Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bayhouse Hana, a 1-of-a-Kind Oceanfront Experience on Hana Bay

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 832 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Aloha! Welcome to Bayhouse Hana. Our one-bedroom 'Iwa Suite', with eight hundred thirty two square feet of floor space, overlooks beautiful Hana Bay. There is a queen size bed in the bedroom; the bathroom is accessible through the bedroom. A panoramic view of the bay is offered from the spacious charm of the living room and dining area; an alcove just off this area accommodates an additional two individuals on twin beds, making the unit ideal for a family of four. Bayhouse Hana has a fully furnished kitchenette that opens into the living room - dining area and enjoys the same views.At Bayhouse Hana, you'll enjoy all the wonders of the oceanside experience in complete comfort. We have chosen to exclude television in our suite, but we do provide WiFi access. * NOTE: The quoted basic rate is for a party of two; there will be an adjustment made in the quote to reflect any additional people in your party.

We advise our guests that we do not use toxic insecticides or pesticides on the property. As in all tropical settings, there are insects in Hana. Roaches are attracted to food and drink left out. Our mitigating strategy and advice to our guests is to seal all food containers and clean up thoroughly after meals. This strategy brings good results and prevents exposure to toxins for our guests and ourselves.

The sandy beach of Hana Bay is a very short stroll away. Our peaceful town has two grocery stores, a post office, a gas station and three eateries among its businesses. All are within reasonable walking distance. But if you are looking for the glitz and glitter of night club or shopping malls, this is not the end of the island for you.

In the surrounding areas lie the Haleakala National Park at Ohe'o ( a swimming, hiking and camping idyll), and Kahanu Garden, part of the National Tropical Botanical Garden, home of the ancient Pi'ilanihale Heiau, largest Hawaiian temple site; the garden boasts the largest collection of varieties of breadfruit trees in the world, among other native, tropical and exotic botanical specimens.

We are on the east tip of Maui, our sunrises are magic and our evening afterglows are quite lengthy because they start before sunset, thanks to Haleakala, our resident mountain, 'home of the sun'. We get to see the sun going home for the night after a long day crossing the sky.

Looking out to sea, don't be surprised if you happen to spot a whale or two or an entire pod breaching, spouting and splashing just outside the bay; that would be between October and March. Or you may spot a sea turtle cruising along the shoreline scouring the rocks for its favorite seaweed.

If you're not a visual type, just kick back and enjoy the sounds and smells of the peaceful Pacific.

E malama pono! (take good care)

Keywords: suite, scenic bayside view, easy access from highway, private, serene, short walk to beach and snack shop, fully furnished kitchen, sleeps four, one bedroom (queen bed), one alcove (two twin beds), living room and dining area, carport.

More Details

Owner
Bayhouse Hana
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

About Bayhouse Hana

William Chang and Anita Bisquera-Chang are the owners/managers of Bayhouse Hana. They are artist-farmers residing in the community. Bayhouse Hana is a family project that was started in the mid 70s; Bill has added some features and renovated the building in recent years.

Why Bayhouse Hana chose Hāna

Bayhouse Hana was originally built in 1975, one of the first vacation rentals in the community. It is built on family land that was acquired some four generations back. The Iwa Suite on the ground level has been completely renovated and placed back into service. *The second floor is currently being renovated; as Bill does this work only when there are no guests in residence, though we don't have a completion date scheduled. the upstairs unit may go into operation by mid-year 2017. We will post a notice here at the appropriate time.

The location of Bayhouse Hana is ideal for its purpose. The views are fabulous and the setting is so peaceful... and you don't have far to go for anything. That is why we say it's away from it all and in the middle of things at the same time; you get the best of both.

What makes this house unique

At Bayhouse Hana you're in the middle of town and away from it all at the same time. The suite focuses on the ocean views and sounds; the house is designed to shield you from the road traffic and neighboring dwellings, it's very private but it's not isolated. You are in walking distance to all the amenities of the central town area, stores, post office, community center, snack shop, restaurant and more. The sandy beach at Hana Bay is just a short stroll down the road. Most community events are held either at the Community Hall at the Bay or in the Ball Park next to the Community Center just up the hill; both a short wall away.

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Kahului (OGG)
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Paniolo Bar, Hotel Hana
Nearest Restaurant
400 Metres
Hana Ranch Restaurant
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Hana Bay Beach Park
Car: recommended

Be aware that not all cell phone services are available in the Hana area.

Bayhouse Hana is located in a residential area. It is not a place to hold a party, so if you are planning to entertain, please seek another location.

We do not provide a television set in the suite; however, you may bring your own laptop or tablet to access your television shows over WiFi.

Amenities

Hāna House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 832 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(92 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
30% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
Bayhouse Hana, a 1-of-a-Kind Oceanfront Experience on Hana Bay
average rating of 4.054348 based on 92 reviews
5

As advertised. On the water. Crashing waves dominate the soundscape.

  • 5 of 5

Again as advertised. Location is incredible. Walk to the beach and barefoot cafe. Sunrise views are amazing. Great launch point for road "beyond" Hana. And the island themed CD's really lent to the relaxing atmosphere of this place we were looking for on this side of

Maui. Loved it!!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy our guests found our Bayhouse and Hana to their liking. Doing some homework ahead of your vacation trip brings rewards to those who take the time. Aloha from Hana.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice view

  • 3 of 5

As described, nice view.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The hosts were great. The house had stunning views

  • 3 of 5

The place was clean and nice. What you would expect when staying in Hana. True Hawaii. Overall we had a good time. For what you are getting the cost is a bit high.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that our guests had a good time. And yes, the prices here do reflect our considerably higher cost of living. So, if you fall in love with Hana and might be thinking to moving here, that should be something to consider.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

There is no access to the restroom available Outside the master bedroom

  • 2 of 5

It is a perfect location but no one has privacy. The restroom is located inside the bedroom. Perfect for a family of 4 but not convenient for those traveling with friends.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is amazing to see this kind of review. These guests obviously chose not to read the information provided on our VRBO site. The layout was specifically included within the first couple paragraphs in the write up so that there would be no surprises. "You can lead a horse to water."
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The view, the view, the view!

  • 4 of 5

The view is incredible!! You can walk to the beach it literally is just around the corner. Accommodations are very nice. Looks like you could sleep a lot of people. Only my husband and I stayed which gave us plenty of space to do different activities. If we had to do it over again we would have stayed longer. We visited the black sand beach, lava tubes and blow hole. Just breathtaking! We for sure will comeback and stay at the Bayhouse Hana! Great owners, amazing to work with.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to know our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Yes, it is a spacious suite, but it is set up to accommodate only four people comfortably.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

old town Hawaii

  • 3 of 5

Hana is a small town, old Hawaii which was lovely. The house was old, had everything we needed though but fans, the ceiling fans didn't work, the stand fans had one speed. Even with windows open at night it was still very hot. The location with the ocean view and sounds of the waves were lovely, but the place appears run down and could do with some TLC. It has potential to be much nicer.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our guests are usually advised to call us if there is a problem with anything at Bayhouse Hana. We did not receive any call. All the fans work just fine; the ceiling fans have a master switch on the wall and individuals speed controls on pull chains. The suite was renovated six years ago; we don't consider that old, but that's just us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.42%

Maximum stay is 7 nights unless arrangements are made with the owners.
An additional $25 is assessed for each additional person per night up to four total The average rate listed is for a party of one or two individuals. We do not charge for children under the age of two years.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.