Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

2 bd, 1 bath, large covered deck w/ river view, hot tub, outdoor kitchen 50' TV


Sonoma County Permit # ZPE13-0134

County of Sonoma TOT # 1109N

Welcome to RIVERSCAPE where you can escape life's chaos, and enjoy the tranquility the Russian River has to offer. From the spacious covered deck to the recently remodeled and updated house to the private riverside decks and dock, you'll feel right at home, yet so far away. Begin your vacation with a complimentary bottle of champagne, chilled waiting for your arrival.

Riverscape's covered deck features sweeping views of the river, the redwoods, and the lush backyard. Experience luxury outdoor living complete with a 6 person hot tub; an outdoor kitchen with a bar, sink, large gas BBQ, and prep area; an outdoor living room with couches, a 50' HDTV with Directv and surround sound, dvd player, a pool table/ping pong table, and a washer and dryer. On chilly evenings, you can light up the outdoor heater, and close the canvas curtains to keep snugly while listening to the river slide by.

Sliding glass doors run along the entire back of the deck, so you can see what's going on inside, if you are outside, or visa versa. They also bring in a lot of light to the house, and allows for beautiful views, bringing the outside in.

Just off the deck, the backstairs lead down to a large grassy, fenced backyard with a horseshoe pit, and plenty of room to play amongst beds of beautiful flowers, roses, and banana trees. There is also an outdoor shower with hot and cold water to rinse off. Situated under the canopy of an apple tree, is the Boat House which is the perfect place to take a nap on the futon, or change clothes after coming up from the river. The Boat house also has lifejackets, paddles for the kayaks, and other toys to play in the River or the yard with.

Just beyond the yard, the path leads to the River View Deck, with comfortable seating to relax, read a book, take a nap, or just hang out and enjoy watching the river go by. Pull up a stool at the Tiki Bar, enjoy your favorite cocktail, and chill. Just beyond that is another BBQ, and the two (seasonal Mid May - Mid October) waterfront decks--one in the sun, one in the shade-- and the (seasonal Mid May - Mid October) private floating dock where you'll enjoy hopping in one of the kayaks and paddling up or down the river, swimming, or just floating around. At certain times of the year, you may see ducks, Blue Heron, river otters, and possible the foxes that like to hang out in our yard.

The house has an open concept design, a newly remodeled kitchen with stainless steel appliances, and all the utensils you'll need to cook the perfect meal.The dining bar comfortably sits 6 people, there is extra seating around the counter bar in the kitchen, and a dining room table as well. The living room boasts leather reclining couches, a 55' HDTV with Directv, dvd player, and surround sound, as well as a wii with games, and plenty of board games. The house has wifi.

There are two bedrooms, each with a very comfy queen size bed. There is a queen size futon in the livingroom area for extra sleeping space.

Located just 1 1/2 hours from SF, Guerneville is the perfect getaway. Riverscape is just 1 mile from Main Street which boasts a variety of restaurants, a wine bar, the 5 & 10 store, Safeway, antique shops, Pee Wee Golf, and Johnson's Beach. A 1/2 mile in the other direction is Northwood Golf Course with 9 holes of golf (Golf Magazine named it one of the 5 top Alister McKenzie courses in the world!) nestled in the Redwoods, and a few minutes past that is the town of Monte Rio with another nice family beach, and the Rio Movie Theatre. We are 10 minutes to Armstrong Woods redwood forest, and Korbel Champagne Cellars. The ocean is just 20 minutes away, and we are a close proximity to 100's of Russian River, and Sonoma County wineries.

Riverscape has everything you need, and close to many adventures, so you have options to do as much or as little you want to.

More Details

Lauren Cabitac
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

About Lauren Cabitac

Our family moved to the Guerneville area over 20 years ago to escape the hectic San Francisco lifestyle. We spent many weekends vacationing in the area and decided we should just live here. Best choice ever!

Lauren Cabitac purchased this house in 2004

Why Lauren Cabitac chose Guerneville

We bought this house in 2004 because of the large yard, beautiful views, the close proximity to town, work and of course, the inviting river in our back yard.

What makes this house unique

Staying at our house gives you the feeling of being very far away, and on your own little escape. Hence Riverscape. While there are neighbors next door and across the river, there are so many tress you don't really realize they are there, and you feel like you are in your own oasis. Being so centrally located to so many activites, restaurants, wine tasting, the ocean, the river, Armstong Woods, shopping, antiquing, hiking, etc., you'll have lots of options to stay busy, or not.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This has everything you would ever need to have an enjoying and relaxing holiday. The interior was very stylish and the beds were super comfortable. Top marks.
May 2017
  • 1 of 6


Guerneville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Noise level reduced after 10 pm. Sound travels far on the river, please respect our neighbors.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , Outdoor Shower in the yard with hot and cold water!
    Main Bathroom - toilet , shower , Hairdryer, plush towels
  • Blow dryer, plush towels
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • livingroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon in the livingroom area
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , TV, comfy bed with foam topper, dresser, closet
    River View Bedroom - 1 queen , 10' memory foam mattress, TV, Dresser, Closet
  • tv, direct tv, closet, dresser,
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
This house has two very private units. The vacation rental is the entire top floor, main house and is approx. 1400 sf including a large fully-covered deck. The bottom floor unit is a small apartment occupied by the owners full time. During your stay you will not be disturbed in any way by the owners and will have complete privacy while using all the listed amenities including the riverside dock and back yard. Our guests like having us on property to answer questions, give suggestions or help if they need something. We've never had a guest complain or feel uncomfortable with the situation.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(120 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.925 based on 126 reviews

Just as described!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Riverscape! The house and amenities were exactly as described. The outdoor living space was the best. Although the weather could have been better, we enjoyed our wine tasting, sightseeing and just relaxing in the hot tub and beside the fire pit. Everything one could possibly need was provided in the kitchen and we cooked several meals there and in the great outdoor kitchen. I would definitely rent Riverscape again.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

peaceful and comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely, well situated, and peaceful property. Everything worked well (once we figured out how the gas fire-pit worked!), the hot tub was perfect, and my friends and I spend a wonderful weekend, eating, drinking and talking. This is and ideal house for that!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mission accomplished! Sounds like our house provided everything you needed for a relaxing get together with your girlfriends. Lauren
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay for the fall/winter!

  • 5 of 5

Loved the outdoor living space and river access! Close to many wineries in Russian River Valley, the coast, and Armstrong Redwoods!

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Laura, glad you enjoyed your stay, and took advantage of all the fun things to do in the area. Lauren
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing River View

  • 5 of 5

This was a great property to enjoy our girls' weekend. It is clean, beautifully decorated, and filled with fun games and activities. We could have stayed on the deck alone. We also enjoyed hanging out on the dock and the Russian River. Hoping to return some day!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review! We hope to see you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

More Than Expected!

  • 4 of 5

The pictures do not really give you a real sense of the flow of the property. I would say the flow of the property is its greatest selling point.

The Pros:

From the driveway, there is a nice solid wooden door that gives you entry to the property. Once inside that door, you walk by the owner's unit, which is downstairs, and you go upstairs to the vacation unit. Another locked gate at the top of the stairs lets you into your vacation unit. Through that gate, if you go straight, there is another gate that lets you go back downstairs to the back yard. If you turn left at the top of the stairs, however, you come to the patio area with jacuzzi, sofas, bar, pool table, and TV, all available in this nice outdoor area that is completely covered, and partially enclosed, but has an open air balcony to the back yard. It was our favorite place to take afternoon naps.

Behind the full length of the patio is the indoor living space. The kitchen, living room, and master bedroom all have sliding glass doors to the patio. So there really is no front door but each slider can be locked for security, plus you have the main gate for security as well.

The back yard is incredible! You have the full lawn to enjoy and if you exit the gate to the river, you go down a few steps to the Tiki Bar area that has a little bar and two sofas and lots of shade, then if you take a few more steps down toward the river, there is a bench where you can sit, and still further there is another wooden deck to sit, right next to the water, and then finally the dock from which you can launch a kayak.

We never saw the owners. We did call them a couple of times to get help on working the electronics but the only evidence they were there was a light on inside their unit and the smell of their delicious cooking.


For a river retreat, you would expect not to hear traffic, but because the main highway runs along the river, you do hear traffic. We imagined it was the sound of the wind blowing through the trees. Traffic noise is most pronounce in the bedroom facing the street as other reviewers have mentioned. If you are a light sleeper, this is a problem. We would suggest the owner's replace the windows in that room with more modern windows to minimize the noise. It is because of the traffic noise that I'm rating this unit 4 stars instead of 5.

One minor annoyance is the water in the sinks and showers. It smells and tastes like rust. The water from the refrigerator door tasted fine, however.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Funky home on the Russian River; interesting layout and view with quality issues

  • 3 of 5

As people who like to camp, we enjoyed the outdoor living space overlooking the river and this is where we spent most of our time. It offered a lovely view and at night festive outdoor lighting. The interior of the home was adequate with contemporary decor. The bed was comfortable though master bedroom was small and had limited space for clothing. We would have been happier overall if the amenities were in better repair and easier to use, i.e. the TV, the grill and gas fire pit. Turning the shower on required maximum effort while the kitchen sink had low pressure and a fixture that only allowed for water spray. Kitchen was poorly organized and equipped. Kitchen staples were poorly stored for example the flour was open and exposed. I don't know the norm for most VRBO's but the previous VRBO we stayed had such a well appointed kitchen, making this kitchen seem stark. The kayaks were dirty and needed a good hosing and we couldn't find a hose to clean off. The dock was lovely and a great place to drink a cup of tea or wine. It was great to be able to swim in the river and this was a big treat. Lastly, and a big issue for me, was the noise from River Rd, the only major road in and out of town. This was especially true during the day and improved in the later evening. As a result I had to keep all windows facing the street closed. I don't think I would stay here again but I think it would be a fun place for a family or group of friends, less concerned with superior quality. We had fun in Guerenville and found the people helpful and friendly. Many vineyards in and around the Russian River area and nearby Armstrong State Park is a treasure.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Neil, We are very sorry our home did not live up to your expectations. Had we known while you were staying you were having issues with anything (like when you called about the shower), we would have promptly addressed the issues and rectified it to our best ability. I remember a note, after you left that the fire pit propane was empty. Thank you for letting us know, we do check the levels before each guest. We would have gladly given you a new tank had we known you used up the one that was there. We noticed ourselves the other day that the water pressure was turned down in the kitchen sink, and turned it up, and also noticed the faucet, is only spraying. It is fairly new and did not start out that way. We will replace when we next have a chance in between guests. I'm not sure how I can organize the kitchen any better. All glassware, dishes, serving bowls are in one large cabinet, easily accessible, pots and pans in another, and baking dishes together as well. As far as the flour etc. in that cabinet, we do not stock those types of items. Those are items other guests leave behind. I will toss them out. My husband does scrub and wash the kayaks periodically, and at the very least hoses them off when time permits between guests. If I remember correctly we had some light rain while you were here, and that would have caused the dust (they are outside on a river), to turn muddy. I apologize for not realizing to clean them after the rain. We try not to interfere with your vacation time, and privacy, so stay out of the way unless we are contacted, then we are very attentive. Most river homes, like ours were built as summer homes initially, therefore bedrooms are small. There is a large, empty closet to hang clothes, as well as an area in the closet for your suitcase. We've tried to maximize space for additional clothes with the other cabinets in the room which have shelves and cubbies. I think we have done the best with what we have to work with. It's not a large home, but we have utilized space well with comfort in mind. Yes, River Road is busy during the day, but in the 5 years we have been renting the house, we've only had a couple of complaints about the road noise. If you are out on the deck, or in the yard, or at the river it's not an issue. Fortunately as you mentioned, it lessens in the evening and throughout the night. Overall we are pleased you did enjoy some things, and had fun in the area. Lauren and Walter
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Korbel Winery
Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Charles Shultz Airport, Santa Rosa, CA
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Northwood Restaurant and Bar
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Larkspur, CA
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Northwood Golf Course, Restaurant and Bar
Nearest Motorway
House is on HWY 116
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
The Garden Grill
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Johnson's Beach
Car: necessary

Located just 1 mile from the quaint town of Guerneville where there are shops, restaurants, bars, Pee Wee Golf, Safeway and Johnson's Beach which is a wonderful family friendly beach. The Vineman is held here in August, and the Russian River Jazz festival is held here in September. We are also just a couple miles to Armstrong Woods State Park filled with hiking trails surrounded by a Redwood tree forest, Korbel Champagne Cellars, and 20 minutes to the ocean, and several other wineries in the Russian River valley.




Additional information about rental rates

House cleaning $175 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund