was completed a few years ago. Listen to the waves,come sit and dream.

Keywords: house beach town view comfortable

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016
Call Manager

Why The Owner chose Montezuma

My wife and I have been coming to Montezuma for 13 years now and have come to think of it as our second home. We consider ourselves to be very lucky to have been able to purchase and build on this very special and unique piece of property. It's very unusual in the way it feels so private and surrounded by jungle and yet so close to town , and of course the jaw dropping view. We both live in the Seattle area and hope to be able to spend more time down there with retirement. Until then come down and enjoy our home!

What makes this villa unique

The house, while close to town, is very private and most of what you see is jungle due to the steep terrain on 3 sides of the house. If you are patient, you are able to see a great many of the birds and mammals of Costa Rica right from the deck.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Wow Whitewater Ocean View 200 Mtrs to Montezuma Center &Beach
average rating of 4.862069 based on 29 reviews

The view!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

First of all the view....

The home is amazing but the view makes it something else. Almost every night we had iguanas in/around the house, monkeys howling or swinging from the trees.

Peter was so accommodating with what restaurants to go to, which trails to take and any other information to make it a perfect trip. The only complaint from our group was they didn't have means to contact Peter to thank him. Pura vida from Lauren, Patrick Risch, Jason and Lily!

I definitely plan on booking this home in the future!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wow! Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This place exceeded my expectations. It was absolutely stunning in side and out. The views are so nice to wake up to and start your day, its hard to leave. The animals come right up to your balcony in the morning asking for fruits and veggies scraps, you really feel immersed with the wildlife. The rooms were super comfortable and the showers were nice and warm. Having amenities like washer/dryer were really convenient to let us pack less. And Peter the caretaker provided superb service whenever necessary. From showing us where to go for breakfast to lining up ATVs. I really did enjoy our time there and will definitely look to stay here again when we return. Thank you for helping us have a really great vacation. Gracias and Pura Vida!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York City, NY

A slice of paradise :)

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful spot with stunning sunrises to greet you daily. Comfortable & laid back. It was perfect for the four of us (1 couple & 2 single women, all in our 50's). We loved the breeze (no bugs!), the view, the wildlife, flora & fauna. I will never forget this place (my first trip to CR!)

The town is small and kicked back with amazing restaurants and beaches.

Peter (caretaker) was very accommodating) and the booking with Mike (owner) was seamless.

Thank you for all the wonderful memories!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

I loved this house

  • 5 of 5

This house was the best house we rented, second of three, during our three week stay in the Nicoya Peninsula, second of three. This was not our first trip to CR, but the first time at this end of the peninsula. WOW the view is fantastic as advertised. What was really a treat was Peter, the onsite property manager. We love Peter. He was so pleasant, full of information, rents ATVs right there (for less than in town), helpful, funny, keeps a low profile, takes care of the ground, just a jewel. The house is laid out well. I loved the artwork throughout the house. This house has a real lived in feel. The bathrooms were nice with large showers and plenty of water. Being on top of the hill, brought constant breezes to keep the main living area cool. The porch, with a view to die for, faces East, so it is a bit bright in the AM but no problem at all. The sun moves quickly, to bring shade to the porch by 8:30 am. You can swing in the hammock, lounge in the great recliners, and take your meals out at the porch dinette.

Take heed to Peter's advice, the monkeys will come in the screen doors, even if you are there being quiet. Sneaky little things. We saw plenty of the local wildlife right at the house. The house is located above Montezuma, but you don't really hear it, and you cannot see it. The town is 500 meters down the steep paved winding road. Personally I didn't walk it. All you see from the porch is the top of the canopy, wildlife, the beautiful beach, crashing surf, stars and the moon. Rough life, but somebody has to do it. This house is not suitable for kids. There is a sloping concrete walkway to the house. The house could be doable for people with limited mobility, once you got past the driveway.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montreal, Canada

We just loved it !

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Mike's house in January 2016. The house is great, the view is amazing, especially considering the village is very close ... but you don't see any house around. Peter is a great host, Motezuma has lots of things to do, although you need a car. Just be mindful that there is wildlife around the house, which also makes its beauty. Thanks Mike for sharing it !

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spectacular View, but the House has Limitations

  • 3 of 5

I would give this rental 3.5 stars, if I could. The views are spectacular, without a doubt. Having native animals as neighbors was a kick. Peter, the on-site caretaker is smart, charming, helpful, and always available. It was disconcerting to learn that he needed to be present all the time for security. The beaches in the area are spectacular, and we had a great time, as we always do.

Unfortunately, the house has its limitations. Although the bedrooms are a/c'd, the main room (K, LR, DR) is not. We had temperatures over 90 every day and the main room was barely habitable. Walking to and from the town is suicidal. You absolutely need a car. There is a steep, windy road with no sidewalks. Cars fly by with limited visibility, and even less at night. We expected a beach house to have a grill, but there was only a broken gas grill under the house. The kitchen, and the stove, were less clean than we would like. The caretaker advised us not to keep food on the counters, to avoid insects. But, the ants got into every bit of food in any open container anywhere. On our first day out we closed the screen doors and left the glass sliders open for ventilation. We returned to find that animals had opened the screen doors and eaten our food. The place was a mess. We ended up keeping all of our food in the refrigerator for protection. A warning from the owners would have been useful. In fact, a written list of instructions and guidelines should have been provided. There was nothing at the house we could use for the beach. No beach chairs, umbrella, beach towels, cooler, etc. Does the owner expect that people will fly to Costa Rica with beach chairs, or buy them for a short stay? They should be provided.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After so many positive reviews and comments from guests over the last several years, I’m sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t so good. Probably the “raid “ by monkeys on the house while you were gone left you with a bad taste on the first day of the trip. We did send you directions for the house and it included clear warnings about leaving food out. I didn’t think it was necessary to also warn against leaving doors open while you were gone. I’ll include this for future guests. This has never happened to any other guests or to us while we’ve been there but we always close the doors when we leave. The property description is pretty clear about air conditioning being only in the bedrooms. There are 6 ceiling fans in the common area and patio. Also the lists of included items shows microwave, toaster, etc but does not mention having beach chairs, beach towels, cooler or BBQ. I’m sorry you did not notice this. The other reviews for the property frequently mention that it’s a good idea to have a car to avoid the steep walk down the road. The photos also show a pretty clear elevation above the beach. I’m sorry this was a surprise for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
tambor airport
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Nearest Beach
200 Metres

The house is located at the end of a 'peninsula' of land which ends immediately above town of Montezuma and is the reason for it's spectacular view.

Other Activities: Shopping, Boating, Wildlife Viewing, Kayaking


Rates & Availability

Montezuma Beach Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
green season
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Montezuma Beach Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (2)
  • Stereo
  • Balcony
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties