check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Lodge Getaway Large Family Home Lake Holcombe Retreat & Event Center House

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
20
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

6 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Gameroom, Sunroom, close to beach. Boat & fish from dock

Relaxing, RELAXING, fishing, swimming, crafting, friends-time, did I say relaxing? snorkeling, boating, kayaking, canoeing, skiing, wakeboarding, biking, roller blading, bon fires, snow shoeing, snowmobiling, great memories are yours. This place was built with fun-year-round-activities and group gatherings in mind.

No 'roughing it' here. Rent this gorgeous house, fully-equipped, built in 2001, 3 bathroom, on-suite master bedroom with whirlpool tub, gameroom, sunroom, fireplace, airconditioning, stove, microwave, oven, dishwasher, 2 refrigerators with ice-making, ice-dispensing thru door, washer & dryer (no extra charge), loft, 6 bedroom lake home rental with a boat dock and frontage on quiet area of Pine Lake connected to Lake Holcombe. Boat launch, sandy beach (15 minute walk) and golf course within 2 miles. Easy access to snowmobile trails.

Lake Holcombe offers something for everyone and Pine Lake is a quiet no-wake lake. Within 2 hours of the Twin Cities, Lake Holcombe has lots to do with over 3900 acres. Located under 19 miles (27 minutes) from 2 of the area's major music festivals, Country Fest and Rock Fest. Holcombe Flowage boasts some of the best fishing around with northern, muskie, walleye, sturgeon, large and small mouth bass, and pan fish all common or abundant. This very scenic body of water also offers exceptional boating, with many long stretches of undisturbed shoreline. Over 4 different eating establishments within easy boating distance. Enjoy the quiet solitude of Pine Lake with boating access to all the amenities of gorgeous Lake Holcombe. Follow the marked snowmobile area on the lake to get to all your favorite Lake Holcombe establishments.

See calendar at right for availability

NON SMOKING PROPERTY.

Information about Lake Holcombe:

12 Miles south of Ladysmith

50 Miles northeast of Eau Claire

135 Miles northeast of Minneapolis

223 Miles Northwest of Madison

287 Miles Northwest of Milwaukee

361 Miles Northwest of Chicago

Physical facts:

3,890 Acres

60 Miles of shore line

60 ft Maximum depth

35% of lake is deeper than 20 ft.

80% sand bottom

10% Gravel bottom

10% Muck bottom

Flowage formed by the Holcombe Dam

Source:

Chippewa River

Jump River

Flambeau River

Fish Species:

Muskie

Northern Pike

Walleye

Crappie

Lake Stugeon

Smallmouth Bass

Large Mouth Bass

Perch

Bluegill

Channel Catfish

Keywords: lodge, lake home, water frontage, boathouse, boat dock, satellite tv, whirlpool tub, grill, fireplace, large group, get together, dishwasher, washer, dryer, sun porch, spacious, roomy, sleeps many, sleep 12, sleeps 14, fire pit, rec room, laundry room, sun room, fishing, boating, eating, restaurants, cabin, cottage, northern wisconsin, northern wi, norther wis

More Details

Owner
Julie and Wayne
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2017

About Julie and Wayne

We created many happy family memories in this lodge with our 5 kids and 18 nieces and nephews over the past 13 years. At times, we had over 25 guests for the holiday weekends. Now you have the opportunity to create happy memories as you get together with those you love.

Julie and Wayne purchased this house in 2001

Why Julie and Wayne chose Northwest

We built this lodge when all our kids and nieces and nephews were young. It is a perfect getaway with a quiet street, quiet waterway and a large confortable space. There is something for everyone with the different amenities of both lakes. Pine Lake is quiet, no wake and great for canoeing or paddle boating. Take your boat under the bridge from Pine Lake to Lake Holcombe and you have over 3900 acres of water to explore. On Lake Holcombe you can choose beaches and picnics in the park (3 county/public beaches/ picnic areas to choose from), fine and casual dining, bar and grills, live music or just put the anchor down and enjoy the serene beauty. Don't forget to explore Cranberry lake too. There are many low traffic areas to bike or walk. Neighbors are friendly.

What makes this house unique

We love to fish, paddle boat and explore Pine Lake in the early morning hours (listen carefully and you will hear the loons on Pine Lake) and then head out to Lake Holcombe with the water skiers as the sun gets hot later in the day. Cranberry Lake is also filled with great fishing spots and if you are lucky, you will find the eagles in their nest on the east end of the lake. With so many lightly traveled roads, we do alot of biking and walking.

Our family enjoys the winters by snowshoeing and snowmobiling. The beautiful snowmobile trail system can be accessed from the lodge.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for everything -- you have a gorgeous house and it was really easy to book and make this vacation happen. My family all raved about the house and the location and want to come back every two years for a vacation there : ) That's about as glowing a review as you can get!
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Lodge Getaway Large Family Home Lake Holcombe Retreat & Event Center House
average rating of 4.263158 based on 21 reviews
4

Practically perfect!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the Pine Lake Lodge. It was a nearly perfect weekend. I say nearly perfect because we are in search of a house/cabin large enough for our family (25+ people) that is beachfront property. This lodge is on a channel between two lakes and the beach is about a 10 minute walk. The beach was not great and the lake was filled with algae when we were there. Everything else about this place is great. There was plenty of sleeping room, a nice big yard and a fun game room downstairs. The wood on the property was not good for burning so we had to buy some. We had a campfire three nights in a row and there were no bugs!! The kitchen had almost everything we needed for our meal preparation. The owners were very quick to respond to my emails and questions. I highly recommend the Pine Lake Lodge.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The house was very nice

  • 2 of 5

The house was very nice but as far as the business part of it, we are VERY disappointed. We had to go out of our way to pick up the keys and drop them off again on our way home. I have made several calls including several emails in attempt to receive my deposit refunded and still have no response. The lack of communication on the owners part is terrible. I would highly NOT recommend dealing with these owners. I am forced to taking other legal actions in attempt to receive my deposit.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy to hear that you enjoyed Pine Lake Lodge. We take pride in offering a wonderful rental experience with great amenities. VRBO holds and automatically sends back the security deposit to renters after a set period of time to allow the property owner to make a claim. I am sorry that you did not understand this situation after I explained it on the phone. Hope you consider Pine Lake Lodge in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Comfortable lodging for a group of any size with excellent owners

  • 4 of 5

This rental home was perfect for our large group outing. The large kitchen and open living area provided everything we needed to keep everyone connected throughout the weekend and there was plenty of room for everyone to sleep comfortably. The owners provided excellent customer service as we planned our trip and were very accommodating throughout the process. Other than a few inconveniences we encountered, which based on past reviews do not appear to be regular occurrences, we enjoyed our stay very much. I would recommend this home to anyone searching for a location for a large group get-together in the Holcombe area. Thank you Julie and Wayne.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Matthew for taking wonderful care of our property. We hope you consider staying at Pine Lake Lodge again in the future. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and glad we could accommodate all your requests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Get Away

  • 4 of 5

A group of five families enjoyed a stay here over the New Year's Weekend. The open floor plan on the main floor is wonderfully conducive of flowing conversation and allows everyone to pitch in with meal prep. The game room and loft allowed kids (and grown ups) their own space to play games. The three season room is not an option in, the fourth season, winter. The owners were amazingly quick to respond to all kinds of questions prior to booking. The cleaning instructions seemed excessive considering the required maintenance and extra person fees. We made an effort to follow the cleaning rules (which we could not have gotten done without permission for a late check out) and did receive a full refund of our deposit. Note, there is no wifi though all cell networks except Sprint were working. We would consider staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Great Home for Large Amount of People, Owner not very Helpful

  • 2 of 5

This home is a great gathering home for larger amounts of people. The kitchen and great room area is very adequate.

The downstairs game room is very nice, for kids and adults alike!

The property and surrounding yard, garage, etc are very nice!

The issues we had were with the owner, she was not upfront with us about several issues, such as the water level in the channel where the dock is. Also, it was stated there was firewood - there is a pile of large rotting logs on the opposite side of the property of the fire pit. We had to purchase firewood to have a fire.

Please be aware the key must be picked up at a different location 45 miles away. When asked if we could set something else up for entry to the home, the answer was "no".

Be aware that the rental must be cleaned for next guests including laundry, mopping, cleaning bathrooms, etc.

Kayaks , canoes, paddle boats available to rent but none included with rental or available on site. We did rent kayaks and the place is in a perfect location for kayaks. Not so much for runabout boats, though.

No beach or sand on site but 20 min walk to nice beach and playground. You can do a lot of walking, jogging, biking in the area right from the property.

Overall, spacious...nice fire pit for all to gather....excellent kitchen for feeding a group.

The customer service was the worst I have ever experienced in renting many, many rentals. We would not recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very sorry Dana that you feel this way. In my 5 years of renting out this property, I have never had the problems you describe. Over half of my reservations are repeat guests year after year. I promptly answered/replied to your 26 questions and phone calls from your various family members about the property previous to your stay. If you would have read the rental agreement and House Rules before booking, you would not have had the issues you indicate. After you visited the site (before your stay), you asked for some of your money back because you inaccurately measured the depth of the water at the end of the dock. I would not agree to the discount because the depth of the water is exactly as I indicated in my response #15 back to you. We never promised the availability of firewood, I told you that sometimes previous guests leave firewood behind. This whole situation was due to not thoroughly reading the VRBO listing, and not reading the short term rental agreement and house rules. I have a total of 3 vacation rental properties, and I am very happy to report that 99% of the time, I have no problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2
La Crosse, WI
5

Perfect family get together

  • 5 of 5

We greatly enjoyed our stay this summer. Plenty of room for 2 families, their adult children, and grandchildren. The house was clean, plenty of linens and towels, kitchen was well stocked for items we needed for cooking, and the beds were very comfortable. The downstairs game room came in handy for the 1 rainy day we had. The boat launch was close and the dock space was nice for both of our boats. We were lucky to be able to enjoy nightly campfires as well as the meteor shower. Wonderful time and looking forward to booking again.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So nice to hear that our guests are taking full advantage of the wonderful amenities that Pine Lake Lodge has to offer. Thank you for sharing and thank you for taking such good care of our property. We would be so happy to have you back for a future stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Pine Lake Lodge
Nearest Point of Interest
Pine Lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Holcombe
Nearest Point of Interest
Bridge
Nearest Point of Interest
Sandy Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Public Free Boat Landing
Nearest Point of Interest
Golf Course
Nearest Point of Interest
Paradise Shores
Nearest Point of Interest
Teddy's Bar and Grill
Nearest Point of Interest
Pine Drive Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Pine Point County Park and Campground

golf, live music on the weekends at local drinking establishments, picnics at the park, sand beach and boat launch about 1 mile, fishing, swimming, snorkeling, boating, kayaking, canoeing, skiing, wakeboarding, biking, roller blading, bon fires, snowmobiling, snowshoeing ... great memories are yours.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Holcombe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$295
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,750
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Linens & Bath towels up to 6 guests $75 + Tax
Utilities and Maintenance up to 6 guests $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.5%

Property is a licensed tourist rooming house. You must be at least 25 years old to rent this property. Key pick-up location in Chippewa Falls WI and check-in instructions will be sent upon final payment. A booking deposit of 1/2 rental amount is due upon confirmation of reservation. Balance of rental amount is due 15 days before check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Holcombe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 23 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Main level Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , off laundry room centrally located
    Lower level Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Located in walkout level
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Main level Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master suite with walk in closet, attached bath w whirlpool
    Main level Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Right across the hall from master bedroom
    Lower level Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Bedroom located on walkout level
    Lower level Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Located on walkout level next to bedroom 3
    Lower level Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Has crib, located on walkout level near bedroom 3&4
    Upper level Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 4 twin/ single , Large bunk room off upper loft tv area
    Upper level Loft - Large open carpeted area- great for air mattresses, couch
  • Plenty of sleeping space in this large house. Can also sleep on couches in loft, living room and sunporch. Both the open loft and bunkhouse has plenty of room for multiple air beds and sleeping bags.
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 5 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
3 bathroom, on-suite master bedroom lodge with whirlpool tub, family gameroom, sunroom, fireplace, airconditioning, stove, microwave, oven, dishwasher, 2 ice-making, ice-dispensing thru-door refrigerators, washer & dryer (no extra charge), loft, lake home rental with a boat dock and frontage on quiet area of Pine Lake connected to Lake Holcombe. Sandy swimming beach with floating raft and boat launch about 1 mile from Lodge. Golf course 2 miles from Lodge. Long stretches of undisturbed shoreline, restaurants right on the water Fish for northern, muskie, walleye, sturgeon, large and small mouth bass, and pan fish, exceptional boating, long stretches of undisturbed shoreline, restaurants

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties