Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautifully Decorated & INCREDIBLE Beach VIEW

Bedrooms 4
Property type house


About the property

4 bdrm, 4 bath house with AWESOME views from the multiple rooms Sleeps 10

This beach home is beachside and located in the first block of Pirates Beach – JUST STEPS from where you can get sand between your toes and listen to the SURF! The living room looks like its straight out of a Coastal Living or Veranda Magazine & is furnished with comfort in mind. The sectional sofa and chair combinations enable seating for many people in the living room. The Dining area boasts built-in banquettes, comfortable seating and two tables that easily accommodate many people sitting down & sharing meals, memories & laughs together commemorating a wonderful day spent at the beach. The kitchen has brand new stainless steel appliances and even includes a stand-up mixer for the chef in the group. There is a beverage bar between the Living and Dining areas for coffee or wine to be shared while visiting with the cook in the kitchen. There are 2 bedrooms downstairs; one King bedroom with a large flat screen TV; one with 2 twins & 1 trundle that includes a 40” TV and ample seating so that it can be used as a 2nd TV room. The bedrooms upstairs: King Bed with an east view of the beach and a sitting area to watch the 50” TV. The second upstairs bedroom includes a Queen bed and 1 twin. It has a western view of the beach plus a 32” TV. All bedrooms are appointed with beautiful modern decor and include lovely bedding and comfortable beds for great rest. There is a large sofa style outdoor patio set on the east deck for enjoying the sound and view of the surf. The west deck has a different view that can equally be enjoyed while seated in the charming patio furniture with your feet propped up on the outdoor ottoman gazing at the surf during the day or stars at night.

The layout and location of this home make it the perfect choice for multiple generations, two families, large families, couples vacationing together or a girls getaway!

Other amenities include a full size washer and dryer, Ipad docking/speaker station, wireless internet access, ATT cable TV, a BBQ grill, outdoor hot/cold shower.

If you are looking for more activities, Galveston Country Club is around the corner. This is the oldest country club in Texas and just a 5 minute drive from the house. It has a lovely restaurant, a large pool, an amazing golf course and 2 newly renovated tennis courts. All of our guests have access to all of the club amenities (concessions/green fees apply).

Rental Policy: Rental is intended for the quiet enjoyment of our guests. Therefore, we will rent only to families or family groups. If you are not with a family group, you must be a responsible adult over the age of 30 to make a reservation. Adults cannot rent properties on behalf of underage guests. The maximum number of guests is 10. Pets of any kind and smoking are not permitted. Violation of the smoking and pet policy will result in forfeiture of your damage deposit. Guests must comply with these Rental Policies and all subdivision restrictions.

We require that the renter purchase the Damage Protection Policy offered by VRBO at a nominal fee.

All rates are quoted on website as per week basis. If you are interested in staying 2, 3 or 4 nights, the price will not be pro-rata but is adjusted accordingly. Please obtain a quote from the owner for any dates that do not meet the 1 week requirement.

More Details

Kristen Duwe Bonola
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

About Kristen Duwe Bonola

Our family is from Westlake, Texas and we have been spending time in Galveston for the last 3 years. We LOVE Pirates Beach, the town of Galveston and all it has to offer. We have traveled all over the world and feel so blessed to have been able to buy a beachhouse just a few driving hours from our home. Our vacation times have included multi-generations and span of ages and Galveston offers activites (or not) for our entire family! We love all that Galveston offers including Beachtime, Art Walk, Great Restaurants, fun festivals and have experienced wonderful family memories each time we are there. We hope that your family will enjoy our home and will create wonderful memories like we have enjoyed!

Kristen Duwe Bonola purchased this house in 2014

Why Kristen Duwe Bonola chose Galveston

Our home has been completely redone since we purchased it with entertaining, comfort & hospitality in mind. We have appointed the

What makes this house unique

We have appointed the home with beautiful modern decor, large flat screen TVs in each bedroom, a 60' TV in the family room,


Pirates Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • There is also an outdoor shower with hot and cold water connections.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Large Flatscreen TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Upstairs East-2 chair sitting area, 50' TV,Awesome Beachview
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Upstairs West- Large TV and Awesome Beachview
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , 1 bed is trundle, also 40' TV,2 chairs, could be 2nd TV
  • All beds are VERY omfortable and have beautiful, luxurious bed linens.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Beautifully Decorated & INCREDIBLE Beach VIEW
average rating of 4.818182 based on 33 reviews

The property is beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

Loved this home. Cozy, yet so much room for visiting and relaxing. Absolutely loved it. Very clean and decorated very well.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great beach house and location!

  • 4 of 5

The proximity to the beach was great! The house was nice, clean, and had a very "comfy" feel to it. It was well maintained and the owners provided good customer service. The wifi worked well and the tvs were great with the olympics on while we were there. We went to the aquarium at Moody Gardens, ate lunch at The Spot, enjoyed boogie boarding and hanging out at the beach, etc. The rate per night, plus taxes, cleaning service, etc. came out to basically $2,000 for Friday to Sunday. That seemed a little expensive and we had to leave by 11am on Sunday, which makes you feel a little rushed on your last day. I think the price could be adjusted to be more reasonable and the time to leave could be extended to 12 or 1pm. Just a thought. Overall, I enjoyed the house but wish the price was more affordable.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Erica, My heart is to be the best hostess possible and I always try to accommodate modified check-in/check-out times when asked. Check-in is 4pm and I often have families checking in the same day other guests depart so plenty of time to prepare for the next family is vital. Cleanliness is crucial to me and it takes everybit of 5 hours to prepare for guests so a check out time of 11 am is necessary and is the standard in our area. I never knew your family wanted a later check out or else I would have been so happy to accommodate your request since the next guests did not come until the day after your departure. I am so very sorry you felt rushed and when you stay in my home next, please communicate your desire for a late check-out and promise to do my very best! Thank you for staying with us and I do hope you come back! My very best, Kristen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house with great location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great vacation here. The house was very spacious and really functional for larger parties especially with 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. The house had a partial beach view and it is just a short 1 block walk to be on the beach. The owner was very nice and very easy to work with on arrangements. I would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent Beach House

  • 5 of 5

Very nice house with everything we needed to make our time in Galveston a vacation to remember. The bedrooms are very large with comfortable beds and the bathrooms were very clean. My grandchildren enjoyed being that close to the beach and they enjoyed having their own TV in their bedroom. I loved the location - it was very peaceful but close enough to get to everything Galveston has to offer.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great House, Great Amenities, Great Beach!

  • 5 of 5

Our Family & Friends thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Galveston, on Pirate's Beach. The house was the perfect size and layout for our group; with the right blend of Adult Suites and Kid-friendly sleeping arrangements. Minus the plethora of Jellyfish on one of the days, it was a perfect, mini-vacation! We appreciate the thought that went into decorating the house, and loved the extra mini-fridge and coffee bar, as well as the multiple dining tables. The views of the Gulf from both sides of the large deck were awesome, and the 30 second walk to the beach was very appreciated, given the amount of gear and the 2 year old that was in our group. Thank you to Kristen for facilitating our great vacation!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, difficult owner.

  • 2 of 5

My family and I stayed here and while we enjoyed the location near the beach we found the owner very difficult. When we arrived there was a broken chair on the balcony. Because the sliding glass door accessing that area did not work very well, we just kept it locked and thought nothing more of it. After checking out, we received an email from the owner accusing us of breaking the chair. Although we explained that it was broken on our arrival she still deducted the cost of the chair from our deposit. In addition, the home is so crowded with pillows and knick knacks so it makes it difficult to enjoy. We will never go back.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glen, I am very surprised by your negative review & in all the years of being a host with my beloved beachhouse, I have NEVER been accused of being difficult, but to the contrary, a gracious host-which is my heart. I certainly went out of my way to accommodate your last minute reservation in every way, including your requested early check in & the late check out you requested Sat evening for your Sunday check out,citing how daunting it would be to leave at 11 on your son’s 30th birthday even though it put my housekeeping team on double time preparing for the next guests. I was not able to get someone to the house to change the light bulb as you requested right after checking in Fri & since I live 5 hours away, I was unable to do so myself either. However, as I immediately let you know when you informed me of the light bulb being burnt out, I do have extra bulbs throughout the house for that reason since that part of maintenance cannot be proactive but is a reactive task. The paperwork very specifically requests upon checkin that you contact me if something is broken & although you contacted me about the lightbulb being out, you never mentioned any other issues, including a broken chair. I work very hard to maintain my home & have an inspection team in place before & after each guest's arrival/departure to ensure it is in premium shape & I do not allow broken items to remain on the premises. As you know, it was immediately discovered by the inspection team after your departure that some items were missing& when I reached out to you about them, you informed me that they had been put up to avoid breakage since you had 5-6 children staying with you. I have no motivation to impute a broken item to a guest over another since all are required to purchase Damage Protection Insurance that will pay for any accidental breakages including the chair that you mention & ACCIDENTS do happen! The sliding glass door that you mention works perfectly fine but does have an extra security bar in the track which will prohibit easy opening unless removed, otherwise, it works perfectly well. Regarding the pillows, my apologies that our decorating styles are different from one another & that is okay. However, the décor is accurately represented online & you were aware of that décor & pillows before you chose to rent my home. Again, it is always my heart that all who enter my home sense my desire to serve & to be a gracious and giving host so I regret you feel anything differently.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Watermans Restaurant
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Pirates Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Early Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 25 2017
1 night minimum stay
July 4th 2017
Jun 26 2017 - Jul 9 2017
1 night minimum stay
Late Summer 2017
Jul 10 2017 - Aug 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
Labor Day 2017
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 4 2017
1 night minimum stay
Early Fall 2017
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 19 2017
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $225 + Tax
Reservation Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 15.0%

Reservations cancelled 120+ days prior to arrival date will be fully refunded less $200 and damage protection fee and the property protection. SEE RENTAL CONTRACT FOR FULL DETAILS AND TERMS.


Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner