Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Ocean Front House In Windsurfer's Heaven

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,722 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8

Ocean View House 2 minute walk from Matanzas Beach.

Gathered around a central patio the house consists of two wings each with a double and twin bedroom, with two bathrooms and a separate guest toilet. From every room you have a spectacular view overlooking the sea and the surrounding woods. The central patio, with BBQ area, is nicely protected from the wind. The sauna inside the house connects to the outside shower.

It is a rustic place nicely set into the natural environment. The house as well as the sauna is heated with a wood burning stove. The cosy warmth of a natural fire or the charcoal barbeque is what makes this place so special.

The beach, restaurants and a little corner shop are a 2 minute walk away.

A supermarket and a grocery store can be found in neighboring Navidad.

Windsurfing, kitesurfing and surfing conditions are world class. Surfing, windsurfing, SUP and cycling equipment is available to rent in town, as well as horse riding tours and tennis.

More Details

owner/property manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, german, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About owner/property manager

I am an architect from Germany, who has lived in Chile. As a windsurfer and surfer I absolutely fell in love with Matanzas.

We love coming here every year.

owner/property manager purchased this house in 2006


Matanzas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1722 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • openair heated shower - shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Toilet is seperate.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Master bedroom with integrated bathroom
  • Books ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Front House In Windsurfer's Heaven
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews

Wonderful seaside home

  • 5 of 5

We found this house to be in a great location, comfortable and well equipped. The beach was fun!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed it so much.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Condes


  • 5 of 5

The house is really beautiful and very comfortable. Its location provides the best view ever of Matanza and its sunsets. Its also close to the beach and down town. We enjoyed our time there and cannot wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful views!

  • 4 of 5

The house is nice and comfortable, perfect for a big group. Great views, a little cold at night, but it's not a problem at all. I would come back with my friends!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Will definitively come back!

  • 5 of 5

Matanzas is a wonderful place and staying at Peer's house made it even better. The house is surrounded by beautiful pine trees, which made my kids especially happy. They wondered around “exploring” the woods. Wonderful views and cozy environment. I will only advice on bringing a torch with you since the entrance to the house can be quite dark at night. Will definitively come back.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Beach Home: What It Is and What It Isn't

  • 4 of 5

First, we'll start by saying that we really enjoyed our 4 days in Peer's beautiful beach home. It was a perfect place to spend a few days in Matanzas at the end of a long trip through South America. We love being on the ocean and walking the beaches, and the beaches go on for miles in both directions, so there are endless possibilities. We were invariably accompanied by a couple local 'community' dogs who seem to inhabit most of Argentina and Chile.

But back to the home. It is true that there is about a 50 foot walk down a relatively rough path to the top of the dozen or so stairs that end in the entry courtyard, so plan to lug your baggage up and down the hill between the small parking area and the house. This house is NOT disability friendly, so take that into account. The west and north walls are ALL glass, so there are wonderful views, but the sun will really heat the home up during the day. There are blinds that can be drawn, but they don't solve the heat problem, only lessen it. There is NO AC or HEAT, so use the ocean breezes to cool and the sun shining through the windows for heat. If you happen to hit a series of chilly days, then you need to come prepared with some warm clothes.

You also need to bring your own entertainment as there is NO TV, INTERNET OR WI-FI. The restaurants and bars just a few minutes walk down the hill have free Wi-Fi, so you can stay connected. Or buy a card in Chile for your mobile device and use that - they have 4G in Matanzas (or so we are told). There are only half a dozen books (in various languages) so bring your own reading material. Also, there is no microwave, but there is a toaster-oven on the counter, and a 4-hob stovetop. Otherwise the kitchen was well-equipped with everything you might need.

Peer likes to describe the beach house as 'rustic' which we don't think really does it justice. True, the lack of entertainment, heat and AC might make it more basic, but the home itself was large, modern and quite lovely. Peer favors low furniture, so the beds and couches tend to be pretty close to the ground. Not a big deal, but if you have bad knees....

We especially loved the outdoor covered patio with the two couches that overlooked to town and the beach. We could hear the roar of the waves all the time. Only downside is that the sliding glass door to the patio is self-locking, so beware! We locked ourselves out of the house the last night!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

beach housr at matanzas

  • 2 of 5

BE CAREFUL HERE In spite of its stylish design this house presents major problems:

First, it is very poorly maintained (2 broken toilet seats, broken light fixtures and no replacement bulbs,broken wooden stairs etc.

Second and more important, in order to reach the house from the parking area, you have to go down a very rough, steep dirt path 50 meters long carrying all your stuff. Then you go down 15 wooden steps to the deck.

The owner certainly should have mentioned the path! We were there Jan 27 -Feb 3 2016

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for leaving feedback, we’re always grateful to hear from our guests. All the details you've mentioned regarding maintenance will be looked into and fixed immediately. We’re sorry to hear you had trouble with the access to the house, this has never been mentioned to us before, but as the house is on a hill side overlooking the sea and benefiting from beautiful views this is of course part of its rustic charm. However, we’ll definitely make a note to let our future guests know and will look into ways of improving this. We hope it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Santiago de Chile
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Marvento, Restaurant of Surazo Hotel
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Matanzas Beach
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $61.44
Refundable damage deposit $122.88
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties